Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GTE – better specs, RM118,888

Mitsubishi_Lancer_2.0_GTE_002

We revealed its existence last month, and we now have full details plus live pictures of the new Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GTE. This is quite significant for long-time Lancer fans, as it offers new features, yet at a lower price than the outgoing Lancer GT.

Let’s get the price out of the way first – this new model goes for RM118,888 (or RM115,590 without insurance), which is a healthy reduction from the RM129,025 (with insurance, RM125,467 without) 2012 Lancer GT. This move draws the CBU Mitsubishi level with the CKD Kia Cerato 2.0.

Despite this RM10,000-odd price cut, the new GTE gains a few additional features over the old model, namely a keyless operation system (with a turn-to-start knob), a sunroof, rear seat ISOFIX anchors and a knee airbag for the driver (making a total of three airbags).

The rest of the vehicle stays as before, so you still get the large 18-inch wheels, all-around bodykit with LED DRLs, rear spoiler and automatic (halogen) headlights and wipers. A reverse camera (through the 6.1-inch touchscreen head unit), magnesium paddle shifters, cruise control, single-zone climate control and Nappa leather upholstery are on the standard kit list too.

Mitsubishi_Lancer_2.0_GTE_006

No changes to the mechanicals here, of course. Mitsubishi’s trusty 4B11 2.0 litre DOHC MIVEC engine continues on with its 150 PS at 6,000 rpm and 197 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. As before, an INVECS-III CVT transmission with a six-step sports mode turns the front wheels.

The rest of the spec sheet reads well for driving enthusiasts. Well, better than most C-segment sedans, at least. Hydraulic (as opposed to electric) power steering, four-wheel independent suspension (MacPherson struts up front, multi-link round the back), all-around disc brakes and 215/45 R18 Yokohama Advan tyres are all present.

Also unchanged are the three colour options – White Solid, Black Mica and Red Metallic. Check out the car’s full brochure and price list in the gallery below for more details. So, what do you think of the new Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GTE, gents? Is it back in the C-segment game?

Oh, and if you want to check the car out, it’ll be at Paradigm Mall this weekend =)

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Vader on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Not bad.. But let potong rebadge it is a bad move since ppl may buy inspira then modify it and the cost still lower than this

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 20
    • Najib Razak on Apr 11, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Thank me later (^_^).

Next in line is the All New Tikar Terbang Evo. More than 30% reduction from previous gen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
    • Mitsubshi = meet my pussy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 81
      • that’s uncalled for and it reflects the lack of education and attitude and maturity in your part.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
  • ohyes on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:37 pm

inspira

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 8
  • TeresaCockCNYClown on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:43 pm

I like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
  • rifle on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:44 pm

rebadge as inspira sv n sell it at 80k.. :D

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
  • kami (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:45 pm

i always wonder how much lancer & inspira sold in malaysia. any link i can check?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
    • choprak on Apr 11, 2014 at 4:32 pm

if Inspira only 18,000 unit sold since 2010..based on my friend’s chassis no bought last week

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • Same Lor Orii on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:33 pm

The Inspira launched in Nov 2010, which is 42 months ago.

So in average, 429 was sold every month, 13 sold in a day.

In contras, Myvi sold 99,000 last year which means 271 cars were sold everyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
        • DonkeyKong on Apr 11, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Looks like the saying “A sucker is born every minute” is not true. 271 are born every day.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 11
        • Bataman on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Sold less=high class.

Just check Benz, BMW and Audi. Bet they sell in two digits or less max per day.

Myvi cheap car for cheap people with no class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 27
          • BATGIRL on Apr 16, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Then Chery from China better lo. THey prolly sell 2 to 5 a MONTH. can sustain?

-Gotta love the Elantra-

• gotta hate elantra man..

• OldPutera on Nov 23, 2014 at 10:13 pm

Haha..absolulety correct..

Dunno why want to compare inspira with maibi haibim..this is absurb..

• Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 9:47 am

No Avater=Definitely Imposter and/or hailated kimchi owner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 12, 2014 at 10:00 am

IIRC there were less than 100 Lancer sold per year since the Inspira launched. You should be able to find the numbers on PT.

• lancer on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Nice spec, but, I want a new design! Which can be differentiate between inspira and this..

If I buy this for rm119k, then, some stupid people will say,’hah, convert to lancer meh?..prffttt’

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 10
  • Sam Mistress on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Old newspaper…old newspaper…sau kau poh chee…
    Paper lama…paper lama…pee pom pee pom pee pom…

Mitsu trying very very hard to flog a dead horse.

Smart people will go buy inspira and save the money go holiday in europe better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 10
    • Bataman on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:18 pm

I bought Inspira, then left over money invest another house. Winrar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • you think so? on Apr 16, 2014 at 3:32 pm

that if you are buying with cash…put it into loan tenure over few years. you can’t get to europe or buy a house.

• TheRealMaserati on Apr 11, 2014 at 12:57 pm

This is such an awesome car. Its so much better than the Cerato 2.0

Drives better, better engine and lower fuel consumption.

Why would anyone buy a Cerato nowadays is beyond me!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 76
    • Obviously (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Erm, safety and equipment list? And the looks (subjective)? The Cerato has more creature comforts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 18
      • Cerato, bad x3 crash . watch youtube,
        creature comfort, yeah2 go buy 1 ya uncle ? ..
        anyway cerato steering feels very numb,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 28
        • The FC for this car is bad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
          • Bataman on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:20 pm

1.4 ton, 2.0cc engine. Why you worry about FC? Go buy VIVA please if you’re worried about FC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Polo Saga on Apr 11, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Good price tag, but people would laugh at me for ‘modify this from Inspira’ if I buy this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 7
    • Bataman on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:21 pm

Altis is ugly shitz…in fact, all Japanese cars are fugly except Mazda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • cbu wor….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • one of a kind .. 3 airbags !!!!lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • Harry on Apr 11, 2014 at 1:24 pm

projector headlamp also dont have. ptui.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • Josh Ling on Apr 11, 2014 at 1:52 pm

And anyone in Sibu you can go to Sibu Gateway to check out this car starting today too, in a 4×4 roadshow organized by Mitsubishi. I just did, and it was good value if you don’t mind its age.

While you are there, try to play the Power Up and Win contest too. Who knows you might be the winner of RM1,000!!

• me so busy on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Between this, altis civic… and consider the price… Lancer win!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 5
  • Yellow on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:11 pm

to be frank, it has a much better spec and cheaper price than the latest altis..

but no thanks. coz i will hate myself so much if i see any inspira passed me when i driving it.. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • HAHAHA ! NO ESP? Goodbye LANCER and GOODBYE MITSHUBISHI FROM MALAYSIA FOREVER !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 14
  • Eddie on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Would be great if they offer manual trans

• Davster on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Best looking Inspira I’ve seen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • ae101 on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:27 pm

I really hate Mitsu. All these spec should be come during the facelifted. You betrayed lancer owner and still hope for miracle? Sau pei laaaa….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • lancerian (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:27 pm

The Lancer is still a great car…even now…but Mitsubishi shot itself in the gut with Inspira…may it live long to regret every minute of it…but if the GTE is still a CBU…it’s a decent buy…just comapare it to any non-P1 or P2 2 litre cars around…

• Usin Kangkong (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:35 pm

Put in VSC(Vehicle stability control), and rear air bag, with projector headlamp, and manual tranny, it would be perfect tho

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • mitsurugi on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Mistubishi lancer EX GT GTE
    BETTER THAN KOREAN SHITTY CARS!!!..
    THIS CAR BETTER THAN NEW COROLLAGGG CVICIKS CERATOKK VIOSHIT SITI….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 44
  • trololol on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:46 pm

nice paddle shift…from gear to audio console too emty like no design n very the plastic-ish…ishhhhh !

• azrai on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Smart guys gets…hmm…those 2013 stock Inspira at a fraction of this GTE price.

• looks no different with inspira, who buy who cry. no value at all. Simply a Vios design is much more better than this crab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 36
  • babygrand on Apr 11, 2014 at 2:54 pm

This car still able to sell kah?

• fast5 on Apr 11, 2014 at 3:03 pm

CBU drop price really good and let all others brand do the same…
    add fixtures with price drop !!! NICE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • OMG wai this car copycat our inspira?
    Its loook the same, o wai owai owaiii
    So this is the final mekap before they axed this model ey?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
  • if i buy this ill convert is into inspira right way…proud of our local car maker

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 10
  • Enthu on Apr 11, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Such a dated car still wanna introduce a new trim?

*facepalm*

• cendol (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 4:46 pm

They are good friends with Perodua, always introduce NEW trim for OUTDATED car.

• Mitsubullshit on Apr 11, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Oh well because of their wrong strategy, guess inspira is gonna haunt The lancer for a very very long time.

The lancer owners and the potential owners are very unforgiving for what they had done. This is what happened when you Insult the lancer(used to be great car) with the inspira crap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • Sunriver on Apr 11, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Seriously the marketing guy is an idiot.
    With the Inspira running around on our roads, NO ONE will be buying this car.
    IF they bring in the EVO….YES!!! That is contender…

• gavin on Apr 11, 2014 at 4:25 pm

mostly rubbish upgrades, i’ll trade all that for the proper Rockford Fosgate audio

• ah chai on Apr 11, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Buy inspira, save 30+k. Use 5k to Reno. Use 25k to buy petrol that could bring u 125000km (supposedly rm1 for 5km only)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
  • Ralliart on Apr 11, 2014 at 4:40 pm

This is better for those want buy inspira n mod to lancer gt ra etc. Convert inspira to this will caused more time n money. Unless u want convert evo, inspira still value for money.

Pity to prev lancer owner. Kena copycat but still people buy lancer.. Now selling at lower price with more features. Lol.. Mitsu not appreciate their customer..

• cendol (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 4:45 pm

This Lancer has been around since 2007, NOW it is still around??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • This is a 2010 Lancer. Available in Malaysia before to the rest of the world in 2009.

• Allen toyota subang on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Actually per car.. Mitsu got more money from inspira production because of structural royalties… But a lot of local mitsu dealer bungkus liao…TOYOTA will never bow down like mitsu and chicken honda…

• Oi, those DRLs you got from accessory shop izzit?

• Henry on Apr 11, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Impressive specs and price. Too bad the design is already very dated.

• ah beng on Apr 11, 2014 at 8:34 pm

body kit camni melambak kt kedai ah beng..rm3k je…jaangan buang duitbeli dis trash..hahaha..stupid mitsubishit

• Spirior on Apr 11, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Plonk rm55k for a 2012 Inspira 1.8 4B10 with 5 speed manual and it will still beat this car (and have spare 60k to play around)

• kt us lancer ni ade 7 airbags..trction cntrol..
    actve stbilty cntrol…jd maknanye…jepun eksport lancer ke us lg fully loaded la…

• nabill (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Its showing its age,spec n design wise….interior looks very boring n simple…even if u r a brand snob…why wdnt u get an inspira so much cheaper,da xtra apecs on dis one is not really ground breaking…and 18′ is an overkill

• ben yap on Apr 11, 2014 at 10:19 pm

this car is a better buy compare to Inspira super premium…

• Sam loo on Apr 11, 2014 at 10:41 pm

Pity mitsu salesman….always insulted by plotong… This car RV DROPPED Immediately after exiting mitsu parking lot… Hailat..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • wagon rules on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Sorry Mitsubishi…I will never buy any car from you again.

• Jonny Tan on Apr 12, 2014 at 7:04 am

I rather overtake by this car.

• Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 9:47 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Allen toyota subang on Apr 12, 2014 at 11:42 am

Can they produce a better looking lancer… I believe they cannot… Thats why it is still the same…the good thing for owners are availablity of sparepart… Mitsu-inspira – soulless…. Check out new ALTIS…. So fine… So smooth…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • policeman on Apr 14, 2014 at 11:45 pm

nobody cares about what you believe.

only morons buy cars based on looks.

Checked out the new ALTIS, not impressed. Checked out the new VIOS, barfed.

• me so busy on Apr 12, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Comon la comparing potong quality with cbu? U all shiok sendiri?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Samad Jain on Apr 12, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Just who would be in the right mind to splash 100k + on an outdated car???

The Mitsu salesmen must be on their knees trying to sell the Lancer to their customers….

• william de lim on Apr 13, 2014 at 2:04 pm

this design was before 2010, nowadays interior design didn’t so simple like tat..

• Mitsubitshi Lancer? on Apr 13, 2014 at 2:05 pm

Why don’t rebadge and cut price for Lancer sportback instead of this? People won’t spend their money buying a old design dude….

• Norman on Apr 13, 2014 at 5:36 pm

They need to clear the old stocks fast cause the new model coming soon

• Rewlie on Apr 14, 2014 at 8:43 pm

I went there last weekend, and this is my points based on my observation;

Besides below pros and cons, all are the same like previous model.

Pros;

1. Sunroof
    2. DRL
    3. Keyless and with reverse camera
    4. Got all the automatic features like Inspira got

Cons;
    1. no projector light, ASX have it
    2. interior trim worse, look so plastic, so empty, compared to the old one much better.
    3. Knee airbag, wtf?

And worst is their selling point.. “CBU maaa..”

Mitsu, seriously, go home, u drunk!

• policeman on Apr 14, 2014 at 11:41 pm

interior trim is the same la moron. What’s wrong with knee airbag? You’ve never heard of one?

• Just think about it. Why this model can be sold cheaper than before with extra features? There is no tax cut announced yet. The only reason: it comes to the end of its selling life. That means a new model may come out soon or later.

• The Rock on Apr 15, 2014 at 10:04 am

Where is digital aircond? Same outdated with nissan silphy which having 10k reduction to clear stock.

• Mungkin on Apr 16, 2014 at 11:11 pm

good introduction. now im interested with inspira more.

• Brooke on Apr 17, 2014 at 11:22 am

Can I know this Lancer is RWD or FWD???

• disgruntledBMWowner on Apr 17, 2014 at 11:28 am

Stop selling this pleaseeee. This should be displayed in a muzium or something. Overpriced tin can. Coca cola can also feels more solid than this lancer door or inspira or whatever shit la this car is called

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • hoooooooo on Apr 18, 2014 at 2:44 am

Soo many hater … go ahead and buy Lancer clone … aka rebadge lancer

• When the Lancer was launched, I was about to buy it but than Inspira came out and I completely lost my appetite!!

• anti proton on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:41 pm

looks like inspira to me… hahaha! sorry for mitsubishi owners here… pity u la… blame proton la..

• Sureken on Apr 26, 2014 at 11:38 pm

Yes, it looked the same as Inspira but it’s a pure Real Lancer CBU directly from Japan.. U can’t compare that with proton..

• AhKong on Jun 05, 2014 at 12:58 am

get a great discount when convert to gte…..jual cincai, tokey happy

• mac shasi on Oct 09, 2014 at 3:45 pm

can i get a manual car for mitsubishi lancer 2.0 gte..manual transmision