BMW 420i Coupe launched in Malaysia – from RM300k

BMW_420i_Sport_Malaysia_001

Following last week’s local launch of the BMW 428i Convertible, it’s now the turn of the BMW 420i Coupe to hit our shores. The entry-level 4 Series is available here in standard and Sport Line forms.

The 420i Coupe is powered by a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbo petrol engine that develops 184 hp from 5,000-6,250 rpm and 270 Nm of torque from 1,250-4,500 rpm. With the help of an eight-speed auto, the vehicle gets to 100 km/h from rest in 7.3 seconds before hitting a 236 km/h top speed.

Of course, there’s stop/start as well as the Driving Experience Control with Eco Pro mode. Fuel consumption is a claimed 6.0 litres per 100 km.

The standard car gets 225/50 R17 star-spoke alloys, xenon headlamps, fog lamps and front and rear parking sensors. Inside, you’ll find auto dual-zone air-con, auto headlamps and wipers, six speakers, Dakota black leather upholstery, 6.5-inch BMW Radio Professional (so no touch-sensitive iDrive), cruise control with braking function, satin silver matt dashboard trim and a sports leather steering wheel.

Upgrade to the Sport Line and you get 225/45 R18 double-spoke alloys, M Sport suspension, an eight-speed sports auto with shift paddles and Launch Control, high-gloss black exterior trim and additional front and rear bumper trim.

Interior additions comprise high-gloss black dashboard trim with Coral Red matt accents, a nine-speaker 205W sound system, sports seats and Anthracite headlining.

Dual frontal and side airbags, plus head airbags front to rear, DSC, ASC, CBC and DTC are standard. Body colours comprise Alpine White, Midnight Blue, Mineral Grey, Black Sapphire (base car only) and Melbourne Red (Sport Line only).

The fully-imported (CBU) BMW 420i Coupe costs RM299,800, OTR without insurance, while the Sport Line package (pictured here, taken at Quill Automobiles PJ) is a RM20k upgrade.

The BMW 4 Series range in Malaysia is now thus:

BMW 420i Coupe Sport

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• BMW msia now has the entire worldwide range of 4 series available…SIX variants….but only 1 variant of the 2 series…sigh.

• spongewai on Apr 23, 2014 at 5:05 pm

RELAX DUDE, MAYBE OR PERHAPS ONE DAY THEY MAYBE BRING ANOTHER VARIANTS TO MALAYSIA FOR 2 SERIES LEH AGAINST CLA AMG

• BMW 2 Years Warranty - Beware! on Apr 25, 2014 at 10:05 am

BMW Malaysia and its mere 2 years warranty. BMW Malaysia is the only car company in the world (not just Malaysia) to offer a mere 2 years warranty.

All other car companies have increased to 5 years. Even Proton and Perodua themselves have done so. BMW’s arch rival Mercedes has even upped it to 4 years.

This clearly shows that BMW has no confidence in their own products. So many customers have their gearbox failing just right after the 2nd year warranty finishes. They have to cough out RM80,000 from their own pocket just to replace the gearbox. Besides gearbox, every BMW customer has to pay through their nose for warranty claim parts after the 2nd year.

• raja lawak on Apr 23, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Better buy used Proton Putra 1.8L mivec…also 2 doors coupe car…far cheaper price like hell now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 56
      • Vader on Apr 24, 2014 at 7:39 am

Muahahaha… nice joke. =)
        Can buy potong jumbuck too since is 2 doors as well..

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 4:10 pm

About time they brought in the 420i. Price is not too bad, and at least the Sport line gives you the M Sport Suspension and Sport Auto 8 speed which to me, justifies the 20k difference.

But the warranty, let’s not start about that.

I am assuming leather interior as standard too?

• holofanboi on Apr 23, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Sudanono u generally make great posts but cmon, skimming through the article shouldn’t be standard practice in ur case >_<

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 5:08 pm

whoops, my bad!

I kinda missed out the ‘Dakota black leather’ when I saw 6.5″ iDrive (and thinking to myself, well that’s a bit puny).
        Sorry!

Speed reading can be nasty at times… Thanks for pointing that out though! Appreciate it. :D

• seancorr on Apr 23, 2014 at 5:33 pm

I had the impression they were going to phase out the non touch iDrive in all models according to my SA but….oh well am still campaigning to have BMW to put in at least comfort access as standard!

• For me, the Merc CLA better in almost all aspect ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 29
  • Now 4 series is under 300k

• That awkward moment when you realise that this car has the combined gears of 2 Toyota Camrys LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
    • Dino years (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 6:13 pm

the even more awkward moment when the hotel bellboy runs to serve the bmw before the toyota…

jokes aside, this car does almost buy two camrys :)

• I am awaiting proton 420i coupe at price rm150k, sounds good?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • I also waiting….
      Pls ask Proton to deal with BMW get license to assembly locally like AccordDana
      Sell at 150K, sure selling like hot-cake here

• cendol (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Where is Jib Kor’s promise of 30% car price reduction??
    299k minus 30% should be 200k only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • eVaz88 on Apr 23, 2014 at 5:32 pm

err.. interior is nice.. but why 2.0T produce such low output? hmm. Just a nice to see, nice to touch, once broken, consider bankrupt.

• Johnny on Apr 23, 2014 at 5:48 pm

IMHO, the lowest spec car is too expensive to begin with.

• xatomic on Apr 23, 2014 at 6:00 pm

I think the 18 inch double spoke alloy here is nicer than the one in F30 328i M-Sport..

Hmm.. so the CKD F30 328 M-Sport or CBU F32 320i Sport Line?

• Nice pricing to begin with. Just too bad the entire 3 series and 4 series has a single minimalistic interior theme to it. Nothing to distinguish between a 316 till a 420 other than the fact that you pay a whole lot of $$$ when u sit inside. Not to mention the minimalistic warranty as well.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Actually i thought its gonna b alot higher than 300k….surprising pricing….although thrs no such thing as a cheap bmw!

• Ya la quite low output. Ford Mondeo 2.0 ecoboost produces 240hp and 300 nm torque. 0-100 km/s 7.3 s. Top speed 250km/h.

• The output is restricted in order to have a diffrence between the variants, otherwise no one would bother buying x28i versions

• Andre Kua on Apr 23, 2014 at 6:55 pm

6litre/100KM?

I need a new glasses.

• digidigi on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:29 pm

is comfort access available as an option?

• seancorr on Apr 23, 2014 at 11:59 pm

Nope and so is navigation including reverse camera (standard kit on most cars now) isn’t an option either!

• Proton pls rebadge BMW, at least a Broton 316i.

• Wow…!! Finally 420i is here and reasonable pricing of RM299k. I bet this will sell like hot cake as compared to 428i.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 4:03 am

looks cheap…but then again…u lose quite a lot of kit…

• Waiting for new VW Golf Type R…better performance than this…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7