Toyota Passo facelift debuts new engine – 27.2 km/l

Toyota_Passo_facelift_03

The Toyota Passo compact hatchback has been given a facelift in Japan. You may recognise the shape – it’s the very car our Perodua Myvi was based on (but of course that was not a simple rebadge job). So what’s new here, then? Quite a bit, actually: other than a slightly revised face, it also debuts Toyota’s new engine series.

As is the norm for Japanese Domestic Models (JDM), the Toyota Passo facelift is available in two distinct flavours – the standard Passo and the more feminine Passo + Hana variant. Each has its own unique headlamp and front bumper assembly, as well as matching interior colour combinations.

Under the hood lies a newly-developed, highly efficient 1KR-FE 1.0 litre motor, which offers 69 PS at 6,000 rpm, 92 Nm at 4,400 rpm and as much as 27.6 km per litre (under the JC08 test cycle). Fuel consumption is now 30% less than before, while its 84 grammes of CO2 per kilometre-rating makes it eligible for full tax reductions in Japan.

Among the changes that contribute to the engine’s improved efficiency include a higher compression ratio (11.5:1 instead of 10.5:1), optimised valve timing and the inclusion of cooled exhaust gas recirculation (EGR) and an integrated exhaust manifold and cylinder head.

Also integral to the new engine are Toyota Stop & Start System (which cuts off the engine at approximately 9 km/h when slowing to a stop) and an enhanced regeneration system (which turns the energy of deceleration into stored battery power). With all these additions, Toyota claims that the motor achieves a maximum thermal efficiency of 37%.

A more powerful but far less efficient 1.3 litre variant is also offered as before. Here, the familiar 1NR-FE engine is carried over unchanged, making 95 PS at 6,000 rpm and 121 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Positioned as a more premium offering, the Passo 1.3 averages 19.0 km per litre. A CVT transmission is a standard fit across both engine variants.

Safety wise, this JDM pair offers electronic stability control, traction control and Emergency Brake Signal as standard. Airbag count is just two, but side and curtains airbags are available as options (six total). As always, all the usual JDM eccentricities are present, so four-wheel drive and disabled-friendly welcab versions are also available, as well as various customisation options.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• forrest on Apr 14, 2014 at 4:56 pm

wow, new Myvi coming soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
    • azrai on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Yes. The XT already launched.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
      • Wisdom on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:46 pm

XT reduce feature. no abs.

Hopefully next myvi uses cvt. current myvi only gets 12-13km/l, comparable to much bigger cars. not a good fc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
        • mim (Member) on Apr 15, 2014 at 10:06 am

Wow really? My Inspira can get 15km/L 50/50 city/highway no joke.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
          • Same Lor Orii on Apr 15, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Vios/City also can get 18km/l.

After all, it is still welldone for the Mitsubishi engine.

Don’t put any hope of this FC from the almighty J class Proton engines. The owners can’t save fuel anywhere thus they can only try to smoke and put everyone’s life in danger on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Myvii on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Japan gets new design and engine for their Passo while here in Malaysia we get new colour.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 0
    • Allen T on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:30 pm

So shy Perodua. all this years, still rebadge. Do nothing. No research. No nothing. Just rebadge. Toyota give you berak, you all market berak. Toyota give you gold, you all market gold. No shame.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 4
      • Chris (Member) on Apr 15, 2014 at 8:53 am

What do you expect. Perodua, 38% share owned by UMW. Kind of expected the “if it’s not broken don’t fix it” attitude already.

• coming soon?? BUT..but they still have so many alphabets to rearrange and call it a new model and so many more colours to repaint and sell for another decade!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • myvito on Apr 14, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 104
  • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Stability control standard, do you hear that UMW? And at least optionally 6 airbags. In a Myvi.

Though I have to say the Myvi is more attractive. And the new front bumper on the blue car reminds me of the VW up!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawa (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Myvi 27KM/Liter = 7.5% excise duty

Preve 10KM/Liter = 750% excise duty

that’s how MITI should revise the car excise duty structure based on fuel mileage. Reward fuel efficiency, but punish fuel inefficiency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 26
      • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Imitation need to register?

I sort of agree, though the fuel consumption itself should be enough to make people buy lower FC cars. What could be done is lower excise duty, but higher fuel prices (stop the subsidies). The current system promotes keeping a car forever, regardless of condition or fuel consumption.

I do think the taxes should take safety into consideration. basically a car with poor protection should cost more than an otherwise identical safe car. Also, in combination with the above basic but safe motoring with good FC should be made available, so that people driving an old and unsafe/high FC car with something modern.

I’d also recommend that basic but safe motoring should be made cheaper in terms of taxes. That means no alloy rims (extra tax on those), no body kit (extra tax), no leather seats (extra tax), base spec engine (B segment around 60-80 hp, C segment below 100 hp, …), but stability control and a minimum of 6 airbags are necessary. Then there is no excise duty for example. On the other hand well speced, powerful or unsafe cars can be made more expensive than before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
        • kadajawe on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:57 pm

You think everyone as rich as you? Not all people can afford a new car even if a new one costs only 10k. Some people can only afford a 2k nissan sunny and used it to transport their whole family. Who doesn’t want a new car if they could afford one? You’re probably gonna say, if no money buy car, take motor, if no money eat chicken, eat vegetables. but are you gonna expect a young couple to transport their whole family along with their kids in an EX5 ? Isn’t that more dangerous?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
        • tokmoh (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Kadajawa is legit proton basher, but he been quiet so long edi.

Yes please, more safety, more incentive. Volvo sure to benefit most if such regulation actually in power.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 8:31 pm

I wonder if UMW will offer additional airbags as an option will people stop complaining (check Altis comments) no, no they won’t, we’ll just end up saying weather our live is worth RM2k…..

That said I’ve checked Toyota JP web page, most base spec car (Passo included) dosen’t even provide In Car Entertainment (Radios and such)or Alloy rim. Argument is people in Japan say its cheaper and more personalized to get yours at an aftermarket accessories shop. from there is speccing it like a Subway sandwhich……From the Noah MPV, Navi unit + 10 Speaker is a whooping 360k yen option(RM11,5k)while 4 additional airbags is a 46k yen option (RM1250). All this standard in the high spec car.

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 10:01 pm

Is it bad to complain UMW kiam siap to give safety as standard?!!

Of course must complaint, must teach them lesson, no kesian kesian, no mercy, ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!!!

How long more u wanna feel DUMBED DOWN AND INSULTED BY UMW?!!! UMW is not the stupid one here, they’re smart cuz we’re the dumb one to buy their overpriced, kosong junk.

It’s not like Toyota cannot give, it’s they don’t want to so long we worship them like God, kesian2 still wanna give them our money. Itu bodoh namanya.

If still wanna kesian2, give face to UMW, then deserve to get 4-speed auto for eternity. Expecting any more is stupid as hell.

While the rest of the world move on edi, with cheaper, safer, better quality and much more fuel efficient cars.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 11:49 pm

Tokmoh, the fact of the matter is, I do not like UMW Toyota as of now. But if Toyota were to give 6 airbags and VSC on all of its model were you forgive them? no most of us will continue to ask for better transmission, better interior, best of all better design.

I did have a nice argument on Toyota, strongly supporting this is the fact that they are overprice, and underspec….but rather good and reliable automobile. I do not feel dumb down or insulted by UMW, because I have never bought their product nor profitted their company one bit, I have not enter a Toyota showroom for a long time and have advice everyone I know who are in the market for a new car to look for better alternative. And therefore I have not been Dumbed down and insulted by them because I am not their customer…

So unless you have a UMW Toyota product in your driveway right now, why are you entering all this caps lock and strong language signifying your uncontrollable emotions? Being angry at something we cant change directly will never de-stress what is already a stressful society, and shouting in this comment wont help.

Since I am not a Toyota customer, I do not have the power to do so but I suggest if we are really going to change UMW Toyota’s mindset we start at the top. Get someone from the Toyota owners club to demand a better streategy from Toyota International, because this is the most effective way….Toyota japan need to answer this as I do not believe they will let any market, no matter how big nor small to loose and remember, Toyota is loosing sales already, if thsi keeps up, they will definitely notice and Toyota JP has to take action on UMW. Because cying in this website will never ever help.

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 2:18 am

U know, this problem goes deeper, it’s about our culture too.

Here, complain is seen as bad, negative, demeaning, very rude and only bad people deserve complain, whereas when somebody do good, they should be exempted from such treatment.

Advanced countries don’t work like that, complaint is seen as a feedback. They have watchdog association to safeguard consumers that are very powerful to influence organization’s customer service.

I’ve watched a uk watchdog program of how a Citroen lady owner suffering bad service for her lemon car. In the end, the watchdog people managed to help her get a brand new replacement car, and a bouquet of flower with apologies from some top Citroen UK management.

Throughout the show, she b*tched abt her problems, the sc’s attitude, wasting her time, no different than typical Malaysian mindless bashing. In the end, she’s as happy as any other lady receiving flowers.

Here mayb, people would probably tell her to bersyukur, apa lagi dia mau, other people also got problems, attention whore making mountain of molehill.

Whiny? Or it’s about safeguarding your right as a consumer? Think about whether it’s a good thing to be content if umw give esp+6 airbags, if they ever will at all.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 12:49 am

It’s true that Malaysia’s(or maybe even all other ASEAN countries) have a serious attitude problems. But basically what I am saying here is not whining and bitching it in a car blog where I do not belive UMW even pays attention to.

I remember talking to the Honda SC while having my car service, I was discusiing to him the importance of VSC, airbags and also the terrible NVH in most Honda, he says he also reads Paultan and its comment section and particularly on Honda article. But he has very little means of affecting the pricing and ,market streategy on the BOD that affects this changes. All he can do is write a letter at most and even than its little known weather it’ll even be read. But joyce of joy the new Honda City is here and it can be had with 6 airbags and two top models with VSC, did I effect the BOD decission, I like to smugly think so(thou chances are very tiny)

Jalopnik also once sent a letter to Honda US, regarding a simple question on weather the Honda Accord can be had with red color and surely enough the letter is returned…..but that is because he is an existing Honda owner.

What i am saying here is simple. Whining and Bitching about how Toyota is unsafe over here can do only so much to change buyers mindset. If you are serious about Malaysia having better spec Toyotas, get some Toyota owners to personally write a letter to UMW or even better, Toyota Japan. Of course either companies wont listen to us, we are not their customer base and have zero intention of buying their products but the existing buyers….they are very important. I known several long time Toyota buyers, switching from old Toyotas to Hondas and UMW Toyota themselves are loosing sales, they will listen.

It’s not about attitude problem here, It’s about correct ways to voice opinion. The TV show can works is because Citroen UK have to put on a good look for the media, they cant look bad in front of the TV. Now if that lady didn’t have the TV progremme’s help, you think Citroen UK will go ways to please her?

• Stingy on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Oh My Vee !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • Im going sell my current myvi..wait this passo rebandage by our pro-dua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • Low Budget on Apr 15, 2014 at 9:26 am

The wait could be fruitless. P2 might not re-badge the latest from Toyota but to do cosmetic changes to the ‘Old Nenek’ and named it XXT..

• NaNaNaNaNaNaNaSODIUM on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:14 pm

is it just me or is this the original version of myvi??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • huehuehue on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Myvi should ATLEAST give traction control and esp as standard. Better put dual + curtain airbags

• Autoexpert on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Copies Peugeot’s frontal Lion’s mouth design!

• Guan Yin Maa on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:40 pm

Wait at least 10 years for perodua to rebadge this ya.

• Fairul Adilla on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:41 pm

27.2km/l is a gamechanger for a petrol engine, matching Toyota’s hybrid range (excluding plug-ins) thermal efficiency of 37% is ridiculous is better than a diesel!

• weare on Apr 14, 2014 at 5:53 pm

To get max torque, do we need to push pedal everytime to 4400RPM in traffic jam / city driving?

Is that efficient? Insane.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
    • IdealTech on Apr 14, 2014 at 8:15 pm

What u expect from a NA 1.3L engine? Max torque from 1.5k? its a myvi for goodness sake n target market is for light footers n patience is the key to drive this kind of car

• Perodua, if you do not have the capability to redesigning the interior of the car, just bring in the stock Toyota version. The assembly of the interior looks like going to fall apart. Sound everywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Allen toyota subang on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Toyota should stop licensing to p2..start selling this car full specced around 70000+…LAGI BEST..y’all..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Motorhead (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Okay.. Perodua… put those engines & sell them here.. you ll make lots of money. Keep Myvi forever. . I love it.. keep the FC aside & bring some racing version too (turbo). There ll be a market.. so many Myvi clubs dy.. & some of the Myvis are extreme.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
    • kadajawi (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Who had the idea that the Myvi is a sporty car? It was meant as an affordable and easy to drive car for people to get around town. Nothing more. That is perfectly fine, but it just doesn’t inspire any confidence when going faster, and looking at the accidents it gets into I don’t think it should be moved fast.

Want to drive faster, get a B segment conti. They can handle it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • loose (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:14 pm

is it real in reality

• retard on Apr 14, 2014 at 6:23 pm

All misleading, what if the car is as big as e.g preve, can it give a 27Liter a Kilo? You people answer my question please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Motorhead (Member) on Apr 14, 2014 at 7:33 pm

Another bodo alien from Mars.. weh sorhai.. rebadge is one of a way to bring in Japs cars & stuffs minus the excise duty.. you don’t like get lost la.. go buy poton… or pay hefty tax & go bankrupt… meanwhile I earn more money on girls & stuffs.. hopefully I won’t see around with rebadge cars.. I ll spit you on the face. Puiihh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • Tomcat on Apr 14, 2014 at 11:05 pm

I’ve been quite amazed at how the comments here on Paultan are getting more & more mature. People here seems to be gearing towards grounded discussion, using factual arguments & sound debates, intellect over foolish/cursive arguments.

But it’s sad to read comments like yours which sour things. Please know that if you really prefer to indulge in your emotions & express that butthurt feeling of yours rather than your thoughts (read:intellect), then please, refrain from commenting. It sucks the fun out of these comments/discussions & in reading them.

Owh but of course you can just ignore me. Why the heck should you follow?

Peace bro.

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 15, 2014 at 8:27 am

Yeah don’t follow me because we are different.

Peace to you too.. Puiihh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • So you’re just another Sam Loo craving to get attention. Good luck then.

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:02 pm

No.. Im just not for wimps, nerds & sulking people like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Worst interior design award goes to…

• Is that brake lever thingy next to the air cond controls the gear?

• pirlo on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:08 am

i think that is a gear lever (P,R,N,D). some old car has that. can’t see any handbrake. probably use foot brake like alza.

• Toyota Passo or Daihatsu Sirion is designed to drive like an economical car as befit the car but Myvi is designed to look like a sport car giving wrong signal to the young buyers to drive fast.

• jealoo on Apr 14, 2014 at 10:28 pm

So is VIOS TRD. Luckily don’t have City Mugen or Attrage Ralliart

• crap and rubbish, ugly look can throw to sea. Pls dun launch here any more…the previous car exist cause a lot ppl dun know what is CAR

• babygrand on Apr 14, 2014 at 8:40 pm

If this new passo still using the same chassis as our current MyBi? If yes than it gonna be bicycle steering handling again …yuck !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Albert Lee on Apr 14, 2014 at 9:23 pm

In Malaysia Boleh Land:
    REBADGE KING :PERODUA
    CARNIVAL/FACELIFT KING : PROTONG
    AP KING :NAZA
    HIGH PRICE KING:TOYOTA
    LOW RESALE VALUE KING:NAZA
    KIMCI KING : HYUNDAI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • wow 27.2km/l! if only proton can produce this kind of engine.. err hw about the GSC? err..

• treabor on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:15 am

i beg u perodua, please change the front n rear bumper only, don’t throw away the nice dashboard, column shifter, foot parking brake, front row bench and the most important thing the newly developed n economical engine…please perodua, please….

• Norman on Apr 15, 2014 at 6:20 am

The 1.3 engine is better..Ive drive Passo 1.3/1.5 and its way more refine than Myvis

• jealoo on Apr 15, 2014 at 9:41 pm

The c.b.u perodua nautica a.k.a. Daihatsu Terios is more refine than the Fake Toyota Rush. But the Toyota logo itself adds additional 200% ego power…..

• Myvi is the best on Apr 15, 2014 at 7:11 am

U know what,an myvi is the best car ever.. I can drift’s with it, even in a raining day.. Easily hitting 170km/h.. Easy park.. Pick up very fast… I can really do under 10 second to reach 100km/h.. Plus, i also installing an 12″ skeaper at the rear of an boonet.. Sound so good.. All the way, myvi is best car ever.. I can easily race with vios.. Some time the sukuzi swift cannot catch me..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Motorhead (Member) on Apr 15, 2014 at 8:26 am

Proud of you. Lowered it abit & try sharp corners. Under or oversteer is very minimum. The butt follows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Mesti buang satu hari nanti, pls drive safe…n Myvi is not a safe car for speed

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 15, 2014 at 3:06 pm

You try first.. or call me for some hell ride.. that the beauty of Myvi dimensions. . It’s wide enough & short.. take corners better than my Vios. But standard absorbs are out of questions.

• Aero (Member) on Apr 15, 2014 at 10:54 am

New 1.0 engine ! Finally ! And 84g/km C02 emissions too ! That’s very class competitive.

Now Perodua, be good and put this engine in the new Viva replacement please. Your 1.3 Myvi engine is almost 10 years old already, but no changes. At least Proton’s CamPro, 11 years old yes, but it has been progressively improved over the years (CPS, IAFM, IAFM+, CFE).

• jealoo on Apr 15, 2014 at 9:43 pm

Neo cps , neo R3 , R3 neo change this change that also nobody buy. Myvi selling 100k unit annually using 10 years old engine

• 1_diy on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:03 pm

some u here even didn’t realized this is the similar model as our current Myvi.this only a facelift..no a new model..what a shame…

• Joker on Apr 15, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Oh no… Such ugly front end….
    Although finally Toyota decided to put new low displacement 3 cylinders power unit and finally a CVT for fuel efficiency, the design of this new Passo is really ugly… Katak at a new level…
    P2 plz dun rebadge this….

• Perfecto on Apr 15, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Rubbish car

• BLT Club (Member) on Apr 15, 2014 at 11:13 pm

Looks good for an econobox. Extremely impressive FC. Let’s hope the boy racers can tone down a bit, too many aggressive MeeVee (Clarkson pronunciation) around. Maybe they don’t realise that their brakes are not up to mark and would endanger other drivers.

• pearjai on Apr 16, 2014 at 9:22 pm

Toyota 1.0 l…1kr-fe is not new engine but more refine since 2004….but 1.3 1nr-fe is new(since 2008 (yaris)…these 1nr-fe have vvti / dual vvti….same like new altis and better tech than 12 year 1nz-fe in vios !….hope found these 1nz-fe next year at halfcut….

• hoooooooo on Apr 18, 2014 at 2:53 am

hello please .. Perodua still handle by Daihatsu/Toyota as u know our MyVi is daihatsu boon in indonesia than means Daihatsu rebadge Perodua ?

• hoooooooo on Apr 18, 2014 at 2:55 am

you all knowledge are down to the ground
    u know even VW got few different brand .. like SCODA , SEAT all is under VW means those are readge or clone ???

• hoooooooo on Apr 18, 2014 at 2:56 am

http://paultan.org/2007/07/26/daihatsu-sirion-in-indonesia-uses-myvi-styling/

Daihatsu rebadge Perodua …