New Peugeot 408 Sedan unveiled at Auto China 2014

peugeot-408-sedan-live-beijing 091

Peugeot has unveiled the new Peugeot 408 at the ongoing Auto China 2014 show in Beijing. Designed for the Chinese market, the new 408 is based on the new 308, the reigning 2014 European Car of the Year. In the Middle Kingdom, it replaces the 408 that we’re familiar with in Malaysia.

To do battle in the “upper Chinese C-segment”, the new 408 is armed with more space and tech. The wheelbase has grown by 20 mm to make 2,730 mm, the longest in the segment – although WB measurement doesn’t always tell the full story (packaging counts, too), the 408 should offer above par rear legroom.

Like the new 308, this sedan sits on PSA’s new EMP2 platform. The Efficient Modular Platform 2 also underpins the new Citroen C4 Picasso MPV. In the 308, the new underpinnings play a key role in the considerable weight reduction, by an average of 140 kg compared to the outgoing hatch. This should translate to a lighter 408 as well.

Peugeot-408-02

No official pic of the cabin was released, so we’re left wondering if Peugeot carried over the 308’s modern, minimalist dashboard or gave the 408 a more traditional cabin, one that has a more “luxurious” feel befitting its positioning. We’re guessing the former.

Under the hood is a direct-injection 1.6 THP turbocharged engine with Stop & Start technology. Dongfeng Peugeot’s move to push the new 408 upmarket means that the sedan will have full-LED headlamps, a “City Park” system and blind spot sensors, among other kit.

Peugeot says that the 408, together with the Exalt concept car, debuts the brand’s new styling cues. Note that the lion badge on both cars now sit proud in the middle of the grille, as opposed to on the hood. The 308’s distinctive feature line that rises from the front door and ends at the tail lamp are replicated on the 408, which to our eyes, looks unexciting but neat enough.

Live pix by Moy Yew-Meng

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Joker on Apr 23, 2014 at 11:17 am

Nice car… an improvement over the current 408!!!
    I wonder why PSA chose to stick to the 1.6 THP and not introduce the new E-HDCi engine…
    It’s the engine that won the 308 2014 European Car of The Year!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Vader on Apr 23, 2014 at 11:40 am

Am i confusing since too many new car recently?
      This car rear lamp design seem alike the new Nissan Sylphy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
      • holofanboi on Apr 23, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Huh.

No wonder it felt deja vu. You’re right, they are really similar.

• Jules on Apr 23, 2014 at 12:03 pm

With our diesel… That engine would be ruled out

• raja lawak on Apr 23, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Better buy Preve…the only turbo car in the world with lifetime warranty power window…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 16
      • Lifetime power windows warranty?Haha.Just Proton power windows many problem

• sepul on Apr 23, 2014 at 12:30 pm

That is the diesel engine, and China market car mostly run on petrol engines. I think.

• Sam Loo (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 5:08 pm

this car lousy RV. don’t buy. i have lots of 408s in my backyard that i don’t accept any more trade in.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 35
      • stanley on Apr 23, 2014 at 5:39 pm

si gin nah, i wanna buy since so low RV and u got so many sure u got promotion right? 5k can?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
      • Ricardo on Apr 23, 2014 at 7:33 pm

Why don’t you shove RV down your stinking arse? A pathetic piece of shit talking shit. Got nothing else to do go and get your dubur jubured.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • Surenddra on Apr 23, 2014 at 8:56 pm

Well Sam,
        like Stanley I will want to buy a Pug 408… Since you have so many, cheap cheap sell la…

• sri hartamas on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Sam Loo…tell us how much you are selling the $)* in your stock for…I am, very interested.

• x-city on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:57 pm

i buy a car to drive not to sale it

• Sam Loo (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 10:29 am

haiya.. at least most of u are genuine buyers.. want to buy 408.. not like the Ricardo fella.. only know how to play with his arse. the 408 i have are old one wor.. a lot have problem with the engine.. so i take in low and sell low lor

• rchoo on Apr 25, 2014 at 1:33 pm

You have a lot ya, how much is it? Tell u what, I do you a favour by helping you to clear all if it is as cheap as you say.

The Loo belongs to you.

• rchoo on Apr 25, 2014 at 1:35 pm

I think they cannot cope with the hot demand as mentioned in previous article.

• Nissan Sylphy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • thesimple on Apr 23, 2014 at 2:15 pm

no, no it’s peugeot sylphy. :)

jokes aside, at least we know what the marque is serious in boosting its numbers with the introduction of this model specific for the Chinese market.

thank goodness it’s only for the Chinese market though. can’t imagine this model being sold in other countries where style usually reigns as opposed to function.

• Joker on Apr 23, 2014 at 2:21 pm

Yeah lol the rear light..
      but this 408 is better shaped than the Sylphy with a longer wheelbase as well…
      Overall it’s a better car than Sylphy..

• No lion claw design for the back light. Disappointed…

• 408 owner will feel sad now, especially those just own one.

• xoomie on Apr 23, 2014 at 12:18 pm

what a coincidence.. Sylphy’s end..

• Jaybond on Apr 23, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Expect to see this car on the Malaysian road, not this year but sometime next year..

• 95% Sylphy rear?

• why the back like very familiar one horrrrrrrrrrrrrr? lol

• NISSpengAN on Apr 23, 2014 at 1:23 pm

Why Peugeot copy exactly same from latest Nissan sylphy !

• sri hartamas on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:55 pm

who copy who? i Think its Nissan that copied Peugeot

• the rear is pug language since the latest 206…same boomerang shaped rear lighting. Slyphy? Nope since pug had started it early thru 206…

• thedarkside on Apr 23, 2014 at 1:34 pm

good design by peugeot. looks solid from front to back

• nabill (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 2:14 pm

Lools alot beter than curent one that has an odd awekward rear….

• Nice car. A lot better than current 408.

• is it just me? the rear lights look exactly like the new nissan slyphy

• Jebonr on Apr 23, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Looks nice.

• Gone are the continental looks

• although the rear lights look like the new sylphy, this car is totally nicer.

• Mungkin on Apr 24, 2014 at 4:42 am

sylphy looks funny. this one a bit more garang in front.

• dewaSemut on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:21 pm

This new 408 might come here sooner that we think… Naza is giving heavy discounts for the current model.
    Way nicer than the current one.. The current ones looks too awkward though. :)

• Sam Loo (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:37 pm

that’s why i said.. the current one already very bad rv.. plus the awkward look it makes it even worse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • If the price is right, better buy this Peugeot 408 than boring to drive than Altis, new Sylphy. This new Sylphy just will make Nissan suffer more.

Insensible pricing as well as poor moniker- they must use other name like Pulsar, Sentra or if TC Nissan really care about existing Sylphy 2.0 buyers. I test drove back to back Sylphy and Corolla Altis 2.0E- better get the Altis instead.

• Leoman on Apr 24, 2014 at 9:09 pm

I’ll own it when it launch….only typical Malaysia china apek will always think of RV before owning a car…they never think about all safety features where mfg had throw in R&D…

Why buy car base on RV when car are only liabilities? Sohai!
    No one expect car RV appreciating like own a Hse….
    Ubah lah ….

• Leoman on Apr 24, 2014 at 9:10 pm

;)

• Billy on Apr 25, 2014 at 11:05 am

To those of you who think this car us good..get back to us after running it on 95 RON for a year..then tekk us what you think. No point being rude or sarky without putting your money where your mouth is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9