GALLERY: Peugeot 3008 facelift on show in Glenmarie

Peugeot 3008 FL Glenmarie 40

Not long to go before the Peugeot 3008 facelift is officially launched in Malaysia – the vehicle was teased on Facebook last week, and now, a display unit parked in Nasim’s Glenmarie flagship showroom has offered the first visual take of the local specification version of the refreshed 308-based crossover.

The facelift, which made its global debut last year in Frankfurt, sports a number of exterior changes – there’s a new face (different grille, new fog lamp housings and front apron), which brings it in line with the current Pug range.

Peugeot 3008 FL Glenmarie 22

It also gets new bi-xenon headlamps (with DRLs) as well as restyled LED rear lamps, the latter bearing a three-line claw light design. Also new to the vehicle are 17-inch Aregia alloys and twin front parking sensors, mounted on the front apron.

As for the interior, new kit comes in the form of a colour heads-up display, eight-way adjustable powered driver’s seat, reverse camera and a high-resolution seven-inch retractable colour screen with integrated navigation. The new dashboard top-located screen replaces the World in Peugeot Sound’s centre-console multifunction display in the old 3008.

Peugeot 3008 FL Glenmarie 1

The facelift also gets new upholstery, new trim on the centre console and a flat-bottomed steering wheel with chromed inserts. No changes mechanically save a different state of tune for the 1.6 litre THP engine, which now has 165 PS and 240 Nm compared to the original’s 155 hp and 240 Nm. Lastly, two new exterior colours abound, these being Babylon Red and Bourassque Blue.

An earlier ad on oto.my bandied the estimated price for the 3008 FL as RM155,000, up by a bit from the the original’s launch price of RM143,888 when the 3008 made its local debut in June 2010.

We’ll find out soon enough!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kenny on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Naza must be joking. Outdated accessories and interior design with this kind of pricing? I rather go for Honda CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 97
    • Autoexpert on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:24 pm

You must be joking… comparing interior plastics of Honda CRV with elegant and stylish interior of P3008.

Sometimes, there are still people that are really ‘blind’???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 16
      • shabalala (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 8:40 pm

i agreed with you actually. owned a naza citra back in 2008. electronics faulty, sent to sc to fix it for 6 times and still same problems. decided to swap it with 308 in 2011, used it for 10 months only cause the turbo engine keeps broke down, sent it to sc for couple of times and still cannot fix. i have no idea what are naza doing, haih.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
        • Hello friend, you are talking and comparing Korean and the French. There is no comparison unless you compare it with Citroen and Renault. 3008 is the best SUV in town. None can compare to its, ”ú asked for it” and here u got it it. Nothing is left out in its features.

• well, don’t mean to bias,… but for this case (comparing 3008 to CRV), blind people win

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • Kenny on Apr 15, 2014 at 9:14 am

Yeah, a lot of blind people. 3008 is better than CRV or CX5 at RM155k? Most funny joke of the year. you must be the sales man from naza. I may consider it if it is selling at RM130k. Ops.. sorry, I would go for Tuckson for RM130k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • Same Lor Orii on Apr 15, 2014 at 2:48 pm

When you only concern of the outlook, interior on a car, you are literally blind.

Only on build quality and reliability, the Peugeot has nowhere close to the Honda CRV.

When ppl want to get a conti car but they can’t afford the good one like Mercedes and Audi, they get Peugeot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • mr1031 on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:54 pm

this just prove you never see the pug in person..pui

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 14
    • I’d go for the cx5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 18
    • theanswer on Apr 14, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Outdated? R20 not outdated yeh? Push aside rv and after sales, at least prince thp is the current best 1.6 engine of the year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
  • Allen toyota subang on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:03 pm

My colleague call this car a sore that fester and run…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 44
    • lowprofile on Apr 15, 2014 at 8:54 am

your colleague is probably a toyota salesman like you. don’t think you guys would say anything else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • brutus on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:12 pm

great specs and big improvement on the front.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
  • Autoexpert on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:20 pm

NAZA, Where’s the HYBRID version? Still no launch even after testing for 2 years…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Car_fan on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:56 pm

It never looked nice, still doesn’t. If anything, it’s uglier now. Good luck Naza, and whoever who dares to buy something that loses 20% of its value on the day it’s registered.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 28
    • Car fan is talking cok. Any car for the matter, loses 20% of it value when you sell after registration. Try selling a CRV. or Cx 5. puiii!

• nabill (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 8:01 pm

One ting pugs r good at,their interiors r plush with very gd plastics..compare to japanese,soft touch everywhere,specially nice for those who go showroom n bang everywer n check if its good quality or not,try not to lough!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • I miss the strawberry tail light…

• kikco on Apr 14, 2014 at 8:54 pm

jerking..jerking..carbon build up, being kick like a ball in service center….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • nicer than previous 1.. price? hmm..

• i like the center console, Audi R8 like center console. this center console should be in cars like RCZ

• policeman on Apr 14, 2014 at 11:50 pm

What kind of outdated junk is this? It doesn’t even have audio controls on steering wheel. Something even Proton Saga has. Disgusting. I would like to see the moron that purchases this trash. Must be a woman.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 32
    • slk3879 on Apr 15, 2014 at 7:52 am

the controls are mounted just right under the steering wheel. Go see the car yourself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
      • lowprofile on Apr 15, 2014 at 8:57 am

the worse thing is these people don’t even know what this car is about and don’t even bother to have a look in the showroom to see for themselves, and then they make sweeping statements. very interesting how they function.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
        • Kenny on Apr 15, 2014 at 9:22 am

How do u know people never look at the actual unit? You maybe not bother to see CRV or CX5 and not a wise consumer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
          • lowprofile on Apr 15, 2014 at 9:51 am

how do you know that they do? it is just speculation. anyway, there’s no reason to further discuss a point if the mind is already set. peace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Api69 on Apr 15, 2014 at 8:42 am

Pugs have always maintained a design philosophy of a clean steering.

• intermilan on Apr 15, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Which lot of people, particularly who don’t own a Pug, didn’t know about this design philosophy.

And even more people who didn’t realise about the reason behind this steering design philosophy.

Allow me to share.. for PSA Peugeot Citroen, steering wheel function is to steer the vehicle. And this function is crucial/important enough not to be ‘disturbed’ by other non-essential function.

Steering wheel is not a remote control for which to control audio, auto-cruise, speed limiter etc.

PSA Peugeot Citroen design philosophy satisfy the need to have such control (audio, auto cruise, speed limiter function etc) near to the driver by providing separate stalk(s) behind the steering wheel, usually position below the light and/or wiper stalk, where it is still very near to the steering wheel / driver’s fingers/hands.

Only in recent years, as consumer begin to insist on having multifunction steering (as it looks premium, they said), that PSA Peugeot Citroen start to provide such steering wheel in selected models (where the need for ‘premiumness’ is paramount and overwelming).

For me, I appreciate this design philosophy and salute the thinking behind it.

• Keris Jawa on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:16 am

“…RM155,000, up by a bit from the the original’s launch price of RM143,888…”. A BIT you said? You guys must be rich!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • lowprofile on Apr 15, 2014 at 9:43 am

It comes with a lot more kit as well as the more powerful engine from the 408 turbo. Anyway, it should be ok for those who can afford it. For those who find the price uncomfortable well, there are many alternatives around.

• bravo on Apr 15, 2014 at 10:58 am

I love the interior of this car. Although the previous version exterior i must says not appetizing, the new facelifted looks slightly better.

People here who like to bash conti and swear by god name japo is the king of this and that, i guess this folks are the coward and timid kind. Just like our BN politician who is living in denial and kept on harping on the citizen on may 13th if you don’t toe in line with their preaching.

Anyway, this folks are at loss and kept on buying T&H. Let them harp on their resale value while those who love finer things and don’t take RV as top priority get to enjoy the daly commuting of what a good car is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • its already 2014 and yet they still didn’t bother to move the handbrake lever to the right side for our market

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
    • dupey on Apr 15, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Pls go see the real car.. the hand brake level is just a small toggle switch below the gearshift console..there is no handbrake stick “sticking” out for u to pull …

• intermilan on Apr 15, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Sadly, they will never will.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 15, 2014 at 4:41 pm

LOL@JZ

you thought the passenger grab handle is the handbrake lever????

• tikus on Apr 15, 2014 at 7:26 pm

This is what is lowprofile call talk only and dont understand anything about the car.Simply make comment.Typical Jap car salesman.

• Making a statement without knowing the facts makes a person look like a fool when the facts are laid down clearly. This car has no lever jutting out as you have in the Japanese/Korean and Malaysian models. Its electric brake friend. Know your facts first. There is also a park assist for people like you and I am sure people like you whont dare use it. hahahaha. Note. I am not a car salesman but an enthusiasist.

• Anything on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Poor RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • RV. Yes, dont buy any car. Sad to say, nowadays its not safe to ride a bicycle unless you are living in jungle fringe. There is no more KERETA LEMBU too. So, just walk or take a ride from any PUG owner.hahahaha

• Joker on Apr 15, 2014 at 2:40 pm

They raise the price zzz..
    Interior wise it’s better than the old 3008 but i IMHO the 208 interior is better, smooth flowing dashboard with exact spot on trimming proportionate..
    and that prince engine is abit of a problem if the owner has 0 knowledge about turbo engine…

• intermilan on Apr 15, 2014 at 3:40 pm

That’s why now, Nasim only introduce new Peugeot models with 1.6L THP engine that produce 165 PS and 240 Nm.

The 140bhp and 155bhp tuned THP engine was retired in Malaysia (don’t know about other countries).

This ‘165 PS version’ is the updated version of 1.6L THP / Prince engine.

I heard it is targeted to free the THP engine from the infamous issues/problems of the past that plagued the older versions of THP engine.

• nzain on Apr 15, 2014 at 4:00 pm

hoh..always do admire this 3008 model…nice la..their interior look great

• allen toyota Subang on Apr 16, 2014 at 12:04 am

Can we call this pug….THE PURGE…

• whatever on Apr 16, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Those promote the car hard because it is “Europe” car. They just ignored and avoid to discuss the RV and energy efficiency perspectives. You will regret. Read the FB version of this post. there are few opinions on the oil consumption and the maintenance.

• if it is really 155k ,we might compare it to ford kuga? same 1.6 but ford has 180ps 240torque ….but the fuel comsumption is not that good…

• Richard Hammond on Apr 17, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Kurga? I will prefer 3008 over Kuga since I have test driven both cars and 3008 gives you more turbo power than Kuga’s slowly boost although the horsepower is higher, still 3008 accelerates better.