Merc C 450 AMG Sport to slot in under the C 63 AMG?

Mercedes-Benz C250, AMG Line, Avantgarde, Diamantsilber metallic

Want a fast W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class but don’t quite fancy the brutish, over-the-top character of a C 63 AMG? Well, the rumoured C 450 AMG Sport may just be the perfect solution for your first world problem.

Numerous reports have appeared online suggesting that Stuttgart will add a C 450 AMG Sport variant to bridge the large gap between the 333 hp C 400 and 450-500 hp C 63 AMG. The new model will likely use an uprated 367 hp version of the C 400’s 3.0 litre twin-turbo V6 (which we quite like in the E 400).

Its 0-100 km/h time should be closer to four rather than five seconds (the heavier E 400 takes just 5.3 seconds after all). The ‘AMG Sport’ name would also imply that it will come with a bespoke AMG-tuned chassis setup, just like the similarly badged, Affalterbach-fettled A 250 AMG Sport.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• AMG Fan on Apr 25, 2014 at 4:10 pm

This car will be more friendly to Malaysia road tax.

• European car-makers nowadays want to fill up whatever niche they feel there is a gap. ridiculous.

good looking car but not reliable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
    • u should just shut up n stick to driving proton. Loser

• VTEC in car (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:00 am

Agree… I think proton is more reliable. U can use as dump truck, as taxi, as limo… as what ever u want. Shd change their name to TransPROmer. Coz they also can Transform from Mitsubishi & Honda to become Proton. Proton boleh!

• puzzled on Apr 25, 2014 at 5:16 pm

so whats the difference between a CLA45 AMG and this car??quite confused here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • CLA is actually A CLASS with a boot (sedan version of A class), whereas C class is C class by itself.

• Furion3 on Aug 24, 2014 at 2:27 am

tnt,
        Nope, you almost got it right but not quite. CLA is a class of it’s own. It’s not a sedan, it’s actually a 4 door coupe.
        It uses the same platform as A class, so does GLA.
        C Class is a notch above CLA. Look at it like this.
        C Class = 3 series
        CLA Class = 2 series (both coupes)

• C-class is a proper entry level to Mercedes Benz. While A, B, and CLA are mainly for niche market. CLA is actually targeting younger hippies. While C-class for those who want a proper RWD Merc.

• Furion3 on Aug 24, 2014 at 2:35 am

John,

C class is not an entry level to Mercedes Benz. Well, not anymore. Perhaps in the 90s. Now, entry level Merc will be an A Class, CLA, GLA.
        Mercedes Benz is moving on with the times to keep up with the current trends. So should you with your mind set.

• heybadigol on Apr 25, 2014 at 6:08 pm

So many news on the new C Class. But when is it gonna actually come here? Can’t wait to see one of these here.

• Wait till European market has fully launched this. Otherwise, we can perlahan-perlahan tunggu. Soon la, maybe end of this year.