DRIVEN: Nissan Almera Nismo Performance Package

Nissan Almera NISMO Performance Package 10

It’s a peculiar place, the local B-segment sedan market. The heartland of the automotive scene in Malaysia, these small, ungainly-looking booted hatches regularly stirs the emotions of the buying public in a way no supercar can ever hope to match. It’s a highly competitive segment, with no margin for error, and your lead in the marketplace only lasts until the next time your competitors are refreshed.

That’s the situation in which the Nissan Almera currently finds itself. Once providing unbeatable value – prices start at just RM66,827 for the base E manual variant, topping off at RM79,837 for the VL – at a time when its rivals pushed for greater sophistication at premium prices, it has suddenly seen its share in the market eaten up, with both the new Toyota Vios and Honda City now featuring stripped-out, bargain-basement variants of their own.

To try to make up some of that ground, the company is pushing in the other direction with, ahem, the Nissan Almera Nismo Performance Package, aiming to inject some fun and sporting pedigree to its best-selling model, as well as to maintain its considerable foothold in the market. Is this the perfect shot in the arm for the Almera, or is it just a bridge too far for Nissan’s fledgling performance brand?

Nissan Almera NISMO Performance Package 7

The Nismo Performance Package consists of a bodykit (RM3,600), a set of 16-inch alloy wheels (RM2,800) shod with 205/50 ContiMaxContact MC5 tyres (RM1,600), an exhaust claimed to reduce back pressure (RM2,000) and a series of suspension upgrades (RM3,000).

You can buy the parts separately, the Aero Package only – bodykit, wheels, tyres – at RM8,000, or the whole kit-and-caboodle (Performance Package) at an eye-watering RM13,000. There is no saving to be had in choosing either package, so you might as well just pick out the parts that you want individually.

For what it’s worth, though, it does at least look pretty enticing. The bodykit starts with a jutting front apron, under which sits a large splitter finished in metallic grey with a red pinstripe. This grey and red theme goes around the car, through the fatter side skirts and the large rear diffuser design. Topping it all off is a sizeable grey lip spoiler on the boot lid.

Unlike full-on Nismo cars like the Juke, these parts have been added on, rather than becoming an integral part of the design. Even so, it works well, sharpening up the Almera’s slightly pudgy looks without adding even more visual heft, a pit which other bodykits for B-segment sedans fall into.

Enhancing the look even further are the gunmetal grey 16-inch alloy wheels, which feature a diamond cut finish on the lip and the tops of the spokes. But the real head-turner effect can only be achieved with the suspension kit, which drops the car by a full, juicy 30 mm. One caveat, though – at this ride height, the car will end up scraping its enormous front splitter over larger speed bumps and steep parking ramps, so it pays to be extremely careful.

This particular unit has also been kitted up with additional Nismo accessories, such as the carbon-fibre wing mirror covers, bucket seats, an Alcantara and leather trimmed steering wheel and Nismo-badged front mats and kick plates. The interior upgrades in particular really liven up what was decidedly a cheap-feeling, albeit very spacious and intuitive cabin.

Except they don’t come cheap. Nissan has yet to release individual pricing for these parts, but it is estimated that together they will cost in excess of RM8,000 on top of the already pricey Performance Package. Specifying a VL-spec Almera fully kitted-up as tested – complete with the navigation package, door visors and sporty alloy pedals – would push it north of the RM100k mark.

Out on the move, the Almera makes an immediate statement to bystanders with its exhaust, which emits a nice, throaty roar going up the rev range. That doesn’t get through to the driver’s seat, though – instead, all you get is a bassy boom low down, and as you pin the throttle, the loud, uninspiring thrash of the engine really starts to take over.

Still, at least it’s unintrusive – you quickly learn to tune out the slight drone the exhaust produces at a cruise – but a little more of the exhaust’s character inside wouldn’t go amiss. Wind noise has actually been improved through the wing mirror cover’s odd shape, while tyre noise remains at an acceptable level even with the wider tyres, but it’s still not the most refined car in its class.

Less unintrusive is the ride, which is noticeably firmer than on the regular Almera, thumping into bumps and generally transmitting more of the road’s imperfections into the cabin. Through my experience, it’s just about bearable – it’s still less stiff than some of the full-on hot-hatches out there – but your mileage may differ. Living with this car day in, day out could eventually get tiring.

The 1.5 litre CVTC four-cylinder engine is unchanged, making the same 101 hp at 6,000 rpm and 139 Nm at 4,000 rpm as the standard car. These are the lowest figures in the B-segment sector, and while the car is fairly frugal – driving more sedately I averaged around 8.0 litres per 100 km – it definitely feels slightly asthmatic, struggling to pull itself along with much conviction.

The new exhaust does seem to help with the throttle response, though, and the quick-witted four-speed automatic transmission does make the most of what little the engine has, making overtaking manoeuvres an easier and less heart-stopping affair.

There is more fun to be had hustling the Almera Nismo through a corner – the car feels much more effectively tied down than with the rather wooly standard setup. Body roll has been significantly reduced, and so has the slightly floaty sensation the regular car had at higher speeds. Also shining through is the Almera Nismo’s surprising agility – it resists understeer pretty well, betraying the relatively low weight

Push it harder, though, and a number of things start pouring cold water onto proceedings. The new tyres, while undoubtedly holding on far better than the regular ContiComfortContact 1 tyres of the standard Almera, are still short on grip. Out of slow corners in a low gear, they can get overwhelmed even by the engine’s fairly modest torque.

Some of the previously acceptable regular car’s traits also become painfully apparent in what is now billed as a sporting variant. The gearbox – while quick to kickdown when you put the pedal down – also upshifts far too early when you lift off the throttle, which can impede progress, especially uphill. The gap between second and third gear is also too wide, and you can forget about fourth in spirited driving.

But it’s the steering that is the biggest problem. Not in terms of feel (admittedly not much is on offer) or heft (it’s too light, even though weight is added on the faster you go), but the speed of the rack itself. At nearly three turns lock-to-lock, you find yourself having to put in more steering input than you would expect.

As a result, you are constantly second-guessing yourself, always coming into the corner watching the car seemingly push wide, only to realise you still have oodles of steering lock left to go through. It’s a disconcerting feeling and robs you of the confidence to really commit to a corner.

It has to be said, however, that despite these shortcomings, the Almera Nismo is still a very likeable car and more than a decent steer. It’s a far cry from the insipid handling traits that has come to characterise the segment, all the while retaining much of the standard Almera’s strengths such as the low fuel consumption and the incredible spaciousness.

But is it worth the considerable extra outlay? If you can stomach the fairly stiff ride, maybe. Certainly, if you plump for the less expensive variants like the V, the premium becomes slightly easier to swallow, as you would still be paying B-segment money for a B-segment car.

Nissan Almera NISMO Performance Package 6

Step up to the VL model and it becomes a bit more difficult to justify, but in this writer’s opinion the car is still better value than the all mouth, no trousers Toyota Vios TRD Sportivo that retails for around the same price – although sit inside and you do initially wonder where all your money went.

There is a fly in the Almera Nismo’s ointment, however, in the shape of the Suzuki Swift Sport – a proper hot-hatch that costs just six grand more with a six-speed manual (and if you’re going to buy a hot-hatch you really should skip the CVT option). Yes, it will be considerably less practical and more expensive to run (RON 97 is recommended for better performance and ultimate reliability) but enthusiasts looking for a properly sterling drive would likely be paid back handsomely.

Ultimately, the Nismo Performance Package, while providing buyers a fairly attractive, relatively sporty option in the marketplace, doesn’t quite manage to completely alter the Almera’s characteristics. What it does do, however, is leave the door open for a rather attractive proposition – what about a proper high-performance Almera? Maybe with the Juke’s 1.6 litre DIG-Turbo engine, a manual gearbox, quicker steering, beefier brakes and grippier tyres? Now that could be quite something…

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• so sad the MT version only got 1 airbag, if not, i will buy it + Nismo Performance Package.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • abuya123 on Apr 24, 2014 at 9:41 am

My officemate have vios at home. At office he use company car, Almera and travel about 50 km per day around Kuala Lumpur and Selangor. I hate to say this because UMW is arrogant company but vios is much better in terms of pickup, performance, cornering and fuel consumption.

Dont buy Almera. Better buy Mirage if you cant afford Vios. I dont know NVH of Mirage but at least…. better fuel consumption.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 36
      • Sam Loo (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 9:56 am

abuya, of coz toyota is the best. it comes with highest rv also. always endorsed by sam loo the greatest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 55
        • Nismo? on Apr 24, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Is there anywhere else on earth that is selling the Nismo package for Almera apart from Malaysia, or is it just a marketing gimmick to sell locally produced after market parts using the Nismo badge to improve the margin?

• Thunderous Kitty Chan on Apr 24, 2014 at 10:05 pm

Cheap car just drive it as it is lar.. so many pattern. Go racing meh. Ah beng

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 8:47 pm

I actually wonder, are these ‘Nismo’ items actually designed by Nissan Japan or is it by Tan Chong. That satnav unit looks pretty nasty just based on the UI, not user friendly, something Nissan Japan won’t do.

This is, what is the point of having to pay nearly 100k for a 1.5l car with an 4 speed auto and no ESP, no side airbags, nothing. If I really wanted a B segment car that handles really well, I’d go for the Fiesta sedan, yes the new one has no side airbags, but it has ESP and it is much cheaper than this. Too bad the EcoBoost 1.0 Fiesta will be hatch only, but yes, the Fiesta sedan would be a better buy imo.

Or, if I still had 100k to splurge, why not the Cerato 1.6? Won’t be sporty, but its comfortable, safe and very spacious.

Besides the new Sylphy, I think ETCM just needs to reboot all their spec lists for our Nissans, yes they are quite good and reliable, but just like Toyota, they seem to lack safety in the lower end models.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
    • Pop pop on Apr 23, 2014 at 10:36 pm

New Sylphy get 6 air bags and VDC across the variant… so … Its a good deal for me personally

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Kunta Kinte on Apr 24, 2014 at 2:26 pm

That sat-nav is definitely Tan Chong. I think they sourced a cheapo Daewoo, but if you ask their sales advisors, they will say Panasonic.

• kami (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 8:58 pm

like really??

• AVH (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 8:59 pm

The Almera sits in a position where it was unrivaled for size to price. It lacks the neccessary specs but it rides well, gets good fuel consumption and is HUGE at the back(when compared to say a Rio, Fiesta or Swift) It does all what the Vios does…..at a much cheaper price, and there is the winning factor. At RM78k it is still better spec than a City or Vios of the price with goodies such as Navi and push start thrown in and I can say it rides better than a City and probably the Vios too.

So all in all it is honesty that makes the Almera shines, its a normal family car that looks the part and goes the part. so is there really any justification you want a Brothers-tune Almera that has a whole lot more look(It’s better looking in my eyes)and unnoticable performance change? No…..Personally if you want performance, or a warm hatch(not a enthusiast tune SSS)get a Fiesta or a 208, if you still longing for trusted Japanese reliability and FC, get the City. Aside from much better specs both safety and toys, the City V has a better hp(lugging more weight thou) and I havn’t driven one but the old car is has never fail to given up on me on spirited B-road drivings, its a rather good chassis set up, but sufferes on ride quality. Or you could wait for the new Jazz, reviews seems to be positive on handling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
  • stomach-eggs on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:00 pm

I see Mercedes has successfully started a new trend with the red line on the lip.

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Myvi DVVT 1.3 produce 90Hp dy… Nissan you must do something on your small displacement engines.

• Almera Nismo LOL on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:17 pm

rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
  • The only part from this car that impress me is its side mirrors

• Dino years (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:19 pm

“but in this writer’s opinion the car is still better value than the all mouth, no trousers Toyota Vios TRD Sportivo that retails for around the same price – although sit inside and you do initially wonder where all your money went.”

Excellent phrase there, I couldn’t stop laughing for at least a minute.

And yeah sitting in an almera is really underwhelming compared to a city or vios. The cabin just feels cheap and bare, there is no other way to describe it. Wish nissan put in a little more effort to at least mimic their Teana, or high spec Livina which at least looks pretty decent on the first few glances.

• holofanboi on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:22 pm

The stiff suspension will cause this car to fail the agar-agar test. True story.

Jokes aside, when you mentioned the stiff ride due to the suspension, could you give an example of how stiff? Is the vibration felt through the teeth, or a general hum/soft beat throughout the entire driver’s body?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 11:05 pm

Probably somewhere in between. It’s not race car hard, but it’s definitely stiffer than buyers in the B-segment are used to.

• ilyjdm on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:22 pm

It would be nice if there was paddle shifters, and at least some engine upgrades for higher horsepower…

• albag on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:27 pm

100k.. wow… i cant really connect between nismo and almera.. really

• Bob_B78 on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Y is it so called performance package gives so much on visual upgrades but less on the handling/performance of the car.
    I would rather the money spend increasing the power of the engine, rather than utterly non functioning bodykits.
    Bodykits basically are eye candy only and does not increase the performance especially for this car. They are suppose to provide more stability on high speed run. Since this car engine is untouched, most likely it lower down it’s top speed n increase fc due to increased drag

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • still it is an ugly car.. same as vios.. from my eyes lorr..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • spongewai on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Nissan Almera Nismo Performance Package vs Honda City V-spec in Modulo kit version vs Toyota Vios TRD Sportivo in drag race challenge

• omglol on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:38 pm

and then everyone lose to a Kancil turbo which cost a quarter of 13k to modify.

• To be fair, I don’t see any point of buying an Almera fitted with all these kit. Almera buyers should be seeking for qualities like ‘value for money’ or ‘ample interior space’ and not ‘fun driving’. Though Nissan makes great CVTs, it’s still dreary and definitely not fun to drive (at all, seriously) and the body kits aren’t doing any good in improving the Almera’s bulbous looks either. Having driven one before, I have to say that the Almera is seriously underpowered for a 1.5 litre with the everyone’s favorite (or much abhorred) Vios easily outdoing it with the dated engine and transmission. The handling is way off and the car is a bit unpredictable at corners. Despite all the flaws, the Almera actually sums up to be a decent, affordable B-segment which, in essence, is not a car engineered for fun driving.

• Proton on Apr 23, 2014 at 10:25 pm

I had a choice to buy a nissan almera nissmo or toyota vios TRD or proton suprima s

I chose proton suprima s , some say that the car is loud , well of course is a bit louder than lousy 1.5L old engines and you can make it quieter by buying some rubber gaps or foam that cost around 2000-5000$ and make the car so quiet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 30
  • Nothing under the trousers on Apr 23, 2014 at 10:35 pm

All mouth, no trousers Vios TRD Sportivo? But, but Vios owners swore that the TRD Sportivo badge alone add another 10hp to the
    engine and drop the 0-100km/h time by 0.5 secs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • nabill (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 10:37 pm

Doesnt match at all,run of the mill family car n slap all those nismo stuff…

Honestly speaking,u want cheap great handling car u buy a satria neo cps manual,around 50k only,u wil b amazed…yess its a 2 door,thats da drawback….u test drive thn comment!

U buy almera is fine,its an honest car,but like the vios trd,doesnt make sence performance nor financially

• Spirior on Apr 23, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Not surprised here. Simply lowering the car would reduce the much needed roll centre height, and possibly camber gain, which lead to all the symptoms indicated by the writer (lazy turn-in, vague steering). Also possibly the rims do not maintain the same offset, which put the steering axis in a totally different position from the original design.

• roxas on Apr 23, 2014 at 11:59 pm

tat 370z steering …(⊙o⊙)…

• Maseratits on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:22 am

If only the Nismo package added a turbocharger or a supercharger to the 1.5L engine… That would be an instant win for the Almera in the performance department!

• Zapruder on Apr 24, 2014 at 8:49 am

No, you’re wrong. The red line all over the skirting provide at least additional 15hp. Not to mention other parts. It’s 13k “performance package”, of course increase of hp included beside of handling.. Right? Right?
      And that Ironman chest like dashboard… It’s just damn man.. Lol

• Maseratits on Apr 24, 2014 at 11:50 am

You’re right! Just by having the NISMO badge alone adds 50hp, Aluminium pedals adds 20hp, bodykit adds 80hp, spoiler adds 30hp, sports rims add 70hp and nismo branded suspension adds 120hp!
        Total of 370hp added altogether! WOW!

• ben yap on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:43 am

Perfomance package but only 101hp…. HAHHAHAHAHA….
    it should be called “Gaya Package” instead.

• guan eng jr. on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:23 am

ugly, every angle ugly. Tyres so small like office chair wheels. Ptuih.

• kangkong on Apr 24, 2014 at 7:32 am

My wife is driving this car happily. But I just can’t agree with the NISMO performance package which does not really improve the driving performance. With this engine it is for family drive comfortably but it just not for performance!
    Imagine if you are driving a car with rally car outlook, but slowly pickup speed at the traffic light. Isn’t it look weird?

• ta-mama on Apr 24, 2014 at 7:44 am

After reading the review, I realize how bad the car is. People are just going for the spacious advantage. Talking abt fuel consumption, it shouldn’t be the selling point either. And about the look without body kit… Ya that is personal, no comment.

• Melanie on Apr 24, 2014 at 8:43 am

Indonesia Regular Taxi became more sporty now.

• Lemer on Apr 24, 2014 at 8:44 am

Only 100 hp and torque at 139 nm, must be very sluggish and under power. And this car is not safe, no vsc.

• motohead on Apr 24, 2014 at 9:17 am

Upgrade your trasmission to CVT with torque converter with paddle shifter or +- tiptronic or conventional 5 speed auto. Don’t be like some car brand who still think they can sell car with 4 speed auto. I will buy Almera if you have these specs.

• JeremyNg on Apr 24, 2014 at 10:08 am

Why compared it with Vios TRD ?! of course TRD will be less value for money bcs it’s the best car in the world, it will clocked “The Ring” just under 8min 20sec. The front wing will flex during high speed to generate more downforce,the exhaust is near to rear diffuser so it has a blown diffuser.

if you hv all those F1 tech in it , 90k++ is cheap and it will put Megane RS to shame LOL

• Vtec R Yakuza on Apr 24, 2014 at 10:27 am

Better i choose Proton Suprima S or Preve.Value for money,perfomance,quality and handling.No matter what people want to say if we put Proton in this line up,for me Proton are more better and far better than before..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • No matter what they add on it’s still fugly…..

• Denaihati on Apr 24, 2014 at 11:21 am

looks better especially at front, but something to be considered when the price nearly RM100k.

• Joker on Apr 24, 2014 at 11:28 am

Errmmmm nope… 13k for those… can upgrade myself elsewhere for a mere 5k with better performance too…
    Looking forward to the new Jazz Mugen…

• lowprofile on Apr 24, 2014 at 11:54 am

“Maybe with the Juke’s 1.6 litre DIG-Turbo engine, a manual gearbox, quicker steering, beefier brakes and grippier tyres? Now that could be quite something…”

Yes! Agreed on this.

• cendol (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Malaysians can’t really afford real performance cars due to ridiculous high tax structure in Bolehland.
    So in order to compensate for these people, normal family day to day car has to add these ‘performance’ packages to let normal laymen have a feel of ‘performamce’ cars.
    So chill,

• Bull shit

• sovie on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Almera, after upgrade become Almari (cupboard)

• khairul on Apr 24, 2014 at 4:12 pm

preve cfe, 138hp, rm 73k. erm… no need to say more…

• style only. but not performance.. thanks TCM

• harris on Apr 25, 2014 at 11:32 pm

I own almera, I think nis

• harris on Apr 25, 2014 at 11:36 pm

I think tan chong should promote almera as a comfort car not as a sport car…it is a big mistake..

• I am owner of Almera the basic E variant, automatic no body kit and no sport rim, plain 14″ wheels and the cheap Bridgestone B250 tires. In Brunei the power output is 109hp, a bit more than those in Malaysia (102hp is it?), ours is assembled in Thailand. This is a decent car for simple everyday driving, for work and shopping or picnic and that’s about it, if we want more power and performance, we should consider Nissan Pulsar with those 1.6L turbo charge engine, which you don’t have in Malaysia. Anyway, this car should be treated as a simple budget car to get you from A to B with Japanese reliability and cheaper maintenance cost. I personally feel that all these body kit and what ever performance package is simply nonsense for this kind of car and I agree that the new 2013 Ford Fiesta seems to be more attractive and able to offer more fun but Almera is never designed for fun and trying to make it sporty is not much different than those socks in night market with the word “Sports” written on it, pretty much useless – it is for simple practical use, nothing else. If I have those extra money, rather than upgrading to Nismo or Impul package, I might as well use that money for something else…

• Full on NISMO? on Jul 22, 2014 at 11:54 pm

Is there a chance to get Nismo interior accessories as well? Those really sets it apart from the Vios and City, and I imagine people might be more interest in those than the body kits.