Nissan develops a prototype car that can clean itself!

nissan-self-cleaning-car-13

Subaru did this as an April Fools’ gag last year, but it looks like we must be careful what we wish for – Nissan has developed a prototype Note that, in a manner of speaking, can clean itself.

It does so with the help of specially-engineered super-hydrophobic and oleophobic paint, which repels water and oils. The self-cleaning Note will be tested over the coming months in a variety of conditions to assess the real-world performance of the paint as a potential aftermarket application.

Nissan is the first carmaker to apply the technology, called Ultra-Ever Dry, on automotive bodywork. By creating a protective layer of air between the paint and environment, it effectively stops standing water and road spray from creating dirty marks on the car’s surface.

The coating, which is being marketed and sold by UltraTech International, has so far responded well to rain, spray, frost, sleet and standing water. Nissan says there are currently no plans to apply the technology to the model as standard, but will consider it as a future aftermarket option.

The Nissan Note already has a rear-view camera that cleans itself with a wash-and-blow-dry – water and compressed air is used to automatically keep the lens free of dirt and ensure the Note’s safety sensors work in all conditions.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Najib Razak (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Nowadays, Humans need cars that can :

1. Park by itself.
    2. Clean by itself.
    3. Change gear by itself (Auto).
    4. Drive by itself.

When will Optimus Prime and his friends come from Cybertron?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 6
    • mh370 on Apr 25, 2014 at 3:57 pm

and a plane disappear by itself

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 67
    • kadajawa (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 4:21 pm

5. Power window that repair itself.

Lots of Proton owners hati gembira boleh tidur lena malam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 27
      • Dino years (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 6:01 pm

why not wind down by itself then for that matter…?

• How about a gearbox that can repair by it self? For sure the all VW owners will happy..

How about a dashboard can prevent it self from melt down? For sure the owner of Camry sv40 will be very happy

I think its better for you to start follow up all the car brands facebook group and only then you reallized that nowadays most of the new cars are so problematic and it even on the same problematic level as proton.. and worst is most of it priced too much over then Proton.. good luck of buying new car and get prepared to spent your time at SV.. Its just that, if Proton is problematic, the price of the parts is much cheaper.. and Proton practice replacing the problematic parts other than repair it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • justLOL on Apr 25, 2014 at 5:05 pm

photoshop alert!!!! look a the grill and the headlamp on the self cleaning paint and compare it to traditional paint.. the grill and headlamps is clean as a whistle.. shouldnt ve vice versa! lol at the PR and marketing team!

• justLOL on Apr 25, 2014 at 5:08 pm

was referring to this pic..
        http://paultan.org/2014/04/25/nissan-self-cleaning-car/nissan-self-cleaning-car-10/

• BoXy (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 5:50 pm

I only need a car loan that pays by itself :)
      But this is one hell of an innovation by Nissan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 1
      • It is call hydrophobic spray paint. Buy a spray tin of this, and u can spray on whatever item u want. It will act as a repellent to keep away the water and dirt. Google it to find more info.

• superman on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:57 am

apparently it is a type of paint and coating that repels the durt and mud. very impressive. maybe soon we will have cars that change their oil themselves and tell you where to go today.

• Raikkonen on Apr 30, 2014 at 10:46 am

They will come from CyberJAYA for you – Mr. Najib!

• Chin Dian Yu on Apr 25, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Ada bagus…

• Vader on Apr 25, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Not bad ya.
    Previously having the auto recover from scratch, now auto cleaning.
    Then can bye bye to car coating car wash centre.. Hehe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • TheDean on Apr 25, 2014 at 3:25 pm

This technology should be encouraged by Malaysia to save water consumption because our vanity for clean-looking cars + dirty air/road + weather = frequent washing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • KangKungMan on Apr 25, 2014 at 3:31 pm

1000% Agree … Save water … but it won’t cheap for such coating. :) Normal coating fall RM800-RM5K or more…

• Dino years (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 6:03 pm

oh really malaysian car owners are vain? has anyone noticed singapore cars are NEVER dirty or even scratched/dented?

• brown kid on Apr 25, 2014 at 7:50 pm

because they dont even drive it?
        only when auto show car they will use it

• You sure if I throw a fresh dogs pooh, it won’t sticks there?

• Hotday on Apr 25, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Woah. Good tech. But maybe need to wait 10 years for tcm to introduce here i believe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • dingdong bell on Apr 25, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Bring it to me, im lazy to wash my car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • nothing innovate. this technology exist for some time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Agree, hydrophobic coating (or non-stick coating) act as a repellent to water and dirt. In the US, they can be purchase in spray can form.

• Fancy on Apr 26, 2014 at 1:40 pm

You are right dude,it’s just a coating and is done by some third party com, Nissan claim it as their technology? Try google Ultra Ever Dry, this company is selling solutions that can be applied on any tools.

• Car wash fellows got to close shop than.

• azrai on Apr 25, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Selangor’s MB surely give subsidy for this since it will save a lot of water. Reduce number of foreign workers at carwash also. Restaurant owner should consider nanotech plate and utensils for their shop soon.

• BoXy (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Not sure about the selangor MB …but your idea of nanotech plate etc is actually rather creative and workable ! ( price is another issue)… I can forsee nanotech will hv more and more influence in our lives in future.

• Ben Dover on Apr 25, 2014 at 4:51 pm

This tech has existed for years. Humans have been wanting to see it applied to everything, yet it is still nowhere to be seen. Nissan is late to the game sticking it on a car and we are supposed to be wowed? this should be default on all vehicles by now. 2014 and we are bunch of retards who let basic shit liek this be a premium aftermarket option.
    It does not even need testing, we know it works. Videos on youtube of this shit coating EVERYTHING.

• PERFECT !!
    very good ideas for fellow Malaysian.

• What’s the big deal? They just sprayed Never Wet on the car.

• albag on Apr 25, 2014 at 6:19 pm

wow… i would love to have such car… save a lot of car wash effort since i’m very particular in car cleanliness… probably the only thing we have to do is clean the rims & tyres…

• nabill (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Nah,thrs a special joy to b had when u wash ur car urself,alit more satisfying,nissan should spend more on their ugly designs latly,we do our washing ourselves!

• pearjai on Apr 25, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Should change the main title la ! Just the coating segment only la….prototype car kononnnnnn…

• kusochon on Apr 25, 2014 at 9:10 pm

khas untuk orang yg duduk di selangor

• What Malaysians need badly.

• DrCooper on Apr 26, 2014 at 3:06 pm

It’s not really an innovation from Nissan, research dirt repelling solution has been on since the dawn of Tribology studies.. but applying it on a car is new things though.

• vanhoe on Apr 26, 2014 at 6:53 pm

I remember reading about this stuff a while ago.
    http://arstechnica.com/gadgets/2013/03/the-internet-demanded-partially-scientific-testing-of-ultraeverdry-in-hd/

• Apollo on Apr 27, 2014 at 11:52 am

Waiting for Sam Loo to enlighthen us with his comments on Nissan’s new feature.

• cAR wASH bOT on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:15 am

not even SELF cleaning….

• well this nano tech chemical do bring miracle effect to the area it applied…may check it out in youtube and will see various type of water/paint repellent effect…just wonder how is the durability as our environment here…

• coating on Apr 29, 2014 at 2:23 pm

just a car with hydrophobic coating on half of its body. no big deals. coating will not last long anyway.