GALLERY: New and old Nissan Sylphy side-by-side

Nissan_Sylphy_new_vs_old_004

The new 2014 Nissan Sylphy may not have a ground-breaking design, but put it side-by-side with the car it replaces like we did and you may start thinking otherwise. The original G11 Sylphy has certainly aged since its 2008 debut, yet there’s no denying the paradigm shift the new B17 Sylphy represents.

Not when the differences are as stark as this. From the outside, you wouldn’t have guessed that the two are even related at all. It’s not quite a sexy car, the new one, but its dynamic contours and sharp lines sure project a fair bit more road presence than its bold, yet rather featureless predecessor.

Nissan_Sylphy_new_vs_old_018

Round the back, tauter curves make the B17 appear more grounded and less bulbous than the G11. It helps too, of course, that the wheels have been upsized from the 16-inchers of old to the new one’s multi-spoke 17-inch design. Fills up the (now more pronounced) wheelarches better.

Also improved is the choice of tyres: up from the blunt 195/60 R16 Bridgestone B250 items on the old car to more upmarket 205/50 R17 Continental ContiPremiumContact 2E rubbers on the new. Another favourable move is the inclusion of rear disc brakes, in place of standard rear drum brakes on the G11.

Dimensions have been altered slightly. Much has been said of the original Sylphy’s narrow footprint, and so the new one is a full 60 mm wider. At 4,615 mm-long, it’s 50 mm shorter than before too – all of which have come off the overhangs, as the class-leading 2,700 mm wheelbase remains.

The Sylphy’s cabin has gone through an extensive makeover too. From the dashboard to the seats, and everything else in between, it’s all new. Silver trim pieces now replace the wood inserts in the old car, and there’s now a proper push start button instead of a crude make-shift twist-to-start mechanism.

Nissan has completely revamped the rear seats, which now take on a more conventional form instead of the unorthodox ‘clamshell’ approach of the old car. This change is certain to split opinions, though passengers in the new car benefit from a 30 mm-wider shoulder room and the inclusion of rear air-con vents.

Changes under the hood are less dramatic. Out goes the MR20DE 2.0 litre C-VTC engine of the G11, replaced by a more advanced MRA8DE 1.8 litre Twin C-VTC motor in the B17. Though identical on paper, the Xtronic CVT transmission in the new car is of a newer design.

Nissan_Sylphy_new_vs_old_010

Predictably, engine outputs are down from 133 PS at 5,200 rpm and 191 Nm at 4,400 rpm to 131 PS at 6,000 rpm and 174 Nm at 3,600 rpm. As such, the horsepower drop is near negligible, while the maximum torque, though significantly less, is now available much lower in the rev range.

Last, but certainly not least is the very welcome upgrade from just two to six airbags, and the standard inclusion of electronic stability control across the range. The Sylphy sure has come a long way since the original. Compare the new and the old in our exclusive like-for-like gallery below, and if you haven’t, do take a look at our comprehensive review and walk-around video of the new Nissan Sylphy.

2014 B17 Nissan Sylphy 1.8 VL
2012-2013 G11 Nissan Sylphy 2.0 XV

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• The new car is inarguably a welcome replacement of the old car which has the narrow, tall looks that has never managed to appeal to me, and don’t even mention the weird looking grille and lamps. Not quite a fan of Nissan and their CVTs though, so I’ll just give this a pass.

On a side note, better alternatives: Ford Focus, Kia Cerato and (insert drum roll) Mazda 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 38
  • well done

• hafiz on Apr 25, 2014 at 8:47 pm

I think you just misspaste the engine pics…

• Accord on Apr 25, 2014 at 8:51 pm

Which one is new and which one is old???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
  • 50rangers on Apr 25, 2014 at 9:12 pm

The new one is indeed better looking but still maintaining the ugly rear. This is not a bad choice though.

• Hahaha on Apr 25, 2014 at 9:23 pm

The only thing i dun like abt this car is the handbrake lever. It should be placed nearer to the driver side so that when little kids playing around they wont accidentally pulled the lever.. Others is okayy and it is comparable to kia cerato but jux the cerato looks nicer :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 26, 2014 at 11:21 am

Accidently pulled? If accidently pushed is believable..either way u should fasthen ur children with seatbelt or use isofix for little guy..u should not make ur children monkeying when car moving..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • Colin Wong on Apr 26, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Hahaha, I think the steering wheel should be made smaller so that little kids and more so bigger kids with itchy hands do not turn the steering.

• No front parking sensors and rear still only two sensors?!? LOL even the kia picanto has four rear sensors hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Motorhead (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Downgrade the engine. Good job.

• y the blue number plate look so fake?

• Denaihati on Apr 25, 2014 at 10:20 pm

Slightly higher may be due to 17″ tyre or high front hood, interior changes also much better, nice stylist modern dashboard. i realist no 7″ multimedia player.
    rear air-con vents also a best part.

• Green on Apr 26, 2014 at 12:18 am

Old Sylphy: 195/60 R16
      = 2(7.68″x0.6) + 16″
      = 25.22″ diameter

New Sylphy: 205/50 R17
      = 2(8.07″x0.5) + 17″
      = 25.07″ diameter

New Sylphy got a smaller Tyre (but wider), bigger rim.

• spongewai on Apr 25, 2014 at 10:56 pm

hmm, new engine, new chassis, new gearbox, better quality and same OLD colors plus more safety features

• After test drove new Sylphy 1.8 and Altis 2.0 back to back my conclusion:

1- Go for Altis since the price difference is negligible
    2- Altis better car to drive
    3- Better looking inside out
    4- Sylphy is too pricey with manual AC knobs, RM95K or the most RM105K is more sensible pricing for a Civic and Corolla competition
    5- Missing of VSA for both cars
    6- Nissan should revive Sentra moniker and let the Sylphy nameplate for 2.0l car
    7- I believe another LATIO in the pipeline (very rare car on the roads)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 47
    • Eh sylphy got vsa la

• Unkel on Apr 26, 2014 at 7:18 am

interesting , 1.Yes, 2.Neutral,3.Agreed, 4.True, ..5. VDC in Sylphy

• littlefire on Apr 26, 2014 at 9:16 am

Bro, VSA+6 air bags is all standard across new Sylphy 1.8L, while Altis to have all the safety features is 2.0V & not the normal 2.0G spec… Besides that the normal 2.0V only have 2 air-bags standard, which the additional 4 or 5? air-bags still need to upgrade (add $$$) to additional safety package.. Which cost around 136~140k..

http://www.nissan.com.my/vehicles/all-new_sylphy/explore/highlights

http://www.toyota.com.my/corolla-altis/?mid=price#price

Please google it or search in here for more accurate info…

• I will Pay for the Best Vehicle.

Rather than getting a Car That is Super Value, but not full Satisfaction.

• Sorry…it was a mistake. The Nissan C – segment got VSA but still doesn’t make the sans VSA Altis 1.8E or 2.0E short of most buyers choice.

I’m a Nissan proud owner but that alone never make me like the Sylphy- test drive it you’ll understand why l bet new Sylphy only will emulate Old Sylphy.

Civic 1.8 also few hundred RM dearer.

• Nicivo on Jun 17, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Toyota SA alert!!!!
      you must be a toyota SA, your altis is overpriced and underspec

• A good step forward. But why can’t Nissan actually stick to their ongoing design language? like their new iconic grill in their new Murano or Qashqai. Why does this new Sylphy look so different from those?

• Carlos on Apr 26, 2014 at 12:46 am

Boring Ride & Handling yet overpriced car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Obviously it’s a Nissan Sentra in the US. Exactly same car.
    The existing Sylphy is ugly looking on our soil.
    If you have about 120k to spend on a car, try Honda City, Civic 1.8, Altis, etc. You have a lot of choice.
    And you will surely get a good resale value for your cars. I am not sure how well is Sylphy’s resale value though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Mazda3> civic>sylphy>altis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Basic spec for 115K with 3 years warranty is a rip off.

• Lunatic on Apr 26, 2014 at 9:59 am

Looks better now !

• Walter Ty on Apr 26, 2014 at 11:04 am

The G11 Sylphy remains in production in Russia as the Nissan Almera with a single 1.6-litre petrol engine.

• brian on Apr 26, 2014 at 11:42 am

izzit just me that i prefer the old design, put fit and finish aside

• At one glance, new Slyphy look so much better compare to all previous Nissan C segment car .Have my booking fees paid and when the test drive opportunity arise, i didn’t waste any time.

My 2 cents based on my own observation;-
    I Like
    1)Fresh Design
    2)6 A/bags, ABS eyc etc etc.
    3)Keyless entry and many more gadget
    4)Comfortable seat ( at least for me )back n front
    5)em.. cant think of any more.

I dislike
    1) Pricey for 1.8
    2) NVH is a letdown. High speed at 120km and pick up.
    3) Gear shift. Kind of weird.( not smooth and roaring sound is loud)
    4) Heater … who on earth in Malaysia need a heater… we need 2 hoursepower aircon, not heater Tan Chong.
    5)No electric seat ( at least with that, price, throw in something to pamper your customers la TC
    6)Moon rooft will be nice to be added in.
    7) NO GPS but have the features. ( sigh….teruk this dealer.. )

I have a Nissan and the way the throw thier price and giving promotion, it makes we think real hard if i should continue with Nissan..oppps…i mean TC.

Anyway, just my 2 cents, please feel free to agree and disagree. Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 26, 2014 at 2:05 pm

New design looks so much better than the old one. Its gonna be a nice and comfortable, yet practical family car. It is not for the young people who want a free revving engine with VTEC kicking in, or a fast shifting DSG or a dynamic ride with Control Blade suspension.

This is for the people who just want a car that will last, make sense, comfortable on those long commutes to work and to the hometown. It’s safe and pretty good value for money. And, since it is a Nissan, it will be pretty easy to maintain (after all, it has no fancy double clutch and all that good stuff).

And for that, I’d say Nissan did a pretty good job, its a honest car, not a wannabe. That’s pretty important, after all, its no point to be a jack of all trades but a master of none.

Though, one thing they should consider changing is offering a beige colour leather option, I know people will say it is difficult to maintain, but it is actually not bad for those who do, and it looks really nice in that upholstery… but that’s nitpicking. Good on you Nissan, we have hopes for the new Teana so don’t screw that up okay?

• ayooo…soo uncle ler

• samlok on Apr 27, 2014 at 12:12 am

My kid say this car looks so lau beh!

• CarFan on Apr 27, 2014 at 7:57 am

Yay.

A shit car for Stupid Smelly Malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • joemanap on Apr 27, 2014 at 10:36 am

I think lancer GTE is better

• In Middle East this is sold as Nissan Sentra. Also in US market. No idea why TC decided to use different name.

• Albert Lee on Apr 27, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Most of the Nissan range of cars are pretty steep in terms of pricing except the Almera( profit margin lower,but they have the volume) .
    Well,I must tell you,Tan Chong is a master craftsman as far as PROFITS are concerned cos One of their directors went to the same secondary school as me.
    They CANNOT TOLERATE LOSSES and their ULTIMATE GOAL IS MAXIMUM PROFITS inspite of steep competition.
    The only setback BUYERS must think is the RESALE VALUE of Nissan cars.
    By the 3rd year ,the resale value is very much below the outstanding BANK LOAN,buyers pls beware and do your homework before placing your booking.

• NissanCarDriver on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:31 am

Pray Hard for your Nissan Car, Spare parts super expensive.

• CarFan on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:52 am

Ha ha ha!
      That is why this is a shitty car for stupid smelly Malaysian’s like yourself.
      The name says it all – syphillis. Ha ha ha!
      TCM would be laughing all the way to the bank selling this crap to dumb Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • messi on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:06 am

The TC got the pricing wrong this time with above RM 110K above for a 1.8 Car. You will get a big discount at least RM 15K after 4 months from now.

The previous latio 1.8 selling at below RM 100 also facing a hard time on sale and they expect the new sylphy 1.8 doing well at RM 110K?

Nissan only can fight T & H with lower price range like Almera (10% lower). If they bring in the 1.6 sylphy and sell below RM 88K then stand a change to be the king of B segment car like almera.

Otherwise, just a failure in the making to sell at RM 110K and depreciation in 3 years reduce to half.(RM 60K).

2 years (2012) Teana 2.5 selling below RM 100K from dealer and you can imagine the trade in price to be below RM 90K.

With pricing above RM 110K. H&T should be the choice.