Toyota Corolla gets unique face for Chinese market

corolla-china

UPDATE: This is the Toyota Levin for the China market. Full details and live gallery from Beijing here.

This is how the latest-generation Toyota Corolla will look like for the Chinese market. This image was published by Chinese website Xgo.com.cn – will it go public at Auto China 2014 in a few days time?

The car seen here has got a unique front end with lots of chrome, and a slimmer grille which makes way for a larger, more prominent bumper intake.

So the Corolla now has three different front end designs compared to the version we get (left image) and the US-market Corolla (right image). Which Corolla front do you like the best? Answer in our poll below.

[polldaddy poll=7980341]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 3 Different emotional Eagle.

• Obama on Apr 19, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Malaysia version has the worst design, every time an altis passed me, i was like no eye see. To many sharp curves that make the eye unpleasant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 14
      • I believe M’sia version exterior look will be dated very soon, the interior design is even worse.
        N/Sylphy is very much better designed inside out.
        My vote goes to China version as it makes thing very clearly in targeting on the young group, whereas our version’s targeted group is not clearly defined neither premium nor sporty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 12
  • The Malaysian one looks so riced im surprised it doesnt have neons. Chinese one looks alright but the US one gets my vote, it just looks more premium.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • Jonny Tan on Apr 19, 2014 at 3:13 pm

face like an Ultraman!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • policeman on Apr 19, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Lancer did this 7 years ago!

What else is new?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • china market is for barbarian prc people which dirty, noisy, splitting, jump queue, shit at the street.
    Dont ever bring this rubbish to our land.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 35
  • LatukBandar on Apr 19, 2014 at 4:08 pm

ours look like a cat

• saw a few new corolla on the road. IMO our design only looks nice when viewed from the side

if one show up on your rear view mirror, it looks like a typical uncle car

• shawal on Apr 19, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Racist looking car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
  • BeemerFreak on Apr 19, 2014 at 5:00 pm

Toyota should forget about bringing a unique variant to China. The Anti Japanese sentiment there is so strong that you are frowned on when you try to buy something remotely Japanese. They should instead focus on countries like Malaysia where people would pay any price for a Toyota despite whatever junk they throw inside.

• roxas on Apr 19, 2014 at 5:18 pm

oooo..i hate to say ..but tis is not bad…but still boring

• dodgeviper88 on Apr 19, 2014 at 5:57 pm

At least from the front the china market looks sleek with simple lines. USDM design looks the sportiest while Malaysian design looks like is trying too hard to be noticed.

• Waiting for them to release FURIA

• kanazai2001 on Apr 19, 2014 at 7:36 pm

WAO!!! when MY Altis will get China’s face?!

• choha on Apr 19, 2014 at 9:00 pm

once again, Malaysians are shortchanged!

• fast5 on Apr 19, 2014 at 9:15 pm

Malaysia get the less look altis with selling the most expensive price among them all.
    Bravo UMW….

• Zeeian on Apr 19, 2014 at 10:23 pm

It looks more like Australian’s Corolla Hatchback, which is what I expect the new Corolla Sedan was before it was revealed.

• MintBerryCrunch on Apr 19, 2014 at 10:24 pm

Cars that look fast, but really, arent. It’s a terrible design trend. A corolla is about utility. Styling it to look aggressive just feels so poser.

• Guilt79 on Apr 19, 2014 at 11:38 pm

It’s like mixing Euro and US to become one.

• Murderer on Apr 19, 2014 at 11:42 pm

Complain about China’s design? I think Malaysia is the worst design among all. Can’t believe got people voted for Malaysia no wonder we have no design sense here… we are still in the matrix wakeup people!!

• albag on Apr 20, 2014 at 12:12 am

among the three corollas for different markets, i still think HONDA CIVIC looks the best!

• arulkay on Apr 20, 2014 at 3:58 am

American daddy mix Malaysian a.k.a Asian mummy the children is China Corolla (Mix child)….hahaha

• Cheung on Apr 20, 2014 at 2:21 pm

in my opinion, the china version looks the best whereas the Malaysian version , well , honestly , is the worst looking

• Parris Boyd on Apr 20, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Recall King Toyota is a hoot, regardless of the model or where it’s made. NASA physicist Henning Leidecker is now speaking out regarding the increased risk of unintended acceleration due to “tin whiskers” growing in the electronic throttle control of ’02-’06 Camrys, comparing it to a game of Russian roulette. Toyota redesigned the pedal sensors in ’07 and ’08 for the express purpose of eliminating the tin whisker risk. Instead of Toyota, the Justice Department, and NHTSA trying to keep the electronics issue quiet, a recall should be issued to update the sensors in the models Dr. Leidecker has noted. I’ve been blogging about the Recall King for quite some time – search “Beware of Toyota. Their next victim may be YOU…”

• Very ugly all of them. Toyota better wake up and follow KIA or HYUNDAI as their newer designs have gone past Toyota’s. Theirs have more Euro style now and look a lot more attractive.