First-ever Subaru AWD Challenge held in Malaysia

subaru-awd-challenge-g

Motor Image Malaysia held the first-ever Subaru AWD Challenge at Desa Park City in Kepong over the weekend. The event, the first of its kind in Malaysia, provided a venue for SUV owners to explore their vehicles’ all-wheel drive capabilities.

The challenge was designed for drivers to put Subaru’s Symmetrical AWD-boxer engine combination to the test, while welcoming AWD-equipped vehicles of other makes to do the same. Participants were faced with four obstacles, namely the Cross-Roller, Slip-Roller, Roller-Conveyor and Side Ramp, which simulate off-road, slippery, muddy and hilly conditions respectively.

subaru-awd-challenge-e

Visitors and participants were also given the opportunity to check out Subaru’s local line-up, which consists of the XV, XV Crosstrek, Forester 2.0 XT and Legacy GT. The Subaru AWD Challenge was previously held in the Philippines, Vietnam and Taiwan to avid support and keen participation from the public.

On a related note, Tan Chong International executive director Glenn Tan recently revealed that a new XV variant called the XV STI Performance Edition is set to launch in Malaysia sometime in July, and that the Forester is being considered for local assembly (CKD) in Malaysia.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Mohamed Bin Haron on Apr 15, 2014 at 10:34 am

At present i am driving….Lexus 2.2 for some years now!..can trade in?at your company?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • dylan on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:52 pm

im from subaru mr.mohamed…yes we accept trade in…can give good deal..u can email to me the details..tq sir

• Paula Tan on Apr 15, 2014 at 4:39 pm

What’s the difference between AWD and 4WD…

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 15, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Dear Paula,
          For all-wheel drive (AWD)…all tyres move simultaneously including the spare tyre…while four-wheel drive (4WD) only the four tyres…thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
          • Motorhead (Member) on Apr 15, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Haha.. come on may be he really don’t. . Well from what I know.. AWD is permanent all wheels running. . While 4WD like Triton or Dmax you ve extra gear to choose 2WD or 4WD. I never into AWD or 4WD, yet.. but can see Subaru AWD wheel won’t spin when it’s tangling & not touching the ground. I don’t understand it yet.. & planing to buy XV, soon. Waiting the right discount.

• Chau chi bek on Apr 16, 2014 at 12:25 am

AWD/ 4WD/ 2+2D etc are clever names manufacturers give to their drive configuration. If they just call it 4X4 users will think of those pickups/ heavy duty four wheel drive.
          Basically at one stage (manually/ electronically engaged)all 4 wheels (if it is a four wheeler) will turn. What differs are the way torque is channeled to each wheel. Some they’re pre-set (60%front 40%rear for example- mode selectable) or you can have torque channeled to just the front wheels or vice versa depending on load/ slip etc.
          On modern vehicles, AWD will really turn the spare wheel. So make sure you keep the spare wheel fully inflated.

• ohyes on Apr 15, 2014 at 10:58 am

hopefully the models didn’t get “over simulated” :-P

• sutrak on Apr 15, 2014 at 11:17 am

ohhh.. those 2 girls. i’ll pay anything for them to take my brother in whole while i’m putting the xv thru the course

• heybadigol on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:07 pm

That Forester XT isnt very good looking. But damn, it sure has a lot of power and with a great AWD system to keep it under control. Wish is it was cheaper.

• dylan on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:55 pm

yes its is..now we r going to launching forester at rm175+++ only
      previosly is around rm206+++

• Brian on Apr 15, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Im keen in the forester..any special promo, please email me.

• heybadigol on Apr 15, 2014 at 5:18 pm

That is great news. How to contact you good sir? By the way, any news if the Levorg will make it here. That is one sexy car (for a Subaru lah). Hehe

• andrew (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 12:44 am

dylan, where is your subaru shop?

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 15, 2014 at 12:14 pm

Thx to Motor Image for opening a branch at Balakong. . Very near with my house. Price your cars properly I ll go for my 4th car. You ll get my money.

• That’s looks like Satria Neo rear lamp.

• Allen toyota subang on Apr 15, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Other than the WRX… The others in SUBARU stable looks like a deformed bison… Definitely something of tastless design… The GIRLS will ride the car one time only… SOO.. BARAI..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Joker on Apr 15, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Tat gal.. wanna test drive ^^
    AWD Symmetrical…
    btw Subaru XV is 1 of the best value for $$ SUV we have here in bolehland… and the boxer engine is quite powerful as well…

• Samad Jain on Apr 16, 2014 at 8:33 pm

kinda gimmicky.

Wonder when a driver would be in the situation where the car has to be driven 45 degree slanted???

Maybe earthquake aftermath time??

• katob on Jul 09, 2014 at 12:01 pm

i went to Subaru in Balakong..which i have chance to test drive Subaru XV..really superb handling..good braking system..to me its one a good car yet in Malaysia..after considering it..it cost me RM137,800 after RM23,000 less…is it worth it or just i should wait another year?