Subaru WRX and WRX STI sighted in Malaysia!

subaru-wrx-sti-spotted-jpj-1

Thanks to readers Rosman Fitri, ApexKit and Anol Alias, we have spyshots of the new Subaru WRX and WRX STI in Malaysia! Both have been sighted nestling in the JPJ car park, with the WRX STI differentiated by its huge rear wing. A JPJ evaluation unit has also been spotted in TTDI Jaya.

Under the WRX’s bonnet lurks a 268 PS/350 Nm 2.0 litre direct-injected flat-four, with six-speed manual and Sport Lineartronic CVT gearboxes to choose from. Its more hardcore WRX STI sibling is powered by a 300 PS/407 Nm 2.5 litre multi port-injected flat-four, and only comes with a six-speed manual.

The fourth-gen Subaru WRX and WRX STI only recently received their regional launch in Manila. They’re expected to be available in Malaysia from July onwards. Learn more about the hot Scooby pair here.

Subaru WRX and WRX STI in Malaysia

Subaru WRX

Subaru WRX STI

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• sulama on Apr 14, 2014 at 12:57 pm

WRX vs. Suprima S drag race…who wins?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 78
    • captain obvious on Apr 14, 2014 at 1:46 pm

WRX

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 3
    • powderful on Apr 14, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Ding ding! Winner of the most asinine comment ever…

• Same Lorr on Apr 14, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Haha, typical Proton 4S concept.

1. Cakap Sendiri
      2. Syok Sendiri
      3. Sentiasa Rosak
      4. Sales Carnival

Suprima S vs WRX?? I really laugh my a** out!!!

Stop can’t stop laughing.

They really think their Suprima S can smoke anything!

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 13
    • alldisc on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:43 pm

is it ok. even suprima driver looses, he can just stop by the road side and enjoy his in-car Yes 4G android internet. err, provided got coverage lah.

• Sulama makan kangkung on Apr 14, 2014 at 4:48 pm

I think Suprima S won!

Coz WRX drive reversely and let suprima S hit the finish line by and ahead by 0.01sec. Tahniah P1!! 1 Malaysia product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • nabill (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Ur brain wont win thats for sure

• Enthu on Jun 24, 2014 at 8:53 am

Are you trolling here?

Shoo~

Go take your Suprima and play elsewhere.

• Amei (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Please la equipped the car with both manual and CVT. Not all people wants a CVT Subbie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
    • kami (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 1:23 pm

“with six-
      speed manual and Sport Lineartronic CVT
      gearboxes to choose from”

simple english.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 0
    • can’t read properly Amei?

• Amei (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 1:41 pm

haih. I mean if it’s for sale here. I know the Subaru have the six-
        speed manual and Sport Lineartronic CVT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 20
        • alldisc on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:48 pm

nice excuse.

ooppss..

• Amei (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:20 pm

No need to be an ass just because I forgot to mention ‘in Malaysia.’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
  • Guan Yin Maa on Apr 14, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Expect to reach 300k for this toy. STI around 350k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • drebarbelon (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Heard it’s gonna be RM230k for the WRX…& STI will go for rm270k…

• To those people, please stop relating this to Lancer Evolution X. Mitsubishi is already planning to stop the production of Lancer Evolution and now all there left is the WRX STI alone. I don’t think we want to lose more of these iconic Japanese performance cars anymore do we? Just appreciate this one over here. JDM performance cars are dying… Mazda RX series (RX-7, RX-8), Mitsubishi GTO/3000GT, Nissan Silvia, Toyota MR2, Toyota Celica, Honda Integra, etc. And soon Lancer Evolution might be heading that way as well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
    • W204 C63 AMG on Apr 14, 2014 at 1:56 pm

What are you talking about? JDM performance cars are still alive and kicking around. We still have the Lexus LFA and soon the RC-F, Nissan still has its GT-R and Z Series cars, not forgetting Infiniti’s G37 and the upcoming Q50, Mazda still has its Mazda3 MPS. What about Honda’s upcoming Civic Type R and the Honda/Acura NSX?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
      • powderful on Apr 14, 2014 at 2:16 pm

^^^^^^^ Truth.

• Agreed ,,
        continental supercars = alots ,
        BUT, GTR silents them all by beating them in almost all aspects.
        talking about car engine note, LFA sound better.
        New hybrid sport – Honda NSX
        *Japan, sportcar are limited, but they made the best of all.
        Quality are better than quantity :)

• Yes, you have a point here. But just take a look back during the late 80s and 90s. How many performance oriented cars they have compared to today. I was only mentioning the famous ones in my previous comment. I haven’t even touch about other cheaper Japanese performance cars yet. Like Civic SiR with B16A engine, Corolla Levin/Sprinter Trueno with 4A-GE, Lancer GSR with 4G93T, Eterna with 6A12TT, Mirage Cyborg R with 4G92 MIVEC, Pulsar VZ-R with SR16VE and the list just goes on.

By the way, some of the cars that you mentioned like LFA, RC-F, GT-R, upcoming NSX are all bordering on supercar levels and pricing. That is not cheap anymore like many older Japanese performance cars are. One example of new Japanese performance cars which is not too expensive and has the potential to be modified would be 86/BRZ. Besides, to many of those car modification enthusiast, driving a car with traditional manual transmission is always more engaging than driving an auto whether is it semi automatic or double clutch transmission which lacked the clutch pedal for the driver to operate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
        • frenzyaustin on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Mazda MX-5, Toyota GT-86, Subaru WRX, upcoming Toyota Supra, Honda Civic Type-R, Mazda RX-series and more. It’s not easy to build a sports car ground up when the economy isn’t great. Well, tell me what the conti come up with cheap build from ground up sports car?

• W204 C63 AMG on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:27 pm

exactly, that’s when you didn’t make your point clearly. you are generalizing that JDM performance car market is dying, which really it isn’t. Japanese performance cars are getting more expensive, or more upmarket. for example, what used to be a Nissan badged Skyline is becoming an Infiniti badged G, and now Q50, while they spinned out the GT-R name plate to a super car.

yes, nowadays there’s no more sub 300k Japanese performance cars anymore. put it this way, there are no Japanese equivalent of ‘cheap’ hot hatches, there are a few like Mazda3 MPS and Civic Type R. they are moving further up the ladder in terms of price point, whereas the Germans are moving down. 10-20 years ago, nobody would have imagined Merc selling an A/CLA class, nobody would have imagined BMW selling the 1/2 Series and nobody would have imagined Audi selling A1 and A3. Just like 10-20 years ago, nobody would have imagined Toyota selling a Lexus LFA with a price tag above a million.

• JDM rules on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:34 am

mungkin ape yg ken maksudkan adalah affordable performance car..apa yg awk ckpkan adalah premium car..not for masses..even most average joe cannot afford g37 or q50…furthermore you miss the word ‘iconic’..peace yo

• Yes, what I am trying to say is affordable performance car. For example, a car with affordable pricing, low engine displacement and also can be easily customized or modified. Like the new 86/BRZ for example although the price is still considered to be high over here. In other countries, it is priced quite low and it does have a lot of potential for modification and customization.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Japanese cars are not dying but evolving. True some old icons can’t be replaces, the rotarys and high revving engines in high performance mazdas and Hondas cannot be revived anymore as they are just not feasible in an era of high emission standard.

Today we have the LFA and 86 which represent both extreme if what Toyota can do; Toyota also confirm a sports car from their BMW partnership thou weather it’ll be a supra or celica revival we’re not sure but BMW part will result in a Z4 successor. Honda is coming out with the Civic Type-R and NSX next year, and they already have plans for a jazz type-R with a 180hp 1.5 turbo and a Honda beat successor. The next gen Z will hark its routes back to the simple and effective S30 Fairlady/240Z with a lightweight body and a turbo 2.5 4-cylinder and the next GTR is said to get a hybrid 700hp heart. And finally to Mitsubishi ,Mitsubishi is going to kill the Evo , but it’s legacy is rumored to live on in a dedicated GT car, a revived 2000GT/GTO.

All cars rumored an plan are significantly different from the car it replaces, weather u like it or not. But JApanese sports car are definitely not dead, they’re changing.

• Hey man , Even Datsun being revived.. :)

• Guan Yin Maa on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:17 pm

I remember someone said toyota got a lousy engine inventory with zero tech innovation.

• alldisc on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:55 pm

too much internet i think..

• AVH (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Yes, still very lousy engine inventory and engine innovation. The 86 has its engine source from Subaru and the LFA’s magnificent V10 is a one-off……not much left that can go into a normal production car than.

• Eddie on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Damn emission standard…

• nabill (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Most of them getting obessed with emissions n low fc,so most r gonna b either hybrids or sting that lacks soul,probably subaru,n to some extent mazda,havnt caughtup in these performance,emmisions tangle…

• Eddie on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Hi-5!

Really miss all the MX5 NA/NB, MR2, Supra, GTO, S2000, RX7, Skylines, 300zx…etc

Current 86 and 370z is alright but the others are meh…

LFA (Limited), R35 (Too expensive and doesn’t come with manual)

• Bongcs on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Arh~~Those good old days..

• heybadigol on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:13 pm

Wowwwww, that blue looks so nice… The STI has bigger rims compared to its STI-less WRX brother. But bit hard to tell by the low resolution pictures whether this is WRX or STI.

Im impressed by MotorImage. That was quite fast to reach here, though its only for JPJ evaluation.

Now, how about for those who have grown up and can’t be driving the family around in a car with suspension made of cement. We need the LeVorg wagon here too, pronto!! Please MotorImage, hope you can bring the LeVorg here as well.

• heybadigol on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Sorry just realised. The blue in the pictures is the STI, cos it has the iconic rear wing. The silver one must be the WRX, as its wing-less. Just my guess.

• mmaker on Apr 14, 2014 at 3:52 pm

better buy this new wrx rather than new a3 or a250. Enjoy driving to the fullest!

• mim (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:16 pm

I would get the WRX CVT as a fun daily driver, and WRX STi as a hardcore weekend car.. if I have lots of money.

But I’d wait for a newer version of STi instead, since this one still has the old EJ25, while the WRX has the new direct injected FA engine.

Some of you might have doubts about the “8-speed” CVT. I’ve driven a pre-production model overseas, and yes it’s tuned for efficiency, so it’s quite boring if you drive it like an uncle.

Mash the pedal, and it turns into a monster. Paddle shifts are surprisingly quick for a CVT (It feels like 8-spd ZF auto, seriously), but just like any CVT, paddle shifts won’t make it accelerate faster. It’s only for fun/hard engine braking.

Another thing to note: “Intelligent” mode actually accelerates faster than “Sport Sharp” mode lol. But I do feel quicker engine response in “Sport Sharp”

• Guan Yin Maa on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:05 pm

people buy subaru just for its boxer engine and their legendary AWD system, no car manufacturer AWD system can match their level.

• Allen toyota subang on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:08 pm

I want this car…if only my comission is enough…

• roti canai (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:31 pm

interesting fact : this car is not sold in japan

• Probably they have a different version of WRX STI for themselves which is yet to be unveiled yet. I mentioned about this before at my previous comment in the article about WRX and WRX STI regional launch. I was saying “Why did the WRX STI engine displacement went up to 2.5 litre? I know that some of the previous ones are also available in 2.5 litre but as far as I know, all the JDM versions of WRX STI came with a 2.0 litre boxer engine. Why can’t they do the same with this one as well? Cheaper roadtax and possibly better fuel consumption as well. The 2.0 litre engine had a higher rpm red line at 8000rpm instead of 7000rpm like the 2.5 litre version.”

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 12:10 am

apparently they not gonna sell the STI and instead focus on Levorg….

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Look like Lancer GT & Lancer Evo looks still relevant anyway.

• zamer on Apr 14, 2014 at 8:44 pm

the car is a machine to get…
    but the interior? aiya..and the aircond knob..
    looks like 3-4 years ago design..fit in new mazda 3 interior and it have the best package

• Gummie on Apr 14, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Yummie…. I would to get one…

• If only it were more affordable.

• stanman (Member) on Apr 15, 2014 at 10:34 am

I have already offered to put down a deposit for the Levorg but Motor Image regrets to inform me that they have not received any allocation for 2014. Unsurprising since the most JDM of Scoobie markets is unlikely to see any this year.
    The Levorg is a much more interesting proposition to me and has the highest tune of the FA20DIT to date.

• heybadigol on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Been eyeing the Levorg too, especially the 300hp 2.0 turbo (same engine as the Forester & WRX but with more power). Sadly, it may be a JDM only car. Hope im wrong & Motor Image brings that one in.

• masonteh on Apr 15, 2014 at 1:25 pm

still prefer the ver5/gc8 ecpecially the boxer eng sound…i sell off the ver 8 cause it dont has the sound of the older siblings and the ron 97 oils is so high..damn..but if i want to buy a scooby again,i will search for the gc 8.,slowly search for a preferably cond..even it hp is not that high..hehe

• indomee on May 03, 2014 at 3:02 pm

will subaru launched normal impreza sedan too? So that consumer got other alternatives rather then jz altis civic m3 n silphy. ;-)

• only a very rich malaysian can buy this one..

its all because of CUKAI!!!!!

original price for WRX STI 2015 2.5L is only about 30k USD!! (about 90MYR-100MYR)

but because of TAX..hell!