Subaru Forester 2.0i-L arrives, priced at RM175,690

subaru-forester-2.0i-l-malaysia 092

Motor Image Malaysia has quietly introduced the Subaru Forester 2.0i-L in the country to keep the existing Forester 2.0 XT company. It’s basically the more affordable, non-turbo variant of the fourth-gen Forester, which was launched in Malaysia in July 2013.

Under the bonnet you’ll find the same engine that powers our XV 2.0i – a naturally-aspirated, multi point-injected 2.0 litre twin-cam FB flat-four that develops 150 PS at 6,200 rpm and 198 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm (Forester 2.0 XT: 240 PS at 5,600 rpm, 350 Nm between 2,400 and 3,600 rpm).

The engine is connected to a Lineartronic CVT with six virtual ratios. As the SI-Drive here only offers Intelligent and Sport modes, you don’t get the eight virtual ratios afforded by the 2.0 XT’s Sport Sharp mode.

Of course, the CVT’s ratios (as in gearing) here differ from the 2.0 XT’s. You still get Symmetrical Active Torque Split AWD, X-Mode off-road settings, hill descent control and hill start assist. The 2.0i-L weighs 1,495 kg – 140 kg less than the 2.0 XT.

There’s a tamer-looking face – a different front bumper forgoes the 2.0 XT’s chrome bits, huge side ‘whiskers’ and prominent number plate bar. The grille is of a two-layered design, as opposed to the 2.0 XT’s honeycomb mesh.

Also, the grille surround and wing on which the Subaru logo sits are painted silver here; they are chromed on the 2.0 XT. Other outside differences include unpainted roof rails, the absences of a side chrome strip and power tailgate, 225/60 R17 alloys (2.0 XT gets 225/55 R18s) and one tailpipe (2.0 XT gets two).

Inside, a six-speaker 2-DIN sound system is in place of the 2.0 XT’s eight-speaker Harman Kardon setup, although Bluetooth is retained. There are no aluminium pedals, no leather gear gaiter (exposed gate) and no chrome- and gloss black-trimmed gear lever base.

But that seems to be it – keyless entry and start, auto dual-zone air-con, auto self-levelling HID headlamps with washers, auto wipers, eight-way electrically-adjustable front seats, a reverse camera, cruise control and the same black fabric seats all trickle down from the 2.0 XT.

As do the safety aids – seven airbags, VDC, ABS, EBD and Isofix are fitted as standard. The car on display here at the PJ showroom does not have a sunroof, but the actual car sold to the public will have it, we’re told, with deliveries set to begin in June or July.

Fully imported (CBU) from Japan, the Subaru Forester 2.0i-L is priced at RM175,690, OTR with insurance. That’s RM30k less than the RM206,471 Forester 2.0 XT. Check out Episode 2 of our Driven Web Series, where the Subaru Forester made a surprise appearance.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 9:46 am

Its a good thing thy introduce is quietly…big heavy body..none turbo…n a sky high price…a crv is all u will ever need

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 22
    • The Truth About DSG (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:16 am

At least the Boxer engine does not break down like VW DSG!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 31
      • Simon Har on Apr 28, 2014 at 2:11 pm

DSG is not an engine, thats shows how knowledgable you are! By the way, the VW TSI engine is still the world’s best engine for below 2 litre capacity. It was recently voted most reliable engine in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
        • Dead Chicken Kick Pot on Apr 28, 2014 at 4:58 pm

you either vw salesman or sore owner of a lemon DSG … stuck and unable to resell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
        • AVH (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 5:33 pm

I think he is lementing about the reliability of the machine and its parts, either way, if one of them, the engine or the gearbox, is unreliable, the whole car is considered unreliable as it will never properly work as intended.

That said, I’am not sure of Subaru’s new CVT, but previous Subaru’s parts are built to last all kinds of beating, everything from the engine, to the transmission, to the suspension. It dosen’t matter if the VW’s TSI is reliable or not if it can’t send the reliable power to the wheels, and heceforth is still an unreliable car.

• serious ah? most reliable ah? Those Golf 1.4 with engine failure didn’t count isit?

• mmaker on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:11 am

It is a good SUV, i mean very good SUV. If u wanna buy a SUV but your neighbourhood already surrounded by CR-V and CX-5, this new forester maybe a good choice for u to be a little bit different than others. But for all price, u will get more value if u go for CX-5 2.5 version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • I am so happy hehe please row out a Youll Never Win Again special edition!

• tkhengong on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:51 am

Regrettably, priced out of the market. There are many excellent alternatives for that kind of asking price – one that comes to mind is the Hyundai Santa Fe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • AVH (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:15 am

Well it does have five more airbags than the Santa Fe which around these part of the web, is a sign of it being undeniably superior. And the Santa Fe is a fully fledge oil-burning, high riding , 7 seating cruiser that lacks a car-like driving feel the Forester can give. In all it is targeted at a different crowd, and the only thing that comes close is the CX-5 2.5l…..It is however dissapointing, like all Subarus imported, lack of a Navigation(something almost standard in these prices), but given that is 2-din that can be change from a quick trip to Brothers.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 12:44 pm

I think its nt a cx5 competitor… This one is bigger epecially in da rear,i believe its the crv,santa fe,kia sorento bracket

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:18 am

Remember. . It’s CBU.. C.B.U, from Japan.. not Thailand. You know how to read? … go & check the hefty taxes.. not bad for a CBU.. price very close to XV dy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Sell it at rm150k baru boleh hidup..or wait till year end discount

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • AVH (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:23 am

Less aggressive and all out more practical car than 2.0 XT, wonder weathe the FC is better in this than the Turbo. It still holds its value from the 2.0XT for being a high(er) riding, car performing, super practical 5-seat SUV, and I’am generally impressed of Subarus built quality. Some aesthatic have been loss over the Turbo but I’am fine with that.

Subaru did double their sale last year with the XV, and looking at the number of Forester popping out in the street, I am hoping they will do better this year. Now they need to bring in the ‘normal’ Imprezza (lowered XV) and if possible their EyeSight tech.

• Waja2003 on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:24 am

I owned a WRX. I must say Subaru engines and tranny are built like a tank. Interior finishing plasticky though.

• heybadigol on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:29 am

Wow, 140kg lighter than the XT. Considering the missing things mentioned here is the turbo (and all its inherent components), 2 less speakers (rear tweeters I should guess) and that H/K amplifier. Ok, amps are quite heavy, but tweeters are light. So must mean the engine (same as BRZ/Toyota 86 but different from the XV) and turbo must be heavy on the XT? I suspect there are other differences too, which you can’t see. Probably the chasis bracing is less here compared to the XT which is supposed to be more performance biased. That will account for some of that 140kg.

Anyways, the price is kinda expensive compared to the CRV. Think its similarly priced to the 2.4 CRV, which is more powerful & has bigger interior and boot space. Though the Subie is a more capable offroader. Personally, I would go for the XT.

Now, where is the WRX, STI & Levorg? :)

• AVH (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 5:04 pm

WRX and STI coming soon

Levrog is a concept car, the production WRX Wagon hasn’t been launched.

• DrCooper on Apr 28, 2014 at 12:37 pm

It’s totally overpriced !

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:05 pm

I suggest you buy Saga SV.. no money is it? CBU from Japan.. how cheap you want? Buy a 2nd hamd Kelisa.. go ..go..

• If Proton design that type of dashboard…sure kena KAW KAW punya!..

• spongewai on Apr 28, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Subaru had 2 C-segement SUVs

one is XV and other is Forester

hmm, price much different lol

• I like this car. My Senior Project Manager, Mr. Gene bought his Forester exactly a year ago. So nice of him to show me his new car the day he drove it to our work place in San Jose. I told him looks great. He said he likes Subaru’s 2.5liter.

• Lookman on Apr 28, 2014 at 5:59 pm

So good, sooooo expensive for 2.0l car

• sepul on Apr 28, 2014 at 6:27 pm

I think this one is targeted at Sorento/Santa Fe/CR-V 2.4/CX-5 2.5 buyers.

For a Japan CBU, the price is reasonable. And spec sheet is great too. Plus, Forester is a capable offroader and handles like a car (according to journalist).

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Finally there’s still sane people around. You got the point.

• bisakeris (Member) on Apr 28, 2014 at 7:16 pm

•not for me. next.

• Ahfooks on Apr 28, 2014 at 10:17 pm

I tested Hyundai Santa Fe and CRV follow by Forester. You will immediate tell the difference. To find out the value of Forester especially the XT, you need to TEST DRIVE it. The Forester just much more superior SUV in term of the core engineering.

It’s a very capable off-road SUV, top rated safety, drive like a sport car and goes like one also.

• Guest Larson on Apr 28, 2014 at 11:56 pm

I have been following Forester for more than 8 months. You must test drive this SUV to find out it’s value.

The price is very high as compared to XV. In US, XV and Forester 2.0iL are sold at almost the same price. I was wondering how Motor Image come out with this price. Do remember, CBU car from Japan is entitled for a lower import tax this year (for 2014, the import tax is 10%). In US, the selling price is 22,195 USD (roughly MYR 72,500).

By the way, I heard this model does not have Power boot. The good news is MI have some promotional price discount for early bird.

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 29, 2014 at 9:17 am

U forget excise duty for CBU? XV is CKD already selling at 150k (before discount). Maths fail? Anyway I support Motor Image trying to position their products best way in our difficult market. Hopefully you ll give more discounts in the future like last year.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 12:46 am

too expensive….2.0 XT looks like good value in comparison

• Why subaru not sell in sarawak ? Look down sarawakian, u wrong, came n see sarawakian how to bought the car, then u will know how rich they are.