Subaru Forester planned for CKD in Malaysia, XV STI Performance Edition to be introduced around July

Subaru_Forester_Launch_ 004

At the regional launch of the Subaru WRX and WRX STI in the Philippines, Tan Chong International executive director Glenn Tan revealed to members of the media that the Subaru Forester (pictured above) is being considered for local assembly (CKD) in Malaysia.

The fourth-gen SUV, which entered the Malaysian scene in mid-2013, is available in a sole 2.0 XT variant, and is fully imported (CBU) from Japan. Tan added that feasibility studies are currently being undertaken, and if all goes well, we could see the introduction of the CKD Forester sometime in 2016.

“From the onset we already start with the prospect of exporting, so we localise a lot (of parts) and that’s why (market introduction) takes so long,” said Tan. “If you just (produce) for the domestic market, you probably don’t need 40 (percentage of XV localisation as an example), and the turn-around time is much quicker.”

Subaru XV Crosstrek-7

Much sooner, a new variant of the XV called the XV STI Performance Edition is set to launch in Malaysia, according to Tan. The name suggests that the crossover will be bestowed with parts from the STI catalogue.

“There’s no engine tweaks; it’s more about handling. We will introduce (the XV STI Performance Edition) sometime in July.” A 55-unit limited edition of the XV called the XV Crosstrek (second pic above) was introduced at KLIMS13 at the end of last year. That one had no mechanical changes whatsoever, but featured some exterior and interior add-ons.

Subaru is focussed mainly in the Klang Valley and Penang at present, but Motor Image Malaysia is set to expand its network from the current five branches and 11 dealers to six branches and 20 dealers by the end of the year.

The Subaru Forester made a cameo appearance in our Driven Web Series; also, read our Subaru XV 2.0i test drive report from Bali.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ae101 on Apr 10, 2014 at 10:58 am

Good news indeed for XV STI. Hopefully performance is on par with forester turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
    • foxtrot on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:32 am

hello bro, already mention no engine tweaks
      it’s still the same normal 2.0 NA boxer engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • rifle on Apr 10, 2014 at 1:46 pm

i’m just waiting to see how it looks like, hope that it will have an aggressive looking bumper, spoiler, n bodykit

• Same Lor Orii on Apr 10, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Well done Subaru!

Again Japanese technology and quality is proven.

• holofanboi on Apr 10, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Yet another example of not reading the article -.-

• encik boss on Apr 10, 2014 at 11:11 am

Why not CKD the upcoming WRX as well ;)

• spongewai on Apr 10, 2014 at 12:57 pm

they not planning to CKD for WRX or WRX STi but under study to local assemble for new gen Imprezza sedan sometime future

• Amei (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 2:59 pm

It’s a good idea to CKD the non WRX imprezza. More choices for us to pick. CKD the Imprezza + good spec and value it will sell like hotcakes. Bear in mind that the imprezza is cheaper than the XV.

• If not for the crampy boot space i would’ve considered XV…everything else it’s a great SUV/crossover

• I don’t understand if motorimage is so tamak to do business in M’sia, why don’t they spec their car properly

• Sobaru will get the legendary defective malfunction equipment from Toyola as it was partially own by Toyola

• just like that on Apr 10, 2014 at 12:00 pm

please improve from the 3 airbags to 4 or 6 airbags. they claim 5 star ncap but its not 5 star with 3 air bags.

• Since when Subaru has only 3 air bags? They have even fitted airbag for your knee…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • Motorhead (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Thumbs up Subaru.. die hard company… CKD more.

• outback on Apr 10, 2014 at 12:25 pm

where is the outback?

• heybadigol on Apr 10, 2014 at 12:44 pm

We have to wait till 2016 for Forester CKD. Is that the XT model or the non-XT (which is currently not available here)? If its the XT, then nobody’s gonna buy the CBU Forester XT on sale here now, and current units may depreciate a bit more than usual. Looks like we’ll have to wait another 2 years to find out.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 1:17 pm

Subaru is one the few companies that still truly dare to be different. it’s been picking up popularity in northern states in the USA, because of their reliability in snowy condition (low COG and 4WD) and reliable safety record in the states. And considering their substantial sales improvement last year, I truly wish for their success.

But with nearly no vehicle to compete in the A-B segment nor the fact that any Malaysian will find low COG and 4WD beneficial or advantageous over other makes and 4WD and NA boxer isn’t going to match the other NA engine for fuel efficiency and reliability(hearing severe problems with vibration of the boxer engine in the states), two qualities that the Malaysian market look for the most. which is a shame, their cars are good performing and as for the legacy or forester, reather well built inside. But maybe that’s a good thing, it’s unique in the crowd of people that are either overly financial cautious or overly image cautious.

• W204 C63 AMG on Apr 10, 2014 at 3:34 pm

I like the Imprezza. Still remember the Imprezza was everywhere in Australia, along with the Mazda3.

• holofanboi on Apr 10, 2014 at 5:41 pm

It’s a difficult decision though. Do you enter the market share by going from big to small, (Current) or small to big (Perodua, Toyota, Suzuki)?

In our country where the lower income outnumber the middle income earners by substantial margin, Subaru’s current strategy isn’t really viable here…

I sure hope they make it though :)

• AVH (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 6:15 pm

I have never actually read or heard Subaru’s ambition to ever chellenge a market in Volume seles like Toyota, Hyundai and Volkswagen does, Subaru, Mazda and Suzuki are the only mainstream manufecturer(I can think of ATM, theres Volvo too) that does things at what they are good at and excels at it, never straying far away from their formula for the sake of sales.

So basically there is little hope of Subaru chellenging Toyota or Honda or even Hyundai for sales as the target audience is far smaller. That said, they do sell the XV and Imprezza, cars that are usable and sensible like any other Corolla or Civic, but unique at the same time.

PS: BTW, really like that Holo profile pic, having her as my Google Chrome theme as well. Love that show

• holofanboi on Apr 11, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Whoops, didnt receive updates on this one!

Actually I assume that all automakers are doing their best to gain as much market share as possible. You cannot possibly expect the automaking environment to stay the same forever so current market share will at least act as a baseline for year to year forecast.

Prime example would be Lotus and Mitsubishi which got too lax in their market share and didnt bother to make strides in their progress. Look at them now, just a husk of what used to be great alternative brands :(

*regarding holo*

ITS THE EARS ISN’T IT? <3

• Please motorimage…..can you ckd a more powerful forester. that 2.0 n/a AWD is sluggish!

• mim (Member) on Apr 10, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Pls la at least give the turbo XV… 196Nm is not enough!

• Tan BB on Apr 11, 2014 at 6:24 am

XV still without curtain airbags? It will be dangerous to drive your kids in these. Even drivers will be at risk from side impact. I’ll definitely forgo until they improve on the safety features.

• heybadigol on Apr 11, 2014 at 8:30 am

If you want curtain airbags, then should consider the Ford Kuga. Its not as good looking as the XV, but it sure has a lot of airbags (7 in total). The Kuga is a bit more poweful as well.

• pakcik on Apr 12, 2014 at 12:01 pm

I be following subaru since the launching of thier ckd
    Subaru xv. Ya xv the best selling model but I am worried thier pricing .
    xv first launching price rm146,800 otr include insurance .
    Then 136,800 otr
    Then 129,800 otr
    Now u get even lower + free 5yr service+ subsidised bank rate.
    Internel sources told me few thousand unsold unit. They are stills put on sale 2013 year made. Failure contribute by lower sale in thailand and indonesia.
    And one more biggest worried about motorimage subaru

• pakcik on Apr 12, 2014 at 12:07 pm

I be following subaru since the launching of thier ckd
    Subaru xv. Ya xv the best selling model but I am worried thier pricing .
    xv first launching price rm146,800 otr include insurance .
    Then 136,800 otr
    Then 129,800 otr
    Now u get even lower + free 5yr service+ subsidised bank rate.
    Internel sources told me few thousand unsold unit. They are stills put on sale 2013 year made. Failure contribute by lower sale in thailand and indonesia.
    After sales another more biggest worried about motorimage subaru . I probably kiv….