Lotus opens 4S centre in Beijing, its first in the capital

lotus-beijing-01

Lotus has opened its first 4S Centre in Beijing in an event officiated by Proton advisor Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad. The national car architect was accompanied by Tan Sri Mohd Khamil Jamil, executive chairman of Proton and chairman of Group Lotus, as well as Aslam Farikullah, COO of Group Lotus.

The 4S centre has a footprint of approximately 1,000 square metres over four floors at the capital’s Golden Port Motor Park. It houses a showroom, comprehensive service centre, administrative office, merchandise retail corner, customers lounge and a training centre. There’s also a club house for Lotus owners. The service centre is equipped with three hoists, an engine repair room, plus diagnostic and special tools for Lotus cars.

lotus-beijing-02

“China’s growth has not only opened the eyes of the international business community, but it has also inspired us to open this new Lotus 4S Centre,” Farikullah said, adding that the opening is a form of acknowledgment for a market that has been receptive of the brand since its first venture there towards the end of 2011.

Lotus currently has eight dealerships in China, including in Shanghai, Chengdu and Dalian. Models currently sold in the Middle Kingdom include the Evora S IPS, the Exige S240/S260 and the Elise CR.

In Malaysia, Lotus launched the Exige S Roadster last month. The 345 hp sports car is priced from RM457k.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• akula on Apr 24, 2014 at 10:06 am

they should do this years ago, why so late???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Took them at least 100 years to sell 2-3 cars per month and settle that RM1 billion bank loans…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • china people no have money to buy this expensive car.. tu pasal datang malaya berlagak gila.

• thefact on Apr 24, 2014 at 10:07 am

y la use him to launch LOTUS there? seriously.. he didnt succeed in making our auto industry competitive…buat malu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 38
    • qwerty on Apr 24, 2014 at 11:15 am

It could be true that he did not make our market more competitive or give us a global brand, but he did manage to give hope to the poor in owning a car in their lives.

No matter how cheap can non-national cars be, they can never reach the sub-30k market and compete with models like Kancil and others.

Poorly-equipped as we might call it, but these low cost cars are indeed useful to them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 32
      • Low Budget on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:38 pm

If all foreign car manufacturers get the same treatment as P1 and P2 in Boleh Land, I am sure many brands will market sub RM 30K cars here.
        The Gomen has fooled many citizens by giving the perception they make the Jaguh Kampung cars cheap for them to enjoy so that they can appreciate their effort.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
      • Vader on Apr 24, 2014 at 2:05 pm

Don’t bull shit, China brand 1.5 SUV already sell ~RM50k.
        If dont have the stupid tax system, it may even low..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • thefact on Apr 24, 2014 at 2:12 pm

how did u know foreign cars cant be 30k? oh wait…where is 30k car in malaysia? which model? and even that the bulk of sales still is overpriced MYVI’s..

• Low Budget on Apr 24, 2014 at 3:48 pm

He probably meant P2 Viva 660-850cc. or the Proton Saga SV manual.

• mh370 on Apr 24, 2014 at 2:30 pm

check on same oil export country as us, Brunei, UAE all Tax free and cheap oil and cheap hell car, you appreciate after all this negligible dull have done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 11:36 am

i just knew that boleh protective tariff start in February 1966 after study done by Arthur D. Little Inc…Volvo first to open assembly plant in 1967 n by “1980” there were 11 assembly plant that make cars for Fiat, Mitsubishi, Volvo, Honda, Peugeot, Mercedes Benz, Toyota, Daihatsu, Ford, Chrysler, land Rover, Citroën….
      In comparison Thailand start similar protective tariff in early 1960 (import tariff) and further to CBU import ban in 1978(lifted in 1994). By the “late 1960s” all Japanese carmakers (Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Mitsubishi, Daihatsu, Isuzu), three European carmakers (Volvo, Renault Mercedes) and the two major US carmakers Ford and General Motors) were present in Thailand…
      By 1990 boleh produce 165k vehicle (80k of those is p1 70% market share) and thailand 160k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • thefact on Apr 24, 2014 at 2:10 pm

no need to go so far bro. moving forward what is the gov doing with NAP? have u even read the policies in Thailand or Indonesia?
        Mahathir started something that he didnt c it through. same as perwaja steel. what happened to that?

we cant be comparing to those days and so on when other countries are pulling ahead. some may not agree what i say here, because most dont read.

for your info guys..even INDIA is using Euro 4 fuel. INDIA for gods sake! and they r enjoying modern efficient turbodiesel.. y cant intro here? cause proton cant make one good engine?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
        • BLUR SOTONG on Apr 24, 2014 at 4:27 pm

Bro. Thanks for you info, even India is running a better grade fuel than Malaysia . India 25 percentage of its population earning less than USD 2 , more than a 100 millions of their people had never see or use a proper toilet, had better fuel than us . So Malaysian had to cry la ='(

• thefact on Apr 24, 2014 at 10:20 pm

yeah a country in poverty is still more advanced in their implementation than Malaysia..so where does it put malaysia then?.u r truly blur sotong :)

• slk3879 on Apr 24, 2014 at 4:40 pm

So, what’s your point?

• abdullah on Apr 24, 2014 at 10:17 am

Dr. M is obsessed with Lotus.
    Flogging a dead horse!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 18
    • Low Budget on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:40 pm

Not really flogging, they just re-surrect the dead horse. Whether the re-surrected horse can last another mile has yet to be seen.

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 8:20 pm

Zombie horse then.

• They are always late…. at doing things, that is why they are screwed in this competitive industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
  • foxtrot on Apr 24, 2014 at 10:38 am

horse ded flog nao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • abdullah on Apr 24, 2014 at 10:39 am

This ketuanan Melayu guy want to sell cars in China?
    Shame!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 44
    • TeresaCockCNYClown on Apr 24, 2014 at 11:44 am

Are you saying that only doubtful-quality China cars can be sold everywhere they like?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
      • Low Budget on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Doubtful qualities? How doubtful? Any research papers from u to publish?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • TeresaCockCNYClown on Apr 24, 2014 at 6:36 pm

Why don’t you go wasting your time doing research on how high the quality of China product instead?

• Low Budget on Apr 24, 2014 at 7:14 pm

From car topic to China products? Ok lah’ don’t u know that most of Boleh Land Mobile backend are powered by made in china switches? huawei is world number 1 now. The new 4G operator Altel owned by the famous malay cronies just signed huge contract with huawei day before yesterday

• Muthu on Apr 24, 2014 at 10:03 pm

Switches from China? Wow!! Clap clap clap. Hope you publish your low budget research.

• dingdong bell on Apr 25, 2014 at 8:55 am

check on your apple iphone or nike eben more name out brand ,MADE IN CHINA, buatan malaysia ensure you even quality?

• Bryan on Apr 24, 2014 at 11:04 am

What!… Mahathir wants to do business with the “Cina Komunis”???!!! Will wonders never cease. I guess when there is a buck to be made, everything else goes out the window……..including all ‘holier than thou’ principles….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Low Budget on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Everyone has 2 face lah bradder! one face would be ‘talk kock’ and the other ‘bodek’ the more powerful countries.

• kzm (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 11:05 am

But he did kick start boleh local auto industry even though not successful…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • Ketuanan Melayu Champions should be ashame what he had done to Malaysia. Oppress other races still no shame to explore market in China

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 20
    • TeresaCockCNYClown on Apr 24, 2014 at 6:46 pm

RBA @ racism….inseparable……every time, every where, every thing…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • bisakeris (Member) on Apr 26, 2014 at 7:08 pm

bla bla RBA = racist..

• DAP @ racism….inseparable……every time, every where, every thing…..

• Polo Saga on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:00 pm

The evil one? Hell is awaiting….

• Low Budget on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Heaven and Hell can wait, meanwhile be the Bolehland chief marketers, after Lotus, he will follow up with marketing SV models to Chinamen.

• Joyrider on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:20 pm

It’s China Market – The Largest Automotive market in the world. But Chinese prefer to speak & communicate in Chinese.
    It’s Sad that Lotus Management under DRB-Hicom doesn’t even have one Capable Malaysian Chinese to represent Lotus in China.
    I doubt it will ever be successful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:52 pm

Not to late to send ex-MCA chief to China, he can speak Chinese. Some more huh girl friend also from China.

• Guan Yin Maa on Apr 24, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Come on DR MAMAK , if you so love lotus, why msia still need to tax lotus ? Since lotus is under proton, technically it is our national brand oso .If you take out the tax , I am sure our road will be flooded will LOTUS ELISE that cost only RM 90k. What a stupid old man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • Aero (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Mr. Aslam Farikullah, I don’t know who you are, but you better do your new job properly at Proton.

If you mess up, you will lay waste all the efforts of D.S. Syed Zainal Abidin, and that would be absolutely unacceptable.

Please hurry up and launch the Prevé and Suprima S in China (and the U.K. and Middle East) before it is too late. It is long overdue. China is Proton’s best market, do more please and don’t be ‘syiok sendiri’ or easily satisfied.

Sincerely,
    A loyal supporter (but not a fanboy) of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • macai on Apr 24, 2014 at 5:28 pm

A loyal supporter must buy a Proton.

Berapa bijik Proton lu sudah beli? Cakap mesti serupa bikin

• Aero (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 6:56 pm

3 biji.

1999 Proton Wira Aeroback 1.5 (MT)
        2007 Proton Saga 1.3 50th Merdeka Edition (MT)
        2012 Proton Saga FLX Standard 1.3 (CVT)

Also 1 biji non-Proton,

2011 Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8E (CVT)

Of all the cars, I’m least satisfied with the Altis and most fond of the Wira. The Wira is still running strong today. I currently drive the 2007 Saga. I already met a Proton SA and I told him when the Prevé / Suprima S 6-spd manual launches in Malaysia, call me.

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 24, 2014 at 8:26 pm

What with the Altis? Your wira is Lancer platform. . Mitsu tech. Gen2 lupa beli ke bro? Tiara.. apsal x beli? Juara? Waja? Pandai pula lu beli yg x problematic ya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • bisakeris (Member) on Apr 26, 2014 at 7:19 pm

! All the best to Lotus ! ya i know proton.. lotus all r not doing well.. n i also dont believe that they can really compete in china market.. but still, from my heart, i say all the best to them :)

• Lotus seed on Apr 24, 2014 at 4:16 pm

Lotus success or not makes no diff to ordinary Malaysian joe on street,
    car ownership still burden cos of high tax…
    Even if Lotus brand jatuh dalam longkang,
    Malaysians wont give two hoots!

• Murderer on Apr 24, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Here goes our rakyat’s money again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
    • rakyat money kepala hotak ko

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Both Proton and Lotus are now owned by DRB-HICOM.

Complaining about car prices and start comparing with UK, Aussie etc….do you guys know that income tax in both countries are 33%-44% compared to Malaysia 23%? I know becoz ive worked there! if not try Google! and in Aussie medicine is bloody damn expansive…I know becoz Im there right now…

• dingdong bell on Apr 25, 2014 at 9:06 am

Do some Survey plz, cost living is high due high GDP and PPP rate advance country, in exchange if you truly skillful you able earn as much as you afford, please remember we oil export country as UAE and brunei and saudi arabic all TAX free even russian only 9% income tax only and one share common is their car FREAKING CHEAP—–!

• Murderer on Apr 26, 2014 at 2:20 am

Mel Mel …Australia income tax r so high but people there willing to b taxed because at the end there’s something in return. In Malaysia what do we get?? Birkin’s bag???

• bisakeris (Member) on Apr 26, 2014 at 7:22 pm

wtf.. r u dumb or what??? drb money la..

• Murderer on Apr 26, 2014 at 8:54 pm

haha u r even dumber. No wonder too many Malaysians like you kena tipu especially the old hag up there who tipu u u fool!!

• carman on Apr 25, 2014 at 9:38 am

Funny how Kepong based car company Bufori beat them to it with Shanghai showroom opening in 2012
    http://www.bufori.com/en/news/bufori_opens_showroom_in_shanghai.html

• Samlok on Apr 25, 2014 at 10:31 am

Good luck lotus

• bisakeris (Member) on Apr 26, 2014 at 7:27 pm

kena hormat org tua.. so i sincerely pray that dr.m n wife always in good health :)

• Murderer on Apr 27, 2014 at 2:04 am

Wtf… there r many org tua outhere who r really in poor health n wealth. This old hag u so concern abt dun even give u a damn u fool!

I don’t even want to start this but I can’t tahan see u so respect this old hag! FYI my Taman full of immigrants all thks to him.. oh y he didn’t choose to go Malaysia’s hospital I also curious … Why!?!?

It’s either u r his ‘conny’ or u r so blinded by his love… Foolkeris.