Gold Youngman Lotus L3 GT shown at Auto China

youngman-lotus-l3-gt-gold-beijing 095

Our photographers at Auto China stumbled upon this rather… amusing gold Youngman Lotus L3 GT sedan while finishing up their run of the show, and sent us these pictures to pique our interest.

Having a case of déjà vu? This is of course a rebadged version of the Proton Persona – part of the national carmaker’s strategic partnership with Youngman, which sees the Chinese manufacturer paying royalties in exchange for Campro engines as well as CKD kits of the Persona and Gen2 (the latter is sold as the L3).

youngman-lotus-l3-gt-gold-beijing 092

Using our familiar family sedan as the base, Youngman then threw on an absurd wide bodykit (which we had already seen at Auto Guangzhou back in 2010). Race-inspired details abound, including bonnet pins and quad exhaust tips, and the boot lid is topped off with a rear wing tall enough to be used as a hurdle.

Added to that, the car is then wrapped in this blinding gold chrome finish, which Youngman obviously thinks Chinese customers would like. So, what do you think – does this give Brothers a run for its money, or is this something even the most extroverted individual would hide from?

Live pix by Moy Yew-Meng and Kwek Chai Li

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• bisakeris (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 7:31 pm

LOL!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:36 pm

fugly…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
      • Somehow i agreed with u bro. Even thou sometimes you state racial comment, but this time im with bro..

• If I am in Proton exhibition stand, I’ll not admit I am Malaysian and Proton is my national car… Its embarrass, look at the fugly and hideous they did? Dare to put on public view, salute!!!

• Same Loor on May 02, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Malaysian mat rempit/ah beng would love the car!

Bring it in!

• LatukBandar on Apr 30, 2014 at 7:32 pm

This is the most Ah Beng proton ever… I can’t be certain if it is the colour of gold or colour of rust.

Am not anti-proton, but, sometimes, there is such thing as over-creative.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 3
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Apr 30, 2014 at 9:12 pm

China mah…! How can they be over-creative…?

Master of over-copycat lah…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • calcutta on May 01, 2014 at 1:28 am

thing about proton is,they often misread their customer to an astonishing level

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • i.. just… i.. uh.. dunno….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 0
  • nabill (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Dont blame the car,blame their taste!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
    • peter on May 01, 2014 at 2:27 pm

Gen 2 design is the best ever from proton (Lotus), bit its faith is not well as it’s fallen into the wrong hands: 1st Proton (do U notice the ugliest Gen 2 mold is the latest persona design), 2nd, youngman (worse then proton). Gen2 design, aside from his inferior engine, is a kind that’s not easy to gone obsolete, just like other sport cars. Youngman has really bring mediocre to another level. ANOTHER thing is, youngman doesn’t mention even once abt ‘proton’, they cited themselves as partner from Lotus in commercial (and I could feel how piss-off fr Lotus team).

• Bataman on Apr 30, 2014 at 7:38 pm

OMG…look at that spoiler…like the Ah Beng and Rempit mod on Wira/Old Saga ….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
  • Still wondering how chinease look at a car….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Maseratits on Apr 30, 2014 at 7:44 pm

What a ridiculously massive spoiler

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Patric on Apr 30, 2014 at 7:46 pm

Just sell Proton to Youngman, and let them copycat each other.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 27
  • damn you china spoil our Proton! apa lagi cina mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 40
  • vanhoe on Apr 30, 2014 at 7:55 pm

WTF is this abomination?

• frenzyaustin on Apr 30, 2014 at 7:57 pm

Even Ah Beng say it’s too Ah Beng for them.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 0
  • john.A on Apr 30, 2014 at 8:04 pm

this is nice man…like a cadbury bar…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • CEO Proton,U Should drive this yourself in it everyday..
    Bet he confirm get GOLD membership from PIMP CLUB.!!

• holofanboi on Apr 30, 2014 at 8:09 pm

Pfft you’ve all got poor taste. Id tap that car in the exhaust anyday, everyday. Theres even a holding bar on top of the boot as support while im tapping it.

Ergonomics AND functionality… WELL DONE LOTUS CHINA!!!

• and I thought the modded wira and saga was bad

• Just when you thought local cars are riced to the max…

• Yours Faithfully (YF) on Apr 30, 2014 at 8:28 pm

I thought this was something from the poorest of all sheikh from Dubai present to his son.

• Albert lee on Apr 30, 2014 at 9:04 pm

This car is very nice for a JAMES BOND MOVIE.”GOLDFINGER PART TWO”.

• Hahahahahaha. Malaysian will like this more than the chinese.

• ionlaw on Apr 30, 2014 at 10:09 pm

lose face lose to China… oh my…

• Haiyaa OOH on Apr 30, 2014 at 10:11 pm

THIS is just TOO STUPID or TOO Clever Move by Proton Bikin Malu aja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
  • Davediablo on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:02 pm

At some point, the front looks bit like bugatti veyron…

• pencari harta karun on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:08 pm

is that harta karun from pulau nangka?

• Aero (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:15 pm

Not the first time Youngman made something crazy. I remember there was another similar looking concept in the past. But their interior designs are actually not bad. The Youngman version of our Proton Persona has a slightly different, and I dare say more attractive interior. Just Google and see, they’ve changed the aircond controls and a few other bits.

Fun fact : Proton has sold more than 200,000 Gen-2 and Persona cars under Youngman in China since 2008. All of them are (CKD) made in Youngman’s factory in Jinhua, Zhejiang state (but the first 30,000 or so were CBU exports). However, the CamPro engines are shipped wholesale from Tanjung Malim. I estimate that more than 300,000 CamPro engines have been sold to Youngman since 2008, and that’s not bad at all. Youngman also uses the CamPro engines in their self-made models. Proton would have earned big money from the Youngman deal. However, Youngman has been replacing more and more parts with their own, so over the years, Proton has been earning less and less royalties from Youngman as a result. Don’t be surprised if you go to China, especially the inner states, and see a car which looks like a Gen-2 or Persona, they’re not copies or anything, unlike what most would assume.

Youngman’s sales continue to grow today, despite the MH370 tragedy. 2014 is expected to be their best year yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
    • Spirior on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:56 pm

Whatever illegal stuff you’re smoking, share it with us Paultaners ok. Youngman has ceased L3 and L5 production due to poor sales. Surely you didn’t hear stories about staffs trying to jump off the factory roof because of unpaid wages. I don’t blame you, the communist party keep a tight lid on news like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • Aero (Member) on May 01, 2014 at 1:28 pm

I’m not smoking anything. Youngman still produces the L3 sedan and hatch (rebadged Persona and Gen-2) today.

Between January and March 2014 (Q1 2014), Youngman sold 8,340 rebadged Gen-2 and Persona units. That is a 44% increase over the same period last year.

Overall, Youngman ranked 41st best selling brand in China for Q1 2014. That is higher than Mitsubishi btw. Keep in mind that Youngman only sells 3 cars; the rebadged Gen-2 and Persona (Youngman L3) and a self-made model which is based on an elongated Gen-2 platform (Youngman L5).

Even with just 3 main models, Youngman has managed to hold its own in the market. Imagine if Youngman (or some other Chinese company) could rebadge the much improved Prevé and Suprima S for China as well. No brainer. Surely Proton would make big bucks and big sales.

That’s why I want Proton to hurry up with their China export plans. It is long overdue. The sooner Proton can get the new cars to China, the better.

Source for the Youngman sales data :https://web.archive.org/web/20140426182932/http://bestsellingcarsblog.com/2014/04/16/china-first-quarter-2014-vw-santana-haval-h6-and-changan-honor-biggest-gainers-in-top-30/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • looks more like bronze color

• Sorchai (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:33 pm

If this car is driven in Malaysia in afternoon, will cause a lot of accidents.

The glare from the reflection…wah lao…

• Hugo Andore on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:36 pm

That spoiler can become my computer table

• Ah Beng King on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:41 pm

tis one very nice le. hw mch ar?? me likey le walaoweh

• this is not the designer fault, the most great mistake or fault is the one who approve this “beauty” to be made and display. good job

• pok mang on May 01, 2014 at 9:22 am

Surely balakong and jinjang ah beng will be very mad when looking at this!

• Cheung on May 01, 2014 at 9:37 am

Nice color. Chinese Favorite color. GOLD. exclude that spoiler please . Thank you :)

• lemer on May 01, 2014 at 10:07 am

In here some folks are bashing Proton design, they said not good enough, in China they seem liking Gen2 and Persona style even they coated with gold.

• Samad Jain on May 01, 2014 at 10:19 am

is that a garden bench stuck on the back of the car??

• Speechless

• This kind of Gold Plated Chrome Finished should put on MINI not this bloody stupid car.

• Eddie on May 01, 2014 at 11:11 am

OMG…What are they smoking???

• potong steam on May 01, 2014 at 11:57 am

dont blame youngman, blame the car.. if it’s a gold SLS AMG, what you guys think. The persona is already an ugly looking car in 21st century.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • guan eng jr. on May 01, 2014 at 12:43 pm

Dont forget that new chinese are very rich. To include this into their line up is not a prob. Ideal for weekend drive to the club.

• thedarkside on May 01, 2014 at 4:12 pm

that spoiler can be useful as a day bed

• Krasher on May 01, 2014 at 4:45 pm

This is definitely targeting Arab customers

• wow can replace sun

• Enthu on May 01, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Brother’s employees will be happy about this =P

• niterunner99 on May 01, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Agreed with all of your comments here…really a sore eye.
    BUT for all we know…this car on show may had found a new owner!! May be with extra bookings too!!
    So next time you are in China…do look around ok.

• Ah Seng on May 02, 2014 at 12:32 am

OMG!!! The best looking car ever!!!

• Jonny Tan on May 02, 2014 at 7:20 am

Wow Gold! Drive on the road need to prevent bad guys kidnap me….! lol/

• 5YAH the Dubai_Guy on May 02, 2014 at 7:44 am

Hmmm….seems legit.Perhaps can compete with gold Veyrons and F50s here.Can’t be in James Bond’s Goldfinger..but for Austin Powers maybe.Ohh beEhavee babyy!!

• luckily i wasn’t name after ‘persana’ , ‘persaga’ or any name people would get confuse with. is their talent for giving such name like ‘nukia’ or ‘sumsang’

• Gen X on May 02, 2014 at 8:55 am

Once a young man with some persona bought a wilting lotus and painted it gold to get some attention but in the end got only ridicule.

• heybadigol on May 02, 2014 at 11:04 am

If they wanted to market this in China, it needs extra long wheelbase edition.

• looks like persona SV is still a relevant model for many years to come.

• superman on May 02, 2014 at 4:00 pm

this is a one hell of an ugly car. I bet it is done by Proton Styling team and asked China to make it.

• judge on May 07, 2014 at 3:51 pm

1)”Chinese manufacturer paying royalties in exchange for Campro engines”
    2)basically is a chinese taste
    3) chinese won’t hurt(bash) their long distant family(Youngman),so they end up bash (proton)
    4)see how prejudice this people

• chicken chop on May 07, 2014 at 4:00 pm

The white one (with blue sport rims) look OK than the gold

• Brian on May 07, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Proton lagi best

• OMGWTF on May 07, 2014 at 6:18 pm

Oh my god la what the ***k is this? looks really childish. Tryhard proton. really tryhard. Joke Joke joke. Where is batman when u need him :(

• beh song on May 08, 2014 at 10:39 am

Like a gold toilet bowl