Porsche Macan entry engine revealed, 237 hp 2.0 turbo

PC14_0095_fine

Porsche’s new Macan SUV debuted with a Macan S, a Macan S Diesel and a Macan Turbo, all powered by turbocharged V6 engines. What about the basic Macan? Porsche has finally revealed what will be powering the baseline Macan – a 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder engine.

The base Macan’s 1,984 cc four-cylinder engine produces a peak output of 237 hp from 5,000 to 6,800 rpm and a peak torque of 350 Nm from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm, with a compression ratio of 9.6:1. It sounds like the VW Group’s EA888 engine to us. Mated to a PDK dual-clutch transmission, it hits 100 km/h in 6.9 seconds. Combined fuel consumption is about 7.5 litres per 100 km.

Other than the different engine under the hood, there are exterior changes as well. The easiest way to tell between Macan models would be the tail pipes. While the Macan Turbo has quad rhombus tail pipes and the Macan S uses quad circular tail pipes, the Macan uses dual rhombus tail pipes.

Porsche Macan Beijing- 7

If priced well, this car is undoubtedly going to be prowling all over the streets of affluent communities. It’s likely going to be the most affordable point of entry to Porsche ownership after all.

Standard specs (not exhaustive) for the 2.0 litre Macan include 18-inch wheels, an automatic rear tailgate, multifunction steering with paddle shifters, dual-zone climate control, comfort seats with Alcantara centre, and a black interior.

Options include wheels up to 21 inches in diameter, PASM air suspension, a panoramic roof, power steering Plus, cruise control and yes, even front and rear ParkAssist is optional.

Live pix by Moy Yew Meng

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 9:38 pm

honestly…R.I.P RANGE ROVER EVOQUE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 21
    • Fon Yuen on Apr 23, 2014 at 12:28 pm

range rover uses a terrain system.

• BLUR SOTONG on Apr 23, 2014 at 12:48 pm

VW used Das auto engine and chassis on Porsche .
      Sama Proton rebrand and rebadged the Honda accord as Perdana .
      Sad to see a Porsche is no longer a Porsche under a huge Conglomerate , sad and sian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • Porsche Macai

• Adam Malik on Apr 25, 2014 at 12:40 am

Hello Uncle Semi. You can say rest in peace if the price is below 400K. At 450K… well a lot of people may need to RIP before we can afford it

• spongewai on Apr 22, 2014 at 9:51 pm

Audi Q5 engine is 2.0 TSI power output is 220bhp- RM268k

Porsche Macan 2.0 TSI power output 237bhp- RM300k above estimated

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
    • spongewai on Apr 22, 2014 at 9:54 pm

whoops, type wrong

it is RM328k for Audi Q5

while RM268k is for VW Tiguan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
      • Black Dog on Apr 23, 2014 at 11:54 am

I’m guessing the price around 398K.

• GTR36 on Apr 23, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Wait for grey importers, will be around 300k range. The older the cheaper. Macan rides better than Evoque and is larger inside.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 22, 2014 at 10:29 pm

I was actually quite shocked too when I was trawling the good ol’ Internet and found that someone had said the Macan 2.0 has been on Porsche’s site about 4-5 hours ago…

What is interesting though is the output matches the Range Rover Evoque’s EcoBoost 2.0l engine. The X3 stands no chance, cause they only have the 20i config. here in Malaysia.

Against the Q5, this looks like the same engine, just with different tune… slightly higher power than the Q5’s 2.0 222hp, but same torque.

Pricing the Macan will be a drama waiting to unfold too. Cause DRB holds Audi, while Sime holds Porsche. If Sime wants to troll DRB big time, they will put it at a nice 350k, before you touch the options, just 25k more than the Q5. But then, Sime also has the Evoque which LRM has been greedy enough to put a 400k base price on, and that’s only the base diesel 5 door!

Whatever happens, we win though. Can’t wait to see the prices.

Let the games begin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
    • thebugbud on Apr 23, 2014 at 10:54 am

I am not sure if we are the winners but I am really sure is, gov is the real winner with beefy tax collection, and the cronies for the beefy profit margin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
  • seancorr on Apr 22, 2014 at 10:34 pm

I think this entry level Macan will be above RM400k and below RM500k considering the entry level Cayenne is already RM570k. Nonetheless it would be nice if this sits at the RM400k mark…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • I dont it will sell well if its above rm400K. Malaysian will whine like a baby. My guess is RM350k-380k which is competitive in this segment. However, we will need to wait for it’s launching in Malaysian market to justify the final price.

• CM (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 12:34 am

Right u are, Bug Bro!
      Sean, you’re probably right. This will be in the 400k plus range. Anything lower would make it “ordinary”… As in Q5/X3 range.
      The Evoque is probably competing in a different niche. The Evoque won’t be taken off-road so it’s superior terrain system is superfluous. More of a life-style vehicle.
      The same could be said of the Macan eventually, though one hopes that most buyers have some kind of sporting intention. After all, Porsche touts it as both- a SUV and Sports car combined.
      Cheers

• Josh Ling on Apr 22, 2014 at 11:01 pm

now it really is “Macan-Macan Ada” already…..Porsche is gonna earn big time with this SUV for sure!

• heybadigol on Apr 22, 2014 at 11:15 pm

A 2 litre Porsche. Yes, finally a Porsche for the masses. If I was BMW, Mercedes & Audi, i’d be extremely worried. Range Rover Evoque has the advantage of offroad performance, which I doubt the Macan can even come close to. But everything else, the Macan is better.

But wont this saturate their brand? Ferrari purposely limit production per year, even though they can produce more. So that they force buyers to wait a long time for cars, thus ensuring their exclusivity. Yet they can still make profits. I guess Porsche does not follow the same philosphy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • techsmart on Apr 22, 2014 at 11:22 pm

Rm 389k. VW group will not let porsche undercut Audi even those distributor is different company. It’s just like a similar category lexus will never be cheaper than a Toyota variant.

• Wow… That going to hit our local streets like crazy. If priced well, it’s going to be porsche’s bread and butter model. Maybe can give them a ring and pre-book it first before it become a crazy waiting list. I rekon I’ll be at rm350-370k

• Toffeeman on Apr 23, 2014 at 3:38 am

Sorry guys. Cheapest will be RM450k and no leather seats for this version in Malaysia. It will be about 500k to get a decent specs one.

• Dont speculate if u dont know the actual price. and I am sure Management in Porsche is smarter than you in pricing this baby in this market.

• CM (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 12:42 am

Dear John, Porsche management is smarter and will price it right. It’s a premium sports car brand. So, Toffeeman is right. That “right price” would be about RM450k.
          I’d love to be wrong though.
          Cheers

• Toffeeman on Apr 26, 2014 at 6:00 pm

John, I hate to be wrong too. But actually I have the price list from Porsche Malaysia. The 450k does not even come with leather seats.

• Moruh on Apr 23, 2014 at 1:55 am

I rather buy porsche cayenne recond unit if 350k mark.. 400k year 2010 u can get Cayenne S already!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • seancorr on Apr 23, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Must well u say wait for Macan recond model and buy it at RM250k..

• Desmond on Apr 23, 2014 at 7:14 am

this car sure no Proton will dare to smoke you.

• Very beautiful car. However due to its smaller size, it is more cute-ly beautiful than macho-ly beautiful. Much more suitable for female drivers than male drivers.

• I can only drool over this…but on a positive side my cx-5 with a 13:1 compression ratio would provide better fc and adequate power to keep me going :)

• larry on Apr 23, 2014 at 11:35 am

Lol your CX 5 will be ashamed when park beside the Macan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Hahaha..no i won’t because its all about branding. If u put the same spec in Macan into a toyota it still will cost much cheaper.

• It’s like a peacock…beautiful and glittering feathers but it can’t do what other birds can…fly in the open sky

• Hilux King on Apr 23, 2014 at 10:11 am

This porsche will sure be the best seller for those Mahchan with small kuku.

Finally, a halal porsche.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Joker on Apr 23, 2014 at 11:20 am

Hopefully it will be priced at an entry level price as well… 300k plzzzzz

• first time in history..downsizing the engine capacity, as for price definitely it will be more than evouqe or q5…and not less than rm400k….our govt also recognise Brand as one of the docket price calculation….soon will be in Malaysia…earliest…May 2014…can sneak preview I heard

• kangkong on Apr 23, 2014 at 2:27 pm

In USA, Cayenne entry model is USD 49600, Macan S is USD 49900.
    In Malaysia, Cayenne entry model is RM570K. So, how much you think they want to price the Macan?

• Enthu on Apr 23, 2014 at 4:24 pm

The Golf GTi engine is so damn good now that it will be fitted in a Porsche?

Wow…

• CM (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 1:38 am

Enthu, u betcha it’s that good. That engine has won numerous awards in one guise or the other. It’s a gem.
      And before u guys accuse me of being an Audi/VW salesman, know that my favourite engine is the twin turbo 3.0l version that BMW makes. Driven it in the E92 335i and the X5 35i – pure muscle, with a bad attitude.
      Anyway, if u think the EA888 is overrated for a Porsche, perhaps it is. Even so, know that Porsche will fettle with it. Results should be predictably yummy.
      Cheers

• Frank Martin on Apr 23, 2014 at 6:09 pm

I was informed by Porsche sales staff before CNY that the first batch of Macan S have been fully sold out and that starts around RM560k with limited Msian specs. If specs up, it will be around RM650k.
    They are trying to bring in the Macan 2.0 as fast as possible but pricing will be decided by Spore Porsche office. The staff said they are trying to convince Spore to put in limited specs but sufficient for Msian market and starts around RM450k.

• CM (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 1:28 am

@dz
    Absolutely wrong, my brother!
    Porsche, like most European sports car makers, were all about small engines.
    Their much sought after 356 used a 1.6l/4.
    The first 911 was a 2.0l with a flat 6.
    Increments were slow. A 1.9l, 2.1l, 2.2l, 2..3l, etc followed.
    In the early 70s, the 2.4, 2.5 and later 2.7l cars were produced, and these are still considered the finest 911, with the just the right amount of weight, balance and power.
    Even in the mid-70s Porsche had a 911 (912E) version for the US with a 2.0l VW engine fitted, from the 914.
    Ferrari, like the closely related Alfa Romeo and Fiat, also made small engines. The first Ferrari engine was a 1.5l V12. Later, the Colombo and Dino versions followed with engines below 2.0l, with 8 and 6 cylinders.
    It was the same story with most sports car makers across Europe. Possibly because small displacement engines with many cylinders were peaky and high revving.
    It’s Lamborghini that started the big engine craze, while off course the Yanks had been at it for years. So too some British companies, chiefly Rolls R n Bentley.
    In summary, I’d say the 2.0 litre engine is a return to form for Porsche. Now, if it was only N/A with 8cylinders….

Cheers