SPY VIDEO: Mazda 2 – next-gen supermini in Europe

We’ve seen the spyshots, now we have a video of the next-generation Mazda 2 in action. This prototype of the company’s new supermini was caught undergoing testing in Europe.

Seeing it in motion, it is clear that while the car is still relatively tiny on the road, it looks considerably more substantial than the current 2. As we have seen on the Hazumi concept that previewed the car’s styling, it also seems like Mazda’s “Kodo” design language will indeed translate very well to a supermini format – this will almost certainly be one of the more distinctive and handsome cars in its class.

To recap on what we know so far, the new Mazda 2 will feature a brace of direct-injected SkyActiv four-cylinder engines – a 1.5 litre petrol (which we might be getting on the Mazda 3 soon) making around 100-120 PS as well as a new 1.5 litre diesel that premiered in the Hazumi concept. An 84 PS 1.3 litre SkyActiv-G engine was fitted on certain variants of the previous-generation car, so we can’t discount that, either.

Spy-Shots of Cars

The presence of cameras and sensors at the top of the windscreen also suggests that the tiny 2 will also inherit some of Mazda’s i-ActivSense driver assist technology seen on its larger Mazda 3 and Mazda 6 siblings, such as automated city braking.

The next-generation Mazda 2 will likely premiere at the Paris Motor Show later this year, and it could reportedly arrive on Malaysian shores soon after. The new car will also form the basis of the next European and North American market Toyota Yaris, including SkyActiv drivetrains and technology.

Mazda Hazumi concept

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• vanhoe on Apr 12, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Please CKD this model Bermas.

• dingdong bell on Apr 12, 2014 at 12:48 pm

look promising, this sure can tapau VW polo, no mention proton GSC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • Vader on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:45 am

more and more b-segment hothatch coming..
      potong GSC need have a unique selling point or else is another failure product..

• spongewai on Apr 12, 2014 at 1:07 pm

2 questions for local assembled Mazda 2

1. how many variants available?
    2. 2 body form including sedan?

price I dun mind

• 50rangers on Apr 12, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Hopefully bermaz bring this M2 to Msia early and not too late. This could be the best supermini yet; excluding the luxury models.

• Allen toyota subang on Apr 12, 2014 at 7:16 pm

The problem with mazda is it is actually beautiful like a girl accessories… Even the name is womanly… It looks good on your wife but certainly not you…. Have you seen the new ALTIS… That is how you evolve a car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 27
    • ALZITS on Apr 13, 2014 at 8:48 am

I agree – the new Mazda2 would be an absolute girl-magnet. What an absolute bonus for all the smart single guys out there who wants to score a date with a Mazda2.

If you want no girls, by all means, there’s always the ummm.. ALTIS.

• busses on Apr 13, 2014 at 10:37 am

Both Altis and Mazda2 are actually utilities for sending kids to school.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • allenhastinybrain on Apr 13, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Altis can only impress the pasar malam aunty and ah soh.

• The pasar malam aunties and ah soh have more saving than your annual salary.

Impress you for what? You can afford meh?

• Anti-Toyota on Jun 08, 2014 at 9:58 am

Allen, no doubt Toyota is a very reliable car. I know for sure as I drive an Altis myself but Toyota need to wake-up and smell the coffee as reliability is just not enough. Toyota seems to cater to family people or those who just want a car to take from point A to B and it is getting really boring and dull. I have been cruising this site to look at alternatives. If u r able to convey my request to Toyota, I would like to have a coupe or hatchback that can accomodate 4 people comfortably, a luggage compartment that can fit at least one check-in luggage, price below 200K, design fits a single man status or look soo good like BMW 2 Series or Accord Coupe, Mazda 3 hatchback or the like. Toyota used to have such awesome coupe like the Corolla Levin. Why Toyota stop producing sporty models? Ok there is the 86 but back seats are just for shopping bags and I doubt the luggage compartment can fit a check-in luggage.

• I ask about this mazda 2 from juru maZda SA,expected early next year,starting with cbu,price estimated around 90k

• 90k you can get spacious full spec honda city already. Mazda2 is actually rubbish at that price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • vanhoe on Apr 13, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Or get the Mazda 3 1.5L CKD.

• Nesquik on Apr 13, 2014 at 1:29 pm

LOL. Let’s not jump to conclusions just yet! At 90K now, a full spec Honda City does not even appear on most people’s radar. When the Mazda2 comes out, the Honda City might very well be considered a tin waste land.

• Heng Lee on Apr 13, 2014 at 6:03 am

‘The new car will also form the basis of the next European and North American market Toyota Yaris, including SkyActiv drivetrains and technology.’

Four speed automatics and 30 year old engines doesn’t seem to sell well in Europe…

• sunny on Apr 13, 2014 at 10:42 am

Japs are stubborn with their NA engine tech whereas Europeans are advancing with turbo engine.

• Nesquik on Apr 13, 2014 at 1:30 pm

Wait, what? Turbo engines are considered advancements?

• Heng Lee on Apr 13, 2014 at 5:17 pm

In terms of sales in Europe, yes. Toyota has a market share of only 4.7% there. And most Toyota’s sold in Europe are fitted with Peugeot turbo diesels… ;)

• Allen toyota subang on Apr 13, 2014 at 9:15 am

Mazda & ford central console is both hideous and horrendous… All the small button is like a barnacle on the rock… Soo stiff…soo HAILAT ma…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • ALZITS on Apr 13, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Ayah… If Toyota is so good then you should be so busy selling. Obviously things must be quiet, boredom is setting in for you, dust is collecting at your sales desk and you have lots of time to diss your competitor’s products!

• Altis…Hello not many on the road as expected.

• if 90k, include DSC/6 airbegs…the price is still reasonable for me…