CKD Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI launched – RM131k

Volkswagen Jetta CKD (1)

It’s been spotted, confirmed, spotted again and teased, and now it’s finally ready for its big reveal – Volkswagen Malaysia has introduced the locally-assembled Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI at the Damansara Performing Arts Centre (DPAC) this evening. Unlike the CKD Polo 1.6 sedan and hatchback, the new model brings a still sizeable drop in price with virtually no reduction in equipment.

From the outside, the CKD Jetta appears virtually identical to the fully-imported model. Standard exterior kit includes 16-inch “Navarra” five-spoke alloy wheels, basic reflector headlights and front and rear fog lights – the same as before.

There have been a couple of equipment changes to the interior, however. Firstly, the RCD 310 audio system used on the CBU model has been replaced by the newer RCD 320 system from the locally-assembled Polos, gaining Bluetooth and USB connectivity. The controls for the Climatronic dual-zone climate control have also changed from the twin knobs of the current car to the triple knobs from the Mk7 Golf.

Volkswagen Jetta CKD 3

Otherwise, the inside sports the same equipment as on the CBU model, with “Black Pyramid” decorative inserts for the dashboard and door trim panel, “Sienna” fabric seat upholstery, a multi-function leather steering wheel and rear air-conditioning vents. The only major omission concerns the paddle shifters for the DSG transmission, which have been dropped from the CKD spec.

Under the bonnet remains the familiar 1.4 supercharged and turbocharged TSI four-cylinder producing 160 PS at 5,800 rpm and 240 Nm from 1,500 rpm to 4,500 rpm, mated to the same seven-speed DSG transmission. As before, the 0-100 km/h sprint is done in 8.3 seconds and the top speed is 221 km/h, while the combined fuel consumption is 6.0 litres per 100 km.

Also unchanged is the safety kit, so the CKD Jetta retains six airbags, ABS with EBD and Brake Assist, ESP, hill-hold control, three-point seat belts for all occupants and ISOFIX child seat anchors on the rear seats.

Volkswagen Jetta CKD 19

Available in dealers from May 2 onwards, the locally-assembled Volkswagen Jetta retails at a fairly competitive RM130,888 nett, a reduction of RM21,000 over the imported model. As with all Volkswagens sold in Malaysia, the Jetta comes with a five-year unlimited-mileage warranty and a five-year 24-hour roadside assistance package.

Volkswagen Malaysia expects the C-segment sedan to be a significant contributor to its 2014 sales target of 20,000 units, with a projected full-year target of 3,300 units for the Jetta alone. The company claims the aforementioned 6.0 litres per 100 km fuel consumption figure would make the car eligible for Efficient Energy Vehicle (EEV) status, sliding under the Small Family Car category limit of 6.5 litres per 100 km

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Steve Kok on Apr 28, 2014 at 6:58 pm

7 Speed DSG :(
    Think twice before you buy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 248 Thumb down 42
    • kington on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Yes, sad to see that this car, at least on paper, has decent specs with a very efficient DSG but with its problems with the entire problem, i wonder what was their rational in launching this car now that everyone knows of its problems. Engine, gearbox, electrical and STRUCTURAL problems are complaints i have heard 1st hand thus far. Sorry VW, my father has always taught me that VW made good cars but for now, i just cannot buy one.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 142 Thumb down 26
      • mizuru on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:46 pm

the cost to build a standard recaro seat in japan is 5k.The same recaro seat build in german will cost 7k.same structural integrity,same fabric same design.they cost more because german have higher taxation rate and higher gdp.so,if you think german car are superior because the price is higher ,then your whole life have been a lie.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 34
        • BMW Fanboi (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:00 pm

This car comes with 5 years 24 hours road side assist.

Hahahahahahahahahahahahaha……..

Drivetrain Selalu Gagal

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 15
          • Wonka on Apr 29, 2014 at 12:07 am

C-Segment sedans are getting more and more popular these days.. But most of the cars design just couldn’t catch my eyes. To me, the most handsome and sexy looking C-Segment is the Hyundai Elantra. But sadly, it only has 2 airbags :( The specs of this car seems good with reasonable price especially with a TSI engine. But I guess I will just go for a cerato or wait for hyundai to give 8-10k discount and grab an elantra. Complain on them being koreans or what, but at least they are much more reliable than this TSI. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 55
          • Beware Dry Clutch! on Apr 29, 2014 at 7:58 am

I am a victim of it. In 13 or 14 months, my DSG failed 4 times. When I sit in SC, everyone there also say it is DSG related. So, VW, why even use the DSG? Just use an ordinary Autobox!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 4
          • The Truth About DSG (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Ha Ha. Usually I write long essays. But today, the comments alone are enough to show everybody about how unreliable the DSG is.

I will keep quiet today. But I appeal to readers one thing, do tell your buddies and friends about DSG. And tell each of them to tell another 10 friends.

It is good everybody in Malaysia knows about DSG!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
          • Same Loor on Apr 29, 2014 at 3:23 pm

5 years unlimited mileage warranty and 24/7 roadside assistance… Good offer VW but Proton need them the most!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 40
          • King Of Breakdowns- Jetta Owner on Apr 30, 2014 at 8:08 am

I got a 2012 Jetta. To date, my Jetta’s DSG has malfunctioned 7 times. Each time, it was the worst moment of my life. VW Assistance is crap. Once I waited 4 hours. It is not a joke waiting in our blazing hot sun.

Then I got to follow them to SC. Spend like 1 whole day there. My pay works out to RM800 per day. So, see how money drains away when you buy VW.

SC also take 1 month to ganti the DSG. For one month, I have to sit with my wife to work as she drives me. Kena nag nag nag. 1 month cannot enjoy with my buddies. Go home also wait for wife to take me back. Kena nag nag nag.

VW is Nightmare on Elm Street. That is just breakdowns of DSG. Not talking about other electrical malfunctions. German quality my ass!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 4
        • Heskey on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:07 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 168
          • The Truth About DSG (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Some say DSG got problem. Some say DSG perfectly fine. Who to believe?

Would you risk RM130,000 on something you are so unsure about?

If you are going to cross a river, some say got crocodiles, some say, got no such thing, all rumours only, would you dare swim across the river?

Why don’t you swim across the river and say, all the rumours on the crocodiles are all bullshit and are by jealous people spreading it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 8
          • ahee bin ahtan on Apr 30, 2014 at 10:35 am

manifesto BUKAN JANJI tau tak….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • kuku head mizuru on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Sucks being you man. Your whole life is a lie. Japan GDP > German GDP. Read more please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 6
          • Beware Dry Clutch! on Apr 29, 2014 at 7:51 am

I am a Passat Owner. I bought my car in March 2013. It is a 2013 model. From March until today, my car has broken down 4 times. All 4 times are DSG related.

Before I bought my car, I asked the salesman and even the manager to assure me that all DSG matters are resolved. The swear upon whatever false Gods they had that DSG was a thing of the past and only affected 2011 and earlier models.

So, until today, already 4 times my DSG has broken down. Each time, SC took 2 months to fix it up. In total, I have not seen my car for 8 whole months. And it has only been 13 months I have owned this damn thing.

I have full of regrets. Suffered so much. I tremble in fear when my DSG becomes spoilt after the 2 year warranty is over. I know fleet cars in my office that are VW that warranty is discretioery after the 2 years.

I am trying to sell off my Passat before the 2 years warranty is over but no used car dealer wants to take it in. The best I have got is RM$80k. But how to sell at that price when I have bought RM$170k? Rugi lah aku!

I advice all buyers, stay away far away from the dry clutch. The sales people will swear to you (as they did to me) and assure you the world, but when it breaksdown, they don’t care for you.

VGM has stinking service. If you know your DSG are ALL faulty, keep the boxes in store. Why hold a customers car for 2 months? What if i did not have a spare car?

VGM should give all of us owners 10 years warranty. You have sold us a lemon, own up to it. And you are still selling people lemons, be honest about the DSG problems they are going to face!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 201 Thumb down 4
        • Heng Lee on May 01, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Actually, the ‘japanese’ seats are made in Bangladesh for RM300…

• Beware Dry Clutch! on Apr 29, 2014 at 7:56 am

Goes to show VGM does not care a damn about consumer complaints. It is a well known news that dry DSG is the cause of all the problems. But yet, they persist to put it in their Jetta. It shows, they think very lowly of customers opinions and online complaints.

I can confirm one thing, every single VGM staff reads Paul Tan and they know about the DSG scandals.

This clearly shows, they want to clear old stock of the B Warner boxes. Why waste it when you can dump it to a 3rd world country like Malaysia where consumers and buyers have to avenue to seek redree and compensation?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
        • Obama on Apr 29, 2014 at 9:46 am

Some of the clients complained and some are not. Some are protesting at the VW office and some are not. But, reality is there are still some fundamental issues to solve, and im not going to risk my money into buying a car that even have a 50% chances of breakdown.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
          • rally_fan (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 4:36 pm

technically, all cars have a 50% chance of breaking down. but the car market today has many choices.. so its good for the consumer.. at the end of the day.. there is no such thing as a perfect car. some have great features but unreliable.. some are reliable, but not so great features.. its definitely a big balancing act in getting the car you want, or the car you need…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • Lansiliew on Apr 21, 2016 at 10:51 am

They have studies the third world mentality that all imported brands are superior, so kena Kong Kali Kong all those Brand and Badge mentality car buyer who think they know so much about cars, that is to fill petrol to make teh car move

• RM130k for this Look?

Cannot Steam. No mood driving it.
      but it got speed, i will drive as hard as possible to overcome the bad mood…

even more emo as i drive. people also know my car is lousy ugly fast car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 34
      • Toyota the best on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:02 pm

Yes,better buy the new Corolla,very good looking and reliable to drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 120
        • Lansiliew on Apr 21, 2016 at 10:55 am

New corolla rated as a ” non personality ” car BTW. It’s to Japs robotic look for a new car with old engine and transmission

• The worlds most unreliable gearbox. Please don’t buy it, unless you don’t value safety

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 27
    • Jaybond on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:19 am

Exterior wise, it’s a big disappointment.Why there’s no LED DRLs , no LED Taillights and no Projector headlights???????? And no option for touchscreen infotainment system???? You need to keep up with the competition.So called competitively price car doesn’t mean you have to downgrade these things!

• jetta wxw on May 06, 2014 at 3:39 pm

I bought a jetta in feb 2013 with rm130k since the model I got was a dec 2012 model. so far no problem at all on the DSG. on the looks it can be changed. I put in a full body kit and change the headlight that looks like Passat. so far very satisfied with it. spacious than the same opponent such as civic and altis. very powerful engine indeed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
      • Junaidah on May 15, 2014 at 10:56 am

I have planned to buy Jetta 2014 CKD. I also planned to add some bodykit. But indeed the salesman told me that if I do so, then the car warranty will be void. Since u had put some bodykit, please consult with the salesman ya.. because once the warranty is void than that it..!

• German on May 15, 2014 at 12:24 am

Because you noob

• According to German online media, the problem was not the DSG itself but the lubricant. The then used synthetic lubricant has been replaced with mineral based lubricants and as far as reported, VW does the oil change for any older cars for free..

• Lansiliew on Apr 21, 2016 at 10:58 am

All vw car are dirt cheap now even comparable to local myvvi price, any taker ? It’s German engineering

• Turboman on Apr 28, 2014 at 6:59 pm

Honestly, while I think this is a good price, between this and the relatively underpowered RM139k CBU Mazda 3, I will still choose CBU Mazda 3 after countless experiences with the shoddy built quality of several CKD version of non national cars that I have encountered.

SO thanks, but no thanks.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 19
    • Soon to be Accord Buyer on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:56 pm

I rather buy the Honda Accord. Same price. So much bigger. My kids can sit comfortably. I managed to get 131k after bargaining

Jetta 3 years later RV might be 70k but Accord still can get at least 100k

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 68
      • Which dealer ? I want to get 1 at 131k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • Sii Pai Gong on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:29 am

After 3 years Accord still RM100K ??? hahaha, after 3 years Accord becomes Perdana, still got RV ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
        • sukhotai on May 03, 2014 at 8:39 pm

some fools will buy your accord at 100k after 3 yrs. there so many choices around that price malaysian used car, u know lah, only drive hardly maintain.

• medic on Apr 29, 2014 at 11:04 am

I’ve nothing against Accord,being a proud owner of new one for a month.Which dealer can give you new accord for $131k?Pls don’t bullshit here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
      • bisakeris (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 11:28 am

preve is more worth the money than this jetta..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 21
        • Colin Wong on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:33 pm

I have actually done a market scan. Preve is truly an under-rated car. At RM60K, 6 airbags, ESC, 5-star ANCAP rating… Where else can you get such great value. Both my wife and I drive continental cars but I must say that if I have RM130K to spend, why not reduce my loan liability by RM70K and drive a Preve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
          • harris murad on May 04, 2014 at 1:58 pm

totally agree with u handsome man! Yeahh preve may not be a superb car but it is superb value imho.

• I agree with you man. Not just Preve but Exora, Persona as well as Satria Neo are all under rated.. Damn good cars compared to those offered by T, H and P2 within its price range.

• Keris Jawa on Apr 29, 2014 at 12:36 am

Can you tell us which car? Thank you

• qwerty on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:27 am

RM139k? My vote goes to the CKD Mazda CX-5 2.0 2WD!

Good look, reliable, nice drivetrain, good performance, well-equipped and 6 airbags!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
  • Attractive price but is it worth buying?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
    • NO

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 13
    • Beware Dry Clutch! on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:19 am

Looks attractive but you will pay more when your car breaksdown like mine. I think in total, I would have paid extra RM$50k is medical bills because of hypertension and blood pressure!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Allen on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:02 pm

Even though the reliability is a big ask but the price offered is really attractive.

Gonna be a huge impact to Mazda3, Civic, Altis and Sylphy, Focus. Malaysians are spoilt with choices now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 44
    • qwerty on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:35 am

I definitely believe that Malaysians could use more competition.

Consumers are definitely the one the benefit. We need better cars with better equipment, both comfort and safety ones.

After all, we are paying a lot for a car. RM139k for a car like this, for example, shocked my university mate from Australia.

• Altis on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Should I cancel my Altis booking? This is tempting but I am worried of its maintenance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 23
    • better don’t

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 29
    • frenzyaustin on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Altis
      +Cheaper in long run
      +Parts easily available
      +Worry free experience
      -Overprice
      -Dull to drive

Jetta
      +Straight line performance
      +Refine ride
      +Cheap road tax
      -Horrible service
      -Well known DSG around the world
      +/-
      Wah….German car, must be rich wor…
      Cheh….VW only pretend Audi ar, cheap lo..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 167 Thumb down 18
      • Aaron on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:52 pm

The pros and cons outlined in your comment is the perfect definition to both cars. The CKD Jetta is a good deal, no doubt. But in the long run it can be expensive to maintain and give you plenty of headache. But still, everything has their pros and cons right? The Jetta is very powerful and fuel efficient.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
      • anony on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:25 pm

Hm.. VW pretend Audi and being cheap..

Well, partially agree but also must knows that Audi belongs to VW Group.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
        • ng chan yue on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:22 am

Bentley, Bugatti, Lamborghini, Porsche, SEAT and Škoda also under vw group.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
          • Contender on Apr 29, 2014 at 10:22 am

Based on your rationale, to buy yourself Proton and can be associated with Lotus engineering which is part of Proton Group. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • Green on Apr 29, 2014 at 5:00 am

VW Jetta, Short Wheelbase Car.
        OverPriced too.

• Beware Dry Clutch! on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:01 am

What do you mean refine ride, ask any DSG owners, sometimes you get refine ride, sometimes the car judders. Is juddering refine ride?

Yes DSG is well known worldwide, well known for break down!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • alldisc on Apr 29, 2014 at 10:37 am

That judder is only at traffic crawl speed rite? Well that is gearbox working its dry clutch…. It is not obvious in the 6 speed wet
          Clutch because hydraulic fluid absorbs the vibration perfectly

• just cancel n booked the “all new” myvi xt hehehe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 41
    • Toyota the best on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:04 pm

You are very stupid when you cancel the Corolla booking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 57
    • jo jay on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:24 pm

You should not.

• better don’t..maintenance too expensive

• In my opinion, buying car is like gambling..If u’re lucky, u’ve no problem at all with the car. If not..

• Lansiliew on Apr 21, 2016 at 11:11 am

Nope, it depend how you maintain the car, I still keep a eleven years old savvy and not even a drop of engine oil on my posh and it’s sound like a two three years old car when drive over bump. I drive normal in the city but if you want to clear your stomach content please be free to joint our weekly casual drive along ulu yam to Getting sempah trunk road

• Colin Wong on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:35 pm

I think the Altis is so bland but in this case, Altis wins.

• Waoh~ Good Deal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • Motorhead (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:07 pm

VW bashers.. do what u do best… I ll buy something else.. not this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
  • Sounds tempting!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • lets the T & H salesman’s DSG bashing begins….those considering the altis, civic & slphy will have lots to think ….anyway, good for consumer wt the full safety suites being offered by VW…6 airbags/ESP…etc..etc…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 11
    • frenzyaustin on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:20 pm

At least UMW offer full safety at highest spec, Honda Malaysia give also don’t want give, still sleeping ar oi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 63
    • AVH (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:33 pm

Nissan is giving VSC and 6-airbags as standard in the new Sylphy.

Honda is giving VSC standard across the board, 4-airbags max(from the rumors, next Civic MMC getting 6)

Toyota gives……wait, what! You have to pay for what?!! only the RM135k 2.0G gets VSC?!! okay, okay fork out the cash and wait What?!! the extra airbags are an option!! A RM4k option!!! [-walks to nearest Mazda showroom in anger-]

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 7
      • seancorr on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:34 pm

I believe this is the only car in the range that has halogen lights as standard…

• xiper (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:42 pm

even the Previa doesnt come with VSC and only 2 airbags…

Altis or even Camry mean nothing to UMW, no need VSC nvm, uncle still love it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
        • What is Previa?
          Preve now has 6 airbags all across the variants lor. Get your facts right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 85
          • Winson on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:46 pm

Toyata Previa lah..or Estima.. u dickhead

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 3
          • Toyota Previa.

https://toyota.com.my/previa/

• qwerty on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:40 am

Oops, someone has been staying in the cave lately.

Hitz FM also got Previa advertisement bah~adui

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
          • Wisdom on Apr 29, 2014 at 2:54 pm

Whoahh..
            Priceless. stay in cave still dare to comment. Ask people to get facts rite summore..
            hahahaha…priceless u juon juboq

• I Pay for Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0V RM139k

7 airbags, VSC, TCS.

I wonder what makes U cannot afford that U wanted to Scold UMW?

If u cannot Afford Iphone, U scold Apple?
        If u fail to get Dream Girl, U hate Her?

Are U Psycho?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 47
        • AVH (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:00 pm

If you can afford it than its fine by you, but I believe airbags and VSC is something that should be standardize, well at least VSC, prevention is better than hoping your airbags works.

By specification the Corolla Altis is rather low for the price it is asking, and to add salt to injury things that many believe are meant to be standard are a price option. The Corolla Altis is the best car UMW offers ATM, but looking at the competition there are better options out there.

• Nicivo on Jun 17, 2014 at 6:28 pm

you can afford to think does that mean you don’t hv a brain bro?
          Altis is overpriced with minimal specs

• Lansiliew on Apr 21, 2016 at 11:18 am

That a reason why Toyota have been associated as a car without personality, now I get it

• Beware Dry Clutch! on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:05 am

6 airbags does not mean it is safe. My DSG has broekn down 4 times so far, each time, my life is at risk waiting for the tow truck. So many people pass by me like they going to rob me.

What if my wife was driving the car? And at night? No 6 airbags in the world can safe a rape! and the trauma of it.

Malaysians are so stupid, 6 airbags they get excited. But car is always breaking down, they say its okey and fine. Do you know how many people get robbed when they breakdown and an accident happens? Go ask the police. If not robbed, nearly 99% get their laptop stolen in the commotion of the accident. Either by the passer bys on motor, or the insurance company runner boys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 8
    • Beware Dry Clutch! on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:12 am

I don’t think it is Toyota and Honda salesman bashing. It is actual owners like myself trying to vent our frustration. We feel cheated. I work hard for a living and I rely on the honesty of the salesman. If they lie to me and they lie online, of course I will feel angry!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • Lansiliew on Apr 21, 2016 at 11:21 am

Hope the money you by the car come from a clean source, not donated by the Saudi prince

• frenzyaustin on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:09 pm

The only VW considered as worth it. Except for thr problematic DSG, everything is nice Hope they will bring the manual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • dasKraut on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:27 pm

The DSG is a well known problem but when it works, it gives almost flawless shifting and such a joy to play with. VW has been around before some of the fathers of commentators here. They have existed then and will most certainly continue to do so. The DSG failures have been addressed and i am confident whatever that causes them at the first place would be dealth with and resolved.

And what made those commentators here come to the conclusion that VW owners are imagining that they are driving ‘something like an Audi’? Something must be wrong in their heads. A VW is a VW is a VW. And, they own Audi and another performance car company somewhere in Italy not to mention Porsche. I don’t drive a VW anymore since my school days but I can dare say they build fine cars. They are now giving 5 years warranty aren’t they?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 20
      • Victim on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:52 pm

When you are one of the victims of a Very Worried car owner, you would probably understand what these fellows are trying to share….! Be wiser! don’t be the next fool!
        Some of them are sharing real life experience and genuine cases here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
      • Well.... on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:54 pm

Agree… not all DSG is bad.

The 7 Speed dry clutch used in all TSI models is the heart of the problem here. And its a design problem and not inferior parts problem. Hence not so easy to rectify.

Drive it sportingly or stuck in a crawl, the DSG overheats.. and kaput… VW’s current solution is to lower the torque of the car by meddling with the mechatronic,and requesting frequent GB oil change (bcos it reverting to mineral oil instead of synthetic)

whats the point of giving 5 years warranty when most of that time the car is stuck in the SC or owners visiting every other weekend to claim? Waste of time till VW get sensible and equip the TSI models with a reliable gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • Beware Dry Clutch! on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:21 am

I drive my passat so slow also it overheats and judders! No need to drive sportily!

• Winson on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:55 pm

no problem after they recall and replace the new mechatronic part for the dsg gear… new batch they use the new batch dsg gearbox and so far i did not hear any dsg gear box issue since then

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • JayJay on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Bye bye everything else. The Jetta is beautiful, and is a great deal right now. It’s VW against the World right now..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 47
    • i thought the ‘singer’ JJ.. i just luv his songs..

• bisakeris (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:12 pm

jj=jamaludin jarjis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Motorhead (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:14 pm

Good.. go ahead. . I support you. Buy it trrw. Let me know after u get poorer..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • JayJay on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:45 am

Bought it, still richer than you. Think about it. The people who buy this car are prepared to pay the additional expense for maintenance, if not, they would’ve gone for a Corolla Altis or a Honda Civic. This is for people who appreciate value for money at the current point, and the power of a turbocharger and a supercharger; it really is a beautiful thing in my perspective. And I, for one, think it’s a great deal, especially since VW are beginning to rectify the DSG problem, so if and when I have this type of money, I would seriously consider this car for purchase.

Yea, I didn’t buy it, but that’d be nice though..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
        • qwerty on Apr 29, 2014 at 11:52 am

So did you, or did you not buy this car? O.o

Btw, if I really appreciate value for money, buying a continent car is the last choice of my life. Yes, it does sound great to tell others that you drive a German car, but behind the door, you’d be most probably cursing for the costly maintenance, the below-par fuel consumption, the super expensive bill once your car needs any replacement etc.

For me, I rather drive a Japanese car that is reliable, less powerful but frugal, doesn’t worry me when I drive it out, doesn’t make me sell my kidney when I send it for repair etc.

Call me a coward for not daring to try new stuff, but that’s my hard-earned money! And I’m scared to spend even more for a car after buying it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • JayJay on Apr 29, 2014 at 2:48 pm

What’s it to you?

Yes, definitely, maintenance has the dire possibility of killing you, if you’re not prepared to pay for it, but if you bought the car without knowing that, that’s a completely different story.

Granted, almost any Japanese car in the market would almost definitely be more reliable than this machine, I’m not going to disagree.

And you did not understand what I said, did you? I said, appreciated the value at the current point of time, not in the long run.

And for status? That’s not why you buy this car, for most people outside might be judgmental on car choices like those above, so they’d discriminate you for your choice, so that’s irrelevant. You buy this car because you want it, it’s a preference, and because you are ready to pay for the maintenance, if and when it comes your way.

It’s not a dare, you know for a fact it’s going to be more expensive, but unlike most, there are a few people who buy a car because they want something to enjoy on their daily commute, not something that saves money and ‘does the job’, that’s what stereotypical Toyotas are for.

If you’re scared to spend, buy cheap, don’t bother looking at this car, for this is definitely not for you, it’s for fanatics, and those who appreciate power and specs over reliability, be it the few as it may.

This is my opinion, if you disagree, which most of you will, so be it. And if you want to compare this car to a Saga, don’t let me stop you. I am saying what is on my mind when I look at this car, and I would really like to have it if I could. That is all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
        • Kenny on Apr 30, 2015 at 10:14 pm

I really hope you get the money and buy a Jetta and experience its “value for money” while you are waiting for a tow truck by the roadside in the middle of the night. Good luck! You’ll need it.

• Lansiliew on Apr 21, 2016 at 11:35 am

Go and buy another vw now, they are offering dirt cheap, starting with polo sedan that are cheaper than local myvvi, jetta new for 80k, those who bought at 100k+ and they like rich guy like you as their loyal customer

• KettaVreakdoWn on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:03 pm

against the world due to problematic dsg..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • If you need tow truck for your broken car, do give me a call ok?

Uncle Towing Trucker
      24 hrs service

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Jetty on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Still, looks like a Saga to me!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 11
  • Enges on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:11 pm

Sigh…. now i have to reconsider my New Slyphy booking…..
    Anyone here know if the DSG issue solved?
    How about the Service fee compare to Altis, Slyphy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • mineral on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:25 pm

might be solved..use mineral oil instead of synthetic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • mineral on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:27 pm

service more expensive..around RM700 – 800 per service..but service interval longer..every 15000km

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
      • Bob_B78 on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:51 pm

I’m a Jetta owner and the normal service is below rm500. Is it other brand salesman told you it’s around? 700-800?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • KettaVreakdoWn on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:54 pm

better reconsider CBU mazda 3 since the price within the same range or juz wait for ckd mazda 3..altis is juz too pricey for ckd car..if u cant wait slyphy is the best choice among them all

• VW is trying to solve the issue.. they replace the oil with mineral and shortened the service period of gearbox.. less issue now..

• Victim on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:24 pm

1.4tsi. Good luck!
        Why so many tsi with less than 50k mileage sitting at second hand used car lots? Ever wonder why? RV is almost 50% gone in less than 5yrs… real painful!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • VW already managed to solve the DSG problem since mid of last year and it has been verified by early this year thus VW China decided to cancel the 10 years warranty on April 2014.

• mammoth on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Where is the news that CHINA VW cancelled the 10 yrs warranty?

• Lansiliew on Apr 21, 2016 at 11:41 am

Please…Japs car are robot. Period

• bslee on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Don’t buy VW.
    You will regret later as service is poor and dsg gearbox is sure to fail.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 22
  • sudonano (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:13 pm

130888, that, was actually quite unexpected. With the Polo TSI costing about 120k or so, for just another 10000, you can get a bigger, more powerful car.

And……… it is cheaper than the Altis 2.0 with “safety pack”.

I have to say, good on you VW. Just improve aftersales okay?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 6
    • iskhalifah on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:08 pm

Err, this one got “hefty maintenance pack”. I wished that they can just offer another splain version of the Jetta, by ditching the TSI and DSG, and using the same Polo 1.6 engine and normal auto tranny with price below RM110K. Even if it lags in engine performance compared to Altis/Civic, at least it excels in ride and handling & fuel consumption.

• As much as I want to give praise to this Jetta due to the reduction in price without sacrificing its CBU specs, I’m 100% sure that this DSG is dry-type and not wet-type as found in GTI models. So potential buyers still have to deal with the problematic stalling issue should you get stuck in the jam or the weather gets too hot.
    No I’m not Toyota nor Honda fan.. And given the choice I’d buy this Jetta but first they have to solve the fundamental issue regarding the gearbox.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
  • Modesto.hann on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:21 pm

To all current jetta owners, can you share how do you feel at this moment? Thanks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Jetta owner on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:38 pm

Mixed feelings. Happy for future’s jetta owner, sad for being early bird! Tulan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
    • Bob_B78 on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Loving my car every minute. Already 20k mileage with no dsg problem. Mine is 2013 model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
      • For me, the car is really excellent in term of performance & maintenance…no prob on DSG so far…already 1 year & half..almost 45000km

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • mine almost 2 yrs and 30+K mileage…. with no problems, alhamdulillah

already expected the price drop for CKD as usual. it was already identified as possible ckd when i bought mine but preferred the cbu anyways

CKD price is excellent value undercutting most japanese rivals… let the “C-segment war begins” :) at this price, jetta is the best value (considering ride/handling/comfort/safety) but minus for DSG issues to some owners
      despite the bad publicity for VW… I expect to see them to take significant share into T&H market, we’ll see the numbers end 2014

I’m located in Kuching, no problems getting svc appointments within 2 days and after sales is so far excellent… pity those in klang valley for bad after sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • Lansiliew on Apr 21, 2016 at 11:43 am

You bought it with clean unloundered money, thing might be different if you use Saudi prince money

• my car is already 14 months (CKD) and driven 35k. So far so good. Touch wood. u can practically beat all those cars in this 1.400CC category and most japanese and korean 2000cc for speed and acceleration.And fuelsaving if driven frugally.( My record at a constant speed of 80kph is 4.8l per 100km)but at speed , don’t mention economy.

i enjoyed driving my jetta. sure beats my other japanese and malaysian car.

• mucus on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Yay, I can join sam tow truck vvip member.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • AVH (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:22 pm

Priced at what it should be in the first place. At RM150k+ it was really difficult to understand what premium you get over the usual list of Japanese and Koreans. Reflector lamps, no USB/Bluetooth capability nor leather seats nor reverse camera or Navi.

Now with RM21k off the tag with a slight spec bump(wonder how current CBU Jetta owneres will cope with this news), it does present itself a fighting chance over the usual list of C-segment option. But personally the one thing that will drag people off the usual East Asian selaction, is that logo in front. The thinking of ones accension in the social status through the placebo effect. Other than that The specs and kit isn’t really a true advantage over a Korean or the new Nissan and Mazda counterparts, and the design is……safe, okay its very dull to me. There is nothing much to wow you away from a Cerato or a 3, design wise. Quality wise, is hard to argue against the Mazda 3 thou the 3 is priced higher but spec better.

Its a very tough to say it has a natural advantagge over the rest as it isn’t , a Honda Civic is the most unimaginative but safe route, the Sylphy for its comfort, the Focus for dynamics and the Cerato for bang per bucks. Thou I will be heavily critisized, a 2.0G Safety package(and only that spec) is also a strong contender. The Jetta sits in a neither here nor there situation, and remains a strong alternative to the rest. At the time of writing, there is no comment yet, but most likely it will be filled with comments regarding the unreliability of the DSG, It’s something to think about but not to really put you off as there are still satisfied DSG users on the road. But it is VW archille’s heel in Malaysia and it is a serious problem. On a brighter note, it does come with a five-year 24-hour roadside assistance package.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 4
    • nabill (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:54 pm

U do know that NOT every dsg is produced is faulty…..thing is,msians now associate VW with dsg reliability n nothing else,even if thy give u a million airbags n wat not
      Thr stories with dsg,but thr r more stories of dsg’s being perfect for yrs without a hitch..i happen to b one of them….i think dsg issues was blamed for the recent protests in vw service centers,but alot of it was oso the long wait for appointments,long wait for spare parts,n generall lack of trust in da sc personel n their attitude….

Obviously its up to da buyer n go for da safe japanese alternatives…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • AVH (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Burried in the lines of my comments -” It’s something to think about but not to really put you off as there are still satisfied DSG users on the road” –

I know there are many satisfied and happy VW owners on the road, but there are also disgraunted ones too. In fact, all VW users that I know off(not directly thou) are happy and satisfied users. It is a clear and present problem at VWM, the DSGs and poor after sales support, but the Jetta by itself have no really one strength to stand it out in the competition apart as I said, that German logo and built quality.

Every car is up to the buyer with the their cash and I never descriminate any choice made, I dont call neither Toyota, Proton, VW, Hyundai, any brands owners stupid, pethatic, dumb or any negativity that will insult their decission even thou I felt personally they could do better. all I could do is write a comment as what I believe said product in my fairest and earnest point of view unless it is sarcasm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
        • Well.... on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Drive like uncle sure mo prob. Drive like a GTI sure got problem. Mystery solved.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Michael on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:54 pm

I agree with you, the SA in Sg Besi SC, their faces look like we customer are idiot trouble maker.

• mineral on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:33 pm

it does have a natural advantage..its power and performance at a relatively low fuel consumption

• AVH (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Hmm, that’s true, but when it comes to performance, or more specifically, driving dynamics, the choice always swayed towards the ford focus with its torque vectoring. And efficiency ,I haven’t quite check the numbers yet that’s why I didn’t put it in, but when there’s the Prius and civic hybrid in this segment as well as outside the hybrids, the 1.8 Sylphy, I having really thought of the efficiency as it’s strength

That said, now that you say this, it might be an exceptional long distance cruiser. I know German cars are great at this.

• I will immediately book this beauty if VW can give guarantee on :-
    1)reliability and free from DSG problem.
    ( more than factory 2 + 3 years )
    ** China is getting 10 years warranty of DSG if i am not mistaken.
    2)after sales service.
    3)availability of spare parts

Otherwise, base on previous review and feedback from other VW owner, i will stay away… and just admire the car. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • Even proton Campari gear box better quality than VW, why would you so dumb pend 100k more for a problematic VW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 26
    • Motorhead (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:19 pm

How old are you? What do you expect from a conti? Dream on & keep admiring. You live in the wrong continent. Go & stay in or near Europe for parts availability. Wtf..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 29
      • Motorhead,

I am in my 40’s. I enjoy driving and loves car a lot. Been in this part of the world my whole life and ask for your question, what do i expect from conti car?
        Well, just like any other driver, nice decent car which gives you minimal problem and serve the owner well. Is this not a owner will ask for? i would like to believe its a minimal expectation, maybe you are different, one of a kind perhaps, mahu gaya. :-)
        Staying in euro does not sound or makes any sense if one wanted to buy a conti, i dont see the corelation here, you care to share where you are coming from? I dont get you.

WTF? pleae be more specific? F who? You?? I am not interested as i dont even know you but if its your galfren, perhaps. Have a good evening and dont bother to reply if you cant makes senses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
        • Motorhead (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 9:08 am

Simple math.. add logistic costs. Can you tell me which conti parts that is cheaper than japs parts? Who ever into cars know this unless you are idiots. Mercs, BMW, Peugeot, Renault, Ford etc.. please don’t tend to be an idiot… Malaysia is a market driven.. due to our location the fact that you can’t deny japs parts are anywhere here.. go to kedai potong.. accessories shops etc.. if this not making sense to you.. you must be playing idiotic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 26
          • Lansiliew on Apr 21, 2016 at 11:54 am

So you’re “kedai potong guy…” Emmm different league.

• MrPoppyplants on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Classic case of “You can never please everyone”.

I’m all for cheaper cars and competitive pricing. This was once sold at a whopping premium over internationally similarly priced cars like civic, altis, focus and elantra etc.. Now that the price is brought down, people will still continue to complain.

I wanted a Jetta but bought a focus sport+ instead because of the unjustifiable price premium that VW commanded.

Now my focus is giving me problems.

Oh well. So just buy what you can afford and like. Peace out!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • KettaVreakdoWn on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:57 pm

what kind of problem ?

• Victim on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:35 pm

Ask vgm?
        Problem that needed an engine block replacement, that took months’ waiting time & some heated exchange that charged up your blood pressure too! So, what actually is the tsi problem?

• Victim on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:31 pm

Indeed! No qualm on that. But not buying into something at hefty premium that gave major engine problem at less than 25k mileage, at least in my case. Do check what other clocked before suffering the same engine problem!

• Well.... on Apr 29, 2014 at 12:03 am

If its the gear box, no surprise… same getrag dry clutch DSG gearbox. Just marketed as powershift. Diff name, same gearbox.

• sepuct9a on Apr 29, 2014 at 11:40 am

Are you sure same gearbox?
        AFAIK, DSG is from BorgW and powershift from Getrag.

• Maseratits on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:37 pm

I wonder if the combination of TSI engine + 6-speed gearbox (the one found on the CKD Polo).

Seems like most of the problems VW face in our country due to the climate is just the DSG gearbox, but not the engine…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • CKD polo is MPI engine.. not TSI…

• Maseratits on Apr 29, 2014 at 12:45 am

I am aware that the CKD Polo uses MPI engine.

My curiosity is whether it is possible to pair a TSI engine with the 6 speed gearbox that is used in the CKD Polo.

• D.I.Y on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:27 pm

twin charger TSI is a failure piece.. pls walk in to the VW workshop, see how many are there is hanging on repair. Next time don’t just visit showroom, walk thru workshop have a look.

• HE man on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:15 pm

DSG actually is smooth & powerful. The only problem is the mechantronic (the motherboard to control the gear changed) due to synthetic oil not suitable for our climate. Hopefully the mineral oil can resolved. No other C segment can come close to Jetta engine spec. using twin chargers and 1.4 only.

• Lololol on Apr 29, 2014 at 12:06 am

Think about it… all other gear box uses syntehtic oil…. hence maybe its not the oil but the gearbox cannot regulate and discharge the heat efficiently enough. Hence the problem

• Give us sport option plz.

• Tony Pua on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:45 pm

is it correct tht a dry dsg means maintenance free and no need to change atf oil?

• My friend got his new ckd jazz, but after one month, left side dashboard has sound, driver’s window has sound when wet, rear alignment misalign. But his old cbu idsl jazz no problem after 3 years!

• AVH (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:35 pm

When it comes to mass produced product, quality is very hard to maintain across the board. Some gets excellent product and some gets outright piece of cr*p even thou its the same model, spec, colour, manufecturing date.

Case in point, my friends Kilimotrico works while mine just went dry out of ink even thou we bought on the same day in the same shop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Just blame your friend stupidity spend extra RM50k for a car worst quality than Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • rickyll on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:59 pm

Well, that’s the price to pay when buying a CKD. Right after I took possession of the car, My new CKD Jazz produced loud shattering noise when driving over uneven surfaces. It was sent back immediately, the technicians took about a day to find the root of the problem, thanked goodness, they discovered that the assembly workers at Alor Gajah plant forgot to put the necessary padding in the rear panel resulting in abnormal sound whenever the car passed through uneven surfaces. I have nothing but all praises for the dedicated staff at Honda service centre in Perai, Butterworth.

• M4YH3M on May 02, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Thank god they did not forget to put the seats or engine in the car. Wouldve been a sight to see when the salesman show you the car or pop open the hood and you’re like,
        “Ummm mr.salesman, I notice the engine’s missing. And probably a seat or two too..”
        *slowly closes hood*
        xD

Jokes aside.. How the h#*% did the assembly workers forgot to put a component inside? dont they have QC check before the car can be rolled out of production line? Just incredible..

• Push start!! on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:59 pm

Gt push star ma? :o

• As a new vw owner….unless u plan to use this as a spare car. … do consider the new sylphy instead. … body slightly less rigid but more spacious n no dsg

• Nazrul on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Think of it as a Sedan version of a Golf. With a Saga face stuck on front.

• palan on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Dashboard hideous…exterior so-so…aftersales suck big time…nice to drive…headache to maintain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • bisakeris (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:17 pm

>》aahhh i thought the new audi a3 sedan selling at 131k..

• billy on Apr 30, 2014 at 1:32 pm

you sure or not? A3 at RM131K, you must be kidding me! A1 around RM190K, how can A3 at RM131K?

• ts lim on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:25 pm

Why this jetta can make it 23k cheaper while didn’t reduce any spec while polo sedan and hatchback only cut it 30k but cut a lot of spec and feature?

• notoproton on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:59 pm

VW fanbois, why are you living in denial? Every one knows DSG is problematic and unreliable , why say otherwise?

VW wanna be owners, why do you want to buy a problematic and unreliable car? Besides the interior looks like from the 70s.

VW bashers, why bother with VW owners? It is their money, they can do what they want with it. Each to his own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • actually before i knew vw is a problematic car, i was crazy over it. but now,….i did some research on internet, is really shock to see the owners review thus changed my mind on vw. btw, vw design especially interior, really simple like previous b segment cars..now even b segment cars have more pleasant feeling compare to this vw

• Ricky on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Think again for those who wish to get this car…

• Even 32k Saga SV dashboard looks better than this crap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
  • LOLOLOL on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:23 pm

lol. Cheap price with reasonable specs in return for a failed gearbox which is difficult to fix. Short term shiokness on initial price vs product lifetime of frustrations on fault full gearbox. Buyers beware.

• Toyota are for Pussies on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:31 pm

Long Live VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Motorhead (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Yea.. pussies are for me.. I hope u really own a VW.. get poorer soon ya? Haha.

• Ricky on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:40 pm

I from the north & owned the CBU model for some time…. Warranty claim for 5 times, wasted months in service centre. DO NOT be lured by the so call 5 years warranty, its actually only 2 years warranty by VW, the remaining 3 years is by Alliance insurance. You will get the pain in your ass when you want to claim any warranty after 2 years, fastest is 7 weeks if you are entitled to claim. Before that, all service centre are trained to deny your warranty after 2 years by telling you have failed to comply with the 15000km service interval, my Jetta was being serviced at 8000km interval & yet they DO NOT recognise this intermediate service despite they have the service record. Until the recent protest by a group of VW owner at the VW Bangsa HQ, they merely allow extra 1500km for each service interval. The major problem of my previous Jetta : Clutch disc, Piston Ring broken which need a major overhaul, Turbo charger failed. The most dangerous part is when the turbo charger failed : I was driving heading north on hi way middle lane at about 70km/h, saw an bus coming from far behind at fast lane, wanted to overtake the car in front, accelerate & shift to fast lane, car speed up, but when rpm hit about 3000, speed suddenly cut down to 70km/h ! Immediately look at the rear mirror, the bus is getting near & I happened to just able to overtake the car & put on signal changed back to middle lane… Take note, major overhaul means all engine parts will be dismantled & I strongly believed all parts will not be taken care, that includes many highly sensitive part, like turbo charger. This could be the reason why the turbo charger failed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 8
    • HowToBelieveToyotaSalesMan on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:18 pm

You must be Toyota sales man. Sam Loo still alive, surprise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • notoproton on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:22 pm

VW fanbois say you are T H N salesman and BSter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • enges on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:35 pm

really grateful of u to pen down your first hand experiences as a VW owner.
      We, here the hesitating buyers really need u guys to update us your problems so that we know how and what to avoid.

More VW genuine owners with problems are welcome to share here…
      Thanks

• dont bull on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Pls don’t bullshit …the bus almost ended your cheap life..why you didn’t sue them and call on the press??rubbish talking silly noob.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 19
    • Keris Jawa on Apr 29, 2014 at 12:57 am

Claim sampai 5 kali Alliance dengan Allianz pun tak tahu beza. Nampak sangat pembohong! Bengap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Toyota are for pussies on Apr 29, 2014 at 9:25 am

Ah my vios is also facing similar problems…….oh just forgot it has no turbocharger and dsg yet still failed so miserably…….does it mean my Toyota is a bad car?

• DSG sucks on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:09 pm

DSG – DIE SURE GEARBOX

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Dead Chicken Kick Pot on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:13 pm

VW hype and glory days are over in Malaysia. Audi is heading the same direction too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • vwowner on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:15 pm

Own it now, sell it after 5yrs. At least the DSG got cover by warrenty/insurance. Good driving exp except the troublesome service & maintenance.

• Buying a jetta with DSG ? Pray hard and make sure you have a 2nd car to standby 6-8 months in a year.

• Beware Dry Clutch! on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:18 am

JEtta and Passat use same dry DSG gearbox. I can confirm with you, the salesman will lie through their teeth and tell you DSG problems are all past.

• hahaha on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:19 pm

pretty good value i have to say…the specs are nice and generous…decent alternative for altis, civic and mazda 3…i mean if the gearbox is problem free

• Jeremyng on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:33 pm

All of the sudden, most of the Paul Tan readers are VW owners , they talk about it like the faced the problem owned the car LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Denaihati on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:39 pm

even the exterior design not so interesting, i think this Jetta have an attractive performance. only the price to think twice.

• Langsat on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:53 pm

M owner of golf tsi advise JANGAN. New Mini Cooper looks good.

• Tiger on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:54 pm

Pobably the MoST expensive 1.4 cc model in the market, wat a rip off

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Bob_B78 on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:59 pm

Rip off? You should go have a test drive.
      1. Road tax cheaper than vios/city.
      2. Performance very close to 2.4/2.5 D segment cars.
      3. FC is as good as a 1.8l car (previously own 1.8l livina so I can really compare.)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Wilson (ex-VW owner) on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:32 am

Wait till your clutch / transmission fail. You’ll understand the true cost to own the car. You will be without the car for 1 month (clutch), and over 2 months for gearbox failure.

My car was in workshop for over 11 months in 3 years. And after two years, it is no longer under VW warranty. It’s under extended-warranty, which requires adjustor’s approval. If you wait for payment issued by warranty company, you’ll wait over 4 months, as for mine, over 6 months now. I paid my off when I collected car, and till now, money not paid out yet.

It is cheaper to own a 2.5L Camry full spec, or 2.5L Mazda6, or 2.4L Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
        • Bob_B78 on Apr 29, 2014 at 11:57 am

Sorry to hear for your problem.
          I was aware of the DSG issue before I bought my Jetta. When i was younger, i used to see European cars breakdown by the roadside. So, my perception is European cars are relatively fragile.

What made me buy this car was probably it is really a good car to drive and 5 yrs warranty. For me, the real headache is not having the car stuck in sc for several months. The real pain for me having to fork out large sum of money repairs. With 5 years warranty, it basically covered my worst pain.

• Tahkungchai on Apr 29, 2014 at 6:52 pm

please wake up and smell the coffee about the 5 years warranty. It is only 2 years by VW and 3 years is at the mercy of the insurance company. If you have dealth with claiming from insurance, you will know the lengthy process. I am not referring to those windscreen claim.

To me, VW is not being honest here with warranty. Most of the car manufacturers now gives 5 year manufacturer warranty and not some bullshit 2 + 3 years.

So, before signing the dotted line and be proud of buying a german show off car, do prepare some cash and spare car if your car ever need repair 2 years down the road. VW is not for the faint hearted or only 1 car at home owner.

• iskhalifah on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:58 pm

Provide at least 9-year warranty for DSG & TSi. Only then it will sell. Most average middle-middle class Malaysians (RM5-6K) won’t afford to buy this for 5 years instalments and 10% dp, unless if they eat maggi every day, remain single or inherit house from parents. Upper-middle class (rm7-15k) will have no problem for sure to pay in 5 years.

• Another poor VW owner on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:16 pm

When you speak of VW offering 5-year warranty, please read and imagine what it is really like in those scenarios:
    1. Service centre Bad attitude / Don’t care
    2. Allianz claims adjuster takes forever to attend to your case
    3. Even if VW take over the claims approval process now it still takes weeks/months to fix your car
    4. No spare parts availability when statistically they knew there are always cars breaking down every week over the same issues (DSG, engine failure, cracked piston, etc)
    5. Few courtesy car
    6. You need to spend more time than you want visiting service centre

It’s really really painful…

• notoproton on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:36 pm

Another Toyota salesman according to VW living in denial fanbois.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • Keris Jawa on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:15 am

Aaah, yang ini item No. 2 I can concur. Recently tried to repair accident damage thru VW. Kiasu la katakan. The guys at VW have been helpful. They just follow their SOP (which can be stupid at time). But this adjuster from Allianz was really like he’s the boss. Kita kena ikut masa dia. Padahal kita customer ni. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t have anything against Allianz. All my cars covered by them. Excellent service. Wife worked there at KL Sentral for 5 years. The most outstanding employer she ever had! Anyway, back to the adjuster. Last last I went to my usual workshop who deals with Allianz all the time. “Bawah RM10k punya claim, tak payah lalu adjuster bang”, so they said. There you have it. Sometimes you just need to do things differently. Problem is, staff at ALL car dealers (I have experience with 4 different brands so far) are not trained well enough to advise customers of their choices and customers, being customers are only happier to complain. Anyway, after two months driving with a lesung pipit on both my boot cover and bumper, my GTI is out of the workshop tomorrow, ready to terrorize more cars on DUKE and AKLEH ;-)

• Beware Dry Clutch! on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:16 am

Yes I heard that Allinaz Adjuster will ask for nice red packet. But I refuse to do this when my warranty expires.

VGM also knows that ALinaz adjusters know about DSG problems. I think they pakat with the SC centre to scare DSG owners that they have to pay so much of money and see if the owners give red packet to settle the problem. I smell somethign fishy between the adjuster and the service technicians!

• Vtec Power on Apr 29, 2014 at 6:56 pm

Come on. I will wait for you to smoke your stupid golf gti and laugh when your dsg fails beside duke highway.

Look for a blue civic yeah and dun cry when you can’t overtake it :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • Keris Jawa on Apr 29, 2014 at 9:30 pm

Woo-hoo! A challenge! Errr… I know Paultan does not encourage bad behaviour on the road, but woo-hoo!

Just kidding guys… It’s no good for younger visitors of this blog ;-)

Anyway, we can do it in Sepang if you like. I know people who organize such event almost every weekend. Cheers!

• Iniesta on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Whenever any news on vw being posted on Paul tan, all the comments of dsg will pop up some of them said vw dsg is worst than proton gearbox. I really wounded how they can compare vw with proton, vw sell their cars globally, and it is one of the world largest car manufacturer in term of production, but proton, they can’t even market their car in USA, Europe and Latin America.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • Aero (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:28 pm

Yes, thank you VW MY for adding one more ‘6-airbags & ESC’ equipped car to our growing list.

As for the DSG, I heard the newer ones are much better, but I prefer not to comment. To me, safety is important in buying a new car, and I’m glad this CKD Jetta nailed it unlike the CKD Polo.

Like the saying goes, the enemy of my enemy is my friend; I support any car company that is against UMW Toyota and Perodua (UMW Toyota’s lap dog), so after a few years of trial and error, I think I’m finally comfortable to say that VW MY gets my personal tick of approval. :]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • Green on Apr 29, 2014 at 3:01 am

Wierd Guy. I wonder How not able to afford a UMW car can make u hate them??

If u couldnt afford a Iphone u hate Apple?
      If u coudnt get your Dream Girl U hate Her?

Are U Psycho?

• Aero (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Eh ? Don’t judge too quickly man, I have a 2011 Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8E. Not exactly mine, it’s my dad’s. But I hate it. Really regret that we ended up buying the Corolla, should have got a Mazda3 or Ford Focus instead. Even a Hyundai or Kia would have been better.

• jetta 2012 on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:42 pm

..dah pakai Jetta almost 2 years already clocked 80,000..selalu travel seremban KL..takda apa complaint lagi unless the wind noise..aku puas hati sangat dgn performances .& handling..+ safety ..tak setaraf la mana2 T & H yg aku pernah pakai..biarla orang kata Jetta tak lawa..tapi aku pakai sedap..kita beli kereta untuk pandu bukan untuk tengok..most of the time you spend utk tgk kereta ke bawa kereta..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • btol2 bro..setakat ni xdop plop masalah DSG..already 1 year & half…performance best je..rupe pon not bad what…haha

• come on lah vw ! that steering…no feel !

• Yay Cerato still beat this gearbox failure car!

• Green on Apr 29, 2014 at 12:51 am

Wheelbase Comparison:

1. City Almera 2600mm – Jetta 2633mm.
    2. Sylphy Corolla Altis 2700mm – Passat 2709mm.

3. Honda Accord 2800mm – Passat 2709mm..

VW cars is very small.. too small.
    Jetta have a size like a B-segment. but RM130k?

Too Lousy Spec and Too Lousy Reliability for the Price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • No need focus to other problems. Each coin has 2 faces. As long as its approve vehicle on the road, done.
    Just focus to the title “CKD Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI launched – RM131k”
    Which its consider a good news for those aim to buy and now can saving much.

• Wilson (ex-VW owner) on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:24 am

As a previous VW owner, I would highly advice everyone to stay away from their DSG gearboxes. If it is non-DSG, then it’s alright.

Car broke down 6 times in 3 years, 4 times due to clutch issues, 2 times complete gearbox failure.

Other times when car didn’t break down wasn’t that bad, it was minor, as it was only electrical. Those fixes took only 30 minutes up to 2 hours to fix.

The clutches took almost a month, gear box 2 months. Imagine 3 years, and almost a year in the workshop.

Sold the car after the last time it went into workshop, and bought a Honda Accord.

I’m a relieved owner now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • Wilson (ex-VW owner) on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:28 am

Also, just to update you guys. After the first two years, it is no longer under VW warranty. It is considered extended warranty, in which you’d need adjuster to approve the claim. If you want your car fast, you pay for it first, and hope the cheque gets issued by the extended warranty company later. The last claim was November 2013, I sold my car in February 2014. Driving my Accord since January 2014. My claim has yet to be paid now.

• Beware Dry Clutch! on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:08 am

Yes, this is the main problem. After 2 years, the adjusters are more inclined to say “NO”. The whole 5 year warranty is nothing but plain fraud. Allianz is famous for saying “NO”

Consumers, beware. You VW has only 2 years warranty! But overseas VW give 5 years manufacturer warranty. Because Malaysian are low class world citizens, we get ONLY 2 Years!

• buy this then sarung BBS 17 inch..yummy!

• Drive Your Way (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 2:44 am

MT is still the way to go… only if you have a strong left leg and the Zen mindset especially in bumper to bumper traffic condition.

• Lemer on Apr 29, 2014 at 6:21 am

I have owned and driven Jetta for about 2 year. This car is very-very good to drive. I wonder why some folks here that do not even own VW always brought up DSG thingy? If there is issue with the DSG just claim waranty. Why people so stupid? This car come with 5 year waranty, if DSG the issue waranty could be longer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • blackbox on Apr 29, 2014 at 10:02 am

The problem is not everyone are so free to send the car to service centre for warranty claim again and again. Also not everyone have a spare car at home.

• JettaVierwer on Apr 29, 2014 at 7:58 am

Human being would never satisfy, if you like this car, just go ahead to buy it. People keep complaining DSG gear box, I am sure the problem been rectify, beside that, they are international famous car maker, not like our local car maker, they will look after of their own branding. Anyway, I’ve seen more and more VW cars on the road.

• Maaajeeedaaa on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:17 am

I feel the NEED FOR SPEED in a C.K.D GOLF GTi!!!!!!!

• mmaker on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:49 am

How about CKD golf mk7 at rm135k? anybody willing to buy?

• ts lim on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:56 am

Since so many people here don’t like dsg gearbox, why don’t vw come out the 6 speed manual version and further make the price down?

• Maserati(Official) on Apr 29, 2014 at 9:09 am

as I have correctly predicted weeks ago, the Jetta does retail at 130,888 ..

why you should choose this car?
    – state of the art transmission
    – reliable engine
    – very good chasis
    – VW engineering which is amongst the best in the world (they build Bugatti ffs)
    – high resale value
    – pure driving pleasure
    – TSI engine is the best engine in the world
    – reliable aftersales service

with the above reasons, I cant see why a sane person would go for a korean junk which is totally opposite from what a car should be like VW

stay away from KIA, Hyundai..

Get a VW

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
    • Lambat-dah! on Apr 29, 2014 at 5:50 pm

VW sales man spotted!

• Sam Tow Truck on Apr 29, 2014 at 6:59 pm

Yeah buy VW like maserati and become vip member with tow truck association.

Oh, and you may ruin your marriage too. His wife ran away with Kpop star coz he spend more time with VW mechanic than pumping his piston.

• Sam Looser on May 01, 2014 at 3:27 pm

That figures it. NO wonder he hates korean cars. Wife ran away with kpop feller. LOL

• bringmanualcars! on Apr 29, 2014 at 9:21 am

they should give a manual transmission option for jetta , or bring in the GLI

VGM u suck!

• Owner2years on Apr 29, 2014 at 9:26 am

Just want to share my ownership experience, bought the Passat in 2012 due the to safety features. The mileage now is abt 50k and the car have been driven thru the Puchong jam daily. There is no major problem and so far, the DSG has not failed me.

As for service center, dont expect 5 star treatment but I have experience worse treatment with well known brand.

• choy5 on Apr 29, 2014 at 4:33 pm

My younger sis bought a cbu jetta. I am considering a ckd jetta also. Is it that bad on the dsg gearbox? with all those unfavourable comments. It is more like a sabotage from other brand salesman’s comment. I love the feel of the drive , respectable performance for the price( beats all those Jap 2.o anytime)

• No laaaaa…

VW gearbox problem saja maaa….
    Plotong … power windows maaa …. lagi susah bayat toll..

• PoloS on Apr 29, 2014 at 9:40 am

Despite of DSG, the engine oil will need to take care also with TSI engine. As my fren Mk7, engine oil vapourize.

• got best spec among the segment, but when DSG problem comes, say hi to the receptionist in service centre…

• I thought its a good price really. An alternative to the civic and corolla. I thought the DSG problems have been fixed and we should see much less of them after 2012? no?

• Golf Owner on Apr 29, 2014 at 11:03 am

I am driving a Golf TSi 2011.

Problem with DSG/Gearbox for 3 times thus far. Replaced Mechatronics (is that the right word) and SC told me I have to drive it for a while to see improvement. Well, it improved after one month, and then after three months all the problem coming back. At a slope out of the parking in OneU, the gear box stuck at 2nd gear, the whole car vibrating, losing power, but the gearbox won’t shift to 1st gear. End result, my car actually went backward and almost hit the car from the back.

As for service fee, it depends. On a good day, RM700-800. On more “major service”, for example changing spark plug will cost you RM500. Changing battery would be RM1000+, and you have to send back to Service Center.

Tried to sell it, but the price is not RM80 (I bought at RM 165 with full spec in Aug 2011). 2.5 years lost more than 50% value, this is the first for me. Used Car sales person told me thanks to the protest, the value is dropping further.

Sometimes I really hope you guys don’t complain so much so I can try fetching higher price to those unaware consumer.

For those who think I am from another manufacturer, you are welcome to buy my Golf TSi at RM90k, comes with V-Kool, iPod connector (RM 4xx from VW), Glossy treated body, everything all well taken care of. Just a bit of vibration from time to time, and be careful on slope. All the problem only happens with 2nd gear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Golf Owner on Apr 29, 2014 at 11:12 am

Oh, I forgot to mention, the appointment system by the SC is fantastic. My first service at 15k, not aware that I have to book in advance, I called like 2~3 days before, was told to wait 2 weeks. At the end I have to service pass the 15k mileage. Not sure how it is affecting my warranty (finger crossed).

Recently, this january, I called at the first Monday of January to do my 60k service. The SC told me all fully booked till after CNY is over. Well, I suppose I can only blamed myself. So I booked my car for Feb 6th, the earliest possible date available, and try not to drive it outstation over CNY to keep to the mileage guideline.

On Feb 5th, SC called me and told me they can’t service my car the next day due to some renovation, and told me the earliest they can do my car is 26th of Feb. So I asked what about the mileage? I have to drive the car to work. They told me no worries, they will ‘fix’ the mileage for me.

So I sent in the car on Feb 26, car came out, service record shown my car was serviced at 62+k. So much so for the promise.

They lost my service booklet during the replacement of mechatronics but the SC denies it is their fault. To replace it, you have to pat RM3xx. Nice. Not only is spark plug and battery expensive, even the service booklet is expensive. Made in Germany I suppose?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • YeapyEvo on Apr 29, 2014 at 11:40 am

Nowadays you can get a second hand MK6 Golf Gti at the same price, with the relatively better wet clutch DSG and a way better car than the Jetta which is just a normal Golf with boot.

• Henry on Apr 29, 2014 at 11:48 am

Don’t be a slave. Buy something else.

• Joker on Apr 29, 2014 at 11:49 am

How about a NO??
    until they fit a wet clutch tranny in i dun think it’s really reasonable to buy it…

• samlok on Apr 29, 2014 at 11:52 am

good luck VW malaysia for the sale targets.

• If VGM is keen on gaining ppl trust… They should offer 10 years extended warranty for all the owners! I don’t mind they exclude wear & tear such as clucth… but the others should covered 10 years warranty!

Speaking from VW owner…

• Allen toyota subang on Apr 29, 2014 at 3:09 pm

This jetta will tempt guys who think that they manage to get a beautiful girl on the cheap… Instead they get a divorcee who is pregnant with someone else child… That is the predicament for VW OWNER IN MALAYSIA… Most of them are GUANG GUN oso…. Pity… Pity…. U all know where the lengluis are…

• rally_fan (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 4:41 pm

interestingly enough.. the jetta sold 925,000 units worldwide in 2013. more than any other model in the vw stable…the 3rd most popular car in the world for 2013.

• Colin Wong on May 01, 2014 at 7:57 am

And the most popular model in the world is another dual clutch vehicle, the 3rd gen Ford Focus.

• VGM EXECUTIVE on Apr 29, 2014 at 4:52 pm

I fully understands our customer concern and plight. We are also taking notes regarding the issues of DSG and also TSIs… The truth is we are trying to cater to increasing volume of cars with too few service center… We are making arrangement to have more SC in the west coast and also increase spare parts availbility. Please bear with us our loyal customers… WE HEAR YOU…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Dsg wrecked my marriage on Apr 30, 2014 at 7:39 am

Bxxxh….typical VGM answer….never answer your question… Wish that i could throw tomatoes at your face…

• Michael on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:47 pm

The problem of VW is NOT just DSG! Much far beyond DSG! Aircond compressor, radiator fans, center lock electronics module, wiper motors, bearing, and so many thing can be down within 2 years, and WORST –> Repeat again very soon! I have not yet starts with attitude of your Service Advisor (especially Sg Besi), their face like we customer steal their money! Not to mention idiot rule that “only Thursday” can place order for replace parts (even I wish to pay for the parts by myself!).

• I owned a 3 yrs old mk6 golf tsi (65k mileage) and a 2 years old (36k mileage) Sharan MPV. so far both a driving well with none of the issue regarding the dsg, mine have both dry dsg7 for the golf & a wet dsg6 on the sharan. Both cars drive beautifully. No regrets

• Colin Wong on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Actually I am puzzled. Most of my friends got problem. A couple don’t. Is there an explanation?

• TheDean on Apr 29, 2014 at 10:31 pm

I own the 2010 Polo TSi. No problems whatsoever with DSG. Received recall notice, changed the required parts as requested. Still no problems. Mileage already 50k. I owned the 2007 Jetta no problem. Also have 2012 Sharan. No problem. My brother has Scirocco. Inlaw has Beetle. All beautiful drives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • Jetta 24 hours owner on Apr 30, 2014 at 7:44 am

Just got my ckd jetta yesterday…. Immediately race to penang last night … This morning after parking at a hilly street … Noticed some juddering and cranking at low gear…. Is this the DSG armageddon? Just got the car yesterday… $&$&@$@$@&

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • Ex Jetta Owner on Apr 30, 2014 at 8:46 am

That is the beginning of the DSG troubles. Judder first. Then it will breakdown. Prepare to take many MCs. Go find a good clinic to give you MC easily now itself. Because that is was life. I am a Jetta owner and in a year, I used to take about 10 MCs just to wait for the tow truck to come.

You know the joke about VW owners finishing up their annual leave in SC…..IT IS NOT A JOKE!

• Michael on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:50 pm

You are Damn Right. But correction, not just DSG, VW car full with all kind of problems (and repeated no matter how much you spent to fix), and the face of Service Advisor like we customer are “trouble”.

This is hurt. It take a bad luck customer like me to understand the pain of VW and their ZERO quality SC.

• BlitzAce (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:57 am

Jetta CKD will only be available in showrooms after it arrives in showroom 2nd of May. How’d you even.. race to Penang last night with it?

• abc123 on Apr 30, 2014 at 12:34 pm

u got your Jetta CKD yesterday??? as far as i know none of the Jetta CKD registered yet… not sure u r from which brand sales man again…

• Keris Jawa on Apr 30, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Another brain dead over zealous sales man trying to make an ‘honest’ living. Exactly the kind of commentary that belittles this otherwise super informative blog. Come on guys! What do you tell your family back home? That you spread lies so that you can give them bigger house? Wider TV? The latest iPad? Make an honest living please and spare others your stupidity. Thank you

• Vw owner on Apr 30, 2014 at 4:32 pm

The way you speak… You must be a VW OWNER…. And… The bitterness… Must be DSG OR TSI issues oso… Can spot you a mile away….

• I saw you on Apr 30, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Thought i saw your car at the penang bridge last night…. The car still have the factory licence plate on… You must be VGM RUNNER right?…

• Jaybond on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:23 am

Exterior wise, it’s a big disappointment.Why there’s no LED DRLs , no LED Taillights and no Projector headlights???????? And no option for touchscreen infotainment system???? You need to keep up with the competition VW.So called competitively price car ,doesn’t mean you have to downgrade these things!

• siong on Apr 30, 2014 at 3:12 pm

while all of the dsg owners/bashers complaining their cars breakdown, i had never in my life seen any VW cars broke down with a double signal at the side of roadway.

• Michael on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Guess what? I saw 3 times in 20 months, and that’s just MY VW! All end up towed to service center. You must be living in your dream of working for VGM.

• VW FANBOY on Apr 30, 2014 at 4:58 pm

My father is giving me the new jetta before i start my A- level next month…. Soo excited…. Cant wait for it…. Soo stoked!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • They said it is a gay car..

http://roygbiv.jezebel.com/these-are-the-top-10-gay-and-lesbian-cars-1569142181/+pgeorge

• Modified VW Golf on May 01, 2014 at 11:33 am

My VW Golf Twinchager is modified to the max. 205bhp 280nm torque, thrashing the car almost every week for 2 years. U name the modification I got it (well almost except nitrous). No breakdown of DSG, no engine problem no nothing. Engine purs like new every day. I don’t know what is all the fuss about this compliant about DSG, engine yadda yadda breakdown yadda yadda…it pains to read all this bullshit bashing of VW.

• autodriver (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 9:58 am

My friend own a VW MK6 1.4TSI and his car did breakdown once due to clutch problem. After that incident he happily drive until now and no more issue with the DSG again.

I believe VW is such a big corporate will surely make their product better and in quality. Don’t forget they are one of the class leading in technology with affordable price.

No doubt the design is a bit lame or boring, the new CKD Jetta at 131k is a good buy. The performance and technology applied are simply unbeatable by the Japanese and Korean car.

• Michael on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:52 pm

The problem of VW is NOT just DSG! Much far beyond DSG! Aircond compressor, radiator fans, center lock electronics module, wiper motors, bearing, and so many thing can be down within 2 years, and WORST –> Repeat again very soon! I have not yet starts with attitude of your Service Advisor (especially Sg Besi), their face like we customer steal their money! Not to mention idiot rule that “only Thursday” can place order for replace parts (even I wish to pay for the parts by myself!).

• VW…Very Worry

• That’s a shame. For the same price, you could get a BMW 428i in USA.

• 9n3 owner on May 11, 2014 at 9:26 am

people should not buying vw with dsg dry gearbox
    this is a global issue

• I am thinking of getting this car, anyone knows how much discount VW SEs are giving for this CKD model? thanks in advance.

• Michael on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:58 pm

“good luck”, and enjoy your free coffee in Service Center.

• We have so far, Toyota salesmen and VW salesmen compromising the thoughts .. C’mon folks.. We need real owners with real experiences..

• Michael on Jul 08, 2014 at 9:44 pm

Don’t be fool, the problem of VW is NOT just DSG! Much far beyond DSG! Aircond compressor, radiator fans, center lock electronics module, wiper motors, bearing, and so many thing can be down within 2 years, and WORST –> Repeat again very soon!

• christiano on Jul 27, 2014 at 6:28 pm

haiz, plan to buy ckd jetta, testdrive the car yesterday, very responsive. but steering lack of feeling if compare to lancer GT.

• Cherasman on Aug 01, 2014 at 2:48 pm

I have read all the posts here and I am getting a bit worried whether I should get a ckd Jetta due to the dry clutch issues etc. Or better to get an Elantra instead?

• Please vote to decide my future with Jetta?

• Please vote to decide my future with Jetta? Like!

• namrong on Aug 27, 2014 at 12:53 pm

alahai..aku berangan nak sambar jetta ckd 2014…dh test drive ng wife mggu lepas di sg besi branch.. sales advisor amoi cunnn sgt, skg aku rasa 50/50 nk carry on sbb baca komen dr vw owner ada pos / neg .. secara peribadi aku rasa kagum dgn performance n design jetta ckd ni..cuma kena tggu dulu walaupum rebate 7k..nk byr blnan 1.3k rasa berat sikit.. tggu thn depan lah bg hutang bank setel..

• caraumun on Aug 28, 2014 at 11:29 am

If you ask me… this is good time to buy Volkswagen now. Thanks for all this complaint, VW had do their very best to monitor this SC.. make sure SC is working according.
      My Polo 1.2 Tsi was break down 3 days after delivery that time. My car was sent to service centre for claimed. Without making any fuss on service centre the SA apologize to me and he suggested to replace me with replacement car… which I got another Jetta to replace my car in SC..
      My Polo was stay in SC for 2 days, SC called me back to return replacement car and for my Polo collection.
      Until now my Polo.. so far so good.. no complaint at all..
      the only complaint is… NOW I NEED TO SAVE MONEY TO BUY JETTA AFTER TEST DRIVE

• Polo Sedan on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:27 am

Recently got into accident with my Polo Sedan CKD. It was a total loss case, hit an animal and dropped down a slope and hit a tree, overturned, badly damaged frontal. The safety of the car is unbelievable, even with the car overturned, the roof didnt dent a bit, and the frame remained in shape and solid. The tow car uncle couldn’t believe his eyes, claiming he had seen similar cases where if its a Honda or Toyota the frame and the roof would not sustain the weight and impact. And that was Polo Sedan, the cheapest of a VW. Thanks to that, am alive to claim the 100% insurans and will be doing a little upgrade to Jetta soon. Accident happens anytime even when you are 200% focused, and when it does, it’s the car you are in that makes all the difference. Now to me, Polo Sedan is the most underrated car out there, with 80+k pricetag, it is definitely the best affordable car which provides comfort and safety. Looking forward to grace my new Jetta soon.

• Jehan_jayzee on Nov 28, 2014 at 8:08 pm

Thanks for all the commentators. So.. Fm the all comments have been given.. We can give some conclusian that the VW that a pro n cont.. No wonders nowdays we see all drivers changing their car to VW instead of Honda & Toyota keep reducing on the road.. Big clap for VW. But for the DSG issues.. Its myb the past problems. Its only a man made machine.. Xde ciptaan yg sempurna selain drpdNya.

• Buying Jetta on Jun 02, 2015 at 1:25 pm

Dry clutch is not new technology. It suppose to have a long lifespan. VW has done the right thing to use the dry clutch on their models.

• puzzle on Jul 11, 2015 at 3:16 pm

Otw to vw center…after all the pros n cons comments not sure whether to buy or not the jetta 1.4..the sales man offer a good price for a ckd..just RM 116k plus 0% interest…is it a good bargain?

• just buy lah. I use mine for 14 months with 35k mileage. so far so good.

• JettaLover on Sep 01, 2015 at 3:12 am

True Just Buy. It worth it with ultimate speed german technology

• JettaLover on Sep 01, 2015 at 3:10 am

Always believe German Technology,they need to improve a lot.

• grab it, I bought my CKD for 130+k. driven 35k and no problem. Only once had a ABS sensor mulfunction, but replaced under warranty.