Ford delivers best-ever Q1 performance in Malaysia

Ford-Fiesta-1.5-Sport-and-Titanium-018

Ford Motor Company has delivered its best-ever first quarter performance in Malaysia, with a sales increase of more than three percent to 2,924 units for the period of January to March, reports Bernama.

Ford said in a statement that its best-ever March retail sales rose 18% year-on-year to 1,049 units, led by the Ranger, Fiesta, Focus and Kuga models. Ranger sales in particular jumped 44% year-on-year to 621 units in March.

In addition, healthy demand across the entire line-up helped to drive the Ranger’s all-time best quarterly performance in Malaysia with sales rising 37% from a year ago to 1,719 units.

“Our expanding product line-up in Malaysia is helping the Ford brand appeal to even more customers across the country, and helping drive a steadily increasing flow of traffic to our nationwide network of Ford showrooms,” said Malaysia and Asia Pacific emerging markets MD David Westerman.

According to Bernama, the Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost is set to be launched in Malaysia next month, after being teased in end-March.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Please improve after sales service,especially spare part replacement,from KL to Jb,it takes more than a month to deliver,like the part ship from USA to M’sia….if u want to buy ford car,please bear in mind their poor service of spare part replacement..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • 3 Months Wait on Apr 28, 2014 at 4:42 pm

I had a 2013 Ford Focus before. I can tell you one thing, my dual clutch stalled and broke down a few times. And when it stalls, it locks the gear and tires. You are just stuck. I kena in the middle of Federal Highway peak hours. Everybody curse me. Cannot even push the car to emergency lane.

Another big problem about Ford, every single part is a 3 month wait. My front bumper got bang, AutoConnexion took 3 months to replace it. they said must order from Singapore.

For 3 whole months they held my car. For 3 months I had to take bus to work. I got no idea why. Singapore is so close to Malaysia. But Ford Malaysia make it seem like it is in Zimbabwe.

Yes, the car is nice to drive and got real Continental feel. As good as Mercedes. But Buyer Beware lah. You will cry in pain when you line yp in the bus stand waiting for the Metrobus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
      • mizuru on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:48 pm

the cost to build a standard recaro seat in japan is 5k.The same recaro seat build in german will cost 7k.same structural integrity,same fabric same design.they cost more because german have higher taxation rate and higher gdp.so,if you think german car are superior because the price is higher ,then your whole life have been a lie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • Same Loor on Apr 28, 2014 at 5:11 pm

The build quality is not quite consistent. My fren had one and he changed gearbox, steering rack, rear suspension and radiator within 12 months, luckily he has warranty. But he is terrified already and going for T/H/M/S next time.

• it’s mainly led by Ford Ranger.

There is a whole new Verison of Ranger that Booming on the road::

Ford Ranger Lo-Rider RM65k range.

other contribute sales, but not helping in better sales.

• my thoughts exactly, the ranger sold well, and the last time i saw this particular aston fiesta on the road, it had a test drive sticker on the side.

• Baja Lapis Seng on Apr 29, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Agree. Getting more and more Ranger on the road compared to even 1 year ago.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Apr 28, 2014 at 3:33 pm

~In addition, healthy demand across the entire line-up helped to drive the Ranger’s all-time best quarterly performance in Malaysia with sales rising 37% from a year ago to 1,719 units.~

Mana WildTrak? Don’t use the word “Entire Line-Up” Mr. David Westerman, damn sickening where ppl got money to buy but NO STOCK or “PUTUS” stock!!!

• azhar on Apr 28, 2014 at 3:49 pm

later they will increase Ranger price like what they did with Fiesta…greedy Ford!

• Baja Lapis Seng on Apr 29, 2014 at 5:17 pm

The price i think already hiked up twice already :(

But the new 2014 Ranger (XLT variant) will be equipped with ESP compared to previous years

• Cheung on Apr 28, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Looking forward for the Ford Fiesta 1.6L Eco-Boost engine

• Xerox on Apr 28, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Ranger sales good due to huge purchase from Sime Darby Plantation. Money masuk pocket sendiri lah.

• EnergyAnalyst on Apr 28, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Wow, I am glad I gave talked my relative out from buying fiesta judging from the comments here so far

• frustrated on Apr 29, 2014 at 2:05 am

luckily you did bro..

trust me no regrets, unlike myself, resale value is down the drain. i owe the bank more than the value of the car so i cant sell eventhough i desperately want to.

• sepul on Apr 28, 2014 at 6:20 pm

I can understand one thing about Fords with dual clutch; the problem with the gearbox is mainly on the actuators, the component that controls the clutches. It is electronic, not mechanical like wet clutch gearboxes. If the gearbox fails, most likely is the actuator’s fault. Probably due to electrical surge or TCU malfunctioned.

I think instead of replacing the whole gearbox, owners should check with the service center about this component whether it can be repaired or replaced while keeping the same gearbox intact. Unless the actuators is built in with the gearbox, then may have to change it entirely.

Ford and SDAC should have a technical briefing to owners about the gearbox in detail, so owners can understand the mechanics and able to sort issues with it. At least they can fight with the service center if they are being conned because they already have the knowledge of what might went wrong.

• samlok on Apr 29, 2014 at 9:20 pm

The problem is that the technicians r substandard. They rather change the whole thing. Easier for them to work.

• just like that on Apr 28, 2014 at 6:51 pm

Time for Ford owners with gearbox issues to rise up along/like with their VW counterparts and protest against SADC!!!!!

• Sean Cheah on Apr 28, 2014 at 6:56 pm

After sales service really bad, buy a new fiesta, having knocking sound problems on steering, visit service centers for first 4-5 times cannot detect the problems, asking left the car for overnight inspection and finally found problems at 6th times…here comes spareparts problems, service center logged the parts and waiting more than a month, and even informed that shipped wrong parts… WTF… as u see, how bad the after sales service and quality of the workshop worker…

• entaoba on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:13 pm

My 3 month old ford focus so far so good after 5k mileage…no major issue on the clutch even average jam for 2 hrs per day in kl city centre, except for some jerking sound during low speed especially when decelerate after climbing the car park ramp, which is still acceptable to me.

• xiper (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 2:08 am

3 months old is way too early to judge

• PaulWong on Apr 29, 2014 at 9:25 pm

Jerking means gearbox gonna die soon. Get your tow-car phone no stick to the windshield. Good Luck.

• sudonano (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:21 pm

After driving the 2013 Focus, honestly, it did not feel as good as the last one. And it all boils down to the transmission.

It was well made, no doubt, build quality was decent for the price, good kit, price also pretty good. Looks decent too.

But when I drove it out of the dealer lot for that test drive, it just fell flat. From the way it accelerated, too sensitive imo. Then in low speeds around the dealer area (where there was traffic) the car was just confused, just so confused… It was like thinking and thinking and thinking……

It did handle well though, when I tried an avoidance manoeuvre, thanks to some genius who didn’t think about looking behind while reversing out of his parking lot, it did feel confident. Good on the long highway drives, but it is a mess in traffic.

And at 130k, that’s a bit unacceptable, considering the old Focus did all what the new Focus does right, and doesn’t feel confused at all.

With the horror stories of SDAC, it seems like a storm is going to happen on Ford Malaysia soon. They should buck up before they fall into the deep pit VW fell in. Last thing Ford needs is a protest in SDAC’s offices.

• CM (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:56 pm

SDAC, where’s the new Fiesta Ecoboost? It was due for launch here on April 26th. Now the Ford website merely says soon. Staff at Ford are not sure either, they are saying next month. More interesting was the Manager of the dealership. He’d no idea that the ST was coming. He didn’t even know what the ST was. When I pressed, he looked irritated and said it’s coming much later.
    Car salesmen….all the more amazing considering the number of regular guys out there who know a car brand and it’s entire product range like the back of their hands. Including models from the past 50yrs! But not the car salesman, he’s only interested in selling…..

• fortezen on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:44 pm

hi guys, I planned to book either the Focus Titanium+ or cerato 2.0 by next month, however, I found alot of Ford owners complained that the parts and service gonna be horrendous, closer look at the spec, the titanium+ really offered somehow quite lots of toys, but some said the backseat are cramped and the main problem is the dual clutch? is it really so bad for city driving?

• samlok on Apr 29, 2014 at 9:28 pm

I think cerato is more reliable. My friend got one, and he is doing sales. He clock more then 100K km within 6 months of owner ship. Not a single problem, according to him.

• entaoba on Apr 29, 2014 at 9:54 pm

To me, focus titanium+ city driving is ok, so far no issue on dual clutch. Must always shift to N whenever stop or standstill in traffic jam. Rear seats are cramped, only suitable for small family :)

• kumin on Apr 29, 2014 at 3:45 pm

i love my persona….almost 6 years with 147000km journey…no major breakdown even a power window fault.

• Baja Lapis Seng on Apr 29, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Rangers lead the way.

• Kenny on Apr 21, 2015 at 9:40 pm

Why do people still buy cars which gives a well known nightmarish experience?