VIDEO: Toyota Camry 2.0 G X – two funnymen face-off

The recently-introduced Toyota Camry 2.0 G X is the set piece in this one, in which Patrick Teoh and Kuahjenhan engage in a humourous face-off over the car.

All the car’s novelties are highlighted by the two funnymen in the clip, as is its performance, which has agar-agar thrown in for good measure.

The RM159k Camry ‘X’ (which stands for ‘Exquisite Luxury’, apparently) is based on the 2.0 G variant, and features embellishments such as smoked head/tail lamps, dark silver 17-inch alloys, dark brown leather upholstery and wood trim as well as ‘Camry X’-branded front carpet mats.

It also has an optional seven-inch DVD-AVN touchscreen system with navigation fitted as standard. Also on are a powered rear blind and manual rear side window blinds, items that have previously been exclusive to the Camry 2.5 V. Which all makes the Camry 2.0 G X really “atas” and look very hip-hop…

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• funny
    wheres Sam Loo

• we want umw toyota to feature Sam Danny Loo in their viral videos…

• Sam Loo (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Sam Loo is here. I now register my name so that no ah beng can try to imitate the ever popular and one-and-only Sam Loo. I recently did some soul searching when I’m away.. that’s why so quiet. While nobody can argue with me on how much I love my Hilux, and it’s still the number 1 for RV, I began to feel the Camry is more like an uncle car. I hate this feeling inside but this advertisement is not helping.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
      • Hilux ?
        Triton better la ,,
        Hilux more body roll .
        fail the moose test – watch youtube.

• Sam Loo (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 10:26 am

how much u can sell ur triton? tri times lower than my hilux la.

• Not selling my beloved triton la bro,

Why selling your Hilux? your car already rolled over ?
            accident car RV will be much lower
            dont matter what brand ..

• qwerty on Apr 23, 2014 at 12:51 pm

“It also has an optional seven-inch DVD-AVN touchscreen system with navigation fitted as standard.” So is it standard or optional?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • cynical on Apr 23, 2014 at 4:37 pm

the touch screen is optional, but the GPS comes standard with the touch screen.. i think

• Joseph on Apr 23, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Hi All,
    Camry 20 GX, 2.0 VVTI enginee with 4-speed E-4AT auto transmission, dual airbags, VSC,ABS and EBD at and asking price of RM160K; seriously value for money….?!
    Lets not even bother about the rest of the Jap, conti, Kimchi D-Class within this price range in Malaysia; just compare with UMW Toyota C-class offering, Toyota Altis 2.0V that has a price option package, with 6 airbags, VSC, CVT gearbox and 2.0 Dual VVTI, at RM140K; which IMHO, seems to be better value.
    C’mon UMW Toyota, being profit driven is one thing, but at least, get your marketing and product development guys to do their homework, before launching a product.
    How on earth can a D-Class offering with the same enginee displacement with a C-class offering, can be actually less equiped, but cost more money….?
    Well, I guess thats Malaysia Boleh for you….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
    • there is no Luxury Car Value For Money.

• Contender on Apr 23, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Joseph,

Like you have mentioned yourself Camry is a D segment car that is why it is more expensive than Altis which is C segment car even though less specs and equipments. Would 520d sell cheaper than a 328i ? Go figure ….

• The Knight on Apr 23, 2014 at 4:21 pm

dont compare cvt and 4at box. 4at much better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • Vader on Apr 23, 2014 at 12:57 pm

Yeah, uncle loving it..

• Toyota really trying very hard to shed their uncle image in Camry but uncle is still uncle even you put on a Oakley sunglasses.

• what a lousy way to advertise their rubbish

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Both these people usually of good comedy, but for the Camry I don’t see what was so funny of it

Trying to pick up speed with the engine running at 5000 rpm, thanks to the ancient 4 speed automatic. Lack of safety features, sticking out like a sore thumb….

Though Sam Loo would have a big LED 60″ TV set up all over his dealership to play this over and over….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • Sam Loo (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 10:15 am

of coz.. people still buy toyota because of the supreme rv value. enough said. when i play the video in my shop, the aunties come running in. i don’t care if camry is uncle car or what.. but people come in means money coming in for me.

also, pls don’t shame my shop with your 60″ TV. i have a 150″ projector to display the full glory of toyota. i have my hilux on the background.

• holofanboi on Apr 23, 2014 at 1:10 pm

HELP!

THE AMOUNT OF CRINGEWORTHINESS IN THIS VIDEO IS OVERWHELMING!!!!

Credit where it is due, it really is funny. Mainly because of the way they are talking. Super malaysianified to the max.

Tbh I like the video for its content, not the car variant though. They should have used the 2.5V for SOME amount of legidity :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • what the crap did i just watched?

• pakatan on Apr 23, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Camry 2.0 G “X”. I say x to this “Really Atas Car”

• Black Dog on Apr 23, 2014 at 1:30 pm

Excellent! Very witty and funny too.

I’m a big fan of Uncle Patrick Teoh.

• Uncle Camry on Apr 23, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Competition from others in the D-segment is forcing UMW to offer more stuff for the money. Good.

• uncle’s car.

• just like that on Apr 23, 2014 at 1:59 pm

wont be caught dead or alive in one even with 7 airbags and stability control… which no camry has 7 airbags and the cheapest variant doesn’t have traction control…

• cedyy on Apr 23, 2014 at 2:09 pm

sales of this current Camry must be bad enough to drive UMW to put up such video. desperate times call for desperate measures. hopefully buyers wise up to the pathetic features that UMW provides for the price they charge

• Boy Racer (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Uncle, not Camry. Its Toyota Camry two-point-o G ECCCKS!

• nabill (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Funny that thy dont HIGHLIGHT da 4speed auto….this ad is targeted at a typical demographic….buy car to show nt for da spec

• Untung Manyak Wang on Apr 23, 2014 at 2:20 pm

2.0 G X

PM price otr wihtout ins. RM 155,562.20
    Langkawi price otr wihtout ins. RM 102,966.20
    Estimate RV after 5 years RM 100,000.00
    but last 2 years no warranty

2.0 VTI-L

PM price otr wihtout ins. RM 145,737.50
    Langkawi price otr wihtout ins. RM 108,699.50
    Estimate RV after 5 years RM 105,500.00

better buy VTI-L

• shame_Loo on Apr 23, 2014 at 2:43 pm

I don’t think after 5 years these car still worth this much of money. It should be in the range of 85~100K and after all, 5 years from now, new model might be launch….

• Untung Manyak Wang on Apr 23, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Yup, if sell ourself may be can get about Rm100k. If trade in / sell to 2nd car shop, sure will get lower RM 10k ~ 15K.

• Sam Loo (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 10:18 am

just so you know and understand, toyota worth forever. just like my hilux, everyone come to me and want to buy it even 2nd hand.

• Dragon on Apr 23, 2014 at 2:22 pm

The Most Funny Part in d last scene :
    “Toyota – Moving Forward”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • fast5 on Apr 23, 2014 at 5:15 pm

There’s nothing wrong on toyota… you mean UMW that’s the problem… horrible distributor!!!

• Aero (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 10:16 pm

Yes, thankfully, many can differentiate between the two.

Toyota (Japan) is not a bad company. Not at all. But UMW Toyota (Malaysian Toyota distributor) is bad. Very bad. They are ripping off (too expensive for old 4-speed auto, 90s NA engine etc.) and endangering the lives (not enough safety gear) of uncles and aunties, and this must stop.

To stop the oppression, it is simple, DON’T BUY NEW TOYOTA CARS. Eventually, their sales will drop enough and UMW will be forced to give in to our demands, or at least make more ‘added value’ models like this Camry G X.

• Hahaha on Apr 23, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Sorry uncles, despite of u guys’ effort , still i wont be attracted by this 4-speed “reliable” car. Rather get an Accord 2.0 VTI-L.

• Crap blady car, can fool uncles la….. 4 speed auto is the biggest joke.

• Uncle Lah on Apr 23, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Aiyoyo toyota still sentiasa syok sendiri macam they are always the best car brand in malaysia! Aiyo lah! With sub par safety features and old technologies, u cnt fight with other japanese rivals lah! Four speed dated gearbox, dual airbags, aiyo! Sekarng bkn mcm dulu lah! =3= better get a honda accord 2.0 VTI-L than this camry 2.0 GXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXxXx and uncle(s) ah, u think an ‘X’ can make significant change ah? Why keep on emphasizing the ‘X’ ?

• There are many other option with this price …. Mazda 6, Honda Accord, Nissan Teana, Kia K5 ….

• Enthu on Apr 23, 2014 at 4:21 pm

So many comments on the 160k Camry 2.0GX, i wonder how many of them could really afford it?

Hmmm…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • cendol (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Most of population can afford to drive better cars if our tax structure is not so high.
      Because now we are actually borrowing huge amount to money to pay TAX portion of the car price.

• noname on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Looking at the amount of crowds queuing up to buy a newly launch condo at 6-7x price of this car, I have no idea what makes you doubts on the purchasing power for most if not all of the folks here.

Just because you can afford, that doesn’t give you the snob card buddy!

• AVH (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 5:34 pm

SmugLoo: So Uncle, how you like my new Camry G X(camera shakes)
    [Directors Cut on UMW demand]
    Uncle: Nice, nice, eh, speaking of which, hooow much is it ah

SmugLoo: Aiya uncle,not really expensive,RM160k only

Uncle: ONE-HUNDRED-AND-SIXTY!!!

SmugLoo: Yahlar, super luxurious car mah…… Eh Uncle, what happen to you? you look so pale.

Uncle: No, It’s actually rather expensive, anyways sorry la Smuggy, I already bought myself another car thats abit cheaper.

SmugLoo: Oh another Camry is it

Uncle: Hahahaha……Nope Honda Accord. RM10k cheaper so I am going to tour Europe for 2 weeks, next month with the money I save.

SmugLoo:Oh….haha….okay[inner-thought: come to think of it, I should have save RM10k. But nevermind, Camry got Good RV]

• holofanboi on Apr 23, 2014 at 6:29 pm

LMAO behind the scenes!?

Eh…but..but apparantly this Camry is more hip-hop wor… New Accord too mature and elegant looking di… ><

BUT!!!

Will the Accord pass the agar-agar test? VERY IMPORTANT!

Otherwise, according to this vid the Camry is more 'atas'

• AVH (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Personally, Hip-Hop is associated with autotune squeling young Twats, making a fortue from zombified and brainwash teens and proceed with the cash to buy completely perfect exotic cars only to be ruined by putting an obnoxious and vulgar paint job and wheels(because Bling-Bling) and than taking it to street race only to be caught with some pot in the boot(yes, I dislike pop songs and singers). The Camry is never a Hip-Hop car, its a ubiquitous and utilitarian appliance bought by people who wants a perfectly dependable and trustful applaince to take them from A-to-B without a fuss in the most comfortable manner possible. They do not care about design and toys, they want reliability and peace-of-mind….like a loyal little Golden Retriever.

Honda Accord? Yes it is mature and Elegent but also classy, akin Ben Kingsley, Sean Connery and Anthony Hopkins. Yes they are old and look the age(the currenct Accord looks like a 6th gen ver)but it is not ugly, and in a suit is in fact… very dashing. And they dont still your attention on the road, but blends in and charms you with Charisma, that feeling inside the Accord’s interior.

The Mazda 6 is that Athlete or footballer you see in sports magazine, flamboyant, really good looking, but get closer and dig deeper they are not really what you think they are, and I’am talking about the Mazda’s interior as well….and like athletes very well taste in quality. The Kia K5 is the Korean pop stars, charming you with extremely good looks inside out….but nothing much more, but yoou dont care do you. And the Sonata YF is Plasmus from DC-comic(yes I still think its hedious, COME AT MEH HYUNDAI FANS!)

[Opinions do heavily differs in this comment, so feel free to disagree]

• teelim on Apr 23, 2014 at 6:34 pm

4spd auto… atas? LMAO

• klkee on Apr 23, 2014 at 7:16 pm

haiz…disappointed to UMW…
    compare with competitor lah…

dun “ka ki kong,ka ki song”.

• Lesson of the video : only uncle will get attracted by toyota CAMPRY and keep praise how good is it

• albag on Apr 23, 2014 at 7:21 pm

uncle car… so ppl who drive camry all act so high class like the one in the video one ka… ptuiiiii

• Sonyman on Apr 23, 2014 at 9:01 pm

Why X ? What’s the meaning? Why not A or Z or R? Don’t get it, umw really running out of ideas to conn uncles and aunties?

• Aero (Member) on Apr 23, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Incredibly hilarious and cheesy ad ! I enjoyed watching it !

Really well made ad, no doubt, but the car, not so much. Smart uncles will still avoid the new Camry. A new Honda Accord would be a better choice, or if uncle wanna be sporting a bit, can get a new Mazda6 also, no problem.

• Yours Faithfully (YF) on Apr 23, 2014 at 10:13 pm

(Sarcastically) everytime the ‘X’ logo come out I have the impression of the scene has been marked x by the directors indicating it was rejected.

Also, in election, if mark X out of the box means votes are spoilt votes or rejected votes. Hmmm…. go figure.

• adam lee on Apr 23, 2014 at 11:28 pm

camry new model is not famous design that y need more upgrade version.

• What an ad! Its comedy that only a Malaysian/Singaporean can understand. Awesome.

• I am da pro listen on Apr 24, 2014 at 8:45 am

nobody buy this lousy car la hahahahhaaha.
    Accord > camry 5:1

• singun on Apr 24, 2014 at 9:36 am

Failed..4:23 when they accelerating a kap zai over took them^^

• Fugly camry is a useless slow poke junk using 4 speed Flintstones technology. Even viva and kapcai can smoke it anytime.

• What a STUPID advertisement. NO CLASS.

• Lando on Apr 25, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Funny ah these fellas!

• I saw many older generation camry cars on the roads these days. And yes, many of those camry are driven by uncles. The older camry are still looking good.

This may the reason why Uncles love camry so much.

• Car_acter on May 15, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Looks like Patrick & Kuah Jenhan cannot save the fate of tghe new Camry besting sales of its previous generation.