Hyundai Tucson facelift 2.0 manual spotted at JPJ!

hyundai-tucson-manual-11

We couldn’t really believe our eyes when we saw this. Anol Alias has sent in these shots of a facelifted Hyundai Tucson 2.0 with a six-speed manual gearbox sitting in the JPJ car park.

As it doesn’t have MS Design front and rear skid plates nor LED tail lamps (2.4 Executive Plus only), this should be an Elegance-spec car. The wheels look smaller than the 17s we currently get, and there’s no AWD badge on the tailgate.

A peek inside reveals manual air-con, no keyless start and the basic audio system (AVN system for Executive Plus variants only) – consistent with the Elegance trim. Except the seats here are fabric.

hyundai-tucson-manual-9

The row of driver’s side buttons (ESP off, hill descent, centre diff lock, instrument panel brightness) are blank. And of course, who could miss the do-it-yourself gear lever and clutch pedal?

Our current 2.0 Elegance six-speed auto doesn’t come with VSM or ESP, and has only two airbags. With a blank ‘ESP button row‘, we have little hope in that field, but would it be too much to wish for more than a pair of airbags in this manual variant?

The golden question is this: is Hyundai-Sime Darby seriously thinking of bringing this manual SUV to market? And if jadi, how much cheaper would it be than the RM133k asked for the 2.0 Elegance auto?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• With reduced spec + manual transmission = cheaper price…what should we call this? Tucson Super Value (SV) I think :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • this car is dangerous. the a-pillar is intrusive and blocks the view. poor design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
      • for those who disliked my comment, go test drive one and u’ll know what i mean. i test drove it before and i’m not making any random claim here. the a-pillar is really a disaster in this car. korean engineers are sleeping in winter sonata when the a-pillar design is being carried out.

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Price list is out. RM118,000 OTR with insurance. Less than 80 units whole Malaysia. 1st come 1st serve.

• sutrak on Apr 20, 2014 at 1:09 am

u are funny. 1st come 1st serve? who is coming for a car like this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Hyundai De.La Junk on Apr 18, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Dated design.. sigh
    4 Spokes steering…lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
    • Vader on Apr 18, 2014 at 3:45 pm

So you are telling people that you judge the car by counting how many spokes on the steering..
      Bravo.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 3
  • look at the gear knob, goodness me… like sitting in a 90’s car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
  • adam lee on Apr 18, 2014 at 3:05 pm

NICE DESIGN THAN CRV AT LIST

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • yeah get it right at least, you are like the crv and i’m tucson.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Manual SUV? That ought to be interesting…

But it could be that it was brought in for fleet users instead, considering Sime Darby does own Hertz in Malaysia too, and without all the kit and a manual gearbox, it could be that they want to make it like a low cost SUV…. Considering that manual sales on other makes itself are very low (unless they are sports cars).

• xiper (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 3:36 pm

looks like a low spec manual variant.

The door panel is hard plastic, fabric seats and without reverse camera. I hope more car makers can offer high spec manual transmission variant. There are also people that love to drive manual but want to enjoy the full spec equipments.

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Price list already out! RM118,888 OTR

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Sorry it’s 118,000 OTR

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 4:06 pm

There’s a story behind! Korea send wrong order shipment. About 80 units available only! 1st come 1st serve!

• farhan omar on Apr 18, 2014 at 4:14 pm

If the price is less than 100k..why not..super value for money

• The question is .. why??

• Goodness, just look at the gear knob and dashboard enough to puke. Is this a 1980′ s retro? This car is getting more and more ‘Brother’ aka the accessories shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • kctan on Apr 18, 2014 at 6:56 pm

wow , amazing and cool
    feeling excited

• danedz on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:42 pm

this 80units been saved from Sewol ferry…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
  • @danenz cant u be more sensitive. I u hv nothing better to say, just shut up!

• Allen toyota subang on Apr 19, 2014 at 12:02 pm

There is NEVER a demand for manual SUV in MALAYSIA…who is behind this FAUX PASS should be demoted/fired… HYUNDAI-all the WRONG REASON…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 21
    • kctan on Apr 19, 2014 at 9:29 pm

just because u dont have left leg doesnt mean other dont have

• ahmadjohnson97 on Apr 20, 2014 at 12:52 am

You’re the one who should get fired, there is a demand for it.

• KangKungMan on Apr 19, 2014 at 12:43 pm

If U r about 170-180cm tall … U try sit at 2nd row … U r going to easily get your head hit the roof ! I kena liao ! Ke!Ke!Ke!

• _xXx_ on Apr 19, 2014 at 8:14 pm

manual buyers are always treated as low class, low affordibility buyers….

• james on Apr 21, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Any comment regarding the fuel efficiency of Tucson (Auto)???

• David on Apr 28, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Tucson executive plus discontinued. only sports version.