Mercedes-Benz Coupe SUV Concept previews X6 rival

Mercedes-Benz Concept Coupé SUV

As expected, Mercedes-Benz revealed the Mercedes-Benz Coupe SUV Concept at Auto China 2014. The Beijing showcar, a BMW X6-style machine, is said to be “sensual as a coupe, visionary as an SUV” by Gorden Wagener, head of design at Mercedes.

The four-door, all-wheel drive Coupe SUV Concept has a length of almost five metres, and an imposing two-metre width thanks to broad shoulders and flared wheel arches. At the same time it has a modest height of around 1.75 metres, exhibiting the flat, extended roofline that is typical of a sports coupe.

The recessed door handles and frameless side windows blend perfectly into the concept’s flanks to further accentuate the coupe character. Like all recent study vehicles, the Concept Coupe SUV comes with an “Alu-Beam” paint finish reminiscent of the Silver Arrows of the 1930s and 1950s. The wheels are large 22-inch items.

mercedes-benz coupe suv  3

The upright sports grille with a single louvre, framed by the all-LED “Multibeam” headlamps, is the major feature of the face. Soft cubes dominate the grille insert, and the sloping bonnet features power domes. A discreet reference to the SUV world is provided by the integrated, illuminated side sills, like running boards on off-roaders.

At the back, an S-Class Coupe-style design line, which will feature in all future Merc coupes, takes centrestage. The line bridges the slim band of rear lights with their ruby-like, 3D look. Another feature that has distinguished large Merc coupes is the rear window with a rounded off top. A discreet SUV reference is made by the simulated underguard.

Mercedes says that the Coupe SUV Concept previews a more sporty and dynamic “on-road line” of SUVs, seperate from the GLA, GLK, M, GL and G-Class, which are in the “off-road line”. Based on the ML, this concept is being planned for production in 2015 in the US, and will be called the MLC, according to reports.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• forrest on Apr 21, 2014 at 10:51 am

why copy X6?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Vader on Apr 21, 2014 at 2:01 pm

The side profile is even the same as X6..

• trololol on Apr 21, 2014 at 2:56 pm

challenge accepted.

bmw: we think that we’ve got the best design of x6, no one could redesign it even our best designer say no way…impossible.

merc: really ? we will make it possible with only your x6 body.

there you go, redefine the so called luxury car.

bmw to their designer, you’re fired ! (hitler style)

• trololol on Apr 21, 2014 at 2:56 pm

challenge accepted.

bmw: we think that we’ve got the best design of x6, no one could redesign it even our best designer say no way…impossible.

merc: really ? we will make it possible with only your x6 body.

there you go, redefine the so called luxury car.

bmw to their designers, you’re fired ! (hitler style)

• Mozilla Chrome on Apr 21, 2014 at 10:58 am

Change the nose to two huge nostrils and it will become X6. So much design innovation there Merc..

• Souya Tempe on Apr 21, 2014 at 11:06 am

the front grill looks kinda kabuki-ish. toriaaa…

• kzm (Member) on Apr 21, 2014 at 11:10 am

i like those ass..

• mmaker on Apr 21, 2014 at 11:33 am

if copy like this, proton also can make x6 rival !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
  • A rebadge from Merc??
    Merc has run out of ideas and has decided to rebadge a BMW.
    Unbelievable!..

• nzain on Apr 21, 2014 at 11:55 am

do they have to copy? or myb its a replacement for x6??

• Black Dog on Apr 21, 2014 at 1:00 pm

I luv it!

• nabill (Member) on Apr 21, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Looks odd,x6 abit more sleek….looks more like a hardcore 4×4 rather than luxury on road high stance car…

• frenzyaustin on Apr 21, 2014 at 2:34 pm

When I thought Mercedes are the best looking German car, this Merc face on X6 disappointed me.

• eichang on Apr 21, 2014 at 3:44 pm

hahaha…merc and bmw tiru proton gen2

• what a ripoff of x6

• anyways, that ass looks perfect ( can be refered either to the car or to the girl)

• AVH (Member) on Apr 21, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Personally it succed in one thing, making the X6 look better. To all honestly, how did the Germans conducted in a survy that resulted in finding that people wants High-Riding, sporty looking, large four-door coupe thats is difficult to park and harder to see out. But given that I see more X6s than X5s on the road, I can’t deny that the Germans got it right.

like the x6, its sleek, sharp but sort of pointless.

• Desanity Weally on Apr 22, 2014 at 2:35 am

Disappointment. Look like X6.
    Better buy X6.

• Sunriver on Apr 22, 2014 at 8:47 am

OMG!!!! SO Butt Ugly. Ze Dezigner should be shot :)

Over here in BolehLand it is Text Book Marketing & Branding. Just becoz it’s a BM or Merc, ppl will buy in the droves. While over in EU & US, they are mulling over to kill the X6 due to poor sales. For the MLC, I don’t think its gonna happen..