Audi A3 – third-gen is 2014 World Car of the Year

world-coty-audi-a3

The Audi A3 has been declared the 2014 World Car of the Year at the ongoing NYIAS. The premium small car was chosen from an initial entry list of 24 vehicles, then a short list of 12, then three finalists, the other two being the BMW 4 Series and Mazda 3.

The other 2014 World Car Awards winners are the Mercedes S-Class (World Luxury Car), Porsche 911 GT3 (World Performance Car), BMW i3 (World Car Design and World Green Car).

Of the Audi A3, the jurors said: “It might borrow styling hints from its bigger brothers, but the A3 still offers classic, chiseled contours and even better interior trim levels. With a superb choice of engines and four body styles, the A3 range packs a hefty premium punch in the small luxury segment.

“Audi should be complimented for making this A3 ride like no other A3. All the old shimmer over rough surfaces has gone, replaced by a silky smooth ride that approaches limousine quality.”

Audi is no stranger to the World Car Awards, having in its bag the inaugural 2005 World Car of the Year title (Audi A6), three World Performance Car titles in 2007 (Audi RS 4), 2008 (Audi R8) and 2010 (Audi R8 V10), plus two World Car Design of the Year titles in 2007 (Audi TT) and 2008 (Audi R8).

The Audi A3 Sedan is expected to hit the Malaysian scene sometime in June.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• drchan on Apr 18, 2014 at 6:16 pm

hope the uncoming A3 sedan can give CLA a run for the money!

• audi damansara said less than rm200k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Enthu on Apr 19, 2014 at 8:04 am

And you really believed that? That MITI would allow the A3 to cannibalise the D segment group which basically are owned by cronies as well.

Dream all you want, it won’t dip the 200k mark.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • Congratulations!

• Jimmy on Apr 19, 2014 at 1:06 am

To Mazda3, I supposed.

We all hope Mazda3 CKD 1.5L can be priced at RM90k with 6 airbags and ESP to give healthier competition. It can be done, with assistance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 6:27 pm

World Performance Car is a car that is factually problematic. not sure if the judges are passionate car owners that like temperamental cars or we should all start taking this award with a pinch of garam. i will ask proton to make the car burst into fire also, may increase chance of winning something.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 58
    • Full-Value on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Semi-Value, you comment memang bodoh macam muka kau

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 24
    • shawal on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:40 pm

If you lots watched topgear..
      They mentioned the recent recall of all the new prosche gt3, cuz it might burst into flames..
      Richard hammond and all the owners are not allowed to drive their cars until porshce has takeb, fixed and returned back to then..

Don’t simply label others stupid if you are not up to speed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 13
      • As far as I know the problem has been solved?

http://paultan.org/2014/04/14/porsche-911-gt3-new-engines-production-april-22/

The GT3 is a road legal race car btw, nobody will use it to go to Giant to buy groceries. Those who own one have at least one or two spare cars in their car park.

• Klangboy on Apr 18, 2014 at 8:59 pm

and the 2014 World Dumbass of The Year award goes to….

• 2 awards for VGA.. Audi n Porche.. Kudos..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • nabill (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 6:41 pm

Nowadays almost every magazine n publication has its own COTY awards,n most of them vary wildly….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Audi 4ever on Apr 18, 2014 at 6:54 pm

nice & good job! AUDI 4ever & ever…><

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • frenzyaustin on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:02 pm

VW Golf won the COTY again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • You’re talking about sales in Europe?

Quote: ‘Not satisfied with being once again and by far the best-selling model on the continent, the VW Golf also delivers the 2nd best year-on-year improvement in the Top 10 at +14% to 56,042 sales and +15% year-to-date at 129,559 units. ‘

http://bestsellingcarsblog.com/2014/04/18/europe-march-2014-fiat-500-inside-top-10-for-the-first-time/

• CM (Member) on Apr 19, 2014 at 12:51 am

Hi Mohd. I salute u for your honest mindset. You see, FA above is being sarcastic. Same as Su Ling below. .
        Both being ignorant of Audi’s long history, which precedes VW n BMW and is on par with MB.
        Strange how an Audi that does well is always a VW in a drag, but a VW that shines is never a dressed down Audi. And how the R8 is brilliant coz it actually a Lamborghini Gallardo underneath. Instead, the Lambo was built by Audi so it should be the other way around.
        Platform sharing and having the same owners doesn’t mean that cars are the same.
        VW, Audi and Porsche have been supplying parts to each other in one form or the other even before the brands merged.
        Pls understand this before making comments like “the Rolls Royce is actually a 7-series underneath, or “Bentley Continental is just an A8” and “Macan is a heavily modified Q5” etc.
        Platforms and parts sharing have everything to do with economics of scale.
        It’s says nothing of the skill, passion and pride in a car maker, to transform welded lumps of steel n aluminum into a luxury car with its own unique heritage. Or how to tune and fettle an engine so that it’s a frugal fuel sipper powering a supermini in one avatar, while producing supercar level performance in another.
        But that my dear Mohd, is for us petrol heads. And as I’ve repeatedly said before, Paultan has precious few of them. The rest have probably wandered into an electrician’s shop, seen a naked Panasonic and Toshiba fridges’ insides, gasped at the similarity, and concluded that that’s how it must be for the A3 n Golf.
        Leave them be.
        Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
      • frenzyaustin on Apr 19, 2014 at 11:16 am

What I mean is another MQB platform EA888 engine FWD hatchback won COTY, which means an Audi S3 or a VW Golf.

• So according to you, the Toyota Passo, Toyata Aygo, Toyota Vitz, Toyota IQ, Peugeot 107 and Citroen C1 are Daihatsu Sirion?

Bcause all use the 1KR-FE engine, developed by Daihatsu for the Sirion?

• su ling on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Yes, they won the car of the year again in another body form, this time A3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • CM (Member) on Apr 19, 2014 at 1:27 am

Tsk tsk. If u were to have an identical twin, and your BF slept with her coz u two look the same, would u accept that?
      No! Rather you would scream about how individual you are, despite looking the same to all the world.
      Trust me, no human twin is more dissimilar than the Golf and A3. Nor the companies behind the cars. Answering to the same Board doesn’t mean that they are producing the same cars in a different dress. There is much more to it than that. VW, Audi, Seat, Porsche, Bentley, Lamborghini….proud companies all. U can read about em.
      In my days, no Google. We read voraciously. A knowledgeable person was believed to intelligent.
      U, have Google. Don’t make a fool of yourself.
      Cheer

• spongewai on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:11 pm

1st, congratulation to Audi 3

2nd, hopefully can give a right price when it launch

• Looking at it, Mazda 3 really deserved some compliment too for making it to top 3 as a sole Japanese make. This car cost much lesser than the other 2 and yet ahead of many other European cars.

• Keris Jawa on Apr 19, 2014 at 1:53 am

Well done Volkswagen!

• Black Dog on Apr 19, 2014 at 11:51 am

This is the New York Auto Show and there is no American car winners, not even in the finalist.

Lose face.

• Anonymous on Apr 19, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Haih Mr.GT-Rider, eventhough you’re faster you’ll always drives a Nissan. And emm goodluck with that yes…

• kami (Member) on Apr 19, 2014 at 6:13 pm

911 gt3? seriously?

• xiper (Member) on Apr 19, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Its gonna be a very good timing for Euromobil to launch the A3 in couple of months time!

• GayGTRider on Apr 20, 2014 at 7:23 pm

My GTR can smoke any other car in the world.