Toyota announces new engine series – 1.3 and 1.0 litre units pave the way, 14 engine variations in all by 2015

toyota 1.3 and 1.0 litre engines

Toyota has announced a series of newly-developed, highly fuel-efficient gasoline engines, and these are due to be utilised in the company’s models scheduled for partial redesign in the near future. In all, a total of 14 new engine variations will be introduced globally by 2015. No mention of how wide the range will be in terms of displacement solutions, but the theme keeps in line with the company’s primary focus on the non-turbocharged route.

The new engines leverage combustion and loss-reduction technologies refined from the automaker’s dedicated hybrid engines. Initially, two engines will form the base of the new series, a 1.3 litre Atkinson-cycle unit and a 1.0 litre design jointly developed with Daihatsu. Featuring combustion and loss-reduction technologies from the automaker’s dedicated hybrid engines, the new mills promise improved thermal efficiency and improved fuel effiency.

The design of the high 13.5 compression ratio 1.3 litre unit includes an intake port, which has a new shape that generates a strong tumble flow – where the air-fuel mixture flows in a vertical swirl – inside the cylinder. It also features a cooled exhaust gas recirculation (EGR) system, paired with Variable Valve Timing-intelligent Electric (VVT-iE). The new features, combined with idling stop and other functions, aid fuel efficiency gains of approximately 15% over that being obtained now. Maximum thermal efficiency for the unit is 38%.

A similar tumble flow-generating intake port is also found in the 1.0 litre engine, as is a cooled EGR system and a high compression ratio. In combination with an idling-stop function and various other fuel consumption reduction technologies, Toyota claims that vehicles equipped with the engine will have a maximum fuel efficiency improvement of approximately 30% over current vehicles.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• at least one of these engines in our msia toyotas will be good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • abuya123 on Apr 12, 2014 at 10:08 am

I dont like the engine. Compression is 13.5? Wow…. High compression required high octane gasoline. Do they realized most developing country including Malaysia use low octane gasoline. For fuel efficient, the compression recommended is between 8.5:1 or 9:1 compression for low octane.

Although current engine technology using auto adjust firing timing for better CO emission and eliminate knocking, it suck fuel more if using wrong octane.

Now Malaysian motorist suffer using RON95 because all new car using compression 10:1. Now want to introduce 13.5:1? Errr…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 27
      • Jeffrey Ng on Apr 12, 2014 at 5:47 pm

High compression ratio doesn’t necessarily require high octane fuel. Still don’t believe? Go check out Mazda’s SkyActiv engines in any local showroom. Local SkyActiv engines have been adapted to run on local fuel and yet still have around 13.0:1 ratio. The full monty version of SkyActiv engines in Japan can run on RON87 at CR of 14.0:1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
        • I second that..I own Skyactiv 2.5L Mazda 6…and running efficiently on RON95.

• abuya123 on Apr 14, 2014 at 12:46 am

I think you’re being breezing by ads sir… And I dont think you’re understand technically what i just explain… The books sometimes is not parallel with actual practical. But ads always make picture bigger than actual.

But if you are salesman….. well… this is how you earn for life by lying to people, i dont think that is ethic. Anyway….

• CalvinNg on Apr 14, 2014 at 9:56 am

I disagree…
            High compression ratio does not necessary require high octane fuel… Europe for example uses RON85 and they are at the moment having no issue… new engines come with knock sensor that detect engine knock due to low RON or driving behaviour and adjust accordingly. Direct injection engine can produce higher compression ratio due to the fuel is not mix into the air yet during high compression until the spark timing where only then fuel is injected directly into cylinder preventing pre-mature firing due to low RON rating… you need to read more books before commenting and saying people is a salesman prove what type of a person are you. go do your research first…

• kzm (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:25 pm

So many engine..p1 want to develop 1 engine oso hard…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 17
    • There’s no talented/real engineers in P1. All just makan gaji only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 26
      • kzm (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 6:42 pm

Money…is the limitation of p1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 41
        • Low Budget on Apr 11, 2014 at 7:25 pm

Its chicken and egg issue. No sales volume of million units per year then no money to develop new engines(models), if no new model, people won’t buy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
        • Money only limitation? Dont syok sendiri la. Asking billions even as pvt company now. The people is the real problem of proton. No talent but syok sendiri kaw kaw.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
        • bobby on Apr 13, 2014 at 9:40 am

agree with the limitation of money. p1 got a lot of talented engineer, but if u have limited resources, then no use… dont want to touch the political side laa. nanti cerita x habis pulak… haihh

• Tak tahu malu? on Apr 13, 2014 at 2:28 pm

How much money have we taxpayers spent on p1? Still got the cheek to say no money and ask for more? Tak tahu malu ke p1/KZM? P1 is truly the worst shameless pampered child. All those money wasted on p1 could have gone into building hundreds of schools and hospitals for the welfare of all malaysians.

• Thinking that ALL taxpayers money goes to proton is purely stupid

• Tak tahu malu? on Apr 13, 2014 at 11:06 pm

Hullo, did i say ALL taxes go to Proton? Dont come up with lame statement please. It is like saying oh i spent a lot a lot of my parents’ money but i didnt spend all their money

• zeddd on Apr 11, 2014 at 6:59 pm

true

• mim (Member) on Apr 12, 2014 at 3:07 pm

The real engineers already ran away to Qoros, JLR, BMW, Honda…

• AVH (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:26 pm

So basically it could mean a replacement to the NE series engine found in almost every other Toyota which somehow became antique in the mindset of this forum. Althou it has a high compression ratio, it isn’t nearly like the Skyactiv levels of Comprassion Ratio. Interestingly, no mention of Direct Injection which almost every other manufecturer has persue, and also no talks on performance figure.

ALl in all it is a rather good news as Toyota has such a poor and aging engine inventory(2nd to Nissan’s in fact).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 22
    • tan tim on Apr 11, 2014 at 6:36 pm

I beg to differ. The Nissan VQ series is one of the best engines in the world, rated by Ward’s. “The best V6 engine in the world,” they say. I don’t know any Toyota engine that has the same ratings?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
      • AVH (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Nissan newest and latest design is the VR38DETT found in the GTR, the newest engine design for a normal production car is the now found in the Almera/Note, the HR series, debuted in 2005. Toyota on the other hand has debuted the ZR,NR and AR straight-4 engine from 07-09. In addition to that, the UR-line of V8 from 06.

True the V6 VQ series engine has won the Ward’s engine award (For 7 years in a row no less, which is pretty amazing)…..oh and Toyota engine in the Ward’s listing, 2ZR-FXE from the Prius(2010 award), 2GR-FSE from the previous IS(06-09award, 3 years in a row)and also one of the two Asian manufecturer to nabbed the Ward’s best engine in the 20th century for the UZ DOHC engine found in the original LS/Celsior. The other Asian manufecturer being Honda with the ED CVCC series found inn their first mass production car the Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • NissanGuy on Apr 11, 2014 at 10:16 pm

You can still get the award winning VQ V6 engine in Malaysia for now if you buy the current Teana. Very fuel efficient, powerful and sounds wonderful.

But better hurry, cause the newer model coming out soon drops the V6 engine for a 4cylinder unit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • Hai San on Apr 12, 2014 at 9:26 am

Nissan engines are the best in the world. No Toyota engine can even come close…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • AVH (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 7:50 pm

Oh btw, when I say poor, I dont mean the engineering but the fact it is so limited and nothing new.

• Guan Yin Maa on Apr 12, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Toyota built their own F1 engine for decades. Seriously you think toyota dont have latest technology in engine ? You need to understand how toyota works. There fame is reliability. They can introduce 3 cylinder turbo even 2 cylinder turbo , but it will have alot of problem. Same like PSA turbo and VW tsi engine. This will ruin their long time reputation. It takes 50 years to build good reputation , and 1 week to destroy it.

• Same Lor Orii on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Well done! Looking forward for the new engines!

Toyota sales will be strong as usual and the world is cleaner with their engines.

30% improvement (on current 13km/l) would means 17km/l. With a 40l full tank RM84, the car can travel 680km.

Again, figure tells the truth, no argument, personal attack or swearing words required.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
  • Sam loo on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Kimchis, nasi lemak, plotong.., beware…better RV, better FC… Hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 26
    • Sam Loo on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:24 pm

No Avatar=imposter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
      • Pakcik masih sakit on Apr 14, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Pakcik, pergi tidur diam diam, nanti tulang sakit lagi, UMW sales man tak ada insurance majikan. Diam diam pergi tidur.

• introduced in 2015

can use until 2025 no problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Toyota will use it till 2095, even though by that time all cars will no longer be using combustion engine!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
      • U think like proton meh? Still using carb engine and 3 speed auto gb in 2000s.

• Huh? You were still living in 2000? This is 2014, no wonder there are still people praise those 4 speed gearbox and stone aged engine

lol

• Don’t worry. Even if today Proton come out with 10 speed gb also no one will buy.

• zeddd on Apr 11, 2014 at 7:00 pm

proton on the other hand….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Allen toyota subang on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Wow, waiting for vios 1.3, must be cheap ma… CLEVER TOYOTA…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
    • Sidek on Apr 11, 2014 at 7:24 pm

Wah so clever salesmen. iQ so hai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Tomcat on Apr 11, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Hey Allen, just want to ask. Do you have to sing like a Toyota national anthem every morning before you start work? And then do Toyota style Jane Fonda workouts? Oh im sure you will have to wear tights like Gene Simmons. Ha, ha, ha ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Allen toyota subang on Apr 11, 2014 at 9:12 pm

How do you know? I know… U spy on us ha… Come.. Join us…

• littlefire on Apr 11, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Toyota Vios in Japan already using 1.3L & 1.0L VVT-i engine, but with CVT gearbox.. They call it as belta if not mistaken..

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Belta

• Go to China.China have 1.3L engine with euro 4/5 emission engine and I-Super AT gearbox

• who cares? nothing to shout about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
    • Low Budget on Apr 11, 2014 at 7:28 pm

That’s correct, we want the fuel consumption of Kap-Chai on 4 cylinders engines, then we will say this is good.

• Develop so many engine for what?

Your car still without 6 airbag, ESC and running on 4 speed auto.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 9
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 6:45 pm

ASEAN yes but not US, EU, East Asia, Australia n Arabs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Tiunamahai on Apr 11, 2014 at 7:16 pm

Correct, the car drink petrol. Only 4speed auto, not fuel efficient and no power also. What lah, Toyota, like a used grandmother Geisha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
  • holofanboi on Apr 11, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Well this is exciting. Not the part abt toyota finally updating its engine lineup but due to the fact that they insist on staying on N/A route.

Ive got no beef against turbocharging, but like how there are many nostalgia blinded drivers out there who prefer manuals, I myself have a soft spot for naturally aspirated engines :)

Rev it! Rev till the ozone layer disappears!

• nighttrain on Apr 11, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Ecoboost better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • W204 C63 AMG on Apr 11, 2014 at 6:53 pm

you do realize that ecoboost is just a range of Mazda’s MZR engines with bolt on turbos, right? save for the 3-cylinder 1.0 that is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • nighttrain on Apr 13, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Ookay then, SkyActive and EcoBoost better.. So the only one that won the the top dog award is an actual Ford engine. The rest of the EcoBoost line are Mazdas?

• Lane tamer on Apr 11, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Finally, new engines emerged to replace the dinosaur aged engines. Sam Loo, please comment accordingly. Oh wait, he is still hiding in the cave because of the Hilux recall…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Allen toyota subang on Apr 11, 2014 at 9:16 pm

I believe a 1.0 vios will sell like lai chee kang and cendul

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • BeemerFreak on Apr 12, 2014 at 7:37 am

Ya ya , U will believe whatever Toyota says, even if it says the sun rises in the west.

• Sam Loo on Apr 13, 2014 at 10:08 pm

At least it will smoke and outsold Hyundai / KIA anytime, anywhere. Kimchi has no resale value.

• dugong (Member) on Apr 13, 2014 at 12:41 pm

i believe i can fly…

• kadajawi (Member) on Apr 12, 2014 at 4:59 pm

The European Yaris had 1.0 and 1.33 liter engines for ages.

• jacksonljs on Apr 11, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Even with all new engines developed by Toyota, doesn’t mean the existing one will be phased out as some of the engine could be ‘inherited’ by Perodua in future.

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 9:45 pm

Put in Perodua cars.. sure can sell. Good business. Go.. do it. You ll get my money.

• 50rangers on Apr 11, 2014 at 10:03 pm

There is no mention of the power/ torque achieved by this engine. Only 15% better FC. I reckons less power.
    What’s the use of the excellent FC if you are going at the speed of a snail.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 11, 2014 at 10:43 pm

You can be rest assured the Vios we will get will still have a 1NZ-FE engine in it even in the next iteration. Yay.

• Ryan.c on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:21 pm

Wah, 14 engines.
    Umw will have 14 ways to con consumers money again.
    Or remove 13 engines and left the cheapest engine and selling at top price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Denaihati on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:24 pm

good news for toyota fan, with 14 engine variations, maybe most of the malaysian model will use new engine.

• Sam Loo on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:25 pm

Kiss Japanese dirt, kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
  • Heng Lee on Apr 11, 2014 at 11:57 pm

The first new engines in 30 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 8:06 am

Kimchis has not even developed a single engine by themselves all theses while.

All they have done is using TaTa technology from India, put in some electronics and call in Hyundai Beta/Theta or whatever …Ta. In reality, it originated from Tata

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
    • Jeffrey Ng on Apr 12, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Would you be able to provide a reference to back up your statement especially the second paragraph?

Would be interesting to find the truth behind your statement.

• retard on Apr 12, 2014 at 9:33 am

Our petrol RON 95 sure retard the engine.

• Sam Loo on Apr 12, 2014 at 10:12 am

Better than the modified TaTa engines used by Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • ah loo, i really disappointed you as Toyota supporter, i wonder why you are only mentioned about rubbish car maker such as p1, p2 and kimchi.
      We should feel Toyota is the world greatest car, with this new engine series, non of car can fight with Toyota, honda also go eat shit (the power of drain). all other cars are consider rubbish except Toyota.
      i hope you do not only compare to looser, you just bring down Toyota high class image. in RV, even BMW(big mouth woman) another overprice rubbish also cannot fight with Toyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • Pakcik Sam Loo masih sakit on Apr 14, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Junior uncle sales man still talking coxk. Thats why after 25 years at UMW, Sam is stil junior sales man. Korlian

• Heng Lee on Apr 12, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Really? I would prefer a Tata engine over a Toyota engine:

Toyota is recalling a total of 101,584 Lexus vehicles equipped with a 3.5-liter V-6 engine with a 2GR-FSE designation. For these engines, the bolts used to secure the Variable Valve Timing system gear assembly’s housing and sprocket could loosen due to abnormal impact coming from within the housing immediately following a cold engine start-up. If the bolts loosen enough to allow the housing and sprocket to separate from the engine while the car is being driven, the engine will stop running.

• See Ong on Apr 13, 2014 at 11:05 am

At least Tata owns Jaguar and Land Rover. What does Toyota own? Only small shareholding in Perodua. Ha, ha, ha.

• dugong (Member) on Apr 13, 2014 at 12:47 pm

I also heard toyota is using modified tamiya engine..

• cendol (Member) on Apr 12, 2014 at 11:10 am

Frankly I see more new Vios on the road now compared to Inspira + Preve COMBINED.

• Allen toyota subang on Apr 12, 2014 at 11:33 am

Avanza, innova and vios are class leading in FC… Everyday i got headache ma…peoples… Asking me…when will their car arrived…this i told them… Waiting for toyota is like opening a box of chocolate… U never know what u gonna get… But everything is always good…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • cendol (Member) on Apr 12, 2014 at 1:56 pm

lame

• dugong (Member) on Apr 13, 2014 at 12:49 pm

innova class leading in fuel guzzling u mean?

• Sam Loo on Apr 13, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Comparing to the rotten cabbage – Naza Ria 2.5 V6 which one is better? Obviously Toyota.
        Nobody likes stink cabbages where the RV is horrible.

• Sohai Sam on Apr 13, 2014 at 11:12 pm

Comparing a 2 litre innova vs a 2.5 litre naza ria ? Very genius oh?

Real sohai…

• Samad Jain on Apr 12, 2014 at 12:25 pm

fuel efficient perhaps….which is good news.

but i am worried that these engine becoming pondan engine producing little power only…

• pearjai on Apr 12, 2014 at 1:23 pm

In 2004 toyota has put their award winning 1000cc compact engine in 1.0 boon,1.0 passo,belta ettc…our replacement viva will use these engine(1kr-fe,1kr-de)….fuel cossumption should go jo8 test 20.8 km….imagine 30%more fuel eficient from the current engine….erm,4 litre petrol for 100km sound good…..even 1kr-fe already u can found in halfcut since 2006 till now…if u want better mileage …but these 1.0 only in 3 piston…great for compact car ….1.3 atkinson should go for their hybrid

• CamPro on Apr 13, 2014 at 5:43 am

CamPro CFE can smoke all cars including bugati veyron

• pearjai on Apr 13, 2014 at 7:09 am

Can campro cfe go for rm 0.9cent per km with 300000 mileage without any breakdown ?

• nighttrain on Apr 13, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Of course! Didn’t you read the user manual? If you unlock the door the right way, it’ll save fuel ‘for rm 0.9cent per km with 300000 mileage without any breakdown’, whatever that means.. It ain’t rocket science.

• pearjai on Apr 13, 2014 at 8:36 pm

In 10 year i have 10 car,daihatsu,proton,perodua n toyota…..my 05 myvi clock more than 300000km n sold it in 2008, what im saying that how realible this perodua(daihatsu)n toyota that can achive more than 300000 km without any problem…with original timing chain …..even my dad altis clock more 350000km nowday….dont say of corse if u dont ever close achive more than 300km mileage….huhuhu…i have 2 freind with their gen2 that so problematic !

• pearjai on Apr 13, 2014 at 9:14 pm

Did u know that Proton campro have bad lubricant flow on crank ?

• Yawn…..
    I was expecting Toyota to come up with something innovative being so late with their power train update.
    The engine has nothing new!!!! Let me explain…
    There is no direct injection, no turbo, no valve lift. Even the Renault Clio has more tech tucked under that bonnet than this engine.
    Even Mazda’s skyativ engine has direct injection and a higher compression ratio.
    It is a rip off to buy Toyota.