Honda City Mugen Prototype debuts in the Philippines

honda-city-mugen-prototype-1

Still very much the it car of the moment, the 2014 Honda City has impressed us and at least 10,000 Malaysian buyers so soon after its local launch. The Vios-beater is already available with a Modulo-branded bodykit here, but if that doesn’t catch your fancy, maybe Mugen’s upcoming look-faster dress-up package would.

The Honda City Mugen Prototype you see here premiered in the Philippines, alongside the standard car’s local introduction there. The Mugen bits include a unique front grille, complete four-piece all-around bodykit, carbon-fibre wing mirror covers, a boot lid spoiler and a set of 17-inch aluminium wheels.

For now, the Mugen package is labelled as a prototype as it’s not quite ready for production just yet, but Honda Philippines says that it will be available for purchase in the third quarter of 2014. Time will tell if or when it will arrive here in Malaysia, where only the Civic is offered with Mugen parts. The question is, will there be any takers?

Live pix by AutoIndustriya.com

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Next time jangan besar sangat on Apr 28, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Why suddenly blackened the so called Titanium? Malu kah? Honda should know prevention is better than cure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • kadajawa (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Honda Malaysia:
      “Hi MITI, can we do local production ckd City Hybrid with RM80K price under EEV car policy??”

MITI:
      “Are you sure DRB and Proton allow that price?”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
      • shame_Loo on Apr 28, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Mugen only produce Ah Beng model. Sick….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
        • mizuru on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:48 pm

the cost to build a standard recaro seat in japan is 5k.The same recaro seat build in german will cost 7k.same structural integrity,same fabric same design.they cost more because german have higher taxation rate and higher gdp.so,if you think german car are superior because the price is higher ,then your whole life have been a lie.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
        • Vader on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:09 am

The sick ah beng bodykit is so call TRD that put on Vios!

• Same Loor on Apr 28, 2014 at 5:05 pm

For a few to live rich, everyone have to die poor.

You buy Proton, you subsidize their Bentley at home.
      You buy foreign car, you subsidize their S class too through the excise duty, import tax.

Since everyone keep on subsidizing Proton, why do they bother to produce valuable, comfort, safe and reliable car?

Proton won’t fall before everyone of us does.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
      • Sami Loo on Apr 28, 2014 at 6:42 pm

Preve isnt safe enough ? much safer all other car in its price range . if you wanna argue about tax, you think proton cars no need pay duty ? or else you can buy a full specs preve at less than 50k, so its government at fault, not proton. Perodua is giving even shittier cars than proton and no one complains ? bullshit empty kosong myvi at 50k ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
        • Jon Moffet on May 02, 2014 at 1:42 pm

Sami Loo…

People doesn’t complain Perodua and MyVI at RM50k because Perodua care rarely causes problem in the first year of purchase (Good QC)

Proton cars are notorious for multiple QC issues – latest Suprima S are plague with carb wiring fan melted which causes engine overheating, then prob with headlights getting blown up some more, powered trunk stuck or can’t open, rattling issues (though i think it is minor)
          The bad reputation on Proton quality still stuck

• trololol on Apr 28, 2014 at 3:43 pm

poor thing, add-on bumper… i just don’t understand. why don’t just make one full piece instead of add-on.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Keep the flared skirts and carbon fiber door mirrors. Just the black-out grill and black 17in tickles my fancy. Never like how the new city’s ‘platinum’ grill, in fact, what draws my attention to the previous pre-facelift car was the gundam face.

• a city is never sporty, a civic or crz maybe but, a city just a no. The kit makes the wheels look so much smaller.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • donadoni on Apr 28, 2014 at 4:08 pm

guess how much it will cost you? a civic 1.8 i tell u that. nonsense.

• Joker on Apr 28, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Unless with added performance,
    i see no point paying a chunk more $$ for this..
    might as well install it our own as it’s more cheaper and u can choose which type of material u want….
    but this could easily pawn Vios TRD…

• civicowner on Apr 28, 2014 at 4:28 pm

city will never be a race car…put on bodykit of anytype it still just a city car…

• city scoop on Apr 28, 2014 at 4:35 pm

malaysia have no snow, we simply don’t need ‘snow-scoop’ vehicle to clean the road.

• Chris (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 5:43 pm

But it’s very effective at slowing people down at speed bumps

• Seriously on Apr 28, 2014 at 6:03 pm

What gimmick are they up to now?

• Albert Lee on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:09 pm

I hope Honda is not following Protong with the Sportivos and carnivals.
      If you want those sportivo items,just go to any car accessories shop.There are so many designs to choose from.They can decorate your car KAO KAO .Just use your credit card generously.

• my god that rice

• albag on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:29 pm

looks like a kitted up hamster now

• I think the front skirting a bit over protrude. Like it’s for 2014 Merdeka race. Maybe trim a bit for “street” use. Overall not bad. Maybe could show some more Mugen parts in the inside and under the hood??? Don’t just give us

• MrPoppyplants on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Malaysian Ah Bengs are way ahead of their game. Honda, you guys are too slow.

• Cosmetic decoration, not even with improve handling.

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Nice for me.. bring it here. Let’s see how.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Confirm targeted at tastless ah bengs…all that over the top look….oh wait…its a cvt!

• Denaihati on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:50 pm

suitable for aggressive young driver. hope honda honda malaysia will offer more reasonable price for this kit package…heee.

• teelim on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:26 pm

throw in a 6spd manual gearbox and bolt on a turbo and I’m sold

• TissuePaper on Apr 29, 2014 at 5:05 am

So ugly!

• bisakeris (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 8:18 am

>》erkk! damn ugly, better without this mugen.

• Zapruder on Apr 29, 2014 at 10:03 am

No please.. Just no.. Enough said. Modulo kit is fine. Vios TRD doesn’t need a rival. Let it be ah beng by itself.
    But if the mugen team includes engine upgrade with this body kit, then it’s a whole different story..

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Apr 29, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Somehow, sushi mods looks great when the mods are factory fitted

• BOMOH on Apr 29, 2014 at 3:00 pm

If honda city use campro cfe in their car, it can smoke bugati veyron

• Annoynimouse on Apr 29, 2014 at 6:54 pm

A meaner looking everyday city car…