Volkswagen Golf R 400 Concept premieres in China

DB2014AU00414_large.JPG.

The Volkswagen Golf R has traditionally been the most powerful production version for each generation of Golf. But could Volkswagen be planning to introduce an even more powerful version of the Golf? That’s what this Golf R 400 Concept seem to indicate.

The Golf R 400 Concept also uses a 2.0 litre TSI engine just like the Mk7 GTI and R; however this one has its roots from the Polo WRC‘s racing engine. Peak power is 400 PS and 450 Nm of torque, channeled to all four wheels via a six-speed DSG gearbox and Haldex-based 4MOTION permanent all-wheel-drive. That’s a full 100 PS more than the Golf R.

It’s not the most powerful version of the 2.0 TSI in a concept that we’ve seen – the TT quattro sport concept from Geneva has 420 PS – but still, it’s a very impressive power to displacement ratio. The 400 PS/450 Nm takes the Golf R 400 Concept up to 100 km/h in just 3.9 seconds.

The exterior design of the Golf R 400 Concept – based on the three-door Golf body – has also been revised, now having flared fenders as a modern interpretation of the Golf G60 rally car from 1988. The front and rear bumpers and many other parts made of visible carbon fibre. The interior is finished with Alcantara and racing seats covered with “carbon leather”. Suspension settings remain the same as the Golf R’s.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 50rangers on Apr 20, 2014 at 11:48 pm

There is too many version of Golf, yet here comes another one. Just like pau, we have pau kacang, kaya, sardines etc. The point is, people get bored with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
    • david sim on Apr 21, 2014 at 1:07 am

Its the best production performance car in the world. Just because you get bored, does not mean the rest of the world are. It is still the best selling performance hatch in the world for the last 40 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • 100 km/h in just 3.9 seconds

who will get bored with that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • how often do you get to use that kind of acceleration? more of syiok sendiri on paper?

• FarizY (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 10:03 am

It is not the matter of if you can use it, it is just the matter of that you have it.
          Most supercars onwers don’t push their cars to its absolute limit. You don’t have to, it is just good to know you have the performance if you want to push it. Not recommended on public roads though.

• Sam Loo (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 1:53 pm

understand, and in layman terms it’s called syiok sendiri. typical mentality, why own something which u don’t need it?

• Sam Loo (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 1:54 pm

better you own a hilux. u need it all the time rather than this piece of decoration.

• Amir Aizuddin on Apr 23, 2014 at 10:57 am

You wanna compare a hot hatch with a 4×4 turbodiesel pickup truck? Really bro?

• People where? In Europe the MK7 is the lonely leader in sales. 15% more sales than last year. 173,629 sold in January and February alone.

• Simon Hoh on Apr 21, 2014 at 1:59 pm

If you are comparing it with pau, I don’t think you can afford it anyway ;)

• BLUR SOTONG on Apr 21, 2014 at 2:23 am

VW pricing in Malaysia is per bhp rm 1k
    Golf gti mk7 230bhp equates to rm 230k
    Golf R mk 7 300 bhp estimates rm 288 k
    Golf R 400 more expensive than Merc A45 =)
    You must be joking Das Auto !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
  • Autobods on Apr 21, 2014 at 9:23 am

Enough with the Golf please. The TSi, GTi and the R completed the comfort and performance line up. You cant great a Bugatti speed out of a Golf, deal with it. If you want to add more performance, go ahead with the Scirocco lah. The two doors hatch needs some good horsepower too.

• ericmaxman on Apr 21, 2014 at 9:49 am

Press release says DSG. Pic shows pure manual. wut?

• Joker on Apr 21, 2014 at 11:37 am

Hohoho~~~ what a figure….
    This Golf would b a joy to drive!!!

• unstable technology !!i would rather go for A45

• niterunner99 on Apr 21, 2014 at 4:20 pm

I thought China rich folks like long wheelbase cars…
    If they want racers…they go for Lambo’s?