Mazda MX-5 – next-gen chassis to be shown in NY

Image converted using ifftoany

To celebrate the 25th anniversary of the iconic Mazda MX-5 roadster, the company has given a sneak peek of the next-generation model – expected to be unveiled later this year – by showing its engine and chassis at the 2014 New York International Auto Show (NYIAS).

The new car will feature SkyActiv technology for the first time in a front-engined, rear-wheel drive layout. From the looks of things, purists can breathe a sigh of relief, as there is no forced induction anywhere in sight, and there is also what appears to be – joy of joys! – a manual gearbox. The outgoing model’s double wishbone front and multi-link rear suspension layout also looks set to be maintained.

It will be interesting to see what revisions have been done to make SkyActiv engines fit into their new home – the original ones could not be fitted longitudinally due to the long exhaust manifolds required to maintain a high compression ratio without knocking.

P1J07840l

The company claims that the next MX-5 will feature “the most compact configuration yet”, adding that the engine has been located more centrally and that the centre of gravity is also now “lower than in any previous Mazda MX-5”. The company is aiming to trim weight by more than 100 kg despite the new model featuring “outstanding rigidity and crashworthiness”.

Mazda has also introduced a 25th Anniversary Edition of the current MX-5, based on the 2.0 litre power-retractable hardtop version and available solely in Soul Red Metallic with an option of a six-speed manual or automatic transmission.

The new variant features black-painted roof, windscreen surround and mirrors on the outside, while the interior receives off-white leather upholstery and a hand-finished decorative panel on the dashboard. Bilstein dampers are fitted as standard, along with 17-inch Dark Gunmetal alloy wheels.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Najib Razak (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Bermaz Motor, please bring this to our country and price it under the overprice Toyota 86.

Need to win over my Rakyat again. Don’t make the same mistake as UMW Group. I also kena condemn!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • u order Bermaz Motor to price it under the 86 la

or risk being C4-ed

• Hyundai DeLa Junk (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Such a good car but plagued by the lazy Bermaz dudes who are asleep most of the time. It is run by people who believe in government handouts. Lazy is an understatement.

Go to the showroom, it is like a ghost town. Nobody attends to you. Where are they? They are outside, smoking and laughing away. Half the time, boy salesman is fondling the girl salesgirl while smoking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 6:41 pm

beribu ribu tahniah bermaz

• AVH (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 4:43 pm

” SkyActiv technology for the first time in a front-engined, rear-wheel drive layout. From the looks of things, purists can breathe a sigh of relief, as there is no forced induction anywhere in sight, and there is also what appears to be – joy of joys! – a manual gearbox.”

REJOICE enthusiast and Jalops, for it is time to celebrate!! For the one-true(and last)sports car for enthusiast by enthusiast will return. Spread the good news! For Hiroshima will once again, produce the car that we all hail as the king of enthusiast car.

• Najib Razak (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Second That !

AVH,

You have suddenly become my Friend!

• Hyundai DeLa Junk (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Are you doing an offence by impersonating Jajib Razak. Use his pix somemore. This is a clear offence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • AVH (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Ahh Thank You sir. Now when this new MX-5 is launch, make sure you declare this as a national Holiday Ja? And also try make all Manual car in Malaysia to be fully exempted by any form of tax, be it import or excise duty. Don’t worry, most Malaysian don’t know how to drive manual(judging from those driving school test) so it wont jeapordize auto car sales in Malaysia, therefore a majority of people will still pay insane amount of price for the added ease of manual so you wont risk the income you get from the rakyat for that shiny new Learjet.

Make Malaysia, a hub for enthusiast drivers! like Finland.

• holofanboi on Apr 16, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Noobie! This isnt jalopnik!

It sure is as good tho :3

Najib, make sure this mx5 wont cost over 240k otherwise ur gonna have to answer to ME

• AVH (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 5:39 pm

I sure wish this is Jalopnik, people make a strong argument in Jalopnik, even the most insane of comments. Over here, we have trolls that makes no sense and others that releases their daily anger on the keyboard, usually at Toyota or Proton.

• Melvin on Apr 16, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Awesome configuration. Mazda MX-5 one of the most joyful driving machine on earth.

• Maaajeeedaaa on Apr 16, 2014 at 5:00 pm

OMG! OMG! OMG! Can’t wait to see the full model!!!!

• mim (Member) on Apr 16, 2014 at 5:46 pm

“It’s the best! It’s the best sportscar! It’s number one! Mazda made so many of them so the prices stay low and everyone can own one and they’re the best! You want them because you want the best, and you deseeeeeeeeerve the best! Only the best will do!”

-Regular Cars’ review of the original 1st gen Mazda Miata.

• The engine equip with VVL technology?? I saw something like VVL near intake camshaft?

• Joker on Apr 17, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Finally!!! Now it’s the MX-5!!
    Hopefully in the near future Mazda will bring back the RX series to life!!! Preferably the RX-7!!!
    Such a good car it is…

• Ingenious on Apr 17, 2014 at 6:37 pm

So next is Skyactive wankel engine and suicide doors?

• I heard from a reliable source that the manual version WILL be available in Malaysia this time and that the base spec will be a 1.5 skyactiv variant, to make it affordable. It starts at 170K, but still not fully confirmed, if it is below 190k i will defo buy one.