BMW 2 Series Coupe launched – 220i, from RM260k

BMW_2_Series_Coupe_Malaysia_001

After teasing the car on Facebook, BMW Malaysia has given the BMW 2 Series Coupe its local launch in conjunction with the BMW Malaysian Open tennis event. The 1 Series Coupe successor arrives in a single 220i variant, with an available Sport Line upgrade.

The rear-wheel driver features a muscular three-box design that’s typical of BMW coupes, and is a salute to the sporting BMW 02 range of the ’60s and ’70s. Its face is different from the 1 Series hatch‘s – no droopy eyes and oversized nostrils, and there are Air Curtains in the front apron to aid aerodynamics.

Compared to the outgoing 1 Series Coupe, the BMW 2 Series Coupe is 72 mm longer (4,432 mm), 26 mm wider (1,774 mm) and sits on a 30 mm longer wheelbase (2,690 mm). Height is 1,418 mm. Front and rear tracks are also up by 41 mm (1,521 mm) and 43 mm (1,556 mm) respectively.

BMW_2_Series_Coupe_Malaysia_006

As a result, there’s 19 mm more front headroom and 21 mm more rear legroom, and the boot can hold 390 litres of luggage – a 20 litre improvement. Access to the back seats, which are split 60:40, is made easier by an Easy Entry function.

The vehicle’s 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo petrol engine produces 184 hp from 5,000-6,250 rpm and 270 Nm of torque from 1,250-4,500 rpm. Zero to 100 km/h is accomplished in seven seconds; top speed’s an impressive 230 km/h. Average fuel economy is a claimed 6.0 litres per 100 km.

Transmission is handled by an eight-speed auto. Naturally, there’s the Driving Experience Control with Eco Pro mode, and a stop/start system as standard. Suspension is handled by double-joint spring struts up front and a five-link setup out back.

BMW_2_Series_Coupe_Malaysia_)013

Inside, you’ll find a cockpit that’s pretty similar to that of the 1 Series. Infotainment’s provided by a 6.5-inch BMW Radio Professional system, so there’s no touch-sensitive iDrive nor navigation.

The standard BMW 2 Series Coupe gets 205/50 R17 Y-spoke alloys, manual air-con, satin silver matte dashboard trim and Sensatec fabric upholstery, with xenon headlamps, fog lamps, auto headlamps and wipers, a sports leather steering wheel, six speakers, reverse sensors and run-flat tyres as standard.

Scale up to the Sport Line and you get a lot more: 225/45 R17 star-spoke alloys, high-gloss black exterior trim, additional front and rear bumper trim, M Sport suspension, plus an eight-speed sports auto gearbox that brings with it shift paddles and Launch Control.

Inside, there’s auto dual-zone air-con, sports seats, high-gloss black dashboard trim with Coral Red matte accents, cruise control with braking function, a seven-speaker 205 W sound system and Anthracite (black) headlining.

Dual frontal and side airbags, plus head airbags front to rear, DSC, ASC, CBC and DTC are standard. The base car is offered either in Alpine White, Midnight Blue, Black Sapphire or Mineral Grey; the Sport Line car in Alpine White, Melbourne Red, Glacier Silver or Valencia Orange.

The price to pay for the fully-imported (CBU) BMW 2 Series Coupe is RM259,800, OTR without insurance. The Sport Line package is a RM20k upgrade. Included is a three-year/60,000 km BS+RI free service package.

Read our review of the hot BMW M235i from Las Vegas.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Pak chick on Apr 16, 2014 at 5:14 pm

More expensive than the 3 series. Pass

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 130 Thumb down 2
    • Najib Razak (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Need more rakyat like you. Can differentiate between value for money and pure rip off!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 116 Thumb down 15
      • using another person’s name AND likeness? prepare to get a surprise visit very, very soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 45
    • Hyundai DeLa Junk (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 6:01 pm

BMW are junk cars. They only give 2 years warranty because after the 2 years, everything goes haywire. All the electronics go upside down. Ask any BMW owner, they will tell you. They enjoy the free 2 years service and then, when warranty runs out, spending tens of thousand ringgit is “normal” each service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 24
      • prada on Apr 16, 2014 at 6:30 pm

this car is the perfect representation of bmw

220i
        2 litre
        2 doors
        2 years warranty, industry worst

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
      • Hyundai DeLa Junk (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 6:42 pm

Every car company in Malaysia gives at least 5 years warranty.

Only pariah BMw gives 2 years warranty

Even Mercedes gives 4 years warranty.

Why? Because they know, tepat tepat 730 days later, when your 2 years is up, somehow, everything goes wrong.

Malaysians call it Banyak Masuk Workshop. That is not a rumour. Buy BMW only if you are rich. Dont fall for their gimmick of low monthly installment if you got a normal average paying job.

BMWs are ONLY for the rich and for those who consider 10k is small kacang putih. Because, when problem comes after 2 years, you will cry and cry and cry.

Another big problem is their gearbox. Always rosak just in time, 2 years 1 day later. As if German engineering is so precise that they can predict the lifespan of the gearbox tepat tepat 2 years 1 day later.

So many BMW owners, have to fork our RM60,000 just for their gearbox to be replaced.

Remember, buy BMW only if you are rich. Even if you earn 15k a month, that is not rich. When I say rich, I mean millionaire rich!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 23
        • Pasar Malam DVD Seller on Apr 16, 2014 at 7:29 pm

Hyundai Le Junk, you seem to have a lot of anger inside you. Were you not breast fed as a child?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 20
        • schizo's r us on Apr 16, 2014 at 7:56 pm

– Hyundai DeLa Junk – You have a phone call..
          Tanjung Rambutan wants you back!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 16
        • joker on Apr 16, 2014 at 8:50 pm

buy Lexus GS la brudder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • 15k a month on Apr 16, 2014 at 11:21 pm

You don’t seem to understand ‘rich’ people. We don’t give a damn if the car’s gonna fail. We just want the latest, newest, drive for fun, and then sell it off. We don’t mind if it’s a RM50k gearbox or a RM100k engine. Last check, a Perodua is definitely more reliable than a Ferrari 458. So does a Casio over a Richard Mille. Relax Mr Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
          • disgruntledBMWowner on Apr 21, 2014 at 2:45 pm

15k a month u consider urself rich ah?? Hahaha. BMW is shit and make shitty cars that spoil even before warranty expire. I dispose it because their current F series is shit. 2 years warranty? hahahahahaha. BTW rich people are rich because they r smart. Cannot be fooled by BMW. Only stupid people that became rich because of handouts are spending freely. They r no different from beggars in my view.

• wrong!! i have 2014 528i I can tell u that it has 2 year warranty , 3 year free service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
        • disgruntledBMWowner on Apr 21, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Don’t talk cock. Whats ur VIN number? I will check now. 2 years warranty with very very limited free service to be exact. You get 2 free service u considered lucky. Knowing BMW style after experiencing it first hand, they probably reset ur service mileage without actuall changing ur oil. They are con artist. Even their SA are driving BMW. Spoil the car’s luxury brand. I wont be proud to be driving the same care as the bloody uneducated salesman. Ptuih

• Hyundai DeLa Junk (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 6:05 pm

What a conjob. Might as well get a 3 series. Other than 3, 5 and 7, it is a well known fact that every other model in BMW’s range, especially in Malaysia is a TOTAL FAILURE.

Do you want to risk buying a 2 series or a 4 series and later have a failure range like Proton Savvy? Or BMW 1 Series?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
      • prada on Apr 16, 2014 at 6:38 pm

i am sorry but i have to correct you there. 7 series has always been a failure, dismal in sales even compared to the outgoing s-class, now with the new s-class launched, it’s considered hailat already

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
        • 15k a month on Apr 16, 2014 at 11:23 pm

7-series and S-class sales is neck to neck 1:1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • Prada on Apr 16, 2014 at 11:38 pm

It’s great that the internet allows us to publish whatever you want but just because you say that doesn’t mean people are going to buy the dead in the water 7 :)

• matbond on Apr 16, 2014 at 7:38 pm

why savvy included? just wait to buy secondhand…. wait the price drop then buy… value for money then

• Hyundai DeLa Junk (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 6:08 pm

/bMW got brains in the backsides launching a convertable in Malaysia. Firstly, Malaysians despise a convertable because of our weather. See all convertable cars, they cannot sell at all.

Even Ferrari F430, the Spyder also cannot sell. For months it will be on advert. And the price will be RM100,000 less than the F430 coupe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • Without P1 and P2 we can afford it!

• This niche model should come w manual option to be fair to enthusiasts…

• holofanboi on Apr 16, 2014 at 5:21 pm

This is going to be more for vanity reasons than actual handling. Especially when one considers that a standard 320i is already on par with this performance wise. ( No idea abt handling since ive never done a 3 series at sepang)

I love the design though :3 that rear is becoming ever more desirable!

Before anyone starts commenting abt how this ‘coupe’ will perform better in a corner, know that on the same chassis, a sedan often has stronger torsional rigidity.

Please dont put rollcages and custom chassis stiffening jnto the equation.

• prada on Apr 16, 2014 at 6:36 pm

vanity? this car only looks good as the M235i. the normal line and the 20k more sport line looks kinda off!

• Hikaru on Apr 16, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Love the design but don’t like the spec or price. If it is specced well then it might justify the price. It’s not so a 3 is more likely the better way to go. Unless the gray imports starts coming in.

• Threetwentydee on Apr 16, 2014 at 5:29 pm

Price point really not correct! It should be priced below a 320i !! At least give this baby the i-drive and Navigation to make it feel upscale next to the 320i…what gives BMW Malaysia??

• seancorr on Apr 17, 2014 at 11:28 am

I can see why they priced it like that as its a CBU model and coupes are always more pricier than a CKD sedan like the 3 Series but damn the spec list is crap!

No front parking sensors, electric seats and auto air con for the basic model is a joke and when you top up 20k for the Sport line you still do not get navigation and by the looks of it the M Sport suspension isn’t the adaptive version…sigh.

• seancorr on Apr 17, 2014 at 7:28 pm

My bad it does have electric seats as standard but no leather and cruise control!

• drchan on Apr 16, 2014 at 5:40 pm

I’d rather wait and see the upcoming Audi A3 sedan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • mim (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Wtf BMW Malaysia? This small car was designed to be threwn around! Should have at least the option for the 240hp 2.0L turbo and 6-speed manual! And price should be similar to 1-series!

And why would a small coupe have run-flat tyres?

• foxtrot on Apr 16, 2014 at 6:02 pm

such lackluster engine for the price

• Guan Yin Maa on Apr 16, 2014 at 6:13 pm

BMW msia. Better bring in the M123i and price it at 260k. 2 series coupe ?? Whats the point of bringing this piece of junk ?

• Sigh BMW msia..no one is interested in the 220i la…how much and when is the M235i launching? Or are you not going to launch it and force all the enthusiast to buy from recon dealers in 2015

• seancorr on Apr 17, 2014 at 11:32 am

I am actually interested in the 220i but the spec list is wrong for the car sad to say. It ain’t a BMW without adaptive dampers

• Maseratits on Apr 16, 2014 at 6:32 pm

So much more prettier than the 1-series that it is based on.
    Ridiculous pricing though!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 6:40 pm

428i looks like really good value….100k extra for bigger car and more powerful engine….otherwise just get a45 AMG….

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Did I just read that right? Manual air con and fabric seats. On a 260k car?

What?

The fully loaded 125i M Sport which is more powerful and more toys is still cheaper than the base like 220i?

They are taking us for a ride indeed.

• disgruntledBMWowner on Apr 21, 2014 at 3:10 pm

Let me tell u one example how good in BMW after sales service. Forget their stupi 2YEARS warranty/BSRI. I send in my brand new car for stupid squeeking sound nd knocking sound. U know they too 2 days and finally called” Hi boss ur car ok already everything kau tim”. I was excited. U know how they fix it? they just tampal cheap double sided tape here and there to reduce the plastic squeeking sound. And the best part the sound is still there.. MRoad side ah kau mechanic can do a better job la. lol. I am really convinced Malaysia is facing severe brain drain. Chinese are no longer smart like before. Gd ones all left

• Contender on Apr 16, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Why no interior shots or picture of the 220i ?

• erwin on Apr 16, 2014 at 10:42 pm

you mean the front seat & the back seat? yeah i was just thinking abt the same thing too..

• Tiger on Apr 16, 2014 at 8:28 pm

Poor rakyat, ripped off by both gomen n crony dealers

• audi a3 sedan, i want.

• I tot on Apr 16, 2014 at 10:45 pm

I tot coupe cars are cheaper because they only build 2 doors rather than 4 doors.

• CM (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Finally, it’s here. So much fresher and better looking than the 1 series, yet there’s something familiar bout the side profile…..reminds me of an e36 coupe, which is a car that I like. Hopefully, this is the new face of the upcoming 1 series facelift.
    It’s a coupe guys, and this is Msia. It’s going to be more expensive than a sedan. It’s also marketed as being a sporty coupe as opposed to the sports sedan image of the 3 series. Hence the pricing.
    What’s not good is the engine. Figures on paper are one thing. It’s bordering Golf GTi MK5 performance but a F30 320i doesn’t feel anywhere near as sporty.
    Yes, we would all love the M235i, it has a brilliant engine.
    But even the old 130iM (ummm….?? launched in 2007 here), was around 330k. The 135i coupe was a whopping 432k here in 2007. The 235i (135i coupe’s successor) would be priced in excess of that. While the more powerful A45 AMG is only 350k. And it’s an AMG.
    Perhaps BMW could have brought in the 225i. That would have sparked some interest if they keep the price similar to the hatchback. I still think the new F20 125i is one of the best hot hatches in the market with its RWD layout. Sadly, it’s front end is just so….unappealing.
    Sigh. Looks like I’ll have to wait for the Fiesta Ecoboost and hope it’s light front engine doesn’t weigh down on the driving wheels. Maybe then we will have a fun hatch that feels more like a RWD.
    Malaysian deserve an affordable RWD hothatch. Not the overpriced GT86 or 125i. Something fun for quick, short drives to the kedai runcit. Haih…probably won’t happen….

Cheers

• MrPoppyplants on Apr 17, 2014 at 1:37 am

BMW Malaysia, do you guys even know how to price your cars??

• BMW Owner Too on Apr 17, 2014 at 12:39 pm

So you expect the car to be below 200k? Sorry dude.. Not gonna happen. Do you know what goes into the decision of pricing the car? No, you don’t.

The 4 series and 2 series are a niche’ market cars. In fact all 2 doors continental cars are. So stop acting so surprised with the price. This is the cheapest 2 doors BMW which is even below the price of a 328i F30.

If you feel like owning a cheap and affordable 2 doors car, go and buy a Satria Neo instead. Just my 2 cents.

• mmaker on Apr 17, 2014 at 9:08 am

RM260k?! Better wait for Subaru WRX

• Rather wait for Audi A3, anytime better than this empty expensive car.

• no money on Apr 17, 2014 at 10:50 am

after all this recent launching I think pre-reg 3 series is a good buy.

• disgruntledBMWowner on Apr 17, 2014 at 11:19 am

Cau Ci Bai BMW.Dear all, Please take my advice. Dont buy BMW in Malaysia.. Yes in Malaysia don’t ever buy a BMW. Their service and warranty sucks. I bought new BMW in UK and boy the service is top notch and the best part I pay at least 35% cheaper than in Malaysia. I thought service would be same here …boy was I so wrong. To sum it up; before buying customers always right. After buying customer always wrong. Their SA also dont know their product at all and they just make up story about the car to their liking. Please boycott. Trust me

• BMW Owner Too on Apr 17, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Just because you bought your BMW from the dealer that offer you the best discount here and just because you had a lousy salesman doesn’t mean all BMWs are lousy. Get your head out of your ass. In that case please by all means by a Proton or Perodua and stop dreaming of owning a BMW in Malaysia.

Nowadays it’s not about whether you can afford to buy the car, but how well you can actually sell the car and face the depreciation value of the car.

Seriously, stick to our local cars. Don’t have to complain then.

• TheRealMaserati on Apr 17, 2014 at 11:53 am

Overpriced piece of crap. So underpowered & doesnt even drive well.

• disgruntledBMWowner on Apr 17, 2014 at 2:17 pm

sorry I am liar , I never own a bmw , I m a Japanese car salesman

• TheRealMaserati on Apr 17, 2014 at 2:19 pm

sorry everyone , I am just a Japanese salesman

• disgruntledBMWowner on Apr 17, 2014 at 2:21 pm

I am sorry for my previous comment

• a consider cheap for a bmw cbu coupe

• price reasonable for a bmw cbu coupe

• disgruntledBMWowner on Apr 17, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Sorry saya belum makam ubat.

• Desanity Weally on Apr 17, 2014 at 6:41 pm

I owned a 2008 BMW X6. The car is running good.
    Besides, my friends got BMW 325(2008) and 323(2010).

No problem at ALL!!!

For those who never drive a BMW please don’t said it is not good.

• Dpillai on Apr 17, 2014 at 9:14 pm

The pricing is rubbish. Totally overpriced for 220. 225 or 228 maybe rm250k but 220 for 260k. Commonlah rip off.

I also agree that they are taking us for a ride with 2 years warranty when Mercedes gives 4 yrs. I’ll exchnge free 3 yr BSRI for 4 yr warranty anytime. Until then i’ll not get a new BMW.

• BMW Owner Too on Apr 18, 2014 at 9:46 am

Eh don’t talk crap la.. Like I said earlier, BMW has their own strategy in pricing the car.. If you think it is too expensice, go and buy a Satria Neo instead of bashing in here like a small children.

The 2 years warranty works parallel with the 3 years BSRI. The BSRI itself works as a warranty for the car. So what is so great about Mercedes’s 4 years warranty then? For BMW, you don’t have to spend a single cent maintaining the car for 3 years apart from the tyres.

So before you decide to become a keyboard warrior in here, do you bloody research first ok small boy?

• Adam Ean on Apr 18, 2014 at 3:59 pm

i have 2010 bmw e89 z4 with 3 yrs warranty + bmw white card membership. as of today, my car still no sign of major problems except for the H8 angel eye bulb not working…changed to new white LED light.problem solved!

• disgruntledBMWowner on Apr 21, 2014 at 2:54 pm

For this specs, pricing coupled with BMW poor service, I dare put my money down their sales will be terrible and I can safely bet they will be desperate and throw discount here and there after a couple of months. Mark my words. It happened to all previous F series. Pity the first batch owner. they wil be short changed badly. If u think im talking cock, please buy and experience it urself. BMW is shit

• disgruntledBMWowner.. on Apr 24, 2014 at 6:03 pm

sorry for my previous remark , in fact i’m not a bmw owmner , im just a poor Toyota salesman

• disgruntledBMWowner2 on Apr 24, 2014 at 6:04 pm

sorry for my previous remark , in fact i’m not a bmw owmner , im just a poor Toyota salesman ..always dreaming to own a bmw

• nah!!! on May 04, 2014 at 1:12 am

at least offer manual options, without manual options, the equipment is least attractive than bmw 1series and 3 series

• rishi on Jun 19, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Ala, haters gonna hate. I just received delivery of my 220 2 days ago, and it’s a great car for what it is. And I do have another BMW, a 630i, 8 years old, still doing great.

• aaron chan on Apr 20, 2015 at 1:56 am

guys, i have camry accord volvo harrier bmw. Although bmw gave me issue a bit,i still love bmw the most in term driving condition.