New Nissan Sylphy open for booking in Malaysia!

nissan-sylphy-open-for-booking

After nearly a week of teasing the car, Nissan Malaysia has finally announced on its Facebook page that the all-new Nissan Sylphy is open for booking. Estimated prices for the new C-segment sedan are as such: RM115,300 for the Sylphy 1.8 E and RM125,500 for the 1.8 VL.

Among others, Nissan’s new offering has six airbags, a five-star ANCAP safety rating, four-wheel disc brakes with traction and stability control, ABS and BA as standard across the range, with a new 131 PS/174 Nm 1.8 litre Twin C-VTC engine matched to an improved Xtronic CVT transmission.

The top-spec VL adds on 17-inch wheels, keyless entry, dual-zone climate control, rear air con vents, leather upholstery and projector Xenon headlamps.

Check out the official leaflet in the gallery below for more details or better yet – exclusively on paultan.org – read our full review of the new Nissan Sylphy to find out if it’s any good.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• xiper (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 1:35 am

Besides the engine option, the new Sylphy definitely a better car than the previous generation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • Vader on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:19 am

Nissan did improved a lot, 4 disc brake is a sound of customer. And the engine from2.0 to 1.8 is a good move too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Green on Apr 18, 2014 at 12:15 pm

It’s a Must buy.

RM115k Full Safety Cheaper and More Reliable than Kia Cerato or Elantra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
  • Now only open for booking? We still have to wait for 1 more year to its official launch?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 38
    • Vader on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:17 am

Don’t be frustrated for the late launch of new sylphy, since open for booking, will not wait for a year but perhaps few weeks.
      However, I feel that this car still attractive in the market if the price tag is right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 5:48 am

nissan malaysia selalu lewat…semangat

• mmaker on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:01 am

It is a tactic, they wanna see what are the advantages from their main competitors and in the c segment. After did some research they will sell new car which looks promising.

• Louis Cho on Apr 18, 2014 at 6:17 am

Altis killer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • _xXx_ on Apr 18, 2014 at 6:18 am

all cows home already….

• I can’t see why this is better car than a new Altis if the price difference is too close.

The new Sylphy must be cheaper than the previous one (with 2.0l motor) and using the dame name is an act of disrespectful for 2.0l old Sylphy. Why not Nissan Pulsar?

ETCM just had a facelift Sylphy last year, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Nissan already produced Nissan Pulsar last year (at least in Australia and Brunei), it’s a hatchback with turbo engine (for the highest spec) while the low spec gets 1.6L NA engine. Not sure in Malaysia though, probably the market in Malaysia is totally a different scenario.

• hopefully D segment cars will follow the trend to have more comprehensive safety specs for Malaysian consumers.

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:30 am

And the price is….

• Albert Lee on Apr 18, 2014 at 9:22 am

The price will be in the range of 100-120K depending on specs.
      If it is fully imported,half will be in the form of taxes.If CKD, around 25-30 percent..
      Anyway,no malaysian can escape these horrific taxes except those staying in langkawi and labuan.

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Anyway I expect dy the price will be from Mars.. or else they ve announced dy.. know the trick dy.

• Fredo on Apr 18, 2014 at 8:20 am

thanks to Proton, most of other car makers (except T&H) are now going with the highest safety package…
    we as consumers will enjoy the benefit of this competition

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • frenzyaustin on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:07 am

Not sure if I should blame Proton for high car price, or applause Proton for setting the safety benchmark…

• Peter on Apr 18, 2014 at 12:24 pm

NOT proton, it’s Kia, Ford that we should thanks. Proton did that also b’cse of Kia who lead the trend, in fact preve launched much later then Forte. AND … proton was condemned for offering better spec oversea for same price until DRB received public complains.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Junk Pervi cannot even compare to Cerato and Elantra,yet still want to compare with the Japs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • Low spec RM115K , high spec 125K over value 1.8 for Nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • goncong on Apr 18, 2014 at 8:30 am

mesti >115k, kurang i bayar lu

• Altis killer came!!!

• Tokong on Apr 18, 2014 at 8:51 am

So Nissan value their potential customer x10 times more than T Maker.

• Those teasers are meaningless actually. Those features being teased are found in cars way back then.
    It is these arogant Japanese car distributors screw us up with inferior offering and now trying to get praise on something they ought to have included in cars way back then. And they are pathetic buyers indeed praise them. Talk about cinsumer awareness.
    Literally is these greedy distributors cause the low standard in our car industry!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • any idea how much is it?

• james on Apr 18, 2014 at 9:16 am

Your booking will determine the price.. if demand is low, then they will adjust the price… make your call..booking is the marketing tool for company & is bad to consumer…

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:11 pm

I ve to agree with you. Want it lower. Better don’t make any booking.. let them suffer for sales first.

• price is?

• can thong on Apr 18, 2014 at 9:18 am

so the rank for c seg will be like this altis>sylphy>civic>preve>cerato>elantra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • totti on Apr 18, 2014 at 9:38 am

TC should bring in the 1.6 and 1.8 like the Altis to cater for different segment of consumer.

As expected, the 1.8 will cost above 100k and how many able to spend this money at the present inflation?

Anything above 100K will divert the consumer for Honda Civic and Toyota Altic with best 2nd hand value in the market.

Nissan need 1.6cc engine to beat the vios and City to stay no;2 in non national car.

• Bataman on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:58 am

Nissan has the Almera to fight VIOS/City lah…where have you been last 6 months…Afghanistan???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Garfield on Apr 18, 2014 at 9:44 am

Maybe off topic, but just wanna say sth about reliability of Sylphy. No doubt Nissan’s engines and its CVT gearbox are very reliable, but the quality of the rubber mountings are a let down. After less than 3 years ownership; the gearbox mounting broke first. Then the top engine mounting and later the bottom mounting. Recently the sub-frame mounting broke together with both front suspension mountings. Mind you, all of these parts are not cheap coming from Nissan.

I am really wondering why my 5 year old VW Cross Touran are more reliable in relation with the rubber parts? I seriously thought that it should be the other way around. In reality I have spent more on the Sylphy than the supposedly unreliable VW. (For clarity purpose, my VW runs on the 6-speed DSG).

• Bataman on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:59 am

Thanks for sharing….didn’t realized the Slyphy is so tofu….I am shocked.

• frenzyaustin on Apr 18, 2014 at 11:08 am

Made In Germany vs Made In Malaysia/Thailand.
      If it’s Japanese import, I think it should be much better.

• 10K extra for the higher spec….Crap.

• GoGo Dools on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:11 am

Price……E = RM 115k, VL = RM 125..both 1.8

• Think on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:35 am

Do you know there is a C segment car in the market with similar hp and safety performance with only half the price of it?

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 10:37 am

Hold on, did I just read…

“six airbags, a five-star ANCAP safety rating, four-wheel disc brakes with traction and stability control, ABS and BA as standard across the range”

*wipes computer screen*

No. It cannot be true.

Finally, ETCM has got a safe and practical car.
    And a pretty decent price too! 115k gives you all of this? Why buy a top spec Vios now?

Brilliant, ETCM, very well done on the pricing and spec list. Now, do the same for the Teana and we can then watch both the Altis and Camry bungkus la.

Its happening. The Sylphy is a very comfy car. Would be good for people who spend a lot of time in traffic jams, and also long distance driving. It’s no Golf or Focus, so I won’t expect class leading handling, but who cares if you want comfort… Compared to the tin can Altis (which I have seen in the showroom and feel that the interior feels cheap, even compared to the Civic which I drove just before going to see the Altis), this is probably the best packaged Japanese C segment car out there, though younger (and young at heart) drivers who want a Japanese C segment car may sway to the Civic since that has a normal automatic and not a CVT…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • Denaihati on Apr 18, 2014 at 12:29 pm

i think Nissan Sylphy will give satisfaction for nissan fan. very nice looking interior and think comfortable too.

• NISSpengAN on Apr 18, 2014 at 2:55 pm

RIP to New Altis , Civic n New Mazda 3 sedan

• Amei (Member) on Apr 18, 2014 at 7:59 pm

Woah. So much value for money. Goodjob ETCM. Finally done something right. now, about that Nissan Note…

• sohaibabiguaneng on Apr 18, 2014 at 8:35 pm

CRAP

• price should be 108k for the E , and 115k for the VL, that only show nissan value for money like nissan sunny, correct me is i m wrong.

• Nicholas on Apr 20, 2014 at 1:30 am

Nissan syphilis…

• NissanOwner on Apr 21, 2014 at 6:42 pm

One Complaint, Nissan SPARE PART super Expensive, Driver’s Power window regulator + labour RM940. I changed it at outside with original parts + labour RM380 ONLY. They really Suck your blood dry, pray hard for your Nissan car.