Mercedes-Benz Malaysia records 22% total sales jump in Q1 2014, E-Class registers 60% year-to-date growth

W212_Merc_E-Class_Facelift_E200_E250_review_06

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has announced that it has recorded a 22% increase to 2,233 vehicles in total sales for Q1 2014, compared to the same period last year.

Passenger vehicles recorded an increase from 1,211 units in Q1 2013 to 1,676 this year (a 38% growth), with the W212 E-Class facelift (pictured) registering a 60% year-to-date growth.

Commercial vehicles, however, registered a 9% decrease from 34 units in Q1 2013 to 31 units, while Fuso recorded 526 units in Q1 2014, 10% down from 582 in the same period last year.

“We are very pleased with the overall improved performance this quarter. Both the new A-Class which was launched in June last year, and E-Class which was launched in August, continue to experience strong growth,” remarked MBM CEO Roland Folger. He added that the brand’s four-year extended warranty programme comes into force this year.

W222_Mercedes-Benz_S_400_Hybrid_000

Having been in operations for 10 years, MBM has a total of 32 dealers and 29 service centres nationwide, with more than 300 service bays that can serve over 600 vehicles a day.

“This year, there will be another new Autohaus which will set the benchmark in retail experience in South East Asia,” said Folger. Furthermore, in addition to the new W222 S-Class and CLA-Class which were launched last month, we plan to introduce a few new passenger vehicle models later in the year.”

On Energy Efficient Vehicles (EEVs), Folger assured that MBM would continue to play an active role in helping to reduce environmental impact. “Our Blue Efficiency technology reduces carbon emission and improves fuel efficiency as exemplified by our new S 400 Hybrid (second pic above),” he explained.

“This and many other new models assembled at our plant in Pekan, Pahang, will also be equipped with green technologies, safety features and autonomous driving.”

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Mercedes are on a role lately with game changing cars that are both innovative and striking in design. And a growth in sales was expected. But I think the surprising thing about the article was the lack of information on the success of the A and CLA class which Is the driving force in sales growth in ither markets. And also Herr Folger didn’t mention on weather MBM will take part in the government EEV plans considering he did mention Mercedes vehicles that are ‘EEV’

• Ball Less Germans on Apr 10, 2014 at 3:21 pm

I am very disappointed with the Folger and Gerhad Pils. Mercedes and especially BMW have been championing EEV vehicles for a long time. The 320d/520d and the E220 CDi are examples of this. But yet, they did not get the EEV license.

An unheard of company, that was said to be registered in 2012 but in actual fact registered in 2013, with no email address, no business cards, no official address was given the license.

To this two big German guns, where are your balls? You should be lobbying and giving press conferences expressing your disappointment. MBM and BMW have invested billions and have been in Malaysia over 50 years but shit has been thrown on their face, and yet they keep smiling in happiness.

You two Germans got no shame is it? Enough of worshiping the government, MITI, MAI, MAA feet. Have some dignity. Voice out your surprise and disappointment. Lobby for the license.

Gerhad Pils have for years told consumers about their Efficient Dynamics (ED) and how it is so economical and sips so little fuel. But now, Gerhad Pils got a different ED. When facing the Government, he has Erectile Dysfunction (ED Also). Where is the clean diesel BMW sales people have been promising us? From the days of the 530d E60, BMW sales people have been saying, clean diesel is around the corner and would be introduced in no time. they assured buyers hardly a year we have to wait. But that was 10 years ago.

And to make matters worse, BMW Malaysia dare to increase the price of their 520d by about RM30,000 this year despite the fact that they have promised diesel buyers diesel is around the corner and going to be introduced soon.

I hope BMW Malaysia and MBM will be firm in their commitment in EEV and lobby for a licence. Stop being a lalang. Government throw shit on your face, you all still bow in obedience. Shameful. No dignity at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 34
      • Jebonr on Apr 10, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Sounds harsh. But I agree with You.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
      • Gerry on Apr 10, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Your comments show that you have totally no brains at all. How do you know that the two German companies you mentioned about have not approached the authorities? I remember reading a report that stated that 4 of the main players from Europe have been constantly pushing for clean diesel to be included in the EEV category as it should rightly be, but overlooked by the authorities. This is more likely due to the cronies controlling the auto industry, namel Naza, DRB etc. Therefore, one should not jump to a conclusion without knowing the inner workings within the industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • holofanboi on Apr 10, 2014 at 6:08 pm

REAL MEN TYPE WITHOUT USING AUTOCORRECT!

->role<-

*Exits Tuxedo Mask style*

• rifle on Apr 10, 2014 at 1:29 pm

congrats mb

• a few new passenger models, in this case meaning gla, c class and maybe s class coupe??

• Cheung on Apr 10, 2014 at 2:53 pm

records 22% total sales jump in Q1 2014, E-Class registers 60% year-to-date growth >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

GREAT ! This shows that there are more successful people in this beloved country.

• Denaihati on Apr 10, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Congratulation Mercedes-Benz Malaysia. for decrease of commercial vehicles %, i think company will fully utilized until reach ROI before change to new one and as we know it is so reliable.

• The rich getting richer and the poor has to buy second hand Iswara for transportation (or third hand).

The Vios/City owner feeling more stress on their car installment and the Preve/Suprima S owner keep on trying to smoke everyone on the road, putting everyone’s life in danger.

This is bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Just buy a paper Mercedes and burn for yourself so you can used it at afterlife.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • takNakP1 on Apr 10, 2014 at 4:41 pm

I guess a significant of the sales jump contributes by the ordinary Malaysian that want to look cool or good regardless.
      Billions of tax/duty collected, then billions goes to cronies and finally billions/millions goes to buying Merz or BMW.

“sikap rakyat pasal kereta mahal”

• budak buncit rüsselsheim on Apr 10, 2014 at 4:53 pm

siapa kata orang msia susah … mercedes ramai beli… ke satu orang kaya beli banyak mercedes?

• holofanboi on Apr 10, 2014 at 5:37 pm

It’s surprisingly fitting to have mature men in suits pose with a car of this calibre. Really does elevate the status and image aura of this sort of car segment.

I for one am an avid supporter of proper men in proper attire posing to give the product a masculine feel. Revealing models with sexy bodies may be easier to steal your attention for a split second, but is often a POOR ASSOCIATION with the product.

Kudos to you MB, maintain your class and avoid having to stoop to the same kind of marketing gimmicks of other brands.

Elegance. Luxury. Enigma.

• teamsleepnine on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:50 pm

very true,mercedes always been a “cultured” people automobile.

• Keris Jawa on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:27 pm

And don’t do those thumbs up with smirks on your face kind of thing! I personally hate all those so-called high ranking personality doing that.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Good on you MBM. I’d say the E200 and E250 FL are genuinely fabulous. The sheer quality and luxury that oozes out of each seam on that leather…..

Mercedes is growing fast. BMW Malaysia, buck up your main dealers, give us better spec and improve the after sales! BMW makes good cars, but BMW MY is not putting it to good use….

• dugong (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:09 am

Main thing BMW needs now is to 1st increase their warranty to 4 years at least. If not Merc is gonna overthrow them from the throne very soon.

• dugong (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Congratz MBM. People are starting to realize alphards are just expensive fuel guzzling vans. Never as classy or solid as a Benz.
    Before anyone flame me I know many families buy alphards or vellfire when they only got 1 or 2 kids. Even with the maid its only 5 ppl. They don’t really need that overpriced van.

• Sam loo on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Halo, mercs RV is dropping down the floor.. My CAMRY got better RV ma…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 25
    • Tet Loo on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:41 pm

Hey Sam Loo, where are you when many people were dying in their Camry’s? Now they are having the biggest recall in the world and you chickened out of the Toyota discussion board. Shame on you.

• gavin on Apr 11, 2014 at 7:56 am

makes me wonder what i’m doing wrong

• TheRealMaserati on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:26 pm

I dont get it, u dont hv to be uber rich to drive a Merc. Heck even an A250 is around the same price as a GTI. So anyone with a 10k salary can afford the Merc A.

An anyone with a salary will be able to afford a E class. Nowadays, 10k salary is consider just nice to be living in KL. New benchmark is 20k .

Mercs are so common nowadays , its no longer exclusive anymore.

Those uber rich people will not buy mercs, they go for Jags,Ferraris, Lambos, and Astons.

So yes, the reason why the poor Malaysians stay poor is because they keep complaining about the prices. The rich on the other hand work hard so that they can afford to pay the higher prices.

Its as simple as that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Agreed with u. As a wise man said once, if u are still poor at 35 yo. no one will pity u, thats because that person has no fire and goals to achieve higher in life. Somehow d poor cant achieve to buy all these luxury is due to their mentality. They want cheap price. Wait till Price drop to RM200k for E250 also i dont think they can afford.

• poor guy on Apr 12, 2014 at 11:42 am

:(