Toyota Aygo to use new 1.0L engine, average 24 km/l

_DSF2402

Toyota is quick to implement its new ultra-efficient small-capacity engines after announcing the high-compression series earlier this month. The Passo and Yaris/Vitz lineups have both been updated to include the new motors, and next on the list is the second-generation Toyota Aygo.

In the new Euro-market compact citycar, the newly-developed 1.0 litre engine will average around 24 km per litre, with CO2 emissions of 95 grammes per kilometre. No output figures have been released, but the same engine makes 69 PS at 6,000 rpm and 92 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm in the JDM Passo.

The three-pot is lighter than before, runs a higher 11.5:1 compression ratio, and features a cooled exhaust gas recirculation system (EGR) to achieve an unprecedented maximum thermal efficiency of 37%. Toyota claims a near 30% improvement in fuel economy over current models.

So that’s Japan and Europe covered. Care to guess when we’ll be getting the new engines?

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• victortan on Apr 25, 2014 at 11:38 am

The answer is : not going to happen in 2 years, not before the new jazz with the new engine come out in Malaysia.

• victortan on Apr 25, 2014 at 11:45 am

If this engine come out in Malaysia this year, I would cut my p*n*s out and run naked on Bukit Bintang Street.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 8
      • mooni on Apr 25, 2014 at 2:27 pm

You should ask Tokmoh too to join you.

• holofanboi on Apr 25, 2014 at 2:36 pm

It’d be nice if UMW rushes everything here WITHIN this year (even by the end of it) just to spite you xD

Next thing you know there will be a callout at UMW’s homepage for victortan to cut off his birdbird and go run nekid on Bukit Bintang Street x3

HEADLINES: “Toyota announces new engines. Man scoffs at news by putting his weewee on the line”

• kadajawa (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 1:45 pm

UMW Toyota: “Hi MITI, this Aygo 24KM/Liter. Can we sell it here zero duty price RM50K local production Ckd?”

MITI: “Ermmm…wait I ask Proton first, OK”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • kzm (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 3:55 pm

even thai or indo don’t give auto maker zero duties for fuel efficient car…

• Same Loor on Apr 25, 2014 at 4:53 pm

MITI actually said:” NAH~~~~”

• dragon on Apr 25, 2014 at 11:39 am

its a small mark X….cool

• higher compression ratio means higher RON required

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • AVH (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 12:17 pm

Mazda owners, please testify this!

• abuya123 on Apr 25, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Mazda owners, what fc difference between RON 95 and RON 97? Dont tell me no difference or I considered you as salesman. Dont compare with other car but compare type of fuel you use.

• W204 C63 on Apr 25, 2014 at 2:01 pm

The skyactiv engines in Malaysia run on a lower compression ratio than the engines sold in Europe and Japan. Even the skyactiv engines in America runs on a lower than 14:1 compression ratio, I believe the North American versions run on 13:1.

• Mazoda on Apr 25, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Mazda Atenza (in Japan) and Mazda6 (malaysia) has same compression ratio which is 13.0:1

Mazada Atenza (Japan) use RON90

• The front look abit weird

• Yea fanboys gonna praise it because it’s a godcar. Let’s see if Proton do those cosmetic appearance to their car sure bash upside down.

• Same Loor on Apr 25, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Nice one.

Unfortunately Malaysian can’t enjoy it, or it will come with high tax in Malaysia, so everyone please stick with J class Saga.

Don’t blame Toyota, ask your beloved government. If not your money, you think how the big jewel and bangsar condo comes from?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 26
    • 1. The big jewel from life (start early) savings.
      2. The condos from the cows investment.

Both had nothin’ to do with cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
      • Same Loor on Apr 25, 2014 at 4:57 pm

That even worse! The money doesn’t go to the big jewel and condos. Where it goes?

And government remaining poor and impose GST this and that…

Soon we have buy a Toyota Vios with RM150k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • KettaVreakdoWn on Apr 25, 2014 at 8:05 pm

such a nonsense that ancient vios will go till 150k cos of 6% GST . where did u study economy?

• Is that what New Picanto claim as well … 24km/l!

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Don’t worry, it will never make it.

• Kenny on Apr 25, 2014 at 1:45 pm

unlikely Malaysia going to get an improved version of 1KR-FE, Toyota is not even marketing any models with 1000cc capacity in their line up, and recently Toyota just “donated” the old version of 1KR-FE to Daihatsu with a Daihatsu code name, that will eventually used in the new coming Perodua (Viva replacement?). And i don’t think Perodua will be getting the improved version of 1KR-FE either. Make it short, Malaysian only gets to have old toyota engines.

• Jason Chong on Apr 25, 2014 at 1:49 pm

When Perodua want to rebadge this???

• Antar on Apr 25, 2014 at 2:10 pm

Don’t be fool by Toy-ota. Puny engine with puny power and fit into puny little light car rocking crazily like sampan when speed above 80 kmph.

• Low Budget on Apr 25, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Don’t worry too much about that for Boleh Landers have the talent to modify the car so that it can zoooom down North South highway at 140 KM/h, bring the car to Bolehland.

• moha774 on Apr 25, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Coming thru the back door as a new Viva….everything is possible here…

• Low Budget on Apr 25, 2014 at 3:24 pm

Yeah, ‘negotiated incentives’ with the correct Gomen officials…

• Low Budget on Apr 25, 2014 at 3:43 pm

UMW better not bring in this car, for Proton new GSC coming soon is going to out sell the TSC (Toyota Small Car)

• thedarkside on Apr 25, 2014 at 3:50 pm

new viva will have a new aluminium engine which produa claimed will improve its fuel economy significantly..
    Is this the one??

• Kenny on Apr 25, 2014 at 6:13 pm

viva replacement will be based on Daihatsu Ayla, which is a sister model of toyota aygo

• KettaVreakdoWn on Apr 25, 2014 at 6:19 pm

and another rebadge from P2

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 6:47 pm

Nice FC.. but power? Too low for me. Mirage & Picanto still relevant in this category.

• A1 bah kut teh on Apr 25, 2014 at 8:13 pm

actually cooled EGR were necessary for gasoline engine ? and increase thermal efficiency up to 37% ?
    usually EGR apply for diesel. i wonder EGR also applied on prius series too.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 25, 2014 at 9:07 pm

This engine is gonna be fun if with manual,u can rev the nuts out of it to get any momentum,it wil probably be paired with a cvt,JOYKILL

• Shin-Ra on Apr 25, 2014 at 10:44 pm

sound came out from machine is very loud ….

• Sell out to mass market first,
    Recall later!!!

• BOMOH on Apr 27, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Campro still the best engine in this universe.