BMW 7 Series Horse Edition to ride into Beijing 2014

P90146281

You thought manufacturers have had enough of horsing around with China-specific equine special editions after the Chinese New Year festivities ended, right? Not so fast – BMW (who already have Horse Editions of the M5 and M6) will storm the gates of the Beijing International Auto Show later this month with the BMW 7 Series Horse Edition.

The Horse Edition is distinguishable from the rest of the 7 Series herd through the colour of its coat – apart from the standard Sapphire Black, buyers can also choose between the BMW Individual paint finishes of the Ruby Black shown here, Moonstone or Citrine Black. The car is also kitted up with an M Sport pack, including an M Aerodynamics kit and 19-inch V-spoke M alloy wheels, as well as Shadowline exterior trim.

If that’s not enough, “Limited Edition” lettering is also inscribed into the car’s rear chrome strip. Other options now thrown in as standard include the Adaptive LED headlights and Surround View system.

P90146280

Inside, occupants at the front are treated to ventilated Comfort seats – complete with the Traditional Chinese character for horse embroidered on the headrests – while those at the rear get a massage function for the backrests. An M leather steering wheel, BMW Individual headlining in Anthracite as well as Ash Grain Anthracite fine wood trim complete the interior accoutrements.

The Horse Edition is based on the 740Li xDrive, so it gets all-wheel drive and a 3.0 litre TwinPower Turbo straight-six making 320 hp at 5,800-6,000 rpm and 450 Nm at 1,300-4,500 rpm. Tipping the scales at 1,995 kg, it will nevertheless gallop from 0-100 km/h in 5.6 seconds on its way to an electronically-limited top speed of 250 km/h.

The BMW 7 Series Horse Edition will join the rest of its new stablemates in their first appearance in China at the BMW stand in Beijing, including the X4, the 2 Series Coupe and Active Tourer, the 4 Series Gran Coupe and the M3 Sedan and M4 Coupe. The i brand of electric vehicles will also have its Chinese market launch at the show, and if recent reports are to be believed, there could be an even bigger steed coming…

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Bimmer Wanker on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Wtf…it is just pure ugly with the stupid lettering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • mizuru on Apr 12, 2014 at 7:47 pm

make it 8 series and produce only 8888 unit only ..will sell like hotcakes in china

• roti canai (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 3:47 pm

and people actually buy this

• gavin on Apr 11, 2014 at 4:23 pm

does it come with free horse masks

• There is a reason why this is available for BMW in China, cos BMW in Chinese means “treasured horse” literally. So obviously they see a chance to rake in some good chance in the year of horse.

• Peng you….BMW known as Bei Mo Wo…dont touch me… in china, not treasure horse la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • Dude, open ur eyes..its called 宝马 means treasure horse if u understand Chinese. Otherwise,go home.

• John…u must be one of roti john that jual kat tepi jalan…who r u to ask ppl go back home? I live n driving in china longer than u sucking milk from….so dont ever ask ppl to go back home..u little hoy dog

• *rake in some good cash

• Polo Saga on Apr 11, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Freaking ugly Chinese lettering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • that Chinese lettering at the head rest is ancient Chinese character for horse. This word exist way beyond Melaka or any Malay empire starts.

• Come to think of it, Melaka empire don’t have their own letterings also…

• MazMotor on Apr 12, 2014 at 7:46 pm

really? i think its nice, there’s a reason why ppl are tattooing chinese character on their body, seems really cool

• guan eng jr on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:26 pm

All the best stuff in the world go to China.

• Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 10:37 am

Those sorhais in China likes sui kwan euros

• Japanese car no laku in china..always kena bashed up by chinese…it will be more sorhai to buy japanese car in china..btw volkswagen just cancel 10 years warranty for dsg..u must si beh happy lor..

• dugong (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 10:08 am

Rich people don’t go for japs in china. If a CEO buys a camry he is perceived as pariah and a miser.

• Nissan on Apr 12, 2014 at 5:21 pm

China man money are easy to be cheated,

• Rawhide on Apr 14, 2014 at 8:24 am

Ha ha ha… only for Chinese cowboys & girls!