Auto-only driving licence postponed again, to June

Driven_Jaguar_XF_2.0_Ti_review_ 047

Originally planned for end-2009, then pushed to May 2012, then end-2012, then April 2014, the implementation of the auto-only driving licence is now likely to happen this June, JPJ deputy director-general Datuk Yusoff Ayob has told The Star.

“We wanted to start in April but due to some procedural issues in printing, we had no choice but to push it to a later date,” he told the daily, adding that books and materials necessary for the licence are expected to be distributed to all driving schools in May.

This new type of licence would only permit the bearer to drive cars with automatic gearboxes. A new licence category would be established under Class D (Motor Car, unladen weight not exceeding 3,500 kg) for this purpose.

class-da-driving-licence 091

The new hard-card driving licences already include a Class DA, defined as “Motor Car Without Clutch Pedal, unladen weight not exceeding 3,500 kg,” in the list of licence categories. So Class DA licence bearers would be permitted to drive a Toyota MR-S with an SMT gearbox, presumably – never mind the fact that it’s got no automatic mode.

The new category is to be launched together with a new driving school curriculum. This new curriculum will have a focus on producing courteous and disciplined drivers, rather than the current curriculum’s said dexterity and traffic rule comprehension, The Star reports.

“Right now, JPJ officers are undergoing training so that they can efficiently monitor the automatic vehicle driving test according to the new syllabus,” Yusoff said, adding that all procedures in amending relevant rules and regulations to implement the new licence have been completed.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• BMW Fanboi (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 2:17 pm

What happened to the DSG only license? The training course includes topics like ‘how to handle sudden power loss when overtaking’ and ’10 things to do while you wait for the tow truck’.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 10
    • Obviously (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 2:54 pm

I can sense Volkswagen fanboys having sweaty palms now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
      • Obama on Apr 22, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Motor car without clutch pedal, still have paddle shift to play around?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Same Loor on Apr 22, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Good one for DSG only license.

The strategy is clear: Auto-gear only license force the more people (first-time car owner) to buy auto-gear Proton, which result to more breakdown, repair and services. The owners spend more money, the economy growth is sustained.

Brilliant one!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 39
      • Majority of the first time drivers always get an auto car anyway. It does not make any difference.

• hahhaha a good one bmw fanboi!

• Mr Late Abit on Apr 22, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Cast your vote. Will start in June 2014 – vote Thumbs Up. Or to be delayed again – vote Thumbs Down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 97
  • kobealex on Apr 22, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Is this the beginning of the end for manual cars in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Obviously (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 3:02 pm

I do not think it will affect the numbers too much since automatic transmission cars are already outselling manual transmission cars in Malaysia. Manual cars have always been on the decline as the automatic transmission gets better and better. For many, there is just no real reason to drive a manual car. Especially when you’re stuck in several kilometers’ worth of traffic jams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
      • Obviously (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 3:05 pm

That doesn’t mean manual cars will disappear completely, though. There will always be people who want or need one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • lonelyobserve on Apr 22, 2014 at 3:33 pm

In this country, manual transmission vehicles still there because of commercial vehicles like lorries and pickup trucks, which consists majority in manual transmission due to cheaper price and lower maintenance cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Just abolish driving license. It doesn’t make road safer at all and now with automatic license, no need learn also can drive lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • tawil on Apr 22, 2014 at 4:31 pm

For driving license it should but for renewal does not make sense to promote road safety.

• Joker on Apr 22, 2014 at 2:57 pm

There shld b a different courses even for automated trans cars.. Torque converters, CVT, Dual Clutches is so different…
    but i doubt those JPJ officers really noes how 2 actually properly drive 1…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 4:02 pm

It clearly said car without clutch pedal..those cvt, torque converter, dsg, dual clutch..does not have clutch pedal..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Low Budget on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:18 am

Whatever the technicalities, only 2 kind of cars exist, one is to press the clutch pedal by foot and shift the rear by hand and the other one no need to press the clutch pedal.

• What for? No point la Joker.
      The key point here is clutch which required more skills to control than others such as turning steering or stepping on gas/brake pedal.

Those ur mentioned kind of ‘clutches’ are automatically engage/disengage by the control unit, no input needed from end users.

• prashnan kumar on Apr 22, 2014 at 3:19 pm

I think? its a catch, sometimes in 2016 0r 2017, the gear revolution is about set back to Manual operation, and Alfa Romeo already started…so most of the license holders will have apply manual gear permit again…JPJ make makes atleast 1 billion ringgit by doing this…..

• lonelyobserve on Apr 22, 2014 at 3:34 pm

I would like to know the source of the news. Thank you.

• Low Budget on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:21 am

No way! The technology is always moving forward and not backward. The manufacturers are already started to expriment with autodrive cars.

• how about paddle shift gear control? need another licence also….???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 15
    • mim (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 5:33 pm

You don’t know how to read ah?

“DA: Motokar tanpa pedal klac BTM tidak melebihi 3500kg”

Any cars that don’t have a clutch pedal. Doesn’t matter if it’s normal auto, AMT, CVT, DSG, PDK, DCT, Selespeed, SMT, E-gear, Lambo ISR, 1955 Citroen hydraulic gearbox, blablabla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
    • jaka durjana on May 05, 2014 at 12:10 pm

Paddle and pedal are both English word, has different meaning. “Pedal” is NOT a Malay word for paddle.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 5:24 pm

I guess this oso blame it on the other political party??
    If u say u gonna implement sting so long ago,n by now u stil havent ,it jus basically means ur make a jackass out of themselves…otherwise ur jus wasting news headlines spaces…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 6:10 pm

aiya same aje…asal u bagi i wang i bagi u licnese

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 8:32 pm

I still feel it is essential to learn on a manual, yes it can be frustrating when you first start, but lets not forget, it many markets, manual models still exist. In a situation that needs you to drive a manual, what are you going to do?

Plus, if the case of automatics, are they going to teach the concept of different gears, cause if not we’re gonna see kids with their Preves or Rios or whatever car that comes with Steptronic mode stuck in a single gear or engaging the wrong gears and all….

• mr manly on Apr 22, 2014 at 8:57 pm

kids now are so lazy they cant learn how to drive a manual car

• Mungkin on Apr 22, 2014 at 9:16 pm

idea menyenangkan orang dapat lesen. ended up senang jugalah accident nanti.

• Aero (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 2:40 am

In today’s Malaysia, if you drive a manual car, you are most probably one of these or a combination;

1) Poor and unable to afford a new automatic transmission car.

2) Drive a 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s or 90s car, or a person who loves classic and old cars.

3) A lorry / bus / truck / taxi / police(wo)man / van etc. driver.

4) Someone who is passionate about cars and the engineering excellence behind them, and believes that a manual transmission is the only option.

5) An Ah Beng / Lian who drives like a crazy fool on public roads just because he/she is ‘syiok sendiri’ about the fact that he/she can operate a manual transmission and most others can’t.

6) A racing driver, or someone who takes his/her car to Sepang track days regularly.

7) Someone who bought a car with only a manual transmission option (rare these days).

There might be more, but these are what I could think of in 5 minutes. Of course, I drive a manual and will continue to do so for as long as there are manual transmission cars in the world. :]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Low Budget on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:26 am

Absolutely right! Even the racing and rally drivers would also prefer to drive auto cars to travel in Klang Valley.

• lonelyobserve on Apr 23, 2014 at 11:56 am

I watched one of the new episodes of Fifth Gear, with Bruno Senna as guest. Even he is 21st century professional racing driver, he still prefers old school sports cars with manual transmission, which give most of the driving pleasure.

• Joe Radzif on Apr 23, 2014 at 1:52 pm

I am going to convert my V6 from auto to manual in the end of this year.

• Banana V6 on Apr 23, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Banana V6 with auto gear box problem, sure go to convert mah…