Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah appointed as Proton CEO

abdul harithDRB-Hicom has announced that Datuk Abdul Harith Abdullah has been appointed to the post of chief executive officer of Proton, effective April 15. The official announcement was made earlier today during an International College of Automotive-related event at Holiday Inn Kuala Lumpur Glenmarie.

In March, it was reported that Harith, DRB-Hicom’s group director for automotive and defence, had been named as acting CEO. Earlier in February, deputy CEO Datuk Lukman Ibrahim was reported to have vacated his post, but no official announcement was made regarding his departure.

Lukman was appointed to the deputy CEO post at Proton on May 1, 2012, shortly after DRB-Hicom took over control of the national carmaker.

Harith holds a Master’s degree from the Royal College of Art in London, majoring in vehicle design. Prior to his position as group head for automotive and defence, he led several companies under the DRB-Hicom Group, namely Automotive Corporation Malaysia, Modenas and DRB-HICOM Defence Technologies.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Apr 30, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Die la this fella…..Scapegoat of another failure…..

Wanna bet how long he gonna reign ??? 6 months?? 1 year ??

Position itself is a demotion. From Group Director to just a CEO of a company in the Group??? Bye bye Datuk Harith, we are starting to count your days……kah kah kah….pity u la Datuk….All the best….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 54
    • I hate Lokatoo on May 01, 2014 at 1:22 am

First thing, get rid of that junk Lokatoo GPS navigation system that Proton is using from Blaupunkt for the Preve. It is a piece of shit. The TM map is a total joke. Waze and Google many times better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
      • mim (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 10:32 am

Preve uses Bosch HU and Bosch map. It was never updated by Bosch (I heard you gotta pay hundreds to Bosch to get new map?). That’s why it sucked.

Neo R3/Inspira uses Blaupunkt HU with TM Lokatoo GPS. it’s much simpler and never had problem unless you never updated your map and software. Not many ppl has 3G connection all the time to use Waze/Google Maps. Especially in kampung areas.

Suprima’s Lokatoo is even better, even tell you how much you have to pay for the next toll.

Of course Lokatoo has no traffic feed but at least ppl get no headache using it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • Hahaha bodoh la lu. Nak tipu pun check dulu. Preve pakai lokatoo konon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • Drust on May 02, 2014 at 1:46 pm

i had a lokatoo gps in my Isuzu X-Series and it work just fine and without any problem. Maybe you did not update your map? Btw i been told that map update is free for lokatoo.

• RoundNRound on May 01, 2014 at 7:17 am

When will DRB stop changing the management and start managing the company? It has been about 2 years already but everything is still fluid.

Every time they change the management, all the planning will start all over again. Instead of keeping on recreating plans, why don’t you put the plan in motion already? Now after 2 years of doing nothing, it looks like they are planning like what has been planned before under Dato’s Sri Syed Zainal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
      • N.Fazura (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 8:18 pm

that probably means that they are planning on for something for this new fellow. things come and go probably. So let’s see what this guy can do for a change.

• Aniq Affandi (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 8:23 pm

I think thy expect something different from this man kot. Takkan la memain tukar kan?

• hampeh on May 01, 2014 at 6:56 pm

Hmm ceo seribu kali tuka orang pun tarak gunalah! Yg lapuk tu kat R&D, bila nak tuka?

• YaakobMous89 on May 02, 2014 at 11:03 am

Rasanya dia takde masalah kot. Skarang the worst we can do kena tunggu la perubahan dpd orang baru ni. In fact dia ada je qualification kalau nak tgk dia nye portfolio.

• N.Fazura (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 8:16 pm

Relax la. I mean if they change his post,meaning that they have something in mind. I dont think such a big company will change their bigshots for nothing. Now, we can hope for improvement for now. Thats what we can do at least

• HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on May 12, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Hehehe….have u guys heard the rumours lately???

This newly appointed guy is attending other company’s interview…..

Now is time to jump ship…..Ahoy matey……Mayday mayday….SOS….SOS….

Wa belahhhh dulu, this company is sooooo sick and it is beyond repair………

• Fred.Lam on May 19, 2014 at 4:31 am

So sorry to hear your perception. I believe that since he is appointed they should have some reason for it. Owh well,good luck I guess.

• RUGAL on Apr 30, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Harith holds a Master’s degree from the Royal College of Art in London, majoring in vehicle design..

So, proton cars will be nicely design, hopefully..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 15
    • Low Budget on May 01, 2014 at 9:46 am

Design beautiful cars is one thing, fitting it with sub standard parts and so so type of assembly that gave users problems is another.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • Aniq Affandi (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 8:24 pm

That is the least we can do. At least we know he has the qualifications to take on such a task. I mean, I dont think they will change people for no specific reason.

• No need to advertise la. Proton got so many auto engineer but the car macam sial also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
      • YaakobMous89 on May 02, 2014 at 11:10 am

Have you been using the old Iswara 96? Cause thats how you sound like. Have you seen the latest interiors? Probably not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • Have you seen the latest Proton sales figure? Because you sound like everyone is dying to own a proton car. Definitely not.

• KettaVreakdoWn on May 04, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Nobody force anybody to buy proton..so what if their sales fall by 1-2%.. if u think proton close down the tax will reduce..in ur dream, better buy ur dream vios j quick

• Fred.Lam on May 19, 2014 at 4:36 am

I don’t understand why people just don’t understand the figure of the car price is not Proton’s fault. =.= Typical

• KettaVreakdoWn on May 04, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Maybe proton should hire u as their advisor..u’re good in criticize them..when u do..put the word “sial” in it too..they will glad to hear it and it probably put off pure hate in u

• Suwandi on Apr 30, 2014 at 8:46 pm

Would Proton ever consider hiring a foreigner to be its CEO, just like what Nissan has done by hiring Brazilian Carlos Ghosn. The lad has done an excellent job at reviving the brand worldwide.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 8
    • Hugo Andore on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Snowball’s chance in Hell. Their ketuanan BS will never allow this happen. They rather bankrupt the company than seeing another race managing at the top of Proton.

FACT OF LIFE

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 57
      • kzm (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 12:01 pm

This is wat type of comment?..100+ rasis people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
      • Aniq_Affandi on May 19, 2014 at 4:49 am

Even as a Malay, I don’t mind of it’s a foreigner to ensure progress in the future. But, the selection had been done. Let’s hope for progress. That’s the least we can do.

• BLT Club (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 12:33 am

Even of a foreigner is hired, you think he/she can accept the tidak apa attitude? No way not even Scheyer can save Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • not forget peter schreyer in kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • lemonguy on May 01, 2014 at 7:44 am

In bolehland, everything is politics and race ethnic, quality and succeed is not priority. That’s why Mas and proton end up in the same fate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 14
    • Bataman on May 01, 2014 at 8:45 am

Only Melayu and Mamak Melayu celup allowed to become CEO of any GLC. Social Contract. Jangan Persoal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 50
      • Motorhead (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 10:04 am

Weh bodoh.. what with chinese firms all sepet CEO? Look at Singapore. . Any malay in top gov post? Any malay minister? Don’t start racial as I work in chinese firm for years. I know your attitude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 43
        • _xXx_ on May 01, 2014 at 3:13 pm

do some homework about sg b4 u comment, kawan. If you like, attack him alone. Sepet is a nice word to use…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 12
        • flat_tire on May 01, 2014 at 3:26 pm

that’s because malays are minority in singapore.. so why even bother..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
        • Aniq Affandi (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 8:27 pm

I don’t think we need to start throwing out racial slurs anywhere. Regardless what race he is, he is still Malaysian. No need to make up our mind based on racial stereotypes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • Yeah.. as u mention.. chinese firm.. it is owned by chinese.. but for GLC it is owned by malaysia government.. why selected race while all of us are Malaysian.. be smart to comment please..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
        • chinpeng on May 02, 2014 at 1:30 pm

TAK SUKA BOLEH KELUAR. GO WORK WITH GOVT LA. BOLEH MINUM TEH AND TENGOK MINAH ALL DAY LONG.

• Fred.Lam on May 19, 2014 at 4:51 am

I believe as a person that is not confident enough to use their own identity to create such fuss has any authority to spread racial slurs.

• thedarkside on May 01, 2014 at 11:30 am

pot calling kettle black

• bisakeris (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 4:01 pm

DAPig

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
        • Vincent Ang on May 02, 2014 at 12:05 am

Seluruh dunia tiada wujud binatang ini selain didalam otak orang UMNO-Islam. Jadi DAPig ini mesti sejenis BABI HALAL khas untuk orang UMNO-Islam saja kerana tak mungkin orang alim UMNO reka sejenis binatang yang haram. Sedap tak DAPig ini masak kari?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
          • kzm (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 12:06 pm

Do I need to start rasis comment?..I will retaliate later

• Henry Ford the XII on May 02, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Hahaha no need to retaliate la bro kzm.
            Haven’t you heard Mark Twain’s “Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience”?
            Let them be…

• Fred.Lam on May 19, 2014 at 4:53 am

^ Well said brother. Well, these people don’t even think before thrashing others with racial slurs.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 11:20 am

The fact is.. we know how Singapore trwat malay.. & happening in Penang.. so you should know why they won’t appoint you. The answer is there.. yes don’t question social contract. You deserve it. When malay become ur boss we give u some face.. when u are the boss.. you are worse than apartheid. . Even some Israeli are better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
        • Drust on May 02, 2014 at 1:52 pm

My suggestion, paultan should delete all this racist remarks that are not relevant to the discussion. Please guys, we are Malaysian.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 3:04 pm

It’s very obvious when it come to malay ppl your kind tend to make racial provocation. . I didn’t start.

Ps. Im not P1 supporter.

• kzm (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Seriuosly rasis comment….

• superman on May 02, 2014 at 3:58 pm

if they hire a forigner as CEO. do you think PROTON owners would allow him to do his job? they will make hios job a livimng hell so he will run away. PROTON had the chance to use the best in the biz Dr. Wolfgang while he was still in Malaysia. Now he is the 2nd in command in JLA in UK. always wrong decisions.

• AVH (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Te AV8 wheeled armored personal carrier is already facing cost overrun and delays. This is just one of the products under DEFTECH. So proton is now in very good hands.

Honestly I do not want to downplay this guy……yet. But I’am really interested to hear his plan and prospect for proton. His background doesn’t leave much positive for an automobile company with the exception of the fact that he has a masters for vehicle design(I’am jealous now) , but unless we see something in his portfolio, we can’t say for sure his design taste is something that can be shared.

So shall we wait for another 29 years for THAT moment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
    • sompua on Apr 30, 2014 at 9:34 pm

first vehicle delivery should be nov 2012. Now even the sealed pattern (prototype) not accepted yet. those stock market people who recommend buy DRB stock should beware. this delays is possible to drag on for years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Aniq Affandi (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 8:38 pm

If he has such reputation on his portfolio, I don’t think we have wait too long. I mean, with the education he has, he should make a great person for that position.

• AVH (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 10:54 pm

The problem is that we havn’t seen much(if not any) work under his name. A person’s taste in design varies and it is difficult to come up with something that can garner a positive opinion majority. So even if he can pen a design that will be loved by some, it will be hated by others(hello, Sonata YF and 3rd gen IS), or it could be worse than that…..Fiat Multipla, Hyundai Matrix and Mitsuoka Orochi are also penned by people with a background in vehicle deisgn.

• Fred.Lam on May 19, 2014 at 4:55 am

Relax bro. I think a single idea that varies for many others could make a difference. Why be pesimistic?

• If anything, make sure he understands why Malaysians are not buying/supporting Proton cars anymore, then only start changing.
      Blaming Malaysians who have been long supporting this local company while being shortchanged is just being in denial.

• AVH (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 11:23 pm

I believe what many Proton-backing cronies thought that its a national-crisis that we are not supporting a local company…..they bull**** about being nationalistic and patriotic, buy Malaysia as if its the last hope and forgotten in America, we have AMC, Pontiac and Plymouth…..in Korea we have Daewoo ;and in Japan, we have SHARP and SANYO. Are we not patriotic if we buy foreign cars? Honda are assembled by Malaysian in Alor gajah, Avanzas are made by Malaysians in Rawang, Kias and Hyundais are rebadged and assembled by Malaysians in Malaysia….even VolksWagen, BMW and Mercedes are made by paid, working Malaysian in Malaysia.

Yes I know, the profits goes abroad, but it is still contributing to the economy, the people and you cronies’s monthly insatlment for that CBU S-class or your Children’s foreign education expenses. My family have bough 2 proton, we contributed, we hoped, we got nothing(well technically only me as my parents could’t care less), we held that dream of a international competitive company, prouldy something we call Malaysian in foreign land, 30 years, a time where Honda and Kia/Hyundai have penetrated the already competitive international market, 30 years, a painful amount of time before the realisation that we were all hoping for that snowman to continue smile in hell.

If you want to garner our support, get your management right, your cars right and your head’s right Proton, I won’t support a company that is solely using the excuse of national patriotism to support and ailing project, i’am not a North Korean. If you have corrected this, I have the pride to eat this words up and come crawling back to you like how many people in the 90s to Japanese brands and in the late 00s to S.Korean brands. As of now I will hold my selfish believe that I’am supporting Malaysia through CKD cars, and to the man who said that 250k malaysian would lose their job if Proton goes down, thats 250k people needed to keep our incresing CKD cars running out of Malaysian factories, into Malaysian soil, into Malaysian hands.

PS: I HAVE to stop reading Winston Churchill’s biography.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
        • YaakobMous89 on May 02, 2014 at 11:21 am

It is great that you are discussing this issue in a econocmic perspective. But please do bear in mind that you might have some cliche in your ideology. Yes, other companies are hiring Malaysians to work for them and to assemble their machines. But, what about cash flow? Have you thought about money leakage? Even if foreign companies in Malaysia are hiring all 27 million workers of Malaysia, if the raw product or the final product is from overseas, our money WILL leak. Do you understand now?

• Henry Ford the XII on May 02, 2014 at 12:30 pm

Hehehe that’s why now Malaysia is NOT leaking any money right?

(Hmm.. someone is whispering “RM26 billions annually” to my ear.. what is that eh?)

• AVH (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 12:36 pm

At the time of writing, I just went through the rough and basic thoughts on the economics perspective of both Proton and CKDs manufecturers and thus have not thought of any furthur consequences.

True, leakage effect in the countries economics can be affected more than it already is if Malaysia were to move from a local based manufecturering to a foreign company CKD manufecturing. I do not study economics so I might be very wrong but looking at the Circular flow of income charts…..I don’t think it will affect the country to a severe level.

If we take Proton out of the picture, the losses compared to a CKD-only manufecturing country, is that high-level emplotyers in both Proton and its satelite company(parts suppliers) loosing their income that will flow back to the country, couple with the rumors that this people are already corrupted….and parts supplier can received contracts for foreign make, if they are ‘up to international standards’. The loss will I believe insignificant effect to the country’s cash flow. Only time and history will tell if loosing Proton is a positive feedback to the countries economy. Its not as serious as 250k people loosing their job as many will find work else where in our growing CKD market, but there will be thhose who will go jobless until new jobs can be found.

On the plus side, at the rate Proton is going now, from the reports and company’s statement that its more of a perasitic company than a commensalism one. Money is pumpingg in but the result shown is questionable, same goes for ailing projects like the F35 Lightning II and the Ryungyung hotel or more similarly, the Fisker Karma. Proton management itself is experienceing(as per their official statement and results) optimiism bias that is draining instead of aiding the national economy and its people. contrary to popular beliefs, the CKD car scene is growing in Malaysia, Honda Malaysia is planning to export City Hybrids to japan and will be the first Honda to be locally produced here for its home market. And the time of writing, copanies are showing unease at Thailand’s economic and politic stability, now is the time for local companies and if possible the government to promote Malaysia toforeign company.

I will stress again that my understanding of economics is limited and facts stated here may very well wrong, do correct if possibel.

• Hope proton do not repaet the same mistake as today.. overprice car with minimum level of equipment.. hope their improve the interior and exterior and included the current whistle and bell of the technology!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 39
    • i think u know nothing bout proton car nowadays

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • Aniq Affandi (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 8:40 pm

I belive that you still own a iswara from 1990’s. If you take a look at the new car interiors they have, I can say they have long surpassed what they did before.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • Albert Lee on Apr 30, 2014 at 8:56 pm

It makes no difference whether this Datuk or even Carlos Ghosn were to spearhead Protong.
    This new CEO said customer satisfaction is very important,which is a genuine marketing statement.
    However,with NO NEW ENGINE development on the horizon,how can customers be satisfied with the ANCIENT CAMPRO engines?
    I believe the Global Small Car will also be mated to the same engine.
    With very intense competition now,Protong will sell only about 100k units this year.It is downhill all the way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 17
    • mim (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Petronas e01-based direct injected turbo engines are expected to replace Campro/CPS/CFE by 2015…

..if this guy continue it as usual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • powershot on May 01, 2014 at 8:54 am

the info i’ve got from an insider proton has no plans in the near future on replacing campro engines with the petronas engines. the main reason they’ve bought it was for research & study purposes.

hearing that was a major letdown for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
        • mim (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 10:44 am

*facepalm*

They bought those Petronas engine for RnD. The new engine will be based on that RnD. Understand?

Petronas e01e is almost 15 years old, only Euro 2 compliant and large at 1.8-2.2L. Makes no sense to put into cars right away. There are newer turbo versions but they can be downsized and made better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
          • ayamxxx on May 02, 2014 at 10:44 am

Now only R&D design n study??
            So customer hv to wait another 3-5yearsla until it will comes to production.

By the time, many potential customers already walk away from proton since we will served by the ancient campro engine.

The campro cfe is based on old campro, so fc bad is it characteristics. Tq

• The engine is not what ‘makes’ or ‘breaks’ a product. It’s the whole package.

Are Rolls Royce customers complaining about their car because they don’t make their own engines?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
      • sepul on May 01, 2014 at 12:10 am

Actually, Rolls Royce do make their own engines. In fact they also builds aircraft engines for Boeing and Airbus. I thought many people knew this already.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
        • Katak on May 01, 2014 at 9:05 am

Rolls Royce PLC and Rolls Royce Motors are 2 different companies. One make aeroplane engine and one make car. Rolls Royce Motors is a subsidiary of BMW now, so RR cars use BMW engines. And you can read the rest from Wiki http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rolls-Royce_Limited.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
          • guan eng jr. on May 01, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Wow..that comment not up to PT reader standard.

• Fred.Lam on May 19, 2014 at 4:58 am

Even if you were to explain it briefly, I doubt many would not understand. Well, they did come here with the intention to spread hatred afterall.

• Aniq Affandi (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 8:44 pm

I would say otherwise. In 2015 they are expected to change into a different engineering. And also, if you want to argue about how bad the engine is, I have been using my Wira for 7 years and also bought my wife a Saga. We face no critical problems up to now.

• nabill (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 9:12 pm

Great…another local….no experience in managing a crisis company…how to have a confidence…thy should hire ENTIRE TEAM rather than than one guy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 14
  • Vintage on Apr 30, 2014 at 9:23 pm

The new CEO must be bold enough to replace all the suppliers that keep on supplying sub-standard raw materials and parts, improve R&D especially in new designs, better engines and customers satisfaction.

Employee working in the quality dept and assembly line must be retrained. Otherwise, CEO comes, CEO goes… Proton remain Proton… surviving on “rakyats” subsidies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
  • deaftek on Apr 30, 2014 at 9:28 pm

This guy is clueless as well and always there too bodek khamil only. He is just puppet of khamil only. But he is a nice chap and approachable. Lets see how long will he be the CEO

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
  • mim (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 9:35 pm

So this is the reason why lately Proton official FB suddenly become rajin and posted many pics of Proton|Design sketches, asking for ppl’s comments and criticism, and even submit those comments to the management/design/engineering team.

Well let’s just hope this guy can lead Proton through those politician hands and chaotic supply vendors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
  • proton not so good on Apr 30, 2014 at 9:38 pm

malaysian simply cannot compete with japan, korea, europe or american in technology development. we simply are shit at it. design car also look like shit. i reckon proton will be sold to foreigner in 5 years time if current sales climate are considered. proton currently are bringing drb down with them. just be a rebadge player i think will survive like perodua. maybe rebadge vw or honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 41
    • blom ape2 dah ade negative thinking… you are probably refering to yourself when you are saying that malaysian simply cannot compete with others. i think you yourself are incompetent!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 15
      • Low Budget on May 01, 2014 at 9:42 am

He is talking about competing in technology with the more advance countries, it is absolutely true we can’t compete right now.
        May be in the future when we stress quality in our education especially in Math and science and not history and religious studies which are of no help in advancing in technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
        • mim (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 10:48 am

Religion is also important ler… I don’t want immoral bastards running companies and then tindas people here and there to fill their stomach.

• Heng Lee on May 01, 2014 at 5:32 pm

I guess the problem is, that Malaysians THINK that they ‘cannot compete with japan, korea, europe or american in technology development’.

Take Modenas Dinamik: A rare bike in Malaysia and an absolutely top-seller in Greece, leaving 135LC in sales behind.

• Aniq Affandi (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Your name says enough about how ungrateful you are towards you own country. With Malaysians like you, forever we cannot simply compete with other countries. Think before you speak man. It works.

• alldisc on May 01, 2014 at 9:02 pm

It is quite interesting when someone quoted by saying proton cars design are all shit. Bear in mind that preve was designed by a 3rd party company. Same goes to saga which originates as BLM but later revised in house to be FLX. Exora was not designed by a malaysian as well. Don’t believe? Get proton to declare officially and many will get surprised.

• Sound surprising.. then wat actually proton R&D doing? Designing bodykit as new facelift?

• entah la on Apr 30, 2014 at 9:49 pm

i have sggestion 4 p1..
    to gain profit by reduce cost.
    reduce type of car..each sgment car for 1 car only..sory if wrong..huu
    segmnt A=upcoming gsc.
    B=persona sv.
    C=preve(need facelit*new rear dsgn) & suprima.
    D=upcoming perdana.
    mpv=exora(mek new dsign)

others stop build= neo,savvy,saga fl,inspira..
    use that money 2 improve the sgment car above..
    reduce cost=more profit=can improve car..

just loke at produa.only 3 car vv,myv,alza but make more profit n more sale..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 19
  • Hopefully he will as success as Harith Iskandar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • powershot on May 01, 2014 at 8:56 am

as a comedian?

• Low Budget on May 01, 2014 at 9:26 am

He probably has a better chance of working lifelong as a comedian than an CEO of Proton.
        He might survive a few years at Proton.

• Former Proton staff too.

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Nothing’s gonna change la. Campro Turbo 6-speed manual so quiet, GSC also quiet, dunno if gonna finish or songlap edi to fund directors’ Audis. Anyway, they’ll still be a gas guzzling, rubbish quality junk. If really can do 27km/l + 6 airbags + ESP + <RM40k, I will lari bogel at paultan's office.

Go flip burger also better profit for Proton. If make car banyak songeh, people dun wanna support la, margin ciput la, ya ya, all our fault but not their shitty fault. Bodoh gi mampos la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 19
    • mmg la senyap.. tunggu la bile dah nak launch baru la bleh bagitau public..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • nighttrain on May 02, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Org meniaga kereta bukan macam tu. Ada jugak leak sikit progress.. baru la ada excitement and internet buzz.

• Fred.Lam on May 19, 2014 at 5:01 am

Of course. When the cars are being tested you complain of how long the cars are being tested. When they release early, you complain saying the cars are not good enough, didn’t go through proper test and stuff. Haters, haters everywhere.

• HaIrI on Apr 30, 2014 at 10:16 pm

I hope the new CEO can bring new design for future Proton products, AV8 under Deftech do have futuristic design but the same cannot be seen in Modenas bikes. Please please please don’t make future proton looks like Kriss SG. Finger cross!

• AVH (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 10:55 pm

The AV8 is nothing more than FNSS Pars(leopard) armored personal carrier from turkey which by itself is a design drawn by an American company. The difference other than the fact it is license produced here is the South African Denel turret with a 30 mm chain gun and a different powertrain.

Malaysia’s military industry is currently the poorest and least advance even amongst ASEAN country. We do not have a single accepted weapon in the military that is Locally design. In comparison to the Indonesian and Singaporean armaments industry that locally design and produce everything from guns,planes and warship(Indonesia) to UAV, armored personal carrier/infantry fighting vehicle(Singapore).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • mim (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 1:02 am

The fact is, not many engineers (or maybe none) are willing to bear the sin of making weapons, which may be procured/bought by irresponsible guys to kill the innocent/our own countryman.

• AVH (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 12:17 pm

It maybe true, but to many it is national defense and capabilities.

Switzerland, Sweeden and Cananda, highly peaceful country, but are in the forefront of defense and arnaments industry in the world. Its entirely true we are not rivalling Russian, USA or China for arnaments industry and experience. But our defense is also a sign of our countries development.

The MH370 incident truly exploit our countries weakness in both military surveilence equipment as well as SAR equipment(the latter can also be said to S.Korea’s response to the Ferry’s incident). I do not like to harpe about this more as it will turn into a flame war after this, all in all, I believe we were truly incompetent to not notice a un-stealth, large flying commercial jet flying pass our own airspace.

• Heng Lee on May 01, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Canada invaded Iraq and Afghanistan. This is what you call a ‘highly peaceful country’?

• AVH (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 11:46 pm

…and also Europe in 1943, participated D-day and forgotten in history.

OK, ok, the intention of Canada’s support in Afgahnistan is labelled as ‘peace-keeping’. Malaysia too participated in so call peace-keeping in Labenon and also more famously in the battle of Mogadishu, forever imprinted in history in the book and film ‘Black Hawk Down’ and pethatically failed to note any Malaysian support.

Back to Canada, participated only in Afgahnistan and not Iraq(only US,UK, Aus and Polish force were in Iraq in 2003). quoted of ‘more than a 100’ were sent by Canada, these soldiers were in American military exchange programmes(yes, such sh*t exists). Canada never took the offensive and were tasked in disaster reliefs and SAR, the first Canandian soldiers arrive 3 months after the war begin. There were fights as Canadian forces caught in Taliban ambush while on Patrol duty, leading to larger foreign deployment in 2006. The goal of these deployments are after masses of US bound flight entering and overwhelming Canada’s airspace on the 9/11 attack, Canada belive to aid the attack on Al-Qaeda but never invade and almost all action in Afghanistan never involves combat mission.

Still higly peaceful to me……but they did gave the world Justin Bieber.

• AVH (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 7:47 am

Sorry, D-day is in 1944, 1943 was the beginning of the allied invasion of Europe in Sicily and Italy. Canada also took part in these campaigns

• Henry Ford the XII on May 02, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Hey AVH, Ridley Scott’s Black Hawk Down did depicted our soldiers’ involvement in the story what. Cant you see the resemblence of that soldier driving the APC to our fellow countrymen (i.e. the naturalised bangladeshi)? Hehehehe…

• Heng Lee on May 02, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Canada ‘never invaded’?

So who invited Canada to ‘patrol in Afghanistan’? The UN? The Taliban? The Afghans?

• Heng Lee on May 02, 2014 at 4:52 pm

BTW D-Day: You should look at this one:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dieppe_Raid

• AVH (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 6:59 pm

The UN in general, it’s more if a security force and yes I knew if te dienpe raid, a costly experiment by Winston Churchill to test German defenses and came to the cost of thousands of British soldiers life.

• hoyeah on May 01, 2014 at 1:12 am

OMG,such a keyboard warrior,how would you know its a FNSS Pars design,its a totally different design. have you seen both of the vehicle side by side?You’ll see a lot of differences.

30mm is not a chaingun,get you facts right,go google. at DLS website.

• AVH (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 12:03 pm

‘ Malaysian PARS are differenciated by their use of a Denel turret system as opposed to the Turkish system. Chassis and hull are also locally produced under DEFTECH brnad label and designated ‘AV8′ in the Malaysian army inventory.’
          -military factory

‘Tha AV8 is more protected than a PARS with additional mounted….”
          -armyrecognition.

And both photo of PARS and AV8 are the same except with said add-on armor and differemy firepower( The Turkish engine also have been replaced with a German one). The similarities can be seen in the rood mounting, rear exit shape and front window/viewport. Is just the external add-on armor(probably ERA/NERA) that differenciate it. Like how a PzKpfw IV A and PzKpfw IV F1 is the same exact vehicle even thou the latter looks bulkier and heavier and enntirely different. The T-90 MBT in Russian army is only an uparmored and upgraded T-72, same goes for the PT-91.

And the GI30 is a chain-gun, chain-gun are definition for heavy caliber, single barrel, fast-firing guns that fires with a chain operated reload system as opposed to a traditional gun using gas operated or recoil from the gun to channel back into the rear. The firing pin and breech are held to a part of a chain, the chain is layed in an 0 shape horizontally(like a motorcycle) and when the chain move, it drags the breech to and fro from the gun barrel. Are you one of the many people who confused chain-gun with multi-barrel minigun.

Chain Gun: M240 25mm(on the Apache) and Bushmaster auto-cannon.
          Minigun: AK-630 and GAU-8 Avenger

• AVH (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 12:07 pm

We dont judge combat vehicle by their appearence but rather by their chassis. Combat vehicle are highly modular and modifyable to keep it with changing times. Headlights and armor are change and if possible, firepower as well

Exp:
            Leopard 2A4 vs Leapord 2A7
            AH-1 vs AH-1Z
            Fuso BB 1914 vs Fuso BB 1940

• AVH (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Crap type…. PzKpfw IV F2

or PzKpfw IV shurzen if you want more side armor.

• Obviously (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 7:19 pm

I think you have trounced him soundly. kudos on your research.

P.S. Do you do anything else in your spare time?

• AVH (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 10:46 pm

free time?

I have a huge interest in all things mechanical in particular to car and machines of war, so post 20th century. basically if I find a machine that interest me, I’ll read about its development, history and accomplishment, be it a Ferrari 250 GTO or HMS Dreadnought and its usage in everything from the 60s Le Mans race to the battle of Jutland. (lacking on avaiation related stuff thou)

Other than that, under influence, I do spend time in ACG related stuff(if the profile pic cant already tell). I’ve been reading alot of WW1 history as this is the 100th annivesery of the great war.

• John.A on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:18 pm

modenas should design a new naked bike with 150cc engine and above…just use kawasaki engine (or directly rebadge entire kawasaki) then modenas will make money and can support proton…idk the car business can go well any longer…and I dont mean the jaguh bike…nobody want that type nowadays…

• Heng Lee on May 01, 2014 at 8:46 pm

Kawasaki sells rebranded 200cc bikes from India in Indonesia (Kawasaki Bajaj Pulsar 200).

• don^don on Apr 30, 2014 at 10:51 pm

the next saga will come equipped with ak47 and grenade launchers, with V2 rocket as option.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Aero (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 10:58 pm

If D.S. Syed Zainal Abidin returns to Proton, I would be the happiest man in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
    • thedarkside on May 01, 2014 at 11:32 am

he is now happy at brainy bunch.

• Aero (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 1:09 pm

He chose to leave Proton to pursue an even more ‘holy’ career; that is education. Brainy Bunch is a brilliant establishment. We can’t fault his choice.

But still… :(

• Henry Ford the XII on May 02, 2014 at 12:16 pm

Hehehe.. saw him during the brainy bunch sports day in UNITEN recently – driving a 5 series GT if aint mistaken.

• Paul Tan on May 02, 2014 at 2:28 pm

It’s most probably a grey colour 3-Series GT

• Henry Ford the XII on May 02, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Haha, yeah most probably – am not too sure whether it is a 3 or 5 series – but definitely a GT

• Aero (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 8:06 pm

Please correct me if I’m wrong, but I strongly believe that you are not the real Paul Tan. You don’t have the ‘(Member)’ tag and red-highlighted frame.

If I’m right, then this is a serious fraud case and I hope it is resolved as soon as possible.

• U got no other thing to be happy than DSZ? Get a life dude.

• Aero (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Bro, what are you trying to say ? Your grammar is terrible.

• It’s not my English, it’s you being a Proton staff have problem comprehending everything. That’s why the company is dying.
          Haha… happiest person because of DSZ…haha in the world some more.

• Aero (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 7:58 pm

Really ? Why do people always think I work for Proton ? I don’t and I won’t (But if Proton is fully privatised in the near future, I will reconsider).

I’m just a 20 year old university student who supports Proton, but not a blind supporter or a fanboy (Fanboys cannot accept weaknesses).

I know Proton like the back of my hand, and I believe they can still ‘succeed’ theoretically, but at this rate, it will be difficult. We need to wait and see who wins in the next election. If it’s status quo again, then Proton is a gone case. If not, then there’s more than just hope. Time will tell.

• ignoramus on May 03, 2014 at 10:27 am

Odd statement. How is it possible for you to be a “20 year old university student” and “know Proton like the back of my hand”

You’ve never even worked there.

• mystvearn on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:33 pm

Actually, how many CEO’s will proton go through in order to find the next DSZ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Want to get clown get a better clown la. Get Harith Iskandar better.

• ah chai on May 01, 2014 at 12:20 am

To be fair, give him at least 18 months before u judge him.
    We don’t have to buy proton if we don’t like it.
    For a company to blame It’s client for not supportive even in a protected market for 30 years, it just show that Proton and It’s mentality is dead.
    So this guys is not important as long as the ‘protect bumi’ mentality is still persist in the company.
    Even if u give them the best selling car companies CEO in the world also won’t help.
    But don’t pity this guy too, his pay is Maybe 10x more than mine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Low Budget on May 01, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Ha’ha’ha…. so angry meh? Proton actually is not to bad, we only want them to improve somemore so that they are up to par with at least p2 standard.

• ah chai on May 01, 2014 at 7:15 pm

I don’t know about u But my family have bought at least 8 protons in total. So call me not supportive of national car…

• pegasus on May 01, 2014 at 12:21 am

Good luck to Proton…be prepared to be haywire…

• They are merely puppets / figureheads whichever you like to call them. Somebody behind is pulling the string & calling the shots. As expected when you are in this “hot” post. Expect to be hired & fired within months. Here today. Gone tomorrow. Also don’t expect him to start designing cars for Proton. If he does his “clay model” might not even see the day.

• Spirior on May 01, 2014 at 6:35 am

Another person who unfortunately will be defined by his ability to handle the lonely and ruthless politics of the office. Unfortunate but that’s the truth.

He doesn’t need to know about the intricacies of car manufacturing or the economics, about concept-to-production, about parts commonisation and quality gates, or about the simple joy of driving. He needs to hit the ground running managing the various Tan Sri’s, Datuk/Dato’s (and the occasional Datins) and *drumroll* the Tun from Mordor.

Or he can quickly prepare himself to be another guy with the title Ex CEO of Proton.

• DSZ is the best all round MD of Proton so far.

• pak man telo on May 01, 2014 at 8:25 am

Says sbg pengguna proton hanya nak minta datuk tingkatkan kualiti pemasangan Dan komponen kereta proton, dapat kualiti solid mcm kereta perodua pon dah kira ok utk permulaan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • KKK54 on May 01, 2014 at 9:00 am

After leaving so many unresolved audit cases in MODENAS & DEFTECH this guy still gets picked as CEO of Proton?? Habis la Proton!!

• Henry on May 01, 2014 at 9:12 am

Good luck to you. You’ll need plenty of it to survive in Proton – a company with high cost and low sales.

• Low Budget on May 01, 2014 at 9:31 am

The Father of Proton had made press statement yesterday regarding Proton, he mentioned that foreing make introduce new models ‘every other day’ and Boleh Landers prefer ‘Cheap anf Good’ cars and therefore they go for Perodua cars thus Proton is unable to compete.
    What is he hinting at Najib? Definitely not suggesting Proton to close shop, right?

• pls close u company,dont waste our money.

• BeemerFreak on May 01, 2014 at 10:21 am

Damn right…Waste of tax payers money…We dont need our own car company that only builds 300,000 cars a year. WE need foreign investment that builds 1,5000,000 cars a year. Imagine the jobs created, not considering the reduction in money that goes into some bastards pocket.

• slurt on May 01, 2014 at 6:43 pm

That foreign investment will ‘fly’ to another countries when the cost in Bolehland is not that good anymore.

You are just a short minded person who doesn’t think of long term benefits. I think I can guess what do yo do for living now, lol

• My Wish is simple.

Build a practical sports type car for normal road. 4 doors, good handling, real sports engine, price, and more important reliability.

Looks like a not a simple wish from me to PRoton ;)

• bobo cebok on May 01, 2014 at 11:01 am

dear mr new ceo
    i hope you already finished you ceo celebration dance. these are need to be done.
    1 sell lotus it draining your finance
    2 scrap loss making model like neo r3 related and others crappy model
    3 send all hybrid and electric project to laut hindi its useless and not profitable
    4 stop sending your engineers to useless overseas seminar etc
    5 fired all contract worker and reorganize manpower
    6 get ex perodua for quality department you can depend on them..
    7 set quality as main policy
    8 make new model that people want not what u want
    or your child hood dream car scrap that
    9 again sell lotus and scrap the f1 project
    10 dont nopp dont try to order new company car drive saga for the first 2.month and next and next
    11 be humble and listen to.your staff not your guts because guts not a thinking organ..good luck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Paul Morgan on May 01, 2014 at 11:14 am

Proton must upgrade their campro engines to the timing chain system.
    Price of cars must come down but not quality.
    Good luck to the new CEO.

• Herman on May 01, 2014 at 11:26 am

Perhaps it would be better to hire someone with vast international experience like Peter Schreyer to revive the dying brand which continues to suck suck and suck the Rakyat’s money.

Come to think of it, a lot of leaders make mistakes again and again but the citizens are the one who pay for it.

• anyone know where’s the previous post about proton, where khamil bashed malaysians for not supporting them??..hahaa..

• Proton understand why , but pretend don’t. Is 2014 now good luck.

• Car_fan on May 01, 2014 at 11:51 am

I hope he can still smile like that in 12 months time. It’s a hopeless job, just like being the CEO of MAS. These are failed institutions kept alive by the people’s money, with billions wasted by inept individuals who can’t face reality.

• I think this guy should start getting Dr.M’s pension to feed Proton till Dr.M’s death instead of the people itself.

• Ikram bin Yahaya on May 01, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Get the right international marketing personnel ,start using Lotus emblem more than words.,more benifits for domestic market,upgrade I-Care to be better than competitors.Any accident involve new proton cars have to be attended immediately by 24hrs breakdown officers.

• Ikram bin Yahaya on May 01, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Anyway Congratulation Datuk,hoping U can change Proton to be a better towards best perception by consumers.

• Ikram bin Yahaya on May 01, 2014 at 1:49 pm

One more,start doing monthly big promotion in every state.Get the dealers involve.

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 3:07 pm

The problem with Proton lies on the mid section management and their service ctr.The company spend hundred of millions for European parts but get Made in China/Taiwan grade stuff instead.I know a mechanic using the Gen2 for nearly 10 years using original parts and he has never even overhaul his engine before..Now the question is why nobody monitor spare parts order or inventory in the first place?Its like cat and mouse game..Forever never ending

• pearjai on May 01, 2014 at 3:24 pm

How much these man salary as a ceo ? 10k ? 100k ? Or million ?

• rickyll (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Good luck Datuk, I sincerely hope that you and your team could pull Proton out of the present predicament. Proton is in deep trouble, though not as bad as MAS, it still needs miracle to turn it around. I have a fair share of bitter experience with Proton cars(Saga 1991 and Waja 2001), I am sure most of the Malaysian public have had an experience or two in owning a Proton. Suffice to say, most of us still have lousy taste in our mouths, so what Proton should do now is to change all that negative perceptions. The ball is in your court and time is running out, better act fast.

• zzzzzzzzzzzz on May 01, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Dear CEO, I don’t know if your Master’s degree is true or not but since you make it this far, you should really do something useful and good.
    Stop producing crappy and shitty cars! Design & create your own engine! (I mean 100% Proton’s engine) Please take away the ‘Lotus’ word, a successful automaker does not need other brands on its car. And again, stop producing shitty cars!

• mango on May 01, 2014 at 6:38 pm

another buaya and part of out tax money is going to this new ceo.. crappy car, crappy company and crappy ceo

• kumar on May 01, 2014 at 8:19 pm

No point.too late.close down the damn company.

• alldisc on May 01, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Things to do for the new CEO

1. Get preve facelift ready. Cannot afford to wait until 4 yrs for the first facelift
    2. Make CPS a standard feature. Performance versions shud use turbocharger. Today every car comes with variable valve timing.
    3. If RnD costs to develop new engine is too high… Then improve it. Shud have timing chain, direct injection and turbo diesel versions of campro. Then u r complete. And make sure all are euro6 compliant.
    4. If RnD costs to high to develop new model, why not use existing platforms? Example proton waja. Give a totally new front end… And totally reworked rear end. And totally revised cabin. And of course improved body strength to excel in euro ncap. Incl pedestrian protection.
    5. Proton is so proud on the proton wings design in preve. The same concept should have been applied to the sibling – exora, saga, persona. The new design language will be able to buy time extensions for models like persona which dates back 10 yrs ago as gen2.
    When all models resemble each other… It would bring up positive image to proton cars s a family. Just the same like BMW, mercs, volvos or peugoet (remember gaping mouth)
    6. Start listening to what overseas market want. Example – Malaysian wants bling2 first.. Then safety. European will want excellent emission and protection against theft and collision. 6 speed turbo diesel is the trend since many years back. Even Honda has a civic turbo diesel 6 sp.
    7. Standardize the marketing concept. Why inspira has E and P spec, but saga doesn’t? Why only some models has Special Editions?
    Every model should have basic SV trim, then an E spec, P spec… And SE spec. And also R3 spec. Its like BMW has M versions of 1 series, 3, 5 & 6. Or TOYOTA having G specs in all its line ups. No matter it is vios, or corolla, or Camry, or wish Or estimate or landcrusier
    All SV specs shud have minimum twin frt airbags, E has 4 while P trimlevel has 6 airbags just an example of how it works.

• Timing chain is an improvement? Funny

• mim (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 12:23 pm

1: I agree

2: Please realise that CFE already have all new CVVT design (but was not advertised, I don’t know why). CPS is old 2-step VVT based on Porsche VarioCam design.

3: It’s known that new direct injected turbo engines based on Petronas e01e now being RnD’ed. Euro6 compliant, but I don’t know if it’s uses timing chain. Anyways, timing chain doesn’t give much advantage except more durability. Look at Ford EcoBoost 1.0L oil-bathed timing belt, even better than timing chain.

4: Modifiying a REALLY OLD platform to comply current standards would take so much work, that it’s better to develop new futureproof/long lasting platform. The current Proton P3 platform already good enough to make MPV (Exora), commercial van/truck (cancelled model maybe) and also sedan/hatch (Prevé/Suprima) while surpassing crash test with very good results.

It’s also modular, like a Lego, so that it can continue comply future standards (example: addition of HPF structures in Preve/Suprima) with minimal design change. However, Proton should continue develop more modular platforms, like VW MQB.

and I agree with the rest of your points.

• wan mohd on May 01, 2014 at 9:17 pm

He is such a humble and a man with vision tht i know..I believe he will elevate the name of Proton.

• abahko on May 01, 2014 at 9:49 pm

i smell failure.

• kamal on May 01, 2014 at 10:13 pm

Proton???
    Not in my list for the car..

• victor choo on May 01, 2014 at 10:43 pm

dato…if u can solve my problem, then i oni believe u can solve proton problems. My exora was bought in 2010. Since then after endless trips to proton hq, doing the things the technical ppl tell me, yet my steering wheel still “dance”…simple thing like this also cannot solve yet how to compete. Btw i hv got 2 more proton sagas too. But i hv given up hope on proton. Period!.

• Justforfun on May 01, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Hopefully Proton can change better material for internal part instead of current low quality plastic. BtW i like the design for suprima S.

• muixxium on May 02, 2014 at 12:38 am

Should put the CFE to saga… then people can talk about saga vs polo …could rise up the saga value..but retain the price lah.. plunk it into neo plus wide body kit ala s2000…change entire exora dashboard..make it like Peugeot… then see what will happen… no need think too hard..just give what customers want

• bootupjoe on May 02, 2014 at 3:26 am

30th year change who also samelah…..Malaysian people will never get cheap and always pay extra for buying national car. conclusion better close shop safe people time & money lah….

• dinesh menon on May 02, 2014 at 9:06 am

The Proton Inspira is the worst car in the history of mankind , bought the car for RM 100k , after 2 years door panels all falling apart , gearbox need to change and brakes pads are pricier than any mercedes benz , (One set front and back RM 1k) , car drives like shit and found many parts of proton inside the car engine , with the transmission dated on 2006 , i beg everybody dont buy this crap , fuel is crazy stupid , eventually only can use 97 , because the car wont start on 95

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • salambangi on May 02, 2014 at 10:26 am

stupid guy.

• faisal on May 02, 2014 at 10:39 am

bro,gua pakai inspira dah 3 thn still ok. biar betul bro. Warranty 3 years boleh claim any problem.Inspira, lancer mivec 4b10, 4b11 & 4b12 can use ron 90 ke atas bro.I fikir u mmg tak pakai inspira or mitsu.

• Inspira Owner on May 02, 2014 at 11:13 am

Dear Mr. Dinesh Menon,
      You are either not an Inspira owner of one of the worst kinds of driver in Malaysia. It’s better that you answer truthfully. My points:
      1. Car price is not RM100k unless you bought the recently launched R3 Inspira.
      2. Door panels have not be localised so it should be direct from Mitsubish as in the Lancer model.
      3. Gearbox (espcially the CVT) is robust enough to handle most harsh driving conditions. Again you could be a lousy driver.
      4. Brake pads need not be changed so often if you do not drive like a crazy mofo ie accelerating aggressively and stommping on the brakes at the next traffic lights and repeating the cycle.
      5. There are absolutely no Proton designed parts inside the engine. MMC wouldn’t allow it.
      6. Transmission is undoubtedly not a new design (CVT InvecsIII) but see my point 3.
      7. Fuel consumption is acceptable (500km for 55 liters mix city/highway) again if you drive sanely.
      8. RON95 is not a problem. I’ve used it since 2010 and never had an issue with it. Whoever told you to use RON97 only must be trying to see if you are stupid enough to believe… enough said.
      9. Again if you drive like the worst 1% of driver in the world, i think you can’t even start some cars with RON100 race fuel.

So please stop your BS about Proton Inspira and answer the first question honestly.

• nazgul on May 02, 2014 at 12:31 pm

with your ‘vast’ experience and car knowledge i would say you and your inspira deserved each other,,,

• Tax payer on May 02, 2014 at 11:04 am

I suggest Tun Mahathir to be the CEO.

• ferdinand on May 02, 2014 at 11:41 am

He will rebadge all Porsche cars with Proton logo with 1/5 price. Semua happy, Kroni suppliers happy, rakyat happy, macai happy. Apa lagi lu mau???

• gopal on May 02, 2014 at 11:55 am

tutup kilang dan baliklah apa yang boleh di tukar, jika duk tukar ceo.dasar pun tak betul dah lagi pun org tak nak beli kereta malaysia sebab tulah untung bersih buatan satu kereta flx sv baru rm500.00.

• Thierry Henry on May 02, 2014 at 12:01 pm

Uncle Nal, proton needs you

• PROton? on May 02, 2014 at 12:48 pm

I smell more rebadging from proton. Haha people who drive accord now= driving perdana no difference. Heart pain aldy

• Sammy Valley on May 02, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Kalau tiada rosak, kita bina rosak lah!

• if proton need to sustain……….

1. let the past
    2. forget about protection and copete with others
    3. develop in house 3 potter engine with/without turbo
    4. better fuel economy
    5. Update or develop new 4 potter engine with better fuel economy and low end torque.
    6. bring in diesel option so that it can push the gov to introduce atleast euro4 grade engine.

if all above are too hard for proton, scrap ur power plant unit and get it from FIAT and VW, concentrate on the exterior, interior & safety. it might help u to sustain.

• if proton need to sustain……….
    1. let the past
    2. forget about protection and copete with others
    3. develop in house 3 potter engine with/without turbo
    4. better fuel economy
    5. Update or develop new 4 potter engine with better fuel economy and low end torque.
    6. bring in diesel option so that it can push the gov to introduce atleast euro4 grade engine.
    if all above are too hard for proton, scrap ur power plant unit and get it from FIAT and VW, concentrate on the exterior, interior & safety. it might help u to sustain.

• Drifter on May 02, 2014 at 7:32 pm

close down better,absolute failure company.We r suffering just because government wants to protect this company.

Best to just close shop, perodua alone is more than enough as our national car

• Hello CEO, please done your best to bring back the pride of the nation if not better hire a bomoh

• Danny on May 03, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Still not dying proton?
    I hope the new CEO rips out and guts out proton and integrates it to their other brands…
    It will be done, proton has the hardware left…. No matter how proton brand name is equated to lousy?. So die la