Renault Zoe wins the Rallye Monte-Carlo ZENN for EVs

renault-zoe-monte-carlo-zenn

The Renault Zoe overcame bad weather to celebrate its international competition debut with an emphatic outright win and victory on all four regularity tests at the Rallye Monte-Carlo ZENN. The EV hatchback, first overall in the rally, also took home the regularity prize, energy consumption prize, autotest and Teams’ challenge.

It’s the famous Monte Carlo Rally, but not as we know it. The Rallye Monte-Carlo ZENN (Zero Emission, No Noise) is the “greenest” segment of the Monte-Carlo New Energies Rally, and the event is open only to electric vehicles.

The fifth rally was held from March 21-23 in Monaco and featured three special stages ranging from 46 and 88 km in length. The stages were divided into a total of four regularity tests. The roads visited by the event included the scenic and twisty runs from La Turbie to Peille and from Sainte Agnès to La Turbie, high above the Mediterranean coast.

Participants had to contend with a combination of torrential rain and fog on the busiest day (March 22), which featured two special stages divided into three regularity tests. Action concluded with an autotest on the harbour-side in Monaco.

Launched in 2012, the Renault Zoe is a purpose-designed electric car with batteries located beneath the floor. Maximum torque of 220 Nm is instantly available from rest, while its official NEDC range is 208 km (130 miles), with a real-world range of around 144 km (90 miles) in temperate conditions or 96 km (60 miles) in cold weather.

Interesting little car, isn’t it? We hear that the Zoe will drop by for a preview in Q3 2014, so stay tuned!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• azmanfarris on Apr 11, 2014 at 9:01 pm

People do complain on higher petrol price…then also complain on malaysia not being ev friendly..so do we need a car runs with air? Lol..i think whichever it is..we need to open up to them in bringing ev.n zoe looks quite cool

• BLOng on Apr 13, 2014 at 10:04 am

Will Renault ZOE coming into Malaysia Market? Hope that Malaysia allow more EV transport coming into market.

• RedCR-Z (Member) on Apr 13, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Gomen will allow but as usual, the import tax will make u cry. unless ckd, which is unlikely. either way, u will cry

• azmanfarris on Apr 24, 2014 at 10:01 am

I agree..hopefully a ckd as we need to accept the EV’s sooner or later…..

• Nice view !