Volkswagen Golf R Mk7 spotted on trailer in Malaysia

golf-r-mk7-spyshot-1

The latest Mk7 edition of Volkswagen’s top of the line Golf is here. Reader Teng Yong Jian sent us these photos of a single Volkswagen Golf R Mk7 on a trailer in Glenmarie, finished in the hot hatch’s signature blue colour. It’s the five-door version, more practical than the three-door body you see below.

Volkswagen Malaysia currently lists the Mk6 Golf R on its website for RM268,888, but we managed to find a Mk7 Golf R listed on oto.my for RM300k. The price is mentioned to be an estimate and no other specs are mentioned. However since an ad is up, bookings must be open.

golf-r-mk7-spyshot-2

The new Golf R produces 300 PS and 380 Nm of torque from its 2.0 litre turbocharged EA888 engine, a big improvement over the Malaysian-spec Mk6 Golf R’s older EA113 2.0 litre motor’s 255 PS and 330 Nm.

Internationally, the Mk7 Golf R is available with either a manual gearbox or a six-speed DSG automatic gearbox. We’re expecting only the latter to be available here in Malaysia. A DSG-equipped Mk7 Volkswagen Golf R will do the 0-100 km/h sprint in just 4.9 seconds – pretty quick!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• inikeretabanyakrosak? on Apr 26, 2014 at 9:35 pm

This car…. heard the recent Mk7 , many breakdown and so many problem…
    So this will be d same? DSG failure?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 109
    • daniel on Apr 26, 2014 at 11:23 pm

This would be the 6sp wet clutch DSG that is very reliable. No problems with this gearbox since it was launched, I believe since he Mark5 Golf.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 26
      • vwsuck on Apr 27, 2014 at 9:10 am

For this unreliable car, VW should sell it at 30K only because even poor man’s Saga SV is more reliable. Who cares about that wira-turbo-is-faster than that 4.9 secs speed. That kind of speed even mechanic under tree can do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 65
        • Heng Lee on Apr 27, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Let me guess: You’re one of the Vios drivers that are pissed off because even small 1.2TSI Polo’s can drive circles around you during acceleration?

Don’t be sad: Toyota’s from 110km/h land are designed for traffic jam and not for fast acceleration. They are very safe at speeds <3km/h too :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 12
          • The Truth About DSG on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:54 am

The DSG rumours are true. Any car, even with 2014 DSG box can only be sold in cold countries. If it is used in hot countries like Malaysia, it will be prone to continuous breakdowns.

Dont believe about all this dry and wet clutch nonsense. Rosak is rosak. Defective is defective. You want to risk RM300,000 on something so suspicious?

This was admitted in May 2013 in black and white by VW AG Germany in a press statement to the world.

There will be fanboys and owners of VW that will come here and say people are only spreading rumours. Well, they did this long ago when people were complaining about DSG issues in 2011. The fanboys came here and said, all those spreading rumours were jealous and got no money, that is why they are jealous.

Then when VW AG came out with the press release in black and white, all the VW fanboys shut their mouths. All keep quiet and silent in forums.

Now, the VW fanboys and salesman are back again saying that the DSG issues has been cured and they were 2011 cars and older. But in actual fact, even VW Germany admitted, there is no cure for the faulty DSG. People in hot countries like Malaysia with lots of traffic jam will just have to suffer continuous breakdowns.

China got fed up with VW, they even told VW to give all their existing buyers 10 years warranty. When in Malaysia going to do the same?

Prospective buyers better read facebook comments in VW Malaysia page. Of course again, fanboys have come in and said those are fake facebook accounts. But strangely each of those negative comments come from facebook accounts that have been opened for years with at least 200 friends each. So, how can they be fake?

There is a reason why each service centre takes about 1 month just to make a regular service appointment if you want to service your VW. This is because they are overworked with hundreds of backlog DSG rosak cars. That alone they cannot handle. Everyday more than 100 cars come with DSG problems and all the workshops in Klang Valley cannot handle the complaints. You see Toyota, Honda and Nissan, call today, tomorrow can already service your car.

So to all VW fansboys and owners as well as salesman, instead of coming online and saying people are spreading rumuors, do something for your customers, go ask youyr HQ to give your customers at least 10 years warranty. Its not all about your sales. Do something for your customers. Because there are tons of customers having non stop DSG breakdowns and sometimes, even lives are lost because when overtaking happens, the DSG suddenly loses power.

Bear in mind 2014 models are all affected and the DSG issue is still not sorted out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 31
          • Heng Lee on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:00 am

That’s why DSG is so popular in Algeria? Algeria is known to be a very cold country… :D

• AudiforMenz on Apr 28, 2014 at 1:02 am

One thing about VW owners in Malaysia is that they think they are driving luxury car but in fact they are not~ all the VW drivers especially Golf are mostly driven by Myvi-upgrade AhBeng who drive recklessly on the road…

Btw whenever there is a VW AhBeng driver tailgate me, I smoke them with my Audi and see their car getting smaller through my rear view mirror~ Audi, BMW, and Mercs are way more luxury and more powerful~ Who cares if you got 300hp, it still a VW, not luxury~ Go Home VW boys!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 46
          • The Truth About DSG (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:25 am

Have to agree, I noticed most VW drivers love to tailgate on highways. Are they stupid or what?

Oooh wait, yeah, they must be stupid. To buy a common car for RM200,000!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 20
          • Very funny, u’re are also driving a VW product….Audi is basically a luxury version of the VW, and since when is VW’s a premium. They have Audi to cater for the lux segment. hehehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
          • xiper (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 12:39 pm

u are contradicting ur own statement.

First you said Audi, BMW and Mercs are way more luxury and more powerful. Secondly you said who cares if you got 300hp.

So you are saying a BMW 320i, or a C200 or an Audi A4 1.8T is more powerful than a Golf R? I agree the 3 premium brands are more luxury but not necessary more powerful.

• Sii Pai Gong on Apr 28, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Audi also from VW lah !! So your story not true, just another guy who is jealous that all.

• Passat Minicabs on Apr 28, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Cannot understand people. If you are rich and got money, why even buy a VW? If you can afford 300k, just add a bit more and buy a Mercedes CLA AMG. Look hotter and much better car.

I lived in UK many years. In UK, VW, especially Passat, is a car used by taxis (minicabs). Nearly all minicab drivers use Passat as their car.

In Malaysia, Passat is luxury car. No logic at all.

Does anybody consider our Proton luxury car in their country? So, why we consider VW as luxury car in our country?

• Passat Minicabs on Apr 28, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Waste of money. I just bought a 9 month old 2013 CKD BMW 528i. Still got warranty left. I paid RM290k.

Good fast car. Real D class sedan and its classy!

• kenny on Jul 20, 2014 at 2:30 am

Audi is owned by VW

• Same Lorr on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:44 am

Toyota is a better choice!
          Cheaper, reliable, good RV.

4.9sec Golf also can’t escape from traffic jam, get a car with better fuel consumption is more important, like Vios.

RM268k for a general brand B segment hatchback?? You must be joking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
          • xiper (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Golf is a C segment btw, don’t compare with your Vios.

• Passat Minicabs on Apr 28, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Golf is so small inside, even a Myvi has more space than Golf. Anyway, you got lots of money, just buy the CLA. Either AMG or just the CLA250, it is still a better buy

• The Truth About DSG (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:20 am

Whether wet or dry, does not matter. But how to trust a company that lied and lied and lied and lied and lied about their DSG from 2010, 2011, 2012, mid 2013?

They admitted only in May 2013, exactly on the 7th. That also after China came down on them hard!

So, how to fork out RM300,000 on a dubious company?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
        • Heng Lee on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:07 am

At least nobody got killed. Toyota had to pay a penalty of US$ 1.2 billion, because they sold cars that caused accidents leading to death and injury.

• Dr. Phil on Apr 28, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Hi Th Truth About DSG. I have a diagnosis for you. Its called OCD (Obsessive Compulsive Disorder).

I have a remedy for you. Its called, “reality check”. All you have to do is spend more time in VW cars and if you are still feeling suicidal, well then jump off midway,

Dr. Phil

• Passat Minicabs on Apr 28, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Malaysians are just too rich to pay so much money for a poor man’s car.

You go and tell people in the UK you are spending 300,000 pounds for a Golf, they will laugh their head off.

• different DSG gearbox la .. DA..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 18
      • The Truth About DSG (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:30 am

Wet or dry does not matter. How to trust a company that lies lies lies lies lies?

Even I want to pay RM100 to a company that lies also so difficult, how to pay RM300,000 to a company that lied lied lied lied lied in 2010, 2011, 2012 and mid 2013?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • BMW Fanboi (Member) on Apr 26, 2014 at 11:57 pm

Just to clarify on this article, this car actually broke down due to DSG failure and is being towed. In hot tropical weather like Malaysia, VW themselves have already mentioned black and white that it is a problem.

Just go and see their FB page. All angry with VW service and product quality. So sad that people in malaysia want to action and buy VW thinking that they have bought a German product with the quality of an Audi or BMW. It is not, trust me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 108
      • No BMW Please We Are Tired on Apr 27, 2014 at 5:38 am

Sorry BMW Fanboi, but this car is more reliable, better and more powerful than any of your crappy ‘same look across the board’ 7 speed dual clutch M powered BMW’s.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 53
        • BMW Fanboi (Member) on Apr 27, 2014 at 9:38 am

Cool story bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 10
          • The Truth About DSG (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:13 am

BMW Fanboi only speaks the truth. Whatever said about the junk VW,it has no social status as a BMW or a Mercedes. Spending on this junk RM300,000, you might as well buy a Mercedes or a BMW.

Everybody sees people driving BMw and Mercedes always give a “wah!” and give you instant respect. Those into girls also know, you drive a BMW or a Mercedes, getting a girl is not a proble.

Come on lah, even girls also now know, VW is a common car in Europe and only fools in Malaysia fall for VGM marketing gimmick that the VW is sama taraf as Audi and BMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
        • Dun wori. He’s a typical vw basher who envies vw cars. He didn’t realize that bmw cars hv more probs than vw that’s why warranty only 2yrs. His 5th hand old bmw junk always kena tapau dengan vw every time he goes to work that’s why he hates vw so much. Many vw owners buy vw bcoz they like the car and they enjoy driving it. People like u r the ones who don’t know what ur missing. Vw cars are relatively cheap compared to other german marques and they are very fun to drive. Period

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
          • The Truth About DSG (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:28 am

VW also got 2 years warranty. the rest is Insurance Warranty which so many VW owners can confirm that on 3rd year onwards, the Insurance company decline their claim.

VW cars are not cheap lah. Clever people, instead of paying RM200,000 for trash, just add a bit more and get an Audi A4 1.8T. After discount and nego, can even get the car for RM210,000. A real German car, with prestige and real proper warranty direct from Audi AG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
        • zeddd on Apr 27, 2014 at 5:09 pm

actually your wrong, i welcome you to go read the comments on the vw page and then you’ll know how bad is their service

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
      • same also la..
        go see BMW FB page..
        many complains on warranty and claims of BMW poor service..
        F30..F10.. all issue..
        go check there :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 12
        • r & gti’s using dsg6 wet clutch…no issues wt this transmission. anyway, vw’s 5 yrs warranty gives bttr peace of mind conpared to bmw’s mere 2 yrs warranty. the shortest warranty nowadays! nuts!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
      • Bitch Please on Apr 27, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Stop it. This car is being towed to the Glenmarie showroom.

Not all cars on trailers are actually broken down. Obviously they had to transport the car using a trailer.

And go away BMW fanboy, it’s not like BMW is a reliable car too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • hurm... on Apr 27, 2014 at 12:50 am

hurm..
      Re u an owner?
      then u should know that hi performance audi/vw/seat/skoda dont use cheap 7 speed dry.. they use wet dsg for high performance.. and it is not problematic as the dry dsg..

similar to other brands also has issue with their dry dual clutch (unlike their wet dual clutch minimal issue)…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 17
      • ilyjdm on Apr 27, 2014 at 12:34 pm

“Not as problematic” means still got problem la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
        • hurm... on Apr 27, 2014 at 6:55 pm

no experienced on the mk7..
          but based on experienced with mk6 gti..
          gearbox is no issue.
          other things such as seals / oil seals in problematic..
          tend to get engine leak…
          it seems common to most GTI..
          but not sure on the R

• the price is steep, quality a not does not matter.
      poor man wont face the trouble of owning 1.

it’s rich man’s toy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Smart Chinaman on Apr 27, 2014 at 5:06 am

Ha, ha, what a joker! The 7speed dry dual clutch gearbox is used only in BMW M division and Toyota la for performance. Thats why both cars not reliable, unlike VW performance division.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
    • getthefactright on Apr 27, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Dry clutch = 7 speed DSG = golf 1.4 tsi, passat 1.8, basically engine below 2.0 CC. have the issue with hot climate + heavy traffic jam. VM has identify the root cause by changing the gear box oil to mineral. Having said that, the owner still wait & issue, if the issue still persist.

Wet clutch = 6 speed DSG = Golf GTI, Golf R, CC having no issue with the DSG gearbox.

• Enthu on Apr 27, 2014 at 10:15 pm

CC is basically a Passat la. So should use same gearbox 7 speed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
        • Not same gearbox la. Go study first before comment.

• Enthu on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:06 am

http://www.volkswagen.com.my/en/models/cc/highlights.html

Now go slap yourself in front of the mirror for me.

• good job enthu! stupid thumb down voters on your comment.so stupid.get the facts right!

• kenny on Jul 20, 2014 at 2:39 am

he mean passat cc r-line
            http://www.volkswagen.com.my/en/models/r/trimlevel-overview.s9_trimlevel_detail.suffix.html/passat-cc-r-line~2Fpassat-cc-r-line.html#/tab=da112246888fc45076a159701f7213f8

• Hail Bentley, Jaguar & Rolls Royce! on Apr 29, 2014 at 3:09 am

VW, TOYOTA, BMW fanboys fight. We clap our hand! HA HA HA XD We are more luxurious brand than you guys.scumbag poor man.

• So many butthurt people who cannot afford it but keep complaning!!! kesian

• vssuck on Apr 27, 2014 at 11:37 pm

So many butthurt people who have been smoked by much cheaper cars!!!!kesian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • spongewai on Apr 26, 2014 at 9:38 pm

ok, no thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 37
    • BMW Fanboi (Member) on Apr 27, 2014 at 12:21 am

22 days annual leave. Spends all 22 days in service centre filling up insurance claim forms.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 48
  • Forgive Me on Apr 26, 2014 at 9:40 pm

Hello everyone, I am saying this because I feel guilty about what is happening here.

I work at Toyota’ s sales office in Klang. About 6 months ago, my Team Leader had a briefing specifically with intention to breakdown the VW sales in Malaysia, because of worry that VW will become as big in Malaysia, like how they are in China, Japan, Korea. And Singapore, due to direct involvement by VW Germany.

To be honest, our parent company in Japan has also ‘warned’ about the danger of VW’s success because it is the only company that can beat Toyota to become the world’s biggest car company.

Many Toyota salesman has left UMW. Many do not know this, but let me tell you, sales has not been so good since beginning of this year.
    So those here , we apologize if some salesman are hurting your rice bowl. Please allow me to apologize on behalf of all Toyota salesmen, who were force to safeguard their company,

Alan

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 155 Thumb down 15
    • A Believer on Apr 26, 2014 at 11:33 pm

Actually, it is true. There is a concerted effort in Malaysia to destroy the reputation of VW cars because it is a threat not just to the Japanese establishment, but also to the middle range European cars who’s sales were badly hit since 2010.

I wont be surprised if they had a hand in the systematic ‘downgrading’ of the car company and the massive attacks on its Facebook and the streets recently. As we are well aware, Malaysians are capable of doing this, if they ‘ are paid to do so’.

Do not jump to conclusions until and unless you study the cars before hand,

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 12
      • The Truth About DSG on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:50 am

This is the new modus operandi of VGM. Blame others. And deny. This is how they denied in 2010, 2011, 2012 and mid 2013 that there is a problem with DSG. Complete denial. They said all rumours were false. All fanboys also came online and said DSG rumours completely false. They went further to say that those spreading rumours were jealous and cannot afford VW cars.

Then in May 2013, VW AG Germany admit, DSG is faulty and CANNOT be used in Asian hot weather nor can it handle Asian traffic jams. VGM and fanboys in Malaysia were shocked and kept silent like a mouse.

Now, the new modus operadi. Again they are telling rumours are false and facebook rumours are false. They are saying all DSG issues have been sorted out. But how to sort out when VW Germany themselves confirm, in hot countries, DSG sure to kaput non stop.

The truth is, nobody is going to risk RM300,000 on a company that lied and lied and lied and lied and lied. Because of China coming down hard on them, they had to admit that the DSG boxes are inherently defective.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
    • zeddd on Apr 27, 2014 at 5:11 pm

very good employee you are, defacing your own company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • The Truth About DSG (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:42 am

Just called Klang Toyota, no such person who has worked there called Alan. Asked them to search 1 year ago, they still said, no such person called Alan.

Told them “Alan” is applying for a job in our company and I am doing a reference check, they contacted UMW HQ HR, no Alan in Klang at all.

Ha Ha HA Ha. VGM salesman. So bored. So upset with the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
      • LL Lee on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:59 am

Hey Truth About DSG, nobody believes you anymore. You post the same messages in every VW posting and people keep telling you to stop lying. Please just go away as nobody wants to hear your crap anymore.

• kentji on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:01 pm

errr…so you are telling us that you called up and theres not even 1 toyota salesman in klang have the common name alan?

srsly man, i really tired of your BS

• Iniesta on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:36 pm

I am sure you are a Toyota salesman , so free in the showroom got nothing better to do and call klang Toyota to verify whether there is such a person called Alan. You must be either making a lie or just of unsound mind

• Hail Bentley, Jaguar & Rolls Royce! on Apr 29, 2014 at 2:04 am

VW, TOYOTA, BMW fanboys fight. We clap our hand! HA HA HA XD We are more luxurious brand than you guys.scumbag poor man.

• Sam "Hailat" Loo on Apr 26, 2014 at 9:41 pm

The last thing we need is more arrogant, hell-bound speedy bastards tailgating other road users haphazardly on the road…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 60
    • BeemerFreak on Apr 27, 2014 at 9:19 am

Aren’t you sick always using the same hailat language. Hailat people will always have such hailat thoughts because they are so freaking hailat jealous of other.
      Empty vessel makes many unnecessary noises.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • kami (Member) on Apr 26, 2014 at 10:25 pm

” A DSG-equipped Mk7 Volkswagen Golf R will do the 100km/h sprint in just 4.9 seconds – pretty quick!”

yeah..quickly go to sc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 66
    • Bob_B78 on Apr 26, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Of course go to sc to get a regular service.
      You wan to tell the whole world your car never need to go sc for service?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 8
      • kami (Member) on Apr 27, 2014 at 11:18 pm

go to sc..i say anything else?

butthurt??

• Bob_B78 on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:39 am

Butthurt? hahaha
          VW is a good car to drive.
          It may not have to best reliability on the market. But Im enjoying every minute driving it.

I don’t really car much for the reliability for it has 5 year unlimited warranty to cover it.

Already biasa with my previous cars stuck in workshop for several months, so if my VW stuck in sc is nothing new to me.

One more thing, I no kiasu/kiasi, therefore cannot butthurt at all.

I know you will if your car stuck in SC for repairs. :ϸ

• Worth for money????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
  • Superb volks, dont bother those envy with ur DSG, they only afford to buy preve or toyota uncle car. DSG very smooth toyota, kia cannot match ur technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 18
    • juice on Apr 27, 2014 at 11:40 pm

DSG is not about smoothness but fast gear changing. It cannot beat CVT in smoothness.

• Nigga on Apr 26, 2014 at 10:43 pm

Rm300k for 300ps engine. So rm1k for 1ps? Overall, it’s a nice car with amazing performance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
  • merc a45 still hold on to the upper hand in terms of style ( inside out ), performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 19
    • lee huat on Apr 26, 2014 at 11:20 pm

I believe the Gold R beat the Merc AMG is a dual test in the UK. It was voted the best car to drive in the world second to the Porsche 911.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Bob_B78 on Apr 27, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Styling is subjected to one’s individual taste.
      For performance of course A45 is faster because you will be paying about 100k more compared than Golf R
      If you pay for a hot hatch whose performance is lower than a 100k cheaper other hot hatch, you really need to get your brain checked.

• yawning..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
  • VW… stop flashing ur “high performance car”.. bring in the TDI ..

• xiper (Member) on Apr 27, 2014 at 12:08 am

seems like many ppl only know about DSG failure but didnt know that this is the wet clutch 6 speed DSG DQ250 and not the problematic 7 speed DSG DQ200.

anyway if VGM don’t price this beast correctly, the sales will be beaten by the premium brand A45 AMG with better performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • ahmadjohnson97 on Apr 27, 2014 at 12:28 am

I would prefer manual over dsg.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • ilyjdm on Apr 27, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Go get a STI

• xiper (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 12:41 pm

too bad in Malaysia the manual gearbox is not popular, kinda wasted for this kind of performance car without 3 pedals.

yeah if TSI can’t provide you the manual gearbox, get the STI instead…LOL

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 27, 2014 at 8:56 am

Pricing is a bit steep, if they wanna put it at 300k. Bit too much, considering its a VW Golf still….

Wonder when the M135i will come here, it could give the Golf R a run for the money, since the 125i M Sport is already in Golf GTi territory.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Bob_B78 on Apr 27, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Basically, BMW M1 or Mercs A45 is not to be compared with Golf R at all. The direct comparison should be Audi RS3.
      1st, BMW, Mercs & Audi will cost easily 100k more.
      2nd, direct comparison to Golf R should be Megane RS or the upcoming Civic Type R.
      If you think M135 will give Golf R a run for its price, i think most likely potential buyers will run to buy Golf R instead due to price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • sudonano (Member) on Apr 27, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Not really…. The A45 AMG rolls in at MYR348888. Assuming that VW does price it at a hair below 300k, let’s not forget the Mercedes is more powerful also at 360bhp.

If Mercedes put the A45 AMG at 348888, BMW would try to put their M135i about the same range also… So obviously, you’d be wrong that the BMW and Merc will be more expensive by 100k. At that price point, I think an additional 40k or so for a Merc may actually cause some to go for the Merc, since the brand and the prestige associated to it, in addition to the performance…

Megane RS only caters for the niche manual market sadly, since no auto option is available, where the Golf comes in with the automated DSG, so it does appeal to a larger market.

• GreenGeek on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:47 am

Will BMW Malaysia really bring in and sell the M135i here? If so, I think they may have a tough time to price and sell it here! This is due to the our infamous local tax structure which ‘penalizes’ high CC cars, i.e. cars like M135i which carries a 3.0L engine. M135i is popularly compared to the A45 because of its similar performance (above 300hp and more than 400Nm) and relatively same price range where countries do not price their cars based on engine CC or capacity. In most if not all of comparisons (including test drives) conducted or written by auto journalists I’ve read so far, the A45 has always been praised to take the crown in the ‘hot’ hatch performance segment within the same category.
          Only recently that the A45 is being compared to the Golf M7 R when it’s officially launched, mainly because it’s new and has now got higher output (about 300hp) compared to the last generation R. This is the closest competition or choices WE (Malaysians) could probably get here in terms of performance and price range (RM280K – 350K) now….plus one practical hatch that carries 4 DOORS (to fetch small family) with auto GB (for start-stop city driving). Hence, I wouldn’t compare it with a 2-door Megane RS, unless you compare solely on performance. However, it’d be interesting to compare these with a 4-door Audi RS3 (new model soon?). …definitely it’d not be cheaper than a Golf R.

Above all, A45 is a true AMG model albeit a cheapest (more affordable) one among all AMG models. If budget is within the above-said range and you were to include brand prestige and styling of the car as buying criteria, it might make your buying decision much easier when comparing with the Golf R and other hot hatch available in OUR market NOW. :)

• Deric Lim on Apr 27, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Err Bob, the VW Golf R is the direct competition to the BMW M1 and the A45, which is why all UK magazines compare these cars together. If you noticed in all instances where these cars are compared, the VW Golf R won hands down, with the exception of one, where the A45 won.

The Megane RS and the Civic Type R are more of a competition to the Golf GTI.

• Bob_B78 on Apr 28, 2014 at 1:28 am

My bad for A45 pricing. But m135i was quoted at 428k in livelifedrive.com.

Megane RS was rated at 265hp which was near last gen golf r hp. My mistake again, it was benchmark with siricco r. But sirocco and golf are basically the same.

Up coming civic type r is rumored to have close to 300 hp. I believe its price wun be higher than the new golf r.
          Therefore i believe the new ctr is a more ideal comparison than A45 (350hp) or M135i (rm428k)

Megane RS still holds the record for fastest fwd around Nurbuging n was king of hot hatch, so is very justifiable to benchmark with new golf r for its price below 300k

• xiper (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 12:44 pm

even comparing MK6 Golf R priced at 268,888 versus A45 AMG at 348,888 is already less than 100k. If the new Golf R price near to 300k, many buyers might eventually go for the A45 AMG. Besides branding, A45 AMG is more powerful too.

• Toyota VW BMW all are rubbish car that force people to pay a premium yet still breakdown.

• gavincsy on Apr 27, 2014 at 12:29 pm

I think they Aussie out it correctly, the r is for those that want biggest bestest most highest model money can buy, but gti does everything else cheaper and better

• F10 528i Owner on Apr 27, 2014 at 2:13 pm

To Wow.

You mentioned
    “go see BMW FB page..
    many complains on warranty and claims of BMW poor service..
    F30..F10.. all issue..
    go check there :)

Care to share which date in FB?

• Danny on Apr 27, 2014 at 2:31 pm

Volkswagen Golf R Mk7 spotted.My dream car is beautiful! How much is this car? Is not limited edition?

• bisakeris (Member) on Apr 27, 2014 at 2:34 pm

rm300k is waaaayyyy too much.

• no recaro seat as MK6 golf R had? hmmm… sad sad

• Good looking car but bad reputation for after sales service. My Ford Fiesta Ecoboost could overtake a Golf GTI/Golf R. Don’t believe?. Ask any members from fiesta club malaysia. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 52
    • Joker on Apr 27, 2014 at 5:24 pm

seriously Fiesta 1.0 Ecoboost could overtake Golf R??
      If u say Fiesta ST then it would seems possible but even that will be hard…and Golf direct competitor is the Focus ST not Fiesta…

• hurm... on Apr 27, 2014 at 6:58 pm

same with ford..
      after sales problem…
      and also fiesta dual clutch is problemmo also..

go figure :)

check out fiesta forum and ford SC…

• The Truth About DSG (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:38 am

General rule is this, stay away from all dual clutch gears. That is why in Malaysia, Ford and VW are known to be kaki breakdowns.

If you are a clever consumer, go only for single clutch gearbox. No rpoblems at all. If you fill your ATF every few years once, your single clutch gearbox can last 20 years.

That is why most Japanese cars still stick to single clutch gearbox. It is all bullshit rumours that Japanese are moving to dual clutch.

Why would they want problem after problem and warranty claims non stop? Japanese are clever lah, not bodoh like Germans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • Japanese Bullshit on Apr 28, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Of course la, you say Japanese are clever. Because you are a Toyota saleseman. Che, podah!

• rally_fan (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:45 pm

erm.. pardon my ignorance.. but what exactly is a “single clutch gearbox” that uses ATF? and i noticed your earlier posting about a worldwide release from VW saying that DSG can only be used in cold countries.. can you please provide a link? i would like to know more about it…

• S Lee on Apr 27, 2014 at 7:23 pm

AWc, you obviously don’t know anything about cars.

• Enthu on Apr 27, 2014 at 10:18 pm

Time to wake up dreamer…

• xiper (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 12:48 pm

yea right, the fiesta ecoboost is not even launched.

• 4G63T DSM on Apr 29, 2014 at 11:00 am

LOL.

The Fiesta Ecoboost could hardly keep up with a Satria GTI. Let alone a Golf GTI. what are you smoking?

• Anonimercz on Apr 27, 2014 at 9:44 pm

Ohmygod so much proton and perodua fanboys here.

• AnomiBMW on Apr 27, 2014 at 11:44 pm

Ohmygod so much complains about DSG here.

• The Truth About DSG (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:40 am

DSG complaints are everywhere on the Internet. Go to VW Facebook page in Malaysia. Go get a shock of your life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 1:09 am

would prefer the subaru

• moruh on Apr 28, 2014 at 6:27 am

Let me share my experience,
    i own and drove before cars like Audi R8, MK5 GTI, MK6 GTI, Polo TSI, Nissan GTR R35, Civic type R FD2, Integra Type R DC5, Accord Euro R CL7, BMW M3 E92, Mini Cooper S Countryman… compare to all, MK5 GTI & MK6 GTI is the most reliable car. I remember i just bought Mini Countryman cooper S year 2011 first batch from Autobavaria Mini Glenmarie and use about 5 month, then car broke down which is petrol get into the engine, major service took a month without replacement car…. so i summarize VW is solid car, if u seat and drive r8.. the feeling like u drive MK6 GTI except u can hear mid engine roar!!… but sorry to say, i have own before Toyota because looks Aunty car and their interior finishes looks cheap and plasticky…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • Motorhead (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:25 am

Bla bla.. what’s the point.. just go & buy cars you like. .it’s your money anyway. . You ll get stuck in service centre also not my problem. . I ll be happy if you join fb VW butthurt.. really enjoy to read all the complaints. Same with BMW.. just go ahead. . Enjoy cars you like.

• The Truth About DSG (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:35 am

VW facebook page does not lie. Read consumer complaints. Its not only about DSG. Its about

1) Tipu Warranty. Not really 5 years. 3 years is Insurance warranty which so many owners claim that they have been declined by the warranty company after 3rd year. Prepare to fork out RM80,000 on your gear box DSG

2) Bad Service. Have to book 1 to 2 months for appointment. Whilst waiting the 1 or 2 months, if you cross your mileage, VGM void your warranty.

3) Overpriced cars. Pay so much for trouble trouble trouble and trouble.

4) No status. Pay so much but are given a car same status as Proton in Europe. Would you pay RM30,000 for a Casio watch? Would you pay RM30,000 for a Rolex watch? VGM Malaysia has told you, the Casio watch is a Rolex and asked you to pay RM30,000 for the Casio watch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • Motorhead (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:13 am

Yeah2.. I went to 3S at Glenmarie. . Well just let them.. some people ve money & time to waste.. why stop them? Just encourage them.. the sales girls need some sales also… VW can make lots of profit from these people… meanwhile I ve more money to spend on girls & stuffs. .

• veedub on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:39 am

Since when VW being considered as premium? VW have Audi to cater for premium segment to compete wt Merc/BMW/Lexus….VW’s are just perfect for those whom prefer a low profile vehicle but with almost enjoyable driving experience as an Audi. If you need to flash ur wealth, go get an Audi!

this Golf R is the epitome of a low profile sportscar, its basically a Golf and looks really subdue…just prefect for an all rounder without looking like a boy racer.

• Whatever on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:59 am

To all DSG bashers, get your facts right!

Audi is also using the same dual clutch as VW but they called it S-Tronic. Both DSG and S-Tronic is manufactured by Borg Warner so if you say that only VW DSG caused problem, what about Audi? The truth is all the DSG bashers have never even get to ride in one, i would suggest that you go for a test drive, then you can experience the excitement.

And please acknowledge that all dual clutch have problem not only VW.

FYI, Audi is also under VW Group!

• Untung Manyak Wang on Apr 28, 2014 at 2:28 pm

That y Star Brand can sell at very high price, no complaint :)

RM 300k, top up abit can but A45 :)

• Slyshah on Apr 28, 2014 at 4:57 pm

Well let me say that Vw is definitely a fun car to drive. I own the my 6 1.4tsi. But If I had known earlier on the troubles I would have forked out the extra 50k. As of now my car has gotten a new engine after 50k mileage and now at 73k
    Im getting the gearbox fixed. I emailed Germany few years back when the engine was being changed. They quickly responded n said it will be brought up to vgm. Those bastards never even bother calling or emailing me back even after the German boss asked them to do so. Bloody ignorant fools. I’ll sum it up to say. When it’s not giving u trouble this car is so fun to drive. Btw to idiots saying golf are for ahbeng whose upgrading from myvi. Come on la brother. From 50k to 160k car. You thing money come out from his butthole is it. Btw another smart man said we should top up 10k buy a4 but it’s not a fun car. How did we know as buyers that there was going be this much problems in the first place. Ps your a4 has been in the market too long it’s too outdated. I do own an Audi s5 now that’s a fun car unlike the dull n boring a4

• bisakeris (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:24 pm

[My money for the true german’s luxury brand.. obviously not for VW..]

• 987 S on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Hoo boy, it’s going to be another college kids driving this tailgating everybody even one driving a porsche. What a wannabe, I pity those old folks wanted to buy these, as at the end of the day. All of the golfs were driven by college kids,

• Listen up people on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:22 pm

I currently own a golf GTI mk6. Modified the ECU and exhaust system. Let me tell u all proton fanboys. After driving for 2 years in the city and highway(touched 200kmh a few times at MAX highway) so far there’s nothing wrong with the gearbox. Those complaining about the DSG are the unlucky ones. If you cannot afford, go sit your proton and don’t talk so much here as it won’t make u rich. One can only say if a car isn’t good is when you own one. Yaya down vote me cause it’s the truth. No one likes the truth :)

• listen listen listen on Apr 29, 2014 at 4:18 pm

complain complain complain. that’s what Malaysians are good at doing. Don’t like the car, don’t buy nor drive it like how our ministers say, don’t like the country move out la.

Oh btw, since we hate VW so much, I get this feeling it’s the same sentiment like how we hate our products and country so much (Proton, politicians, government). Feeling cheated, selling substandard products and poor after service. So listen Malaysians, to your conscious.

• Kamal on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:49 am

Do NOT buy this car ! I am one of the victims who bought it and noticed that the car produces rear suspension knocking !! I totally regret the purchase ! just google rear suspension noise golf mk 7 and you will see !