Ford Fiesta ST – new range-topping ST-3 trim for UK

Ford Fiesta ST KLIMS 21

Ford has launched a new flagship version of its Ford Fiesta ST. Appearing one year after the hot hatch’s debut, the range-topping ST-3 trim level builds on the specification of the ST-2 by adding more kit.

New to the Fiesta ST are equipment such as keyless entry, Sony DAB radio/CD with navigation system, cruise control, automatic headlights, rain sensing wipers, auto-dimming rear view mirror, power-fold door mirrors with puddle lamps and electronic automatic temperature control. Rear parking sensors are introduced as an optional extra on the ST-3 and ST-2.

Priced at £19,250 (RM105,472) in the UK, the ST-3 responds to demand for a higher series model in addition to the previous two specification line-up, with the ST-2 accounting for over 90% of sales. In total, over 6,250 units of the hot Fiesta have been sold – 20% more than forecast.

Powered by a 1.6 litre EcoBoost engine with 182 PS/240 Nm, mated to a six-speed manual, the Fiesta ST sprints from 0-100 km/h in 6.9 seconds. Top speed is 220 km/h. Ford has confirmed that the Fiesta ST will reach Malaysia in the second half of this year to battle the Renault Clio RS and Peugeot 208 GTI – will we get the ST-2 or ST-3 spec, and for how much?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Most likely over priced. Just like their STs. Always pitching their product price against volkswagen even though its cheaper in europe.

• jackson on Apr 24, 2014 at 2:05 pm

Ford. Make SDAC to put the price for Ford fiesta ST3 at RM 140k max.

• Joker on Apr 24, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Can’t wait!!!!!
    Will test drive when it arrives in bolehland…

• Peter on Apr 24, 2014 at 2:58 pm

Sorry SDAC, I went ahead and booked the 208GTi instead. Notwithstanding all the good overseas reviews (principally for its cheapest price), the 208GTI is likely to be cheaper by a far margin to the ST in Malaysia and far better equipped as well.
    Really loved the new Clio too, but no manual box was big turn-off.

• CM (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 11:59 pm

Hi Peter. Congrats on your choice! I wish I owned the 208GTI:-)
      However, the overseas reviewers often awarded the ST first place for its superior driving dynamics. The cheaper price was a plus. Interestingly though, the 208GTI always does well and is still highly rated.
      I reckon it’s polished interior, composed ride and smooth torquey interior will make it the better hot hatch in Malaysia.
      The ST, when it arrives here, will most certainly be priced between 150-160k. SDAC has been quite clear about it.
      The question is when.
      I’m keen on the Ecoboost Fiesta, which Ford dealers promised would arrive on 26th April. Now, they have gone all coy on me and are saying it’s going to be launched next month.
      We will soon know…

• CM (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 12:01 am

Oops! I meant smooth torquey engine;-)

• Peter on Apr 25, 2014 at 10:33 am

Yup, no doubt that I will agree with the overseas review that the ST would have better handling (and I don’t doubt it since I also have a MK2 Focus at home), but at the end of the day, I will still be using the car on a day-to-day basis. Better to get something which is comfortable as well and after test driving the 208GTI twice, I find it quite well balanced.
        To me the biggest issue is that the ST is not differentiated enough from the regular Fiesta’s…especially with the facelift which gives them almost the same front nose. Interior features also very lacking if compared with 208GTI.
        I think the Ecoboost test drives should already be available right? I’m seeing a lot of adverts on my Facebook wall. Go test it, but with hatch only and price paid, I fear the masses will more likely go for the City top-spec instead which is bigger and even better speced.

• boring car but interesting girl!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 16
  • the driver on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:54 pm

The Car to buy. If you’re in the market to buy a terrific small hot hatch this is it. Better than the rest, period. Planning to buy it.

• Seems forever impossible to have that kind of price in bolehland. 105k..

• Nice to drive,but lousy service from auto connection.

• Interested..I mean the girl.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6