Honda Spirior Concept unveiled at Auto China 2014

spirior beijing 1

The other world debut for Honda in Beijing is the all-new Spirior Concept – the production form of the this sports-oriented sedan is expected to begin sales in China before the year is out.

Dongfeng Honda Automobile has been selling the current Spirior (essentially the eight-gen form of the Honda Accord Euro or the Acura TSX, if you will) in China since 2009, so a replacement is pretty much due.

Like the Concept B, not many details about the new Spirior, save that the show car wears a 2.4 litre DI mill and the automaker’s new eight-speed dual-clutch transmission, a combination that will be carried over into the production form.

Honda is touting that the new Spirior will have the performance and tech to match the looks, which is rather meaty in a brutish sort of way. Nothing too subtle about that front end from some angles – call it presence, then. It’s certainly more OTT than what’s on show on the Acura TLX Prototype, which made its debut in Detroit earlier in the year.

Live pix by Kwek Chai Li

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• iskhalifah on Apr 21, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Aah.. why does global carmakers produce Chinese-only special models that made most Malaysian car enthusiasts stare with envy while saliva dripping endlessly; wishing that these could be brought here in Bolehland.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • sammyloo on Apr 21, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Might be due to chinese anti jap cars bah

• nabill (Member) on Apr 21, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Bcos thy have a population of 1.4billion…n many r yet to own cars…

• HenryL on Apr 21, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Chinese market is big, and spending power is much bigger. anyway it is very cheap to own a Honda or Toyota in china. mostly becase it is durable to own one too =)

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 21, 2014 at 11:53 pm

But can they pronounce the model’s name properly…its a mouthful to befin with…u know la chinese…im sure most will call it spit_lor…im driving a bland new spit_lor…its a pressure to dlive one…got powder some more vroom vroom syok meh…haiyaaa want tly orso issit vivian…haiyaaa say so la ahso…can can what…

• kzm (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 11:43 am

the quality of the pictures not gud..

• kami (Member) on Apr 21, 2014 at 6:21 pm

not as handsome like mazda 6 but certainly much better than any accord gen in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • You’re looking at the next Proton Perdana Suprior RM100K price…Lolz

• holofanboi on Apr 21, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Serperior I choose you~!

I…I will keep quiet now ;_;

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 21, 2014 at 6:35 pm

for a country that doesnt really care much about sportiness of cars…having a feeling this would end up just as a pretty car

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 21, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Honda’s design never fail.. Gundam style… Asimo..

• pearjai on Apr 21, 2014 at 7:49 pm

With 1364000000 population ….china is most huge market …..no wonderrrrrr la…our population just 30085000 only….just 2.205 percent ….

• Dont tok shit…singapore got less population but they have better cars…is malaysian too poor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • adioz on Apr 21, 2014 at 8:39 pm

hope it will arrive to Malaysia very soon for me to grasp one..himmm…. :)

• second honda with bmw-like tail lights after honda city. no joke

• hensem on Apr 21, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Wah both the car and girl very red… wait a minute, I think I saw pokies….. can we have more pictures of this girl close up?

• Keris Jawa on Apr 22, 2014 at 2:15 am

Pervert! But yeah… why not.

• it’s not what u think it is…the stiching on the dress made it looks like that. before u guys get all excited please look carefully :)

• pervert hensem on Apr 22, 2014 at 5:41 pm

that’s why i requested more close up pictures to confirm…. hahahaha

• heybadigol on Apr 22, 2014 at 10:43 am

Hmmm… im wondering if the general outline of the car is more like the Acura TLX rather than the Honda Accord. You can see by the tall bootline and tall beltline that this not based on the Accord (which has a very low beltline – thus huge windows). Since the TSX may be axed, then the Euro Accord might be based on TLX instead. And the Spirior could be that car.

• Joker on Apr 22, 2014 at 11:14 am

Honda is coming up with more and more sporty look car… and i like it!!!
    It seems that even Toyota is headed that way now..
    Gone are the days of 15inches 60 / 65 series tyre…
    Low profile tyre and big rims rocks!!!
    Quite a cool car… i wonder where will Honda place it after of before Accord?? and since Dong Feng is now a co-owner of Peugeot PSA, will they combine Honda + Peugeot + Citroen there??

• pearjai on Apr 22, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Singapore gdp (international dollar)64584…malaysia=17748…..just 27.4 percent….plus our fuel not suitable for some new engine especially our diesel that ” rich” in sulphur ! Modern diesel injector not a cheap….can buy new viva 660…..