VIDEO: Beijing 2014 highlights – production sedans

Ni hao from Beijing! Here’s the moment you’ve all been waiting for, the first in set of videos focusing on the highlights of one of the biggest and most significant motor shows on the calendar.

Our charming host Aerilynn (whom you knew from our teaser post as ‘Miss Red’) opens our Auto China 2014 adventure with three production sedans that made their debut at the show – the second-gen Chevrolet Cruze, Ford Escort and Kia K4.

She even manages to talk to the Escort’s exterior design manager, Andrew Collinson, on the design concept behind the car and its customer base. Enjoy!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 8:29 pm

Hello Aerilynn! I guess she’s gonna be the new member of the paultan team?

Its kinda amazing to see how the China auto show has become so important for manufacturers. And it also shows how disappointing our KLIMS is. KLIMS needs to be improved a lot, before it ends up like the Aussie motor show, where manufacturers did not even want to join it.

• Dr Kerala on Apr 23, 2014 at 8:34 am

Where is Proton cars? Not show off Suprima S at Beijing Autoshow kah?

• Sorry Bro,Proton can’t make it..
        already going to be 6 Ft under according to their latest Suprima S sale figure.

• Low Budget on Apr 23, 2014 at 1:28 pm

The car market in China are huge as compare to Boleh Land and they are evenly taxed so that there will be competitions, naturally all car manufacturers will concentrate their ‘fire power’ there.
      KLIMS are meant for Malaysians audience and since most cars are priced beyond the means of ordinary Malaysians, not many manufacturers are interested in displaying their products here.
      Perhaps KLIMS should also displaying baby milk powder in the future.

• xiper (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 8:50 pm

nice, she should be doing the car Walk-Around videos in the future!

• Good hosting effort Miss Red. I appreciate the work you put in to bring us the auto news from China.

Miss Red, may I humbly suggest you be more comfortable and familiar with the way the brands/models are pronounced? (Chevrolet, Cruze, Malibu, Kia)..thanks..

• Aerilynn is much pretty than those cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Aerilynn is much more pretty than those display on diplay

• John Tan on Apr 22, 2014 at 10:08 pm

Ford escort designer.. that’s a fail design to me

• fast5 on Apr 22, 2014 at 10:19 pm

I will stay tune for more in the future with Miss Red…
    PAULTAN.org can keep her and Please bring more Babe’s like her in the future…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Congratulations to Paultan!! The biz growing bigger, now even hv video and gone far out frm Malaysia, good job!!! And thanks for the pretty host and the camera man of coz!

• these 3:
    cheverolet Cruze, Kia K4, Ford Escort.

now all sharing same similarites as VW design.

The oldies design,, awww. yawning already.

• ah jib gor on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:23 am

kia k4 only have push start button? that’s all? haiihhh.. obviously u need to learn more n more about automotive industry before becoming a presenter. we all know even the ‘A’ segment kia which is picanto have push start, ESC, VSM & 6 airbags. so this k4 must at least follow that features. please explain newer features or gadget in that car. at least just say equipment is similar to k3 (cerato) or k5 (optima). that’s the least u can say girl! sounds like amateur college presentation. sigh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 24
  • Ford escort design yuck……
    Proton didn’t even participate in Bolehland
    Motor-show, what more China.

• rakyatkito on Apr 23, 2014 at 6:03 pm

more than 2000 manufacturers with more than 1200 cars on display. That’s big! in comparison, KLIMS is just an ikan bilis.