Petron Malaysia introduces new Miles privilege card

Petron Miles Launch by Petron Country Manager Vice President of Petron Corp and Head of Retail Petron Malaysia (4)

Petron Malaysia has launched its Miles privilege card at the Royale Chulan in Mutiara Damansara yesterday, the company’s first in-house loyalty programme since entering the local market in 2012.

Miles replaces the Smiles loyalty card that was a legacy of the Esso/Mobil infrastructure the Filipino company acquired. The over 1.5 million current Smiles members across the country will have their points converted into Miles points once they switch over. Membership is free for life and there is no expiry date on the points.

Members receive one point for every ringgit spent on fuel – claimed to be the highest rate of all fuel loyalty programmes in Malaysia – which can be earned at all 560 Petron, Esso and Mobil stations nationwide. The points can then be spent on Petron fuels and products as well as items from Treats convenience stores and the rewards catalogues.

In addition, cardholders can earn and redeem points from Petron’s partners, such as AIG Insurance and Sentosa 4D Adventure Land, while flashing their card at merchant partners can earn them exclusive deals and discounts. Special offers from Malaysia Airlines’ Enrich programme and PLUS Expressways’ PLUSMiles Card are also available.

The card was launched in conjunction with the “Drive to Brazil, Win 6D4N Trip to Brazil” promotion, which offers prizes including five pairs of tickets to the FIFA World Cup final in Rio de Janeiro as well as 20 signed jerseys from professional football players. Miles members will need to accumulate 100 points in order to join.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Daniel on Apr 25, 2014 at 6:39 pm

Only launched yesterday? Switched from the old card to the new card back in early Mar’14.

• I am still using their old card. May i know what you did to change it?

Thanks

• Daniel on Apr 26, 2014 at 12:08 am

Was sent to me by mail. Didn’t know that the old smiles card will be retired until I read the brochure that came with the card.

• shahrul on Apr 26, 2014 at 4:45 pm

Kwan,
        You can drop by any Petron station & request the new Petron Miles card. You have the option either to transfer your points online, by phone or fill up the forms available at any Petron stations.

• old dog on Apr 25, 2014 at 9:22 pm

This is the sickest part in bolehland where cronism spike to the highest by a Dr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 21
  • petronsucks on Apr 25, 2014 at 10:28 pm

petron, your petrol tak boleh pakai one, izit u mix water? or u put ajinomoto inside, my car jalan jalan but thirsty very fast.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 27
  • i only use petron because of the smiles card. free petrol meh. bonuslink mana boleh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • cendol (Member) on Apr 26, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Bonuslink 30000 points can change RM30 V-power petrol.

• cendol (Member) on Apr 26, 2014 at 4:08 pm

or is it 3000 points. I changed twice before.
        Then mix with RON95 to become RON96

• really haa? didnt know that..
          maybe i’ll start using shell more after this. i noticed petron station leceh to use.
          we have to go to the inside counter to pay.. adoi

• Daniel on Apr 27, 2014 at 12:56 pm

3000 smiles points can redeem for RM45 worth of fuel at Petron.

Don’t if it is other people’s driving style or not but I travel between Johor and Shah Alam once a week and I get around 16+ km/litre when driving between 100-110 km/h on my Fiesta. This is based on actual distance traveled vs how much I need to fill up to full tank.

• cam mnew nk register melalui sms

• My Waja lost its energy after drink Petrol fuel..
    My friend’s Kenari used to pump Petrol, after I introduce him to use Shell, his Kenari drive 50km more with lesser litter of fuel compare to Petron..

The point is easy to earn, but do you really “earn” the point while you may pay up more cost?

• Proton on Apr 26, 2014 at 5:14 pm

lol i dont see anything worth it on this member card

Bonuslink at shell is even better , every 1000 points you get on the bonuslink you get 30$ of vpower 97

Bonuslink can be used in shell and other shopping outlets in parkson or KLCC

• Shikin on Apr 26, 2014 at 11:31 pm

I agree with some of the comments here. Just my personal experience, Petron fuel offers less mileage and less smoother acceleration. Although the difference is minor but still noticeable. Also, the stations are often out of receipts and have to request from the counter. In my opinion, the previous Esso fuel/service stations offer more value and confidence to consumers.

• Lousy petrol, I wonder dr m son pump petron for his porches

• Amir Saifuddin on Apr 27, 2014 at 11:16 am

No matter what kind of promotions that Petron offer, I still would not patronize them mainly because of the fuel quality. I understand that different fuels provides different results for various vehicles but so far, my 3 rides (local, continental and Jap) have tried different fuels and Petron ranks last in all my experience simply based on general feel of smoothness and more KM. Perhaps once the consumers are confident with the formula and proven to be good, I would not use Petron unless desperate. Also, other companies provide more value for money in terms or promotions. This is just sharing my personal experience only.

• Ridzwan on Apr 27, 2014 at 11:21 am

Not a very good petrol. No pick up, knocking sound and bad customer service in the stations and in the office as well. Mamakteh pls don’t trick the smart consumers with a lousy product!

• bisakeris (Member) on Apr 27, 2014 at 2:38 pm

petron..nas only for me n my family..

• hankss on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:04 am

Guys in Petron, you fill up RM1 = 1 point and
    3000 points = RM45 petrol. Other brands, 1 liter (RM2.10) = 1 point. So the rewards is double..if you like saving, it is a no brainer.

• Dragon on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:52 am

Prefer :- (Base on performance)

Champion : Shell V-power
    1st Runner up : Caltex
    2nd : Petron (Bcos of Smile point only)
    3rd : Petronas
    4th : BHP

• Tengku Ismail on Apr 29, 2014 at 12:26 pm

Petron = one word = crap.

• Samad on Jul 17, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Never would want to use Petron again. Quality not up to standards, there are many other choices available.

• Mohamed Shariffuddin Ismail on Nov 19, 2015 at 1:47 am

Dengan RM10.kita juga boleh memiliki kad petron touch & go. Tambah nilai sendiri punya suka