2015 Volkswagen Jetta facelift makes American debut

2015_Volkswagen_Jetta_facelift_02

While we are still awaiting our CKD Jetta, the 2014 New York Auto Show will debut the 2015 Volkswagen Jetta facelift in a few weeks’ time. The C-segment sedan gets a very light refresher for the coming year, which is not a surprise if you look at VW’s recent facelifts of the Polo and Scirocco models.

Changes to the exterior are minimal, and are limited to a set of new grille with active shutters, more prominent front air intakes and sharper, more Audi A4-like rear lights. The update draws visual links to the US market’s bigger Passat, especially the front. Now available across the range are the LED DRL-equipped headlights introduced on the Jetta Hybrid.

Volkswagen claims improved efficiency across the range, which is helped by improved aerodynamics and newer, more advanced engines. New to the stable are 150 PS versions of the 1.4 litre TSI petrol (turbo only, not TwinCharged like in the 160 PS Malaysian model) and 2.0 litre TDI diesel motors, which are now offered with automatic stop-start and battery energy recuperation systems as standard.

Also carried over from the latest Golf Mk7 are the updated cabin’s steering wheel, instrument cluster and automatic air con controls, to go along with the new piano black and chrome trimmings. Advanced safety features such as Blind Spot Detection, Rear Cross-Traffic Alert, and Frontal Collision Warning make the jump to the sedan too.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 2:00 pm

So what change exactly? Yes I know it is listed, but I’ll struggle to tell the difference visually.

Anyways, volkswagen USA recently put the Jetta and beetle sales on hold to rectify their gearbox auto problem, not the DSG but their auto problem. Wonder weather this is their ‘fixed’ Volkswagen Jetta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Car Enthusiast on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Sorry, DSG cannot be fixed. All DSG is inherently faulty. The Borg Warner units can be replaced over and over again but it will still breakdown. All the more in hot climate like Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
      • because germany doesn’t have hot summers right?

RIGHT?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • Definition of Stupidity on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:20 pm

What is stupidity? Stupidity is spending RM200,000 for a car that breaksdown so often, that half your life, you are standing like a bangla by the roadside waiting for your tow truck to arrive. The other half, you have to take MC to go to service centre to wait.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
      • 2013 Passat Owner on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:48 pm

VW please rectify your service centre speed. So slow to repair anything. Waiting 2 or 3 weeks for my car is so common. What crap is this?

• sutrak on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:15 pm

get yourself a pair of glasses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • Definition of Stupidity on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:21 pm

My friends who won VW, half to use up their whole annual leave to go to VW Service Centre to repaid their DSG.

Each time, SC take 3 weeks to repair. Spend RM200,000 but end of take bus to work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • sutrak on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:12 pm

the definition of stupidity is being unable to get your spelling right.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:55 pm

From wat i can tell,tis is stil not based on da new MBQ platform,stil da old one,actually nt much wrong with da car but atleast thy could hv make some effort on da bland exterior

• Sales Bored to Death on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Same car, same DSG. Nothing new. Soon, in 2014 another protest at Bangsar by disgruntled owners.

• Bob_B78 on Apr 14, 2014 at 2:45 pm

I wonder if i could fit those headlights in my car without voiding warranty….

• LOL.. that face looks like it’s eating a huge ass burger.. thus the wide mouth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Car Enthusiast on Apr 14, 2014 at 2:51 pm

They can make all the facelift but the DSG is still the same. Still hearing my friends with 2014 DSG breaking down so often. So, the DSG is not a pre 2013 problem. It is also a 2014 problem.

VW Germany already admit on May 08 2013, all their DSG boxes, whether its 2013 or earlier years strictly cannot handle 1) Hot Asian Climate 2) Asian traffic jams otherwise prone to non stop breakdowns. This is an admission in black and white. What this means is that, their DSG cars CANNOT be sold in Malaysia at all unless you want to use the car in the night only when it is cooling and got no jam.

For existing DSG owners, there is no way around it. Even the recent global mass recalls cannot sort this problem out. They will just put in a new DSG box when they recall but ALL the DSG boxes by Borg Warner are inherently defective.

How can I trust a car company who denied for years there was nothing wrong with their DSG until the China government came down hard on them?

So, a reminder again, the DSG cars should not have been sold or to be sold in Malaysia in the first place. You can use this car in Europe but a big NO in Malaysia. As earlier said, unless you use the car ONLY at night (when it is cooling) and there is NO traffic jam.

Pity current DSG owners. Their prices are going to have a free fall plummetting to ridiculous levels. Bargain hunters can now buy a 2012 Golf or Passat for less than RM90k because everybody knows about the DSG problems. Its all over the VW facebook page. Most owners are mad that to replace their DSG box takes 3 months. So, 3 months no car!

VW owners must do a class action suit against VW Malaysia. They knew about this problem for years but persisted in selling still right up to APril 2014 DSG cars. In overseas, people are suing because it is a danger. Many people accident and die because halfway overtaking DSG lose power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 42
    • sutrak on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:20 pm

ah.. another one of those composition that’s longer than my final year thesis. wonder where this is copied from..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
    • Bob_B78 on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Only 4 months into 2014 and already have DSG breakdown??????????
      Did someone pay you to write this article?
      Are you going to insist that your friends car breakdown?
      Funny thing that I noticed in VW facebook, alot complain GB failed. When VW request their reference no in order to look into their complain, they just disappear. I really wonder y……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 10
      • 2014 Passat Owner on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:51 pm

I got 2014 Passat. Collected my car in Mid March. My DSG failed once already. Until now, my car juddering. Bad mistake I made buying VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
        • sutrak on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:44 pm

so you are admitting that you are an idiot for buying a VW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
        • LS Tan on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Hello 2014 Passat owner. Before this you said you have a Touareg with failed DSG when everybody here proved that you wre lying as Touareg’s dont use DSG. Why you lying here again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • Sales Bored to Death on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:55 pm

When i go to Service Centre I love to talk to the advisors. the honest ones admit, the DSG is still faulty even in the 2014 models. VGM salesman, pls feel free to dislike my comment. After all you guys are all bored to death with low sales.

• Definition of Stupidity on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:23 pm

I don’t know what tricks VGM is paying lah but my VW buddies still having their car stalled because of DSG failure. Drivetrain Selalu Gagal.

• 2013 Passat Owner on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:44 pm

Only car company in Malaysia where you have to call1 month in advance to book a slot. If you cannot make it, then wait another month. In that other month you cross your mileage interval (eg 5000KM), your warranty becomes void. Huh? My waja I overshoot by few thousand also, Proton repair it for free and honour the warranty!

• Siong Lim on Apr 15, 2014 at 10:14 am

Make up your mind, are you 2014 Passat Owner or 2013 Passat Owner?

• Lemer on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:28 pm

3 VW cars are in top ten best selling car in the world in 2013 all over the countries not only in europe. Either you are clown or only afford driving vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
      • 2014 Passat Owner on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:53 pm

After reading in forums, I realised VW is good only in cold countries. In hot countries the DSG overheats.

My biggest regret. I should have read forums before buying this car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
        • sutrak on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:46 pm

of course, VW never breaks down in cold countries coz it’s cold the whole year round. so you are referring to the north pole or south pole?

another idiotic comment so naive that you don’t even know there’s a word called summer. pls look it up and go back to school.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • Sales Bored to Death on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:02 pm

VW already admit in black and white in 2013. But before that sales people in VGM say Toyota salesman creating rumours. Now, VGM sales people saying 2014 models all ok. But they said that in 2013 and 2012 also. In 2012 and 2013, they said all rumours about DSG untrue. In May 2013, VW AG admitted. All Malaysian salesman keep quiet for months.

• 2013 Passat Owner on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:38 pm

My Passat has halted about 4 times since I bought it. Everytime DSG. If they have perfected the DSG, why can’t they put this so called new DSG in my car instead of me suffering with jerking all the time?

• VW has a problem free gear box aka DSG6 (wet clutch 6 speed DSG).
            VW just need to use the more expensive DSG6 ( as used in the Golf GTi)in the 1.4 TSI models.
            But, this would prove that VW made a mistake.
            So, for the sake of VW’s pride, I doubt DSG6 will be used. Pitiful Malaysians.

• alldisc on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:33 pm

but without DSG, we wod not have anything attractive to offer at the price of 200K!!

what do you expect, VW to sell a 2.0 Jetta at 130K like civic and altis? clearly no one will buy.

they say.

btw, i prefer this car to be called Golf Sedan. that Jetta name is all to strange in our market since Vento name (also Golf Sedan while the other is Bora) made appearance first in Malaysia some 15 yrs ago.

• abc123 on Apr 14, 2014 at 4:00 pm

do u hav any proved that people die because of dsg prob?

• ToBOH Lan lier ? on Apr 14, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Another junior uncle sales man Sam Loo kind of lier from the jungle.

• VW Car Owner Since 2010 on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Hello, “car enthusiast” you obviously do not know enough about DSG problems to comment here. I am the proud owner of 4 dry clutch DSG VW cars, since 2010. Here is what I can confirm based on actual research with VW Wolfsburg and statistical information collated from around the world:

1) NOBODY in the world has died due to DSG problems in either VW, Honda, BMW, Ford or any other dry dual clutch system.

2) There is a solution to the problems of the first batch DSG dry dual clutch models from year 2009 to 2011 onwards. It involves various types of rectification that ranges from software to clutch pack, depending on the model and type of dry dual clutch pack. Also customers in hit weather countries around the world were advised to switch to mineral oils due to viscosity reasons and not due to engine issues. Please note that the issue is NOT an engine problem, but purely a fault with early batch dry dual clutch units.

3) Most of the car manufacturers have models that use the Borg Warner dry dual clutch pack. Saying that all Borg Warner dry clutch systems are faulty is a serious accusation which can lead to the company taking legal action against you for speculating on something that is inherently NOT true.

4) VW cars have NOT lost its resale value due to the DSG issue of its “early’ models as all Insurance companies and authorised workshops are fully aware the extent of the scenario. It is actually an exaggerated issue, with VW having already called owners to send their cars for parts replacement or software change as well as changing the engine oil to mineral oil due to temperature issues. Please note, this is not only done by VW, but also by Honda, BMW, Ford and many other dry clutch cars.

5) All owners MUST read the terms and conditions of their warranty claims, not only by VW but by all car companies that use these type of clutch systems. Once you go through it with your lawyer, you will notice that certain changes are not compulsory by manufacturers, but VW is replacing parts of these items anyway, AT NO COST, for ‘older’ models only.

6) NONE of VW models from year 2013 onwards are affected by the DSG issue as they are using a newer and upgraded clutch pack by Borg Warner which no longer suffers from the same issues.

7) Way back in the 1970’s and 1980’s, standard automatic transmissions were avoided by Malaysian car buyers as they tend to fail and were costly to replace. Eventually Malaysians have accepted automatic transmissions today despite the fact that not much innovation has taken place with automatic transmissions since, and it is still costly to replace them ( between RM5000 to RM20,000 today, depending on car models).

Therefore, those who are not owners of the cars in question, or just reading blogs and Facebook postings should not jump into conclusion without fully understanding the full scenario. It is quite similar to all the intense media speculation about flight MH370 in the net, most of which is not true.

My advice to those who are still not sure, ask qualified mechanics that service German cars about the issue, as they would be neutral. Do not ask VW dealers if you want a neutral answer. To the rest here who continue to speculate without reasonable proof, it is best you educate yourself on this issue further before posting unwarranted comments.

My 2 cents worth.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 10
      • Service Centre Technician on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Hello bang, I work with VGM lah. There are countless of 2014 models affected. Be fair lah to consumers. I work with VGM also i admit facts are facts. Dont want consumers to suffer. You sound like one of our sales team at glenmarie!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
        • Sidek on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Hello bang service technician, nama u sape eh? Nak jumpa u lah kat VGM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
      • Sales Bored to Death on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:53 pm

With dwindling sales because of the DSG issue, sales people at VGM can refresh and click like this comment. No way in 1 hour can kena like 60 over times. This shows how bored they are with super low sales.

Repair your DSG, give customers 10 years warranty, then we will believe you!

• Malek H on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:01 pm

I think you got it wrong la bro,they just announced better sales figures year ending March 2014. So i think their sales quite happening also beb!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Sales Bored to Death on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:56 pm

aiseh, this is so clearcut VW salesman lah! no need to even guess.

• 2013 Passat Owner on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:40 pm

I don’t know about you, I got the tow truck guy on my speed dial. Only use my Passat for KL use. If outstation, I use my waja. I know at least, Proton does not breakdown. I refuse to be stuck in Karak highway!

• Iniesta on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:42 am

Well said I couldn’t agree more with you, I guess the so called car enthusiast is a salesman from another brand just hear what his friend said about the dsg and know nothing about dsg , a car is built by thousand components, we can’t expect every part is free of problem, what matter is the rectification process. Toyota and general motor recently made a global recall affecting million of vehicles and it is a common practice by car manufacturer when they have knowledge some parts of the car is defective , so no one buy toyota or GM vehicles?

• Thomas Tan on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Hi car enthusiast, can you send the link about their admission of fault of DSG in 2013 cars and above. I have read the VW press release and it says cars till year 2011 only. So where is this new press release that you say you have? Please show proof. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • Sales Bored to Death on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Salesman, again trying to dispute. And then click as many likes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • obviously a rival car salesman. toyota? or honda? i’m betting toyota

• zeek (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:01 pm

The rear lights just scream Audi A4

• Allen toyota subang on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:14 pm

VW IS A CANCER TO SOCIETY…we need to break the germans down…its a pity that all you VW OWNER.. Everyday living a regret…the solution is always close by… Whether you r clever or brave enough to look for it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • david lim on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:23 pm

Is living proof that other car salesman are behind most of the story telling here

• Alan Tiing on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Are Toyota salesmen worried about the rise of VW, because they have a target to become the world’s biggest car maker by 2018 overtaking Toyota?

Maybe, just maybe it could be true ..

• Sales Bored to Death on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:57 pm

Maybe globally. Last year VW Malaysia has its worse ever drop in sales. this year going to be worse. Everybody now aware of the DSG scandals.
        Now modus operandi of sales team is to say 2014 models are clear of DSG issues.

But sales team said the same thing in 2013, 2012, 2011…..

• durian runtuh on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Hey dont talk co*kla bro. Last year VW global sales was higher than 2012. Thats why they overtook GM. Check Wikipedia la. Dont simply talk from your bishops nose.

• Sales Bored to Death on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Soon there will be Bangsar Protest 2.0.

• retard on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:34 pm

No matter what brand of car, use manual gearbox better. U people all can exercise. Malaysian are known for lack of exercise – high blood pressure, stroke and so on.

• Just Sharing and hope there is no offence to anyone here.

http://www.drive.com.au/motor-news/death-prompts-vw-owners-to-speak-out-20130530-2nexi.html

• shuelian on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:46 pm

John, you are right to highlight this. But I think the case judgement was VW was not responsible for the death. Anyway, just sharing the final judgement by the court.

• Sales Bored to Death on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:58 pm

google DSG and VW and Deaths, you will see so many law suits.

• toophattodance on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:05 pm

“Sales Bored To Death’ – seriously you really sound like a car salesman,! Dang!

• Colonel Sanders JR on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:24 pm

I Googled DSG And Death, the same Australian case was the only one that popped up. So what are you trying to prove, sales bored to death? Any more wise ideas?

• 2013 Passat Owner on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:41 pm

So many cases of DSG losing power while overtaking. Don’t know if deaths are true but I am certain accidents would have happened. When we overtake we assess the distance and we need the power.

• 2013 Passat Owner on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:46 pm

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-06-12/volkswagen-confirms-australian-car-recall/4747694

• Dr Dre Lover on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:50 pm

I think there was an appeal in this case. Because the car in question was a manual transmission, therefore the DSG was not at fault.

• nothing great abt VW. BORING.. ok next.

• Susudio on Apr 15, 2014 at 10:04 am

If nothing great, then what are you still doing here? Get out la! Go to your Honda EX5 forum

• Iniesta on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:52 am

All sort of statement and comments star from my friends said this and that, simplt said the dsg gb can not be used at all, all these guys know nothing about dsg , they are car salesman try to boost their sale

• Keris Jawa on Apr 15, 2014 at 4:33 am

Everytime it’s about VW sure meriah the comments. I like. But I am sure the much cleverer consumers don’t make any decision based on all the absurdity shown here.

• Allen toyota subang on Apr 15, 2014 at 11:52 am

CLEVERER…c’mon dude…thats how clever r u, any way in CHINA…my uncle told me… The PRC gov…told VW if its proven that the sold a clearly defective product the punishment is not jail… Its death by firing squad…-dropped jaw-

• Keris Jawa on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Mainland China laws are always laughable. What can I say?

• Kanguadahcakapdah on Apr 15, 2014 at 2:20 pm

My auntie told me that your uncle is impotent. Ha, ha, ha.

• Ex Toyota Salesman Now VW on Apr 15, 2014 at 2:48 pm

In China, VW is the no. 1 selling car in 2013, selling more units than in 2012. Toyota is 4th or 5th behind Nissan and Hyundai. Just Google best selling car in China. Even GM sells more than Toyota in China. I think they need to send all Toyota salesmen to the firing squad for being big fat liars!

• Ex Toyota Salesman Now VW on Apr 15, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Check the top selling models in China and see where Toyota stands, in the link below:

http://chinaautoweb.com/2014/01/best-selling-cars-in-china-the-top-100-sedans-of-2013/

• Allen toyota subang on Apr 15, 2014 at 9:43 pm

The chinese market is driven by sentiment especially in light of current episodes of senkaku island ownership… VW IN CHINA is made by shanghai based company.., hmm… The quality should be horrendous with all the slave labouring..and factory owner executed by the government…

• Ching Yau on Apr 15, 2014 at 11:42 pm

If its driven by anti-Japanese sentiment, then why is Nissan doing so well? Maybe because Nissan cars are better built with modern technology compared to Toyota’s 30 year old tech in its current cars.

• Perfecto on Apr 16, 2014 at 10:26 am

Nissan is still doing good. Honda is junk, esp Accord break down so frequently