2014 Honda City – 10,000 bookings within first month

2014 Honda City 17

The 2014 Honda City has collected 10,000 bookings within a month of its official launch on March 20, well surpassing the previous record of 3,000 bookings within a month of launch for the fourth-gen CR-V.

Honda Malaysia says it will be able to complete deliveries for all 10,000 bookings by end-June, thanks to the new No. 2 Line in Pegoh, which has doubled production capacity as well as enabled flexible production scheduling to speed up output.

In addition, sales are up 30% in Q1 2014 over the same period last year. Honda Malaysia aims to sell 76,000 Honda vehicles this year. Revisit our tireless coverage of the 2014 Honda City here: Launch, test drive, old car, new car, grade-by-grade comparison, walk-around video.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• simon lee on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:05 pm

City is the new god car..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 16
    • kadajawa (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Bye bye Suprima…same price better buy City RM76K….huhuhu

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 24
      • Low Budget on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:19 pm

P1 is always kind of neither here nor there, low end ‘kena’ from P2 and slightly higher end ‘kena’ from Toyota/Honda.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 4
        • Honda the best on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:36 pm

Say hello to new Honda City and its the end of the Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 25
          • wait Proton rebadge City then you bash Honda like crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 46
          • Wonka on Apr 24, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Once upon a time, there is a 2013 city tailgating a Proton on the highway followed by a 2014 city, all going on high speed. And all of a sudden, the proton driver emergency brake. The 2013 city managed to emergency brake and avoided collision but the 2014 city crashed on to the butt of the 2013 city. The 6 airbags on the 2014 city saved the driver from serious injury but all he got is a complete wreckage. All thanks to the rear brake drums!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 66
          • Same Loor on Apr 24, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Once upon the time, same story happened on the highway. But this time Honda at front Proton at the back. We all know Proton like to tailgate ppl more than others.

Story ends simply: Honda managed to stop and the Proton crash into the Honda totally. Everyone in the Proton die… Yes, everyone! Why ler?

No ABS
            No EBD
            No Airbag
            Or Airbag failed to deploy
            Seatbelt spoilt long time ago
            No crumple zone
            And it is also rear brake drum!!

Bro, u think all Proton on the road are Preve/Suprima S? Check the sales figure lar… Most of them are Saga, Wira and Iswara (they all have drum brake).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 30
          • Many kids here compare city with suprima lol. So hilarious, city has no chance beats 205nm torque suprima on highway.

If you never lowish torquey turbo car like suprima, preve and those TSIers let me tell you the drivers don’t have to push it hard like those kiddo in swift does. Only slight press on the pedal to the right RPM and you are king.

Grow up please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 71
          • Honda the best on Apr 24, 2014 at 9:30 pm

Still got those retard trying to compare a Junk to the mighty Honda.Love to see how the retards dying in those Proton Junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 32
          • Honda the best on Apr 24, 2014 at 9:32 pm

Proton Suprima 6 airbags and turbo you give me FREE I also don’t want.Feel shame to drive Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 35
          • Same Loor on Apr 24, 2014 at 11:52 pm

Here you can see a typical J class Proton fans’ mindset:

1. They know their car is junk, but they can’t accept the fact and keep on syok sendiri.

2. They got nothing to show off with the J class, thus they can only mention on torque and cornering.

3. They strongly believe that the torque figure on the paper enable them to smoke everyone.

4. They only concern of smoking other drivers thus they give sh*t on public road safety.

5. When they realise their J class can’t smoke others but fuel hunger, they install lousy and loud exhaust pipe to continue syok sendiri.

6. They drive the J class like Jaguar, end up visit garage too much, NCD deducted every year that you see they still driving the same J class in 2024 (thus you see so many of mod+koyak wira, iswara, gen2, satria on the road), because they HAVE NO MONEY to change a new car.
            6. When they can’t change new car (they desperate wish they are one of the 10,000 car owner of this new city), they can only bash and mention about smoking others in car forum.

Typical Proton 4S lifestyle: Sendiri cakap, Sendiri Syok, Sentiasa rosak, Sales Carnival.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 40
          • Immature minds compare Ssaga with junk City, this Saga was out long ago and after GSC will come then you can only compare. Why not compare with overpriced coffin Vios? That’s much better comparison since the price is similar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
          • Why you get in city you also can get in Preve/Suprima. Minus only those rear aircond but city, the engine is only good for city driving, with full load on highway you are not that good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • Same Loor on Apr 25, 2014 at 12:13 pm

What’s wrong comparing Honda cheapest car with Proton cheapest car? Both same B segment! If not government and tax, you think Honda can’t sell City as cheap as Saga?

It show how naive to compare Proton most expensive car with Honda cheapest car, yet Preve/Suprima S don’t outperform the City in term of reliability, resale value, fuel consumption comfort, technology.

This is the almight J class Proton!!!

GSC will be just another Tiara, Juara, no one interest but only Proton fans syok sendiri. You can quote me on this. Comparing a City with a thousands year yet-to-launch GSC… how “mature”!

And last thing: Honda City. As its name, is meant for CITY drive. For highway, we have Civic and Accord. You will never able to experience these since you pour all your money into installment and biweekly repair with your J class Proton.

*J= Junk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
          • samelorstupid on Apr 25, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Same Loor can you this City with 33k? LOL

You compare it with Saga as if you can get it with 33k , that’s the price of Saga. I can buy 2 Saga with capacity of 10 seats, 8 tyres, 2.6l engine and that’s 2 cars! My sibling also can get one, or my wife can drive by herself too!

Is that comparison that you want? Sure City cannot does that, you break it into 2 pieces and make sure it can drive like 2 normal cars than you can say it’s better than Saga! LOLOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
          • Same Loor on Apr 25, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Again you show us how swallow your understanding on Malaysian automotive market.

Please go study the amount of sales tax, excise duty applied on every City then come back shout 2 car 10 seat bla bla bla…

Before Proton is established (before you are born), foreign cars in Malaysia are CHEAP.

If MITI allow the Honda to price their car so low RM30k, you think Honda can’t make it?

A price of cheapest Almera can get a 86 in Japan. Wake up dude.

Don’t blame the manufacturer, blame your beloved government!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
          • Same Loor on Apr 25, 2014 at 5:00 pm

I mean *shallow instead of swallow.

• You go to Thai the prices are of city are similar with preve. You cannot get City as low as 30k there.

Go out from cave. Cannot sell car then you blame gov? So pathetic, please read more.

• conga on Apr 25, 2014 at 11:22 pm

So funny Same Loor compared car prices in Japan with Bolehland. So lame, why don’t you compare it with Indonesia, Philippines etc? That’s more appropriate.

• Sam Loo (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 338
        • sir! you made my day by reading your comment! hahahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 0
        • Vader on Apr 24, 2014 at 6:32 pm

Shxt, shame loo is back… prifff
          Kid, u still live in the “Matrix”, wake up now… lol

• KEPALA on Apr 24, 2014 at 11:06 pm

joke of the day… lol

• Hey man , the Almera sales better than new vios ..
          New Honda city is now kicking vios’s arse sales within short time..
          Lame 4speed autobox, new face with antique drivetrain VIOS

• Ah Beng Support PROTON (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Suprima design with built-in value. Only silly people know nothing bout car comparing b-segment city s+ and c-segment suprima. Suprima comes with 1.6 cfe turbo engine equipped with autralian ncap 5 star safety equipment which city s+ dont have.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • hondamonda on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:08 pm

hmm…confuse either v spec city or 1.8 civic fb…(considering honda only)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
      • ahmad on Apr 24, 2014 at 4:03 pm

with city, ur relatives and friends said ‘wah! u drive/bought new car’, and yes city has aircond vent at rear and 7″ touchscreen. But i believe when come to driving experience, it will be Civic. Dont forget, City is B-segment but Civic is C-segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
        • cityftw on Apr 24, 2014 at 4:50 pm

sound like a regret civic owner-who-not-waiting for the new city…peace

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
        • but when it comes to monthly instalment, it will be city!

• Sam Looser on Apr 25, 2014 at 11:40 pm

Yeah…and now 2013 vios trade in value is less than 40k. People are paying me under table money / bribes just to take in their junk catfish.

• matdan71 on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Congrat honda…I am a proud owner of city and accord 2.4

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 20
    • Najib Razak (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:34 pm

Good Car !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 38
      • said no to p1 anymore…….power windows, center lock….many many problem

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 19
      • I give thumb down not because Honda is bad but because of………..the face!!!

• abuya123 on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Why own 2 car under same brand? The fact Honda is better than others… or you never try other brand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 30
      • Satisfaction is the Key.

this is the reason why Toyota owner, will buy Toyota again, Nissan owner will buy Nissan again, Honda onwer will buy Honda again.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 11
        • Obama on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:01 pm

LOL..Najib?! I wonder how many new Vios sold in first month.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4

http://www.themalaymailonline.com/drive/article/toyota-vios-gets-20000-bookings

• squall_shinoda on Apr 25, 2014 at 4:00 pm

That Vios ikan keli only managed toget 20k bookings within 3 months…? Then it’s clear that this City finally tapaued the Vios ikan keli – City got 10k bookings within just a month…!!!

• matdan71 on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:29 pm

I have tried Nissan, Hyundai, suzuki etc
        …my wife city “pulled” me back to honda after a few years owning Tucson…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Zahid on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:12 pm

When odyssey will coming

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
    • odyssey latest model already came lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
    • Zahid on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Already came mehh?. Last month I went to Honda showroom the salegirl said no news and ask to book. I need to test drive before place my booking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • goto sumber auto pj. there is a test drive unit
        and it already launched
        http://honda.com.my/model/overview/odyssey

• Zila Honda on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:54 pm

Odyssey comes out in may. We hv just received the info.

• i was informed the oddyssey only will come by May or June. i placed my booking since february. not even one showroom got the car on display yet in malaysia.

• Zahid on Apr 25, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Tq for info

• RealTime on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Congrats to Honda malaysia. This result justifies the wonders good pricing can do. Much better off than some other AD trying to rip consumers with overly price-to-spec cars only to under achieve in sales volumes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Bye bye Vios…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 148 Thumb down 7
  • cendol (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:20 pm

This year all Honda employees can look forward to fat bonus and overseas vacation aka team-building event.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • Nizarazu on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:23 pm

congrats Honda..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • Odyssey already here la bang. but abit expensive.
    I wonder what’s Vios booking per month if compare to City..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • justLOL on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:27 pm

yeahh!!! finally there will be less catfishes (new vios) trailing me on the road.. pathetic road warriors! CITY FTW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • Confuse on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:28 pm

I plan to buy a car, but confuse to buy this City V spec or Cerato 1.6? Guys please advise me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
    • Zila Honda on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Honda is always the best choice with highest resale value. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
    • Stanley on Apr 24, 2014 at 4:08 pm

I personally own a cerato 2.0 for 6 mths now, fantastic car btw.
      But spec for spec between cerato 1.6 and city v spec is really isnt much separating them. I think its down the which taste of design u like i guess. Dont expect sports performance from either car at that engine capacity. Probably the difference is cerato 1.6 has DRL and back light LED, door pocket light and paddle shifters.. If u are not obsessed abt these difference (cosmetic) then the city V would be the one to choose cuz its nearly 9k cheaper.
      Abide the difference one a C segment the other a B segment, the interior room space of city is really huge like a D seg car.. Ive seen it myself at honda showroom.

So go figure..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
    • ahmad on Apr 24, 2014 at 4:19 pm

if you dont mind with Cerato 1.6 RV after few yrs, then go ahead.
      And also Cerato is C-segment car (while City is B-segment car), afraid that Cerato 1.6 is underpower. But if you are not heavy footer, then ok. However, Cerato design quite nice with 18 inch wheel and i like the memory power seat too including LED rear tail lamp.

• also confused before on Apr 24, 2014 at 11:49 pm

i feel u me confused. i recently eyed on city n polo sedan,then cerato 1.6. never have vios in my mind due to umw s××t.dropped vw because their infamous after sales services and cramped up rear passanger seat.then turned my head to city,decent car btw,but for me honda offering is not sincere enough, but still ahead from vios.yes for city e spec u can get the fog lamp can be bought at accessories shop, but why on earth honda did not get it installed at the 1st place.i’ve no problem on v spec, but the price difference is too small compare to cerato. installment wise, diff is less then 100 rggt. so i choosed cerato 1.6, i get better spec n 1 segment above, the only drawback is the brand. so anyway its up to you which one u choose. but for me i’ll be a bit happier to pay for cerato 1.6. good luck and enjoy ur future drive..(“,)..

p/s : i’m not kia salesman.

• Hello confuse, you can compare price to price, spec to spec, segment to segment if you r not bond to branding issues. Also take into account promotions, even mighty Vios can get cash rebate, let alone Cerato. So the actual price difference is sure less then what we expected. Don’t forget about fuel consumption and service/maintenance (which also includes in promotion). I found my answer, hope you’ll find yours.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:29 pm

Just before they stop posting sales figure by models, the Toyota Vios-dugong (2nd gen in normal language) holds the record with an estimated 7k cars average sold if I remembered correctly,making it the most successful foreign make model to be sold in bolehland. Before this Honda only manage to shift an average of 3k-5k city in its previous form.

So does this make it the most successful foreign branded vehicle in Malaysia? It’s definitely is a better seller than its predecessor very likely contributed by the lower el-cheapo S spec. But we want to know…….has it dethrown King UNcle Vios? And considering we’re expecting a hybrid variant of the city and also an updated Civic, reworked Jazz and all new Vezel/HRV…..Honda might meet its target and possibly this year ,Honda Malaysia will dethrone UncleMotorWorks for sales supremacy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
    • U still lack of certain skill.

It’s usual to get high sales at first launch, average sales is different from First launch sales.

anyhow, all Honda City, Toyota Vios and Nissan Almera are good cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 27
    • Acrix on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:34 pm

I think i read a report on the Star where UMW stated that they have already delivered 28k Vios since launch until April. I’m sure at the rate Honda is going they can match or better that figure in half years time.

• Shaun Tan on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:29 pm

I’m getting mine this sat v spec blue. Thanks Paultan and team helping me to finalize my decision. Power of Dreams

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
    • ARIFFIN on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 124
    • Hi shaun cn i know is that the touchscreen unit of V spec comes with built in GPS navigation?

• Shaun Tan on Apr 24, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Not built in but if u have iPhone5 and above u can use mirror apps or Honda link which I believe will be available soon for Malaysia

• owned good car,
    such remarkable numbers of booking is due to the raised of interest rate, ppl rush for march booking to lock on with the low interest rate.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • confuse on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Is that better than vios 1st month booking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • mark foster on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:36 pm

city the new vios

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • Bataman on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Dont like City…but at least its beter than a Vios which still runsbon ancient 4 gear AT from 30 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
  • Vios will be losing their crown in the B-Segment. Good job Honda. Hope this teaches a lesson to UMW for giving their consumers shitty specs

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 5
  • Aero (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Good, good, Honda MY, thank you for killing UMW Toyota’s sales.

Sincerely,
    The rakyat who appreciates the importance of car safety and modern technology at a reasonable price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 2
  • palan on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Booked mine for V Spec..and yes part of the outstanding numbers of bookings might be due to peoples rushing for ealry book in March to lock for low interest rate which now increased starting from April..V Spec is worth every penny compared to the stingy vios which lacking on VSC, 6 Airbags, Cruise Control etc…the only downside of City is only on its fabric seat against leather on vios, and its seat which is fabric

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • 4G63T DSM on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:04 pm

I don’t particularly fancy leather anyway.

Besides, if one really wants leather seats, you can aftermarket the leather seats. You can’t aftermarket VSC and airbags.

Proof if they give consumers what they want, they will sell.

Tough luck UMW.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 0
  • hantu on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:08 pm

toyota, i will buy vios if you give me rm20k discount or else……. CITY.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 0
    • UMW Hater on Apr 24, 2014 at 2:34 pm

Without VSC, give me Vios free also I won’t drive for myself, will sell back to Sam Loo and go buy City.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 6
  • kingston on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:32 pm

i heard from a Honda sales manager that sometimes these figures are cooked up and includes those booked but didn’t get their loan approved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
    • tukartiub on Apr 24, 2014 at 2:35 pm

booked mean booked not matter loan approve or not. Honda already collect booking fees. If loan approved we can consider sold/delivered already provided we sign the loan contract. for sure booked number more than delivered number.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • KangKungMan on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:34 pm

More discount given …. RM3000-RM5000 …… this year end :)

• Almera on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:36 pm

But thats what Vios is doing now. Been on promotion with RM2000-RM3000 rebate since March before City launch. Promotion is until end of April. 2 months of rebates in a barely half year old car will definitely affect Vios RV and also shows that they are scared of Honda!

• Denaihati on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Congratulation Honda Malaysia. it shows Honda power of dreams.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Yellow on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:46 pm

With those spec and features for a B segment car, Honda has set a benchmark here. pair with a good pricing and strategy, the result is predictable.

it is interest to see how the other competitors to respond.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • azrai on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:56 pm

For average Malaysian, it is still the power of dreaming. 9 years can only afford Myvi XT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Allen toyota subang on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:58 pm

Meh… ….Hxxxx….GUANCHAI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • Afraid on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Yup you are right, your Vios is the Guanchai deathtrap. No ESP, 2 airbags and low ANCAP ratings based on previous model results which if carry over to current model really means its a deathbox on wheels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 2:29 pm

This is what happens when you launch a good car, with decent prices and good safety and technology. Well done Honda, and goo bye Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Serious Buyer on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:21 pm

UMW can you hear the public voice? Wake up man, don’t be continue as Day Dreamer. You have taken for granted too much upon Malaysian. You can’t play this arrogant tactics any more. Malaysian buyers are well knowledge now. Can’t cheat any more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 0
  • messi on Apr 24, 2014 at 2:53 pm

I still can remembered when I booked the Honda City DSI during 2003. The booking for 1st month is 3000 units and need to wait for 3 months to get the car.

With 10,000 units and deliver within 2.5 months. They have done a good job and become the king of B segment car.

• funniman on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Wait till Honda Jazz come out….yr eyes will fall off.

• Norman J on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Salesman says coming in July. But i’m more interested with Vezel / HRV.

• funniman on Apr 24, 2014 at 8:06 pm

August/ Sep. only can see Jazz. Vezel hv to wait till next year. Yes Vezel is very cun, worth waiting for.

• Norman J on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Wonder which City spec sells the most? Could it be the S spec or the V Spec?

• So far saw at least 10 units on the road but its not the S spec. All the units i saw so far are either S+ or E models

• Well if you look at the first quarter market report for brand positioning Toyota has 24185 units while Honda 15627 units. Although Toyota is leading we must take into account that at least 1/3 of all Toyota sales are from commercial vehicles while Honda has no such commercial vehicles models.

I would say its a close fight this year for both T & H in the passenger vehicle segment and who knows maybe Honda will have the edge once the new Jazz and Vezel is launched later this year.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 24, 2014 at 9:01 pm

UMW is taking some serious hammering.

Taking off its commercial vehicle sales and pickups, they are barely above Honda.

Honda has it beat on all fronts. The Accord completely outclasses the Camry, The City buries the Vios, and the next upcoming civic will likely do better than the Altis. I have only seen ONE new Altis in the entire Klang valley so far.

UMW has all its shots fired, while Honda is still packing a loaded gun with the new Jazz, The new Odyssey (which will likely kill off the Official Estima and AP Estimas) and likely the Vezel later this year.

What Honda doesn’t grab from UMW, Mazda will. What Mazda doesn’t, the other Naza marques will.

Slim pickings for toyota salesmen.

• cendol (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Proton please release Suprima S number of bookings in first few months to public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • cendol (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 4:00 pm

I bet until my last dollar that Suprima S + Preve + Inspira all 3 add together cannot hit 10000 booking in first 2 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
    • nevermind la leave proton alone…they have thier supporter..no need to bash them..pity them too..they are trying..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • nighttrain on Apr 25, 2014 at 8:11 am

You don’t leave Proton alone. They need to look at this, and improve. Be better. So keep up the bashing, maybe Proton will try keeping up with the market.

• u keep bashing n proton will cry to government.. later pay more for non-national car..

• Who cares Honda or toyota got more sales. Honda or toyota doesn’t belong to me. It not me who make a profit if sales volume is high.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Whatever on Apr 24, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Personally, none of the Toyota models that I’ve found as attractive and value for money. Honda is a much better option.

• azrai on Apr 24, 2014 at 4:21 pm

Those 10k numbers easily fetch because of backlog booking for the last City which stop selling about 3 months before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • Acrix on Apr 25, 2014 at 10:13 am

Bro read the article properly. Its bookings for the BRAND NEW City since 22nd MARCH until now. The figures does not include the previous model la.

• palan on Apr 24, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Point A to point B…I bet most sales will go for the lowest spec of city…serves the purpose well for most ..as for me, min requirement for car has to be 6 airbags and VSC…rear aircond n autocruise are big bonus..H and N have wake up already…It’s only the big T that still sleeping with their day dream of holding the no 1 throne forever…but srwk is still a market place for toyota..we can hardly see other brand but toyota..but glad west malaysia peoples realized the value of car other than RV that T salesman keep on talking about…they are at serious threat n we shud be happy wif that

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 5:05 pm

City ve the best seats set up in sedan class.. shame on Nissan in this area.. all its sedan can’t fold rear seats.

• Krasher on Apr 24, 2014 at 6:39 pm

Agreed. That’s one of the reason I removed Almera from my buying list.

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Good move.. or else.. u go to IKEA.. want to buy & carry a long table (DIY).. longer than the boot.. then suddenly you realise you are driving Almeera or Slphy or Teana.. you ll need another type of car or pick up to carry it. Can you dig that Nissan? Is it too difficult to understand?

• nabill (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Cant help bt to think most of those buyers wer those who used to buy a proton n thy jump ship….cant blame them…

• pearjai on Apr 24, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Umw should get their lesson !….even taxed with more rm30k still outperform p1 suprima sale ! Just imagine these car taxed free….rm50k to rm60k….uiks ! At the myvian 1.5 ……vios ! Get losttttttt…..

• Krasher on Apr 24, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Beware that UMW might throw in more airbags with a Vios G “X” to encounter the City

• hantu on Apr 24, 2014 at 6:03 pm

umw should had done it long ago.

• Krasher on Apr 24, 2014 at 6:37 pm

They won’t. If Malaysia has cold climate, UMW might removed the airconds in all of their car for base spec.

• The price should be lower but because its too low it will hurt national car market. So they ends hiking the price a bit. Frankly speaking national car should catch up with the quality and the price. No more hiding under government shadow to feed them. Higher price burden the consumer.

• zuchie on Apr 24, 2014 at 8:48 pm

i just not understand…refer from honda .com.my..even high spec honda city 1.5L V…customer pay RM90k for rear brake drum… in India it self…more spec they get… WTF!!!

• Krasher on Apr 25, 2014 at 2:01 am

It’s not perfect but still much better than the dual airbag, 4 speed AT, no VSC crap

• you don’t understand?

hmm..ok..read more then pls.
      indian spec by more u mean:
      sunroof
      leather seat
      diesel variant

but indian spec:
      -dont hv vsc
      -dont hv 16inch alloy rim
      -dont have 6 airbag
      -dont have 7inch player with hdmi connection

indian n thailand also using rear drum brake.fyi.

• Give support where due. on Apr 24, 2014 at 9:07 pm

As u can see, all the umw cronies also went hiding dy. Maserati, Sam, showmehilux.
    Show support and tell the companies Malaysians are no longer stupid and know how to compare value and calculate rv. And not just listen to salesman here talk rv crap.
    Support what features honda offered by buying this car. At least recommend ur friends, colleagues, family to do so. Remember, if sales are bad, honda will no longer give these features again, especially the safety ones.
    So let’s boycott cut throat all umw sedans for good and support this car. Padan muka those who already already bought vios and cannot cancel booking. A really good lesson learnt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • krueger on Apr 24, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Totota? Baah! I salute salesman at Honda, better than Toyota. Came into Toyota showroom, nearly 1 hour nobody entertained me.. darn. They hate ppl with sandals, t-shirt or jeans or what? Went into Hondas, lots of smiles welcoming.. then the booking sealed. Enuf said, not mention about unlimited free white coffee stocks along the discussion. Good job Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Same thing happened to me. I went to Toyota showroom wearing shorts and sandals…he relunctantly answered my questions as if like i only have RM 10 in my bank account. Never offered a drink or anything. So.cocky. But i went to Honda showroom at Westar at Jalan Ampang, with same shirt and sandals…they treat me very well..offered a drink and explained everything very well…i straight booked my car. Toyota salesmen too cocky and arrogant..seriously very bad..

• Airwind on May 20, 2014 at 1:15 pm

lol. wear like that. not worthy to be in their “God car” xD

welcome to Honda :)

• wayyyy better than vios.

• WaJib on Apr 25, 2014 at 12:57 am

My friend drove 1st generation Vios wanted to change to new Vios. I told her “do you want to drive the same car with 4speed “indiana jones” gearbox in year 2014 just with new bodyshell?? She was like…

• motohead on Apr 25, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Toyota need to upgrade to 5 speed auto or cvt with torque converter. If possible with 7 speed paddle shifter or +- tiptronic. Customers are smart now, You can’t sell car with 4 speed auto in B segment anymore. Wake up Toyota.

• motohead on Apr 25, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Toyota need to upgrade to 5 speed auto. Or with 7 speed paddle shifter cvt. Customers are smart now, You can’t sell car with 4 speed auto in B segment. Wake up Toyota.

• i tak boleh percaya ada bangang yg ambil suprima to compare with city or vios..i just need to say one thing is if you langgar with a proton or perodua chances is you die!

• youbodok on Apr 25, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Preve/suprima is already have 5 star Australian NCAP, this city has how many stars?

hahahahah

• WaJib on Apr 25, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Ia tetap sebuah Proton… Jgn syiok sendiri

• youbodok on Apr 25, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Why so butthurt? Been smoked by preve everyday? You drive slow ok? Your car dont have such good safety rating I guess. Hahahahahahah

• Youbodok…saya kesian tgk awak…xpela…ckp je la apa yg buat awak rasa sedap hati… kami faham perasaan awak… be happy ok… jgn banding diri kite ngan org lain sgt..nnt sakit hati jer…huhu..

• totti on Apr 25, 2014 at 9:26 am

My friend drove 1st generation Vios wanted to change to new Vios. I told her “do you want to drive the same car with 4speed “indiana jones” gearbox in year 2014 just with new bodyshell?? She was like…

——————–

Is there a problem driving a 4 speed car with a better pick up and fuel economy as compared to 6 speeder?

Don’t forget parts are plenty and cheaper than the 6 speeder.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
    • what a stuppid ^ on May 08, 2014 at 6:19 pm

what a dumb comment.
      so 6 speeds have more parts than 4 speeds?
      6 speeds are more expensive?

did you actually compare?

LEL

• Samlok on Apr 25, 2014 at 10:00 am

Wow impressive sale, I think it eat up a lot of Toyota vios market.

• Sii Pai Gong on Apr 25, 2014 at 10:41 am

10K bookings , is it for real ? Many Companies nowadays like to quote high figures but at the end of the day, the actual registration figures don’t match.

• Krasher on Apr 25, 2014 at 5:31 pm

That’s why the title said “10k booking” instead of “10k registrations” ….*facepalm*

• breeze on Apr 25, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Just one thing to say, City is a much better car compare to the ‘kereta kosong’ Vios. Vios = ‘kill yourself car’.

• Sung Sang Sing on Apr 25, 2014 at 1:40 pm

City is better than vios. But campro cfe is better than i-vtec.

• Absolute Rider on Apr 25, 2014 at 7:46 pm

It’s all about value and quality. With same price range, people will choose vios/city than preve and suprima s.

I’ve complained many times about suprima s. Proton, had you listen? This is serious. Your half bake preve and suprima s really give you more problem in sales volume. your suprima s manual also can’t give you boost because of your interior design, quality and fit and finish plus most terrible is your ICE with navigation system!

• imghh on Apr 25, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Stupid, do you think here is USA where you got so many changes in facelift? Even big company like Honda don’t change the fugly rear lamp for bolehland version. Then you ask small company like proton?

• Absolute Rider on Apr 26, 2014 at 11:30 am

To imghh. I’m not going to call you stupid because I’m well educated. I’m talking about the same price range people can get better quality car than Proton. I’m not comparing segment.

The only thing I ask Proton to do is to improve the quality!

• Sam Looser on Apr 25, 2014 at 11:56 pm

Only sohai will still buy stone age vios without doing research n test drive.

• cant imaging there r still young ppl comparing proton to Honda, Toyota even Nissan,
    21th century, u been to sch n educated. clearly proton is an overpriced car that not favor local Malaysians. sell expensive here n subsidy on oversea sales. eg: 1 dollar down payment for savvy in UK. (this is so embarrassing) eg2: Australian buy proton to use as a moving junk metals, throw it away after use, as it is a paper underwear.

in the future younger Malaysian proton supporters will not be able to buy protong. as their price is approaching 100k. eg: bloody hell suprima ass, inspira.

continue ur support let their price go up higher n higher eg: proton inspira super duper luxury grand RM150K + 6% GST tqvm Malaysian! brilliant!

• So you want to say that you are old person who doesn’t read anything about proton that also has to pay hefty tax here? You go to Thai also you cannot get Preve much cheaper than here, not to mention City also has similar price there.

Go out from cave, age doesn’t mean anything if it comes with immature mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Bataman on Jun 30, 2014 at 10:35 pm

I drove an Inspira. This is CKD Lancer without the RM20K tax. What’s not to like? After 3 years+, still runs perfectly. And it still cost the same like 3 years ago except with improved specs.

Smart Guys Gets it. So hai, everyday complains at PaulTan.org

• clearly u don’t understand the actual fact that, the national car should be a lot cheaper for the locals, local buyers shd be prioritized.
    Honda, Toyota, Mazda for the Japanese, Hyndai, Kia for the Korean, their price range is a lot cheaper to sell locally, as in the same time, the features n specs are improving all the time. to make sure that the local benefits 1st n get the most out of their innovation.

unlike the proton, rebadging the cars copy n paste, use cheap plastics, old tech engine and sell high price to subsidy overseas sales and scream loud for Malaysian Boleh.

I wont saying cave stuff(as I think is impolite)but u r clearly naïve that cannot foresee how it damage our industries with this kind of practice.

ur comment r very similar to gov. always compare to the worst and not comparing to the good 1. R you r one of the members and benefited 1 from the local automobile industries.

• Hopefully this new city is less problem with qc issue compared with 2013 model. Not to mentioned also abt honda poor after sales service

• Sam Loo (Ori) on Jun 10, 2014 at 9:26 pm

Kia can’t even sell 3000 cars a year

• Bataman on Jun 30, 2014 at 10:33 pm

RIO + Cerato….i doubt all add up also don’t reach 3k.

RIO is quiet a good car, i would have bought one if it doesn’t drinks fuel like a Campro. Cerato is overpriced for an underpowered 1.6L C-Segment sedan which is no fun to drive at all, like trying pull cow up a tree.

• tai long on Jul 03, 2014 at 4:09 pm

bought city v spec rm90k for 3 months now….nothing special….better buy inspira…

• Hi all sifus. Recently I am planning to get a used 3rd gen City type E with peddle shift, year made 2011. Please confirm if VSA is not available for this version? Also the airbag accident involved 2nd gen City last year really freak me out and shaken my confident. Should I go ahead with the purchase?

http://paultan.org/2014/11/14/honda-malaysia-recalling-15734-vehicles-airbag-replacement-2003-2004-city-2004-jazz-involved/