DRIVEN: New Nissan Sylphy 1.8 is a smooth operator

New_Nissan_Sylphy_1.8_Malaysia_007

Say hello to the new Nissan Sylphy, which is now open for booking ahead of an official launch later this month. Those who follow Nissan Malaysia’s Facebook page might not be surprised, and if you’re a paultan.org reader, you should be pretty familiar with the B17 Sylphy.

The Sylphy story started in Malaysia back in June 2008, when the G11 was launched into a class occupied by the Toyota Corolla Altis and Honda Civic. Nissan’s take on the C-segment was a unique one, and the Sylphy became known for its outstanding comfort and refinement. Not the most flashy car in town, but the Sylphy stood out as a silky smooth, soothing family car.

The G11, known as the Bluebird Sylphy in its home market, wasn’t designed as a global car and had a JDM quirky feel about it. But this car is made for the world. The B17 is called Pulsar in Australia, Sentra in America/Middle East and Sylphy in Japan (Bluebird tag dropped), China and ASEAN. Malaysian Sylphys are imported CBU from Thailand, which also ships the car Down Under.

The new Sylphy looks so different from its predecessor that we wouldn’t have guessed the lineage. But will it carry over the unique qualities of the G11, or are we looking at a different animal altogether? This exclusive pre-launch test drive report will answer that question, as well as provide you a fresh perspective from a Sylphy virgin, plus an idea of where the new entrant stands in a class full of talent.

New_Nissan_Sylphy_1.8_Malaysia_005

Next to the old car, the new Nissan Sylphy appears big, much larger than the raw figures suggest. At 4,615 mm, the new car is actually 50 mm shorter than before, but crucially, it’s 60 mm wider than the outgoing Sylphy, one of the narrower cars in the segment. The difference is palpable, as you’ll read about later.

Wheelbase remains at a class-best 2,700 mm, which translates to very generous rear legroom. The latest Toyota Corolla Altis, Hyundai Elantra and Kia Cerato also have the same measurement, but the Nissan’s cabin is better packaged and is the class champ in space. There’s also a segment-leading 510-litre boot (with a full-sized spare wheel), to boot.

Under the sloping bonnet is a new MRA8DE 1.8 litre engine with 131 PS and 174 Nm of torque, the latter achieved at a low 3,600 rpm for better drivability. Not to be confused with the older MR18DE design, the new mill features a longer stroke (90.1 vs 81.1), Twin C-VTC and a ‘diamond-like’ carbon coating for smoother operation and fuel efficiency.

If you’re wondering, the MR20DE 2.0 litre engine in the old Sylphy made 133 PS and 191 Nm at 4,400 rpm. We know for a fact that the MRA8DE is 12% more fuel efficient than the MR18DE, so it’s safe to say that the new car’s 1.8 will be at least 12% more economical than the G11’s 2.0. The 16v DOHC engine is paired to Nissan’s Xtronic CVT gearbox, which has been updated since its last tour of duty in the G11.

The suspension, tuned for comfort, consists of MacPherson struts up front and a rear torsion beam. Brakes are all discs, with the front units ventilated. Two trim levels will be available in Malaysia – the high VL spec comes with 17-inch wheels (with 205/50 Conti Premium Contact 2 tyres), an inch bigger than the rims on the standard E spec car (195/60 Bridgestone Ecopia EP150).

Safety is a stand out aspect in the new Sylphy. Malaysia-bound cars are essentially Australian-spec Nissan Pulsars with a Sylphy badge, so we get six airbags and Vehicle Dynamics Control (VDC) in addition to the usual ABS, EBD and Brake Assist – all standard across the board, even for the entry model. To be sold in Australia, the Nissan has to go through ANCAP crash testing, and five stars is the outcome. Top tether points for child seat anchorage are available, however there are no ISOFIX points for the Malaysian spec car.

It’s crystal clear from the Sylphy’s positioning, styling and priorities that it’s not a sedan for everyone. The design may be a lot more modern and a touch more dynamic than before, but there are no sporting pretensions here, as it should be. If you’re expecting driving fun above all, please look elsewhere if you haven’t already done so; for the majority of family car buyers, you might want to hang on for a bit.

Everyone, even enthusiasts, needs a family car. Whether it’s for the kids or the daily grind, a comfortable and dependable sedan is a valuable ally. For me, none played the role better than the previous Nissan Sylphy.

New_Nissan_Sylphy_1.8_VL_004

Where others accelerate, it simply glides away, and that drivetrain is so hushed that you instinctively try to find other sounds, only to find very little wind/road noise. Early cars came with an airy, light-coloured cabin, and that sofa of a rear bench encapsulates the cozy Japanese house on wheels the Sylphy was. It was nothing to look at, but the G11 had endearing qualities.

It’s no longer so quirky, the Sylphy, but much of the good was carried over. The new drivetrain is very smooth and quiet on the move, and insulation from the outside world is better than ever. I’m a heavy user of the NKVE, and the Sylphy (most of my time was in the E spec) is fairly muted on the harsh concrete surface, more quiet than some D-segment cars even.

The comfort agenda is reinforced by the solid ride quality, which absorbs bumps very well, but isn’t too mushy on a cruise. I’ve not tried the new Altis yet, but this is the most comfortable and relaxing C-segment sedan in the market as far as yours truly is concerned.

Something has to give and the Sylphy must be terrible to drive, right? Not really. You’ll learn in time that the Sylphy is smooth if your approach is smooth. Ease your right foot into the throttle (as opposed to standing on it, which elicits lots of noise) and the Nissan gets up to highway speeds fairly quickly. Unspectacular bald figures aside, there’s adequate grunt and drivability is good. The level of mechanical grip is surprisingly decent as well.

The steering is of the light and easy variety, which is apt, but it’s rather low geared. We noticed that the helm of the E spec car had slightly more weight and feel compared to the VL’s, which could be down to the wheels as both cars are mechanically identical.

Another observation is the initial surge on acceleration, compared to the more linear approach of the old CVT. Revs also drop faster now when you back off. This could be Nissan trying to engineer in an impression of responsiveness – it’s subjective, but I prefer the gradual climb of old. Still smooth, though.

There’s no doubt that the new interior is a more pleasant place to be in. The dashboard, while not cutting edge in design, is inoffensive and ergonomic, with a conventional layout. It’s somewhat refreshing to see a local Nissan with not one, but two rows of steering buttons (audio and cruise control, both specs), plus a tower of centre stack lights at night.

A suitable driving position is easy to find, thanks to reach adjustable steering and a pump-style seat height adjuster. The high seating position, soft yet supportive chairs, good forward visibility and small details such as padded surfaces on the door rest (for your elbow) and centre armrest, all combine to make the Sylphy a comfortable place to be in, whether in a jam or on a long distance journey.

The comfy interior works hand in glove with this car’s main draw – comfort and refinement – values that in the Nissan Sylphy’s case, are both enduring and endearing.

New_Nissan_Sylphy_1.8_VL_045

Against old odds – Anthony Lim bridges the Sylphy’s past and present

Nissan vehicles and I haven’t crossed paths much in the past decade – there have been the outgoing Teana and the second-gen X-Trail from our shootouts some time ago, but nothing else before, in between or since.

Which definitely makes me a Nissan freshie, and the likes of the Sylphy a virtually unknown entity. I was present at the launch of the outgoing G11’s original launch, but all I can remember about the car is its microfibre-ish seat fabric material.

With that kind of fresh perspective in mind, the rest of the team thought it’d be perfect for me to offer a view of how the outgoing model and the new third-gen B17 shapes up in relation to each other, because we had the old car (a facelifted version) in alongside the new for the review period.

Nissan_Sylphy_new_vs_old_001

It’d have been nice to start things off in the G11 and progress to the new one, but in the end the test session flow worked out like this – new high-spec, old car and then new low-spec.

Visually, the B17’s exterior design isn’t terribly exciting, but compared to the old one, the lines are definitely tauter in their definition. The front is still a bit soft looking, yes, and the grille sort of disrupts the front-end flow, but there’s nothing to offend and it’s a sight better than the G11’s rounded approach, which I’ve never liked.

A lot of it has to do with the rear of the new Sylphy, which has far better resolved line integration. That back has heft and good visual presence, especially from dead-on centre. To say it’s much neater than that on the old one would be understating it.

If the exterior represents a distinct progression over the old, then the interior is a definite advancement. I like the simplicity of the new car’s cabin and the dashboard layout. Where the G11’s is thoroughly old-school JDM in its outlook, the new one is very contemporary. Clean works, and it works well.

Material for trim is an improvement on the new car compared to the G11. Still, there’s a bit of mishmash in the choice of plastic finishes in the new car; on the whole surfaces feel decent to sight and touch (dashboard, lower surface of the door cards), but some areas could be better served with better grained finishing.

The area in between cupholders and handbrake lever, for example, is rather rough looking and doesn’t match up to that of the other main surfaces in the car. It’s a contact area you’ll be working with a lot if you own the car, so it’s noticeable. Also, the armrest looks a bit of an afterthought in terms of usability.

Moving on, stalk/switchgear operation on the new Sylphy is positive – the feel is still a bit lightweight, but the ergonomics are sound and it doesn’t feel cheap, which is the more pertinent point. Points too for instrumentation legibility – the binnacles of old are gone, and the new layout is much easier on the eye.

Front seat comfort and adjustability levels in the new car are likewise good, and perception of space a standout for a C-segment offering. The old G11’s rear seats feel a bit plusher than that in the new car, however, and are more cossetting, so it evens out things.

In terms of performance, there’s a set of different perspectives offered by both old and new – the new 1.8 litre MRA8DE is peppy and has a more immediate take-up response from standstill, and so will appeal to a large majority of buyers who will think it the more ‘powerful’ car in a side-by-side, but there’s an appeal to the old 2.0’s more progressive delivery.

Both respond well to gentle climbs up the rev range, not so with aggressive shoves of the pedal, where there’s more noise than movement. As for drivetrain, clean and efficient describes the CVT, and that on the new car feels a bit more sophisticated. Surprisingly though, I ended up liking the old car’s linearity that bit more by the end of the test cycle.

The old Sylphy had clocked in a fair amount of mileage as a fleet car, and so it showed in terms of ride and NVH levels. From a comparison basis, there was no question as to the winner of the two, but that takes nothing away from the new Sylphy – its quietness across the entire speed range is downright impressive, and more importantly, it rides well despite being a bit firm. Handles well enough too.

Both high- and low-spec examples of the new cars are effectively Australian-spec Pulsars, which is what our Malaysian Sylphys will be, so I wonder if that has anything to do with the ride levels on call – Oz suspension tunes do tend to be firmer on the whole.

Some thoughts about the low-spec E variant – you’d think that the high-spec VL would be the natural pick of the duo, but I’d take the E over the high-spec, based on what was being presented by the test mules.

Yes, the keyless entry, push-start ignition, auto air-conditioning, power-adjustable side mirrors and colour display (with reverse camera) on the higher specification VL are nice items to have, but the lower-spec version actually felt more organic (and comfortable) of the two, with a nicer steering (both feel and response). The only variable that may account for all this is the E’s smaller wheel and larger tyre combination, because everything else is the same.

In summing up, the new Sylphy is a notable evolution of the old one. It takes the strengths of the old car (cabin space and a comfy ride) and improves on things that matter – there’s more polish in the presentation and new tech, but strong NVH levels, good ride and a spacious interior are undoubtedly its salient points, and there’s no arguing with these as being paramount in a family sedan.

I like the B17 Sylphy’s honesty, because it doesn’t try to be any more than what it is. It’s not the sexiest form, sure, but it’s eminently practical, and that’s what’s going to make it winsome for many.

Renewed rivalry – Hafriz Shah rates the new Sylphy against the competition

Nowhere has rivalry been more intense than in the C-segment car market. Yes, the smaller B- and larger D-segments may be more prominent now, but it’s in the mid-sized sedan class where the buyers are savvier towards each contender’s strength and weaknesses. It’s where the old and boring gets left behind, and the new and exciting absolutely shines.

Let’s go back a few years to understand what I’m getting at. At the turn of the Millennium, the original Toyota Corolla Altis was the clear market leader, with nothing else ever getting close. It was the best car then, and so it sold. In droves. Later in the decade, the FD Honda Civic came into the picture and took over the class lead, leaving the Altis and its disappointing successor for dead.

That was also the time that Nissan Malaysia took a bold move to introduce the left-field Sylphy. Essentially a Japanese Domestic Model, it was full of JDM eccentricities. It looked like no other and crucially, drove and rode like nothing else too. And so it successfully carved its own little niche within the market. Well, actually it wasn’t little at all, as it went on to be the best-selling 2.0 litre C-segment sedan for many years running.

New_Nissan_Sylphy_1.8_Malaysia_002

In recent years, while the underwhelming ninth-generation Civic failed to impress, modern, sexier Korean offerings have come to town. Honda’s class domination waned as buyers accepted the likes of the Hyundai Elantra, Kia Forte and, to a lesser extent, the newer Cerato like never before. While it would have been accurate to call it the Civic-class a few years ago, you and I know that’s not the case anymore.

See my point? Unlike in the B- and D-segment markets, C-segment consumers are less swayed by unproven, subjective deciding aspects such as brand image, whether positive or negative. It’s the car’s actual pros and cons that matter most. More than others, the fight is a fair one here, with no one getting an unfair advantage over others.

With a level playing field, can the all-new Nissan Sylphy prove to be more equal than the competition? Having driven it thoroughly before the local launch, I believe that it has every right to be, and that it possesses some genuinely unique features. A wow factor, even.

It’s no secret that the last Sylphy set no new standard for handling, for its virtues lie elsewhere. For this new one, Nissan has made a valiant effort to ensure it would have no dynamic impediments. And along with improving its driving flair, Nissan also imbued it with a new sense of aesthetics along with build quality that is as good as it gets.

All of which is important because the competition is formidable. You can forget about the woefully outdated Honda Civic, but both the resurgent Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8 and fresh Kia Cerato 2.0 have meticulously moved the game forward.

It’s the face and general appearance that’s critical for any automotive product. Many don’t give a fig about how a car goes, but if it’s modern and well proportioned, it’s all good. The Sylphy’s full makeover is a great one, and it’s now both classically handsome and unique. It treads the middle ground between the Altis’ (perhaps overly) aggressive stance and Cerato’s complex set of curves.

On the move, the Nissan’s Twin C-VTC engine has a well-oiled, free-revving note that’s a contrast to the more muffled hush from the Toyota and the Kia’s rather old-school mechanical boom. It’s the same story with power delivery too, with the Xtronic CVT keeping things calm and collected, and with more immediacy than the Altis’ equally smooth but comparatively lethargic CVT transmission.

The Cerato’s smooth-shifting six-speed automatic gearbox is completely outclassed in comparison, both in terms of response and feel. With its 2.0 litre engine advantage it will edge forward in a drag race, for sure, but its superiority here is limited to outright speed alone. Though ultimately slower, the CVT pair feels more effortless gaining speed, with the Nissan being the more refined operator and the Toyota the quicker of the two.

When the going gets tough, the Sylphy obviously doesn’t have the Ford Focus’ outstanding handling balance or brisk turn-in, but next to its more conventional rivals, it certainly flows better through corners. Where there’s next to no on-centre chatter at the Cerato wheel, there’s more a sense of calm decorum at the Nissan’s, which liven nicely off-centre.

The electric power steering works best in the Nissan, loading up accordingly when it should, where the Kia’s overly light steering stays numb throughout. The Altis is somewhat similar in character to the former, but with its larger helm and slower gearing, it feels more large-car-like than dynamic.

Surprisingly, the Sylphy has the best handling/ride balance of the trio. Just. The Toyota corners with the flattest stance, yet as familiarity increases, the Nissan’s confidence-inspiring grip cajoles you into carrying more corner speed. It’s no Focus still, but it’s now a respectable handler. Not especially enjoyable, yet thoroughly dependable.

It flows so well too that the standard electronic stability control is almost never called into action, while the Kia’s would intervene earlier and is slower to relent. The Toyota, meanwhile, has no electronic safety aids, as that is reserved for the top-spec 2.0 litre model, for which the full suite of seven airbags are a cost option. Both the Nissan and Kia boast six airbags as standard, no matter what variant you pick.

New_Nissan_Sylphy_1.8_Malaysia_008

Predominantly, however, all three have comfort-biased suspension. It’s the most obvious in the wallowy Cerato, whose passengers are those most in need of grab handles when the roads tighten up. Despite that, both the Sylphy and Altis offer better, more sophisticated rides, with the Toyota edging just ahead in terms of absolute comfort. The refinement and interior space crowns definitely belong to the Nissan, however.

Boot space is a clear win to the Sylphy – its 510 litre cargo area is the best in the class (matching the Volkswagen Jetta), easily beating the Corolla’s 470 litres and the Cerato’s meagre 421 litres. The catch? The Nissan’s rear seats don’t fold down at all, offering a small hatch for long loads instead.

In this informal comparison, the Nissan Sylphy matches the Toyota Corolla Altis and beats out the Kia Cerato for dynamism, edging both for ease of driving. Its ride comfort is a bonus, but perhaps its greatest coup is interior space and refinement. In short, it’s the whole package.

With it, Nissan is now back on form. And with the local introductions of the new Teana and Note not too far behind, the streak is set to continue.

The Nissan Sylphy is priced at RM111,900 for the 1.8 E and RM121,900 for the 1.8 VL, OTR without insurance. Read our launch report.

Nissan Sylphy 1.8 VL

Nissan Sylphy 1.8 E

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• azrai on Apr 18, 2014 at 9:32 am

Still the look and so synonymously to Ah So.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 73
    • Same loor on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:41 am

Look is a very subjective standard.

People who can afford the model usually will concern on other features such as build quality, fuel consumption, gearbox spec and the look is among the last to be concerned.

Well done Nissan! But i don’t think my Altis sales will be affected much. You will have a lot of interested kimchi driver looking to get a better car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 43
      • kanasai on Apr 18, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Of course Altis wont be affected, the sale volume can’t go any lower. How often you see the new altis and new camry on the road?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 5
        • At this price, I don’t think this car can do very well. Design wise, although subjective, I personally prefer Altis. Nothing great to shout about this car. My 2 cents view.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 39
          • Price a bit too high… Less 2k will be reasonable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • dugong (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 4:44 pm

This car is way better and comfortable than altis. Altis is neither here nor there. Tries to be sporty but fail miserably. Comfort loses badly to sylphy. Only got the lousy badge n high price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 7
    • Yellow on Apr 18, 2014 at 2:52 pm

i saw the NISMO kit of this car on internet.. the look is simply stunning.. go check it first before you complaint the look of this sylphy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
    • Wow Looks better than alien ship Vios and ugly looking blobfish Preve!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • fooji on Jul 02, 2014 at 10:15 pm

I am a new owner of Sylphy. Chose it over others as a conservative choice. But it caught me by surprise. The photos didnt do justice to the real car. It looks really nice, good size. I dont need a teana with this. Costing 10k less with the full safety and feature specs compared to Altis, this is a good choice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Antonius Reginaldus on Oct 10, 2014 at 10:38 pm

ROFL..like it or not, I still HEART this design way above the current Sylphy’s predecessor….and talk about ergonomics/space and fuel efficency without looking onto its specs on paper (especially power of the car), it can STILL be a C-class trump card winner in its own right….given enough money, I’d rather take THIS instead of the Merc CLA, dood…..:D :D

• justLOL on Apr 18, 2014 at 9:37 am

Boy this is tempting!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 12
    • kia propa on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:11 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 134
      • Enthu on Apr 18, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Time to wake up Honda fanboy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 5
      • truman6 on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:06 pm

go & test drive b4 you make an assumption, fanboy. As good as a civic can be, there’s many cars with same category that is way more better than a civic..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
      • truman6 on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:07 pm

if this car’s brand changed to honda civic, i’ll see what will you say about it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
        • kia propa on Apr 19, 2014 at 9:22 am

im comparing 1.8 which means base model…does altis and sylphy base model got mid, auto climate, vsa, multilink?wake up man…even city v spec better than this..but its diff segment…cerato, elantra and focusalready out cos other than japs are not reliable in malaysia eventhough have world recognition. Just saying dude. Its fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
          • Taz Pletaz on Apr 24, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Its a nice car, anyway. Due to brand, lower price better.

Have u ever own cerato, elantra or focus before or just read/heard friend of friends friends comment.

I own 2004 1.8 ugly elantra. No breakdown. After 6 years, replace most of the wear and tear parts. Still using it, maybe until jadi reban ayam. I also own 2012 ford focus. No problem so far.

• 5 knuckles! Finally!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Grandeur on Apr 18, 2014 at 9:53 am

dated car….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 28
  • fast5 on Apr 18, 2014 at 9:54 am

Good improvement over the old dated ver.
    Now the important part, what’s odr price for this new baby….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Maserati(Official) on Apr 18, 2014 at 9:55 am

second hand dealers will suffer due to drivers selling of their KIAs and Hyundais at heavily discounted price for the new Sylphy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 42
    • Vader on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:54 am

You are funny, user sell car to dealer with big discount, why and how the dealer will suffer?
      Simply bang ya..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • dugong (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 4:49 pm

sesat lor

• TheRealMaserati on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:02 am

Better and nicer to drive than the crappy Cerato.

Who buys a Cerato is really out of his mind

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 68
    • Please shut up la…and keep the comment urself!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 30
      • u must be driving a junk class Preve.so butthurt that Sylphy and even Kia Cerato miles better than your Junk Potong.Work harder and u can at least drive a Kia Picanto.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 38
        • turbo on Apr 18, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Why so butthurt with preve? You always been smoked ah. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
          • at least preve not use as a taxi, go to Dubai this brand nissan is a city taxi..

• Still no USB radio support for new sylphy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 32
    • adrian low on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:49 am

go see the nissan website la. aiyo. you dont expect Paultan.org to write every single thing rite?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
  • I am very disappointing about the interior spec, high end audio player with such small screen, and no wooden texture option, rear a/c available high spec only, compared to others variant country Sylphy, I realize this is so called Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 25
    • Car Crazzz on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:26 am

Haiyaa

What so sad one, the wooden part is so fake and distasteful like the camry’s. But I suppose it does temp low class people like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 28
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Thai sylphy 1.8 variant even worst…no vsa, tc n oni dual airbag sold for rm90-94k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • edwin on Feb 01, 2016 at 6:48 pm

Wooden texture make the car look very old fashioned; only exist in S’pore model; grey look better & yiounger!

• JeremyNg on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:16 am

What’s the engine spec ? and how’s the fuel consumption figure ?

• JeremyNg on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:28 am

My bad i saw the engine spec d ….. miss it when first time read it ! sorry :)

• Car Crazzz on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:24 am

Woo hoo. The new Nissan Syphilis is in town. It says that they are now using disc brakes but that still needs to be seen….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Lookman on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:30 am

Front face like a parrot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • totti on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:38 am

2nd hand value for old sylphy 2011 is below RM 60K and Honda Civic/Toyota Altis 2007 is around RM 70K.

If the new car cost near to T & H, you should know which car to buy.

Even the 2012 2.5 Teana is selling 100K from the car dealer now. This mean that the dealer will buy at RM 85K. The total depreciation is ard RM 70K for 2 years.

Wait for the big discount before buy the nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 38
    • Taiko's Daughter on Apr 18, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Hello, what c*ck talk? 2012 Teana 2.0 second hand value is RM120K, i just checked, 2.5 Teana is RM145K. Which second hand dealer u ask? UMW Toyota is it? That one not second hand dealer, that one Ah Long!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • THe rock on Apr 18, 2014 at 6:21 pm

Honda civic 2.0 year 2011 cost around 95k when buy 130k depreciate 35k. Silphy 2011 now around 60k when buy 120k depreciate 60k. Forte 2.0 year 2011 now around 65k when buy 97k depreciate 32k. Toyota altis 2.0 year 2011 now 95k when buy 129k depreciate 34k.

Which the clear winner in RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • budakkampung on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:40 am

bought 2.0 sylphy (first model) in 2008..it’s kinda ugly car to me but my wife insist to buy that car instead of pug407.. i am not so particular bout it since i am using project’s car (4wd).. although the bodyline not really impressed me much but there are few things make appreciate about this car:
    1) cabin quietness; even driving @130km/h (x buleh laju2 bawak family.. ingat yg tersayang!!)
    2) smooth CVT..
    3) fuel consumption..

but, if my wife want to change her car to this coming model, i will not hesitate to buy for her.. her car pun almost 6 years.. still got 1++year to go..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 4
    • truman6 on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:14 pm

yea, my uncle got 1..when he drove me, its very nice feel inside..quiet, comfy, but not sure about fuel consumption till i own 1…EXCEPT for the outdated design (not even have auto flip side mirror), i have nothing to complain bout it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • The front spindle grill look much better than than one on Lexus. So Lexus ‘s approach that spindle grill make them standout amongst the crowd is not working.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • benchot on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:47 am

hodoh macam car siew pao..gemuk..saya rasa itu orang semua kerja nissan gemuk pasal kereta bumper semua gemuk..orng gila beli ini kereta, orang bodo beli civic..skilaang paling power dan sexy hanya altis..moving forward dia design..nissan lu ingat malsysia bodo ka mau beli ini..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 102
    • kia propa on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:13 am

bodoh..civic 1.8 lagi bagus dari altis 1.8 and sylphy 1.8..harga sama!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 31
      • dugong (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 4:53 pm

Altis already lauched 6 mths till now I only saw 1 on the road. Nobody buys that overpriced junk. Even cerato I see more than 50 already on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:59 am

Well, the Sylphy is not a Focus or Golf, but who cares. Joe Public wants a smooth, comfy car that he/she can use on a daily basis to drop the kids off in school, brave the battlefield (I mean Federal Highway’s morning jam) to go to work, then brave the same tarmac again to get home after a long day. And on those festive season breaks, he/she wants to take a drive back home or go for a trip to Penang to have great char kuey teow…..

And that is where the old Sylphy shined. Comfortable, spacious, just that it was old and had not much safety in it. Now that the new one is here (which IMO looks miles better than the Civic FB and the 2014 Altis) it looks fabulous, good spec, and from what I read, the comfort is there.

What really impresses me is the price considering it is a CBU Thai made car (I actually thought it was a CKD, considering the Civic and Corolla’s price)…

I hope ETCM is finally out of the dark ages of outdated models, under specced and overpriced cars. With the new Note and Teana (especially the Teana, which looks good), this could be Nissan:Rebooted.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 5
    • Dragon on Apr 19, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Bruder,

U have my Salute for all yours comments u wrote remain good judgement , Professional & and High EQ u have.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 21, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Wow, well, thanks!

Not too sure how to respond to this comment, but yea. Glad that you feel that way mate. :D

• David D (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Hey Sudonano, how are you doing mate? Been crammed with my final lap of my university dissertation, so havent been commenting as frequently as i should.

By the way, i took the base Sylphy for a test drive, since they were having sneak previews of the car itself. And boy, i’m impressed. Good turn of speed, NVH levels on the top of its class, and get this, surprisingly GOOD handling!! I was expecting some understeer like how the previous G11 Sylphy did, but i was wrong. Handling is rather crisp, body roll well-controlled, and the steering isn’t bad at all. It’s no Focus, or Civic, but it does drive rings round the Altis.

The other thing that further adds up for its case is a decent kit count, and maximum safety kit. 6 airbags, 115k, and imported from Thailand? Toyota, Honda and Hyundai would need to start making 6 airbags and ESP standard on their cars competing against this thing.

If there were any drawbacks, the rear seats are kinda less comfy as the old G11, which was a sofa in a limo. Otherwise, it’s a no-nonsense C-segment sedan for those who want value, top-notch NVH, and good safety.

Cheers!!

• Norman on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:15 am

Hmm why the facelift Grand Livina 1.8 doesnt use this engine instead?

• Multilink lover on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:19 am

It is very disappointing that it uses torsion beam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • frenzyaustin on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:25 am

What I learned from the review:
    1) The new Nissan Sylphy is the best car in the class.
    2) You are a hopeless idiot if you buy a Civic.
    3) Toyota Altis perform better than I expected.
    4) Get a Focus if you love to drive.
    5) Kia Forte has the looks and specs on paper only, like K-Pop, all looks but no meaning underneath.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 123 Thumb down 17
    • not a Kpop fan anyway on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:43 am

You cannot deny the hard work being done by k pop stars.Thus, u have wrong statement there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 33
      • frenzyaustin on Apr 18, 2014 at 12:45 pm

I do agree K-Pop stars are really hard working, but all their songs have no meaning and sound roughly the same, like Audi. Or should I say all modern pop music.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
    • AVH (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 6:18 pm

You have no idea how sad the Civic looks. The other day at Honda while having my car service, flanking it is the new City and the new Accord and it looks so bad in between. If you got the money, invest abit more for the Accord, if you have limited budget, there is nothing wrong with the City, spec better and ie even bigger inside and the top spec is better built.

Sad, The FD used to be my all time favorite car and still is. Honda! Get your sh*t together when the facelift comes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • Michael on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:00 am

Yes, I agree. The Honda Civic’s exterior design and looks look horrendous if compared to the current beautiful and streamlined designs. Don’t mention the Mazda 3 or Kia Cerato K3. Just look at Toyota ALtis and the new Nissan Sylphy. The Civic looks like a turd next to these cars.

THe designer should be shot for coming up such an ugly-looking turd.

• Bob_B78 on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:27 am

Actually, this car is not bad at all.
    But to claim boot space is the best in C-segment was not right, for Jetta also registered 510 liters.
    It should be mentioned as one of the best.
    FYI, new city also claimed to have 510 litres of boot space.

• Car lover on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:33 am

I think the last one have more characteristic mainly because it has the dated design old school feel
    Some how have the heritage smell and I appreciate that
    Maybe it’s just me. The new one not really sporty or modern and doesn’t feel heritage anymore so kind of kill its character. Maybe it’s good but not for me.
    Personal preference. Whoever agree I welcome your support but disagree is fine too just bash me. Here’s just a place for sharing.
    Thanks

• Car lover on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:35 am

My mistake I do mean don’t bash me :P

• ahlong on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:51 am

still same problem, lousy cvt.. no suit for speeder

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • The culprit is the engine not gearbox

• truman6 on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:21 pm

wan speeder buy sport car lar…this is more to family car…btw, u r ah long, need fast go collect money..ppl like me just a poor fella who scared of aes summon..as long as its smooth, comfy & safe, nothing can stop ppl like me to consider it…IF i could afford it.,

• Antonius Reginaldus on Oct 10, 2014 at 10:51 pm

What then should be more practical – SAFETY or SPEED and POWER to make yourself shiok sendiri to break national speed limits? Hehehehe

• mangata on Apr 18, 2014 at 12:28 pm

Honestly the exterior is better than last Gen but however the interior is the most dissaponting part..the previous Gen had wooden inserts and large GPS screen which gave it a classic yet modern look..N trust me..wooden inserts used by Nissan cars r far more. Better than Toyota..they feel more natural in look and feel..another thing that bothers me is how come Nissan engines r always low when it come to horse power!! 1.5cc producing 102HP and 2.0 producing 130HP wth?!

• truman6 on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:24 pm

cos all power given to Skyline…lol…just kidding..i wonder bout it too..

• Taikor on Apr 18, 2014 at 1:02 pm

A great review written and I must say I am grateful for all the negative comments people are giving for this car in defense of their own (please put in your own adjectives as you wish) Altises and Civics. It just show how hard this Sylphy has hit them. Finally they woke up and started to defend. Civics have been the long-time champion in the C-Segment and Altis have been the long runner-up as well.

I sincerely hope this Sylphy will give up a good fight. It’s a fair competition. To me and ME ONLY, this Sylphy is beautiful and I don’t mind parting RM120K for the VL – Variant

Keep Calm & Drive Sylphy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
    • breeze on Apr 18, 2014 at 6:32 pm

Which one is champion, time will tell.

• truman6 on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:26 pm

dun think sylphy will win all cos of the brand is not too..should i say, Popular..But among all brands, i love nissan most (brand only, not about models & designs)

• Allen toyota subang on Apr 18, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Definitely good NVH qualities… Other than that…dont hope to much….NISSAN IS SOO YESTERDAY…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • kanasai on Apr 18, 2014 at 3:27 pm

Not a nissan fan, but nissan so yesterday? they produce a car that beat the Porsche, GTR

• RedCR-Z (Member) on Apr 19, 2014 at 12:05 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BZCqZogTdkA

Porshe hv reclaimed the throne. that is so yesteryear’s news

• truman6 on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:27 pm

your car looks very tomorrow? show us.

• Gundam singh on Apr 19, 2014 at 1:49 am

Rent this car in Danok in middle of 2013… Managed to crush the front bumper against another car…too quiet… Poor in overtaking… Wondering why the FC is poor too… I thought nissan is the best in FC… Anyway the cornering is also not that good… Bodyroll is there… The engine and gear are both laborious….good car for grannys…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • HaHaHaHaHa…!!!
        (Again)

• I just wonder is the nissan is doing a toyota act.
    First is the Almera, is basically ugly half-sibling of Toyota Dogong.
    And this Sylphy.
    It’s does have some impressive features and ways better than Altis, but its design is conservative and probably only appear to Uncles and Aunties.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
  • entaoba on Apr 18, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Ford focus still better la, if not because of the cramp interior…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Bro,how about the fuel consumption?..i cant find it in the review.in us review they mentioning about good epa rating but on real life testing was quite poor..

• D8… I bouoght my sylphy premium just 3 weeks ago…was think should I wait or shouldn’t I.

I should have waited for it. now for the same price it go much more safety features and gadgets. But mostly I envy the 6 airbags, VDC, rear air vent, cruise control and the MID.

Damn….I am so down today after knowing its finally here….

For those ppl that looking for a sedan that has good NVH and comfort, Sylphy is a definite choice.

• Contender on Apr 18, 2014 at 3:09 pm

Bao, you would have gotten super super discount anyway for the last batch of the Sylphy …… unless you bought from an extremely attractive, sexy sales staff …. where you were swept off your feet that you forgot to ask for discount …. lol

• Hi bro… yeah I bought the premium spec with 13k discount…I xonsider it a value buy… but if gicen a choice again… I rather buy this new sylphy with less/no discount.

• yawn.. next contestant please..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • Motorhead (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Now 1.8.. but still want price like 2.0.. official price pon x berani nak bagi.. podah lah Nissan.. go to hel with your new Slphy.. who want to buy go ahead.. no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • zeebee on Apr 18, 2014 at 4:06 pm

One Word “AWESOME”

• samlok on Apr 18, 2014 at 4:23 pm

will it be under power like almera?

• Jimmy on Apr 18, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Will it rattle?
    Are aircon compressor and aircon blower sounds terrible in Nissan vehicles?
    Are their mechanics skillful and knowledgeable?

• truman6 on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Mechanics better than VW, aircond better than my kancil & myvi

• AVH (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 5:13 pm

I remember driving the Sylphy once and I didn’t like it. Now I put the point here is I, me , didn’t like it. Used to the insta-responds that a revving Honda City can give, I didn’t like the fact that I have to wait for the car’s CVT to kick in before proceeding. 2.0l means that it has the power to do the overtaking than a City but it’s just that in my head, it would be better if I have proper gears. And than there’s the brakes, it wasn’t the most effective brakes I’ve tested and was very soggy, there is almost no feel in the brakes. Bear in mind that this is someone’s else car so I do not know what the car has hone through its lifespan so maybe its just the particular model.

But What I did like. The smoothness. The suspension absorbs the bumps and roughness of the road and the cabin seal you from any exterior noise. The engine is the purring instead of the screaming you get in most Honda’s VTEC. It is a very well built car, something of a Nissan’s forte; The Nissan Almera actually edge out of a Suprima because of its refinement in one of the review and having sat both, I agree. I can understand its appeal, its what I call a sailing car, something Mercs are known for. Buyers buy it because they wany something that is comfortable and nice to ride. Keeping below the speed limit and all, which is what the old car can do very well.

The new car have a few dissapoinment but fret not its mostly aesthatic(and that differs from one individual to the next). The low spec car has that cheapo-looking gas cooker knob that I find o-so-ugly in the Grand Lavina facelift, And having seen a thai unit so many times every morning at my usual breakfast spot, I don’t really like that angular arse. It’s definitely a car that will sell well, the dissapointing FB Civic(I was in Honda showroom the other day andd next to the new City and Accord it indeed look so forlone) can’t compete this, better spec and better built. The Focus edge it out for dynamism, the Cerato(and to some extant the Altis) for design. But the Sylphy sits in between, its a balance of both world and I bet more comfortable, which leaves the Corolla. Contrary to many I’ve seen many unit on the road, and all of them judging from the rims is the high spec variant. That means there are people going all ways to buy one

Nissan has to price it well here, contrary to the bashings and dissing, the Corolla is the most potent rival in the C-segment, it juggles everything but price and spec well and therefore theres where ETCM has to beat them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • breeze on Apr 18, 2014 at 6:25 pm

Please tell me why Civic FB dissappointing you?

• decer on Apr 18, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Civic fb:
        Lousy name : facebook!
        Lousy engine : sohc
        Lousy back : ugly even facelifted
        Lousy handling : like sampan

• breeze on Apr 19, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Why SOHC engine lousy, even the engine spec are same as DOHC? Please explain it. I disagree the handling like sampan.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Design, I find the FD looks like a spaceship inside. Clean exterior and Interior and some soft touch on the high spec variant. It has the frontal lever type-handbreak, and a nice neat stacked speedo and rev counter that just simple and effective. The new one is cluttered everywhere and the infotainment feels like an aftermarket afterthought. The hardplastic isn’t even the smooth type like the FD, its rough almost like sandpaper texture on some areas.

Than theres the exterior, Gone is the F22 tail-lamps, gone are the sinister mascarra headlamps(smoked in normal language) and gone is the nice large grill. All replace by ever more beigeness. I do agree the new FB has a better side profile than the FD.

All in all, design, quality and the special and unique feeling u get in the FD is gone. Now you get what I belive is a disgrace to the previous car. The FB Civic joins the EG and EK as one of the more unique vehicles on the road. I dont care if it has the same powertrain or spec, but it was the design that made the FD one of my favorite sedans of all time and the FB is a disgrace to succeed it.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 9:46 pm

*The FD Civic joins the EG and EK as one of the more unique vehicles on the road.

• kia propa on Apr 19, 2014 at 10:03 am

if you meant for the high spec, i get it why ure disappointed, but comparing the base model ive to say civic have the better spec, even the v spec city hv better spec then all those base c segment model. So how boutthat?

• breeze on Apr 19, 2014 at 1:45 pm

FB exterior are more air dynamic than FD, if you compare FD with FB side by side.

• Some japs cars have good NVH and smooth sailing. But dun expect too much of it, even bigger cars like estima is swaying on highway. You dun see it from outside but once you get inside the cabin you will ask yourself is this boat, sampan or what.

That never exists in proton/conti cars. It sails real smooth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • AVH (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:56 pm

Proton as in Suprima and Preve only or as in all Proton, because I beg to differ in the Persona(110kph)….and I was in an Exora the other day but it was doing only 80 so cant comment.

• idaho on Apr 18, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Are we still in living in the eighties?

• Can’t see what’s so special about this car.. wait for Mazda3 CKD with EEV incentive.. and this syphilis will slowly dying.. TCM can only now hope their Almera to drive sale.. and perhaps they should consider assembling Impreza here..

• messi on Apr 18, 2014 at 8:26 pm

Put on hold. Wait for the big discount to come.

This car worth no more than RM 98k.

• Steven on Apr 18, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Has owned Toyota, Honda, Nissan for the past 10 years and still driving B segment T and N now.

Among them, Nissan has given me the most problem below 80,000KM mileage with costly part at center:-

The following parts cost(exclude labour) :-
    1) Suspension mounting per no cost RM 200++.(change 2)
    2) Absorber cost RM 240 per no.(change 4 after 80,000km)
    3) Belt changed during 60,000km. (produce sound)at 90,000km, the sound appear again.
    4) Wheel bearing cost at RM 900.00 per no. (Change 2 nos).
    5) skim my front rotor disk 3 times before 90,000km.
    6) change the dish brake kit RM 150.00.

Nisan engine is good but the suspension system give you the nightmare with costly part.

Beside this, 2nd hand value is another nightmare to come. There was the reason most ex sylphy owner keeping their car because not getting good 2nd hand value.

2011 sylphy new at RM 118K only cost below RM 60K if you sell it now.

High part cost and low resale value will make you think twice.

• MyviKiller on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:51 pm

wait till you own a civic 1.8 fd…

• Das Auto on Apr 19, 2014 at 1:58 am

Its the same thing if you replace parts at UMW. Kena potong kaw kaw. Engine mounting only for vios cost like $900. My aunty just replaced it…says engine vibrates too much during idle like vibrator.

• Tiger on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Omg, same case wit Honda Accord, where the old model actually looks much better and sporty than new model…the front just looks so dull and anonymous…and herein lies another common poblem among local car reveiews, the reveiwers almost ALwaYS say tat the new model looks better than the old model, they only dare to critisze the old model looks

• New model of Accord better than outgoing model. Bought new accord 2.0 Vti-L in last year. Handling, power and suspension are good. Drove to Genting, overtaking other cars is not a problem. In the speed of 160km/h in highway, the car still remains stable. If adding more airbags to this new accord, I believe that the new accord would be the choice of the car for the executive sedan.

Safety wise, definitely, new Sylphy better than Altist. But in terms of look, sure is altist.

• Albert lee on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:44 pm

Steven,the Toyota addicts are very glad cos of higher resale value of Toyota cars.
    Nissan and Toyota are Japanese,but STRANGE ,the resale values are different.
    Apart from repair costs,I think the difference is just PERCEPTION.But what you wrote is accurate and is an eye opener for those bent on buying this Sylphy.

• anand (Member) on Apr 19, 2014 at 1:22 am

Shape of the car looks very unclish…both spec rim looks horrible like steel cap rim selling in brothers, steering button so small and cheap scale, the seat look like myvi seat (doesnt look as comfort as civic and altis), interior materials looks very cheap plastic.For low spec no fog lamps, front light not projector type,no auto flip side mirror, aircond controls looks very updated like the old nissan sunny (even myvi’s luks better)

• Price is too high, currently Sylphy 2.0 cc selling 114/5K to 124/5K and New Sylphy 1.8 cc from 115 to 125. Logic?

• exsyl on Apr 19, 2014 at 1:59 pm

i’ve owned sylphy once, nice engine with very smooth cvtc drive, superb comfort cabin but;
    1) bad RV 2012 bought 116k, RV is 70k for 2013…sucks!
    2) drive on uneven road feel so bumpy like exact sampan(could be height roof)
    3) interior is very basic (but not could be better)
    for me for those who doesnt care about RV, particularly on quitness cabin, no jerking drive the the sylphy is the one you should go for it

• Ramouse on Apr 19, 2014 at 11:58 pm

Hey Paul, better wake up and moderate chauvinistic users who abuse each other. They are killing your site man. Anyway – nice story on the Sylphy. Appreciate the photos as usual. Personally I definitely think the new model is an improvement in terms of looks. Cheers.

• For the E spec should price at 108k and for the VL spec is should be RM 118k and it will sell like almera.

• ben yap on Apr 20, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Hafriz Shah’s writing tends to be over flowery.

I prefer it to be simple and straight. no need all those boombastic words.

• Does the car come with 6 speakers and USB?

• Chow 1 on Apr 21, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Toyota still has the brand advantage, but I think consumers should give Nissan a chance as they are sincere to introduce the important safety features to Malaysians. As for Toyota, ignoring the VSC is an act of arrogance and they deserve a big lesson.

• NissanOwner on Apr 21, 2014 at 6:41 pm

One Complaint, Nissan SPARE PART super Expensive, Driver’s Power window regulator + labour RM940. I changed it at outside with original parts + labour RM380 ONLY. They really Suck your blood dry, pray hard for your Nissan car.

• De' Rayz on May 06, 2014 at 3:06 pm

Agreed! Never go back to Nissan service center after warranty as their charges are sky high!

• Arthur on Apr 22, 2014 at 12:49 am

They can triple the sales by just renaming the car. How creepy for men to be driving a sylphy. Likewise, livina, teana. If they just rename teana to, eg maxima or whatever, sales may double

• nearly perfect daily car. Where’s the sunroof?

• I feel SLEEPY reading this:)

I notice cars are getting uglier and uglier. Why don’t they make beautiful cars anymore or is that the domain of American car makers i.e Mustang, Camaro etc ?

Also, its way too expensive. It sits in the Honda Accord category where price is concerned. And the Accord is another segment and much better.

It should be priced at 80k.

The new Altis, Civic, Cerato are equally ugly in my opinion.

• Laurie K Gilbert on Apr 29, 2014 at 10:50 am

As a family we thought it the perfect replacement family car until we realised the management of Nissan Malaysia had compromised the specs of the car and as a result it failed the minimum safety standards we require in a car.

• De' Rayz on May 06, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Is a ROCK BOTTOM surprise to find out, the E spec side mirrors are MANUAL! Such a simple feature but has been taking out for a car cost more than RM100k?!

Auto fold side mirror is not something new to Nissan, in fact, Nissan Sentra has already got it for so long. And now they removing it and make it available only for the high spec?

Seriously? What are they thinking?!

• Buying a new car on May 12, 2014 at 7:36 pm

I’m looking for a safe good looking car with low maintainance cost & good resell value.
    should i buy ASX or the New Nissan Sylphy?

• lissan on May 12, 2014 at 9:50 pm

the car over price

• Roberto on Jun 20, 2014 at 3:27 am

Here in Brazil we have the new sentra sv with same oem radio colors display with no rear camera, its jus t have rear cam on sl trim with multimedia and gps. On this unit of radio, we can install the rear cam? Thanks

• Fairuz on Jun 29, 2014 at 2:24 pm

This Sylphy will be a taxi soon. Regret regret

• Jazzthriller on Aug 17, 2014 at 1:47 am

Cab you tell why you say Sylphy is getting to be taxi soon? You are kidding? I am in fact thking of getting one considering the comfort the car offered after test drive.

• kaisertan on Sep 18, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Does the ETCM will bring the IMPUL/NISMO version of Sylphy to Malaysia? Any idea anyone?

• I own a sylphy just about a month ago. Great car for family driving. Want to compare with altis? With same price u only get 2 airbags with no vsc. Enough said

• when i look at this, i remember the nissan maxima ad.

• gurdial on Feb 21, 2015 at 9:43 pm

bought the sylphy abt a month ago , very happy with it. good value though,,.,fuel consumption,.,.not bad for its class.

• salahuddin on Jun 06, 2015 at 12:54 am

saya peminat kereta honda civic tp saya sekarang menggunakan nissan slyphy 2014. selesa untuk yang sudah berkeluarga.

• Bought a Sylphy Luxury Navi in 2010. Completely satisfied. Nothing to complain. Perfect in all aspects. Still driving. Real value for money. Nissan never dissapoints.