Volkswagen Golf R Mk7 spotted on the move in Bangi!

volkswagen-golf-r-spied-malaysia

We’ve seen it on a trailer and in the JPJ car park; now it’s time for it to be spotted on the move. Reader Aznor Izam Sabuti has kindly sent in this solitary shot of the Mk7 Volkswagen Golf R on a trial run in Sungai Merab, Bangi. Whoever’s driving it must have a big grin on their face.

As our JPJ spyshots have divulged, the super-Golf features unique bumpers, quad tailpipes, smoked LED tail lamps and 235/35 R19 alloys. The wing mirrors and one of the grille bars are brushed aluminium.

Inside, you’ll see an eight-inch Discover Pro touch-screen with navigation, a push start button by the gear lever and an R-badged steering wheel. There’s also a blue instrument panel, white stitching, carbon-fibre-look trim and sports seats.

In Europe, the powerplant is a 2.0 litre EA888 turbo engine that produces 300 PS and 380 Nm of torque; however, Singapore, Australia, Japan and the Middle East get 280 PS (same state of tune as the Seat Leon Cupra 280). Will we get 280 or 300 PS?

With the help of a six-speed DSG, the Mk7 Volkswagen Golf R does the century sprint in five seconds (with 280 PS) or 4.9 seconds (with 300 PS) – almost a full second quicker than the Mk6 Golf R.

Our current RM269k Mk6 Golf R has 255 PS and 330 Nm of twist at its disposal (270 PS in Europe). We’ve found a Mk7 Golf R on oto.my for RM300k. The price is mentioned to be an estimate. But since an ad is up, bookings must be open.

Mk7 Volkswagen Golf R spotted at JPJ

Mk7 Volkswagen Golf R official pics

Mk6 Volkswagen Golf R

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Motorhead (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 10:38 am

VW bashers… let’s go..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
    • nonbashable on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:23 am

Keep in mind that this is a 6-speed wet clutch dsg, not the problemsome conventional 7-speed dry clutch dsg on TSI engines. Good fuel consumption, great drivetrain, and handling. I don’t see what is the impeding factor not to buy this car other than the 300k price factor. The mk7 GTI for 210k is a good bargain imo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 5
      • kimster on Apr 30, 2014 at 1:32 pm

ALL MALAYSIAN PLEASE BUY VW cars, so that my towing business will be good!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 27
        • passion33 on Apr 30, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Good move kimster!! I cant wait to sell more tow trucks to you. How many tow trucks can you afford for your towing business??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • Heng Lee on May 01, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Yes, Toyota’s are smashed into pieces after an accident while VW’s are still in one part. That’s why Toyota had to pay 1.2 billion US$ penalty in the US.

Much easier for a towing tuck operator to tow one car after an accident than to collect pieces shattered all over the road.

• Random Joe on Apr 30, 2014 at 10:53 am

Such a good looking car. If only I can afford to own one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • Such a stupid comment, you never actually own GTI, just blindly follow bad comments about DSG. You only deserve preve quality or Camry 2.0 2014, 4 speed hu hu so stable no need 6 or 7 speed lol.

I dont have issue at all with DSG so smooth and quick. Purposely let camry overtake me in highway and then I give them lesson, they have no answer with my GTI performance and DSG technology..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 47
      • M4YH3M on May 02, 2014 at 5:27 pm

Comprehension my friend, you lack it. or rather, I can say you dont have it.

Not a single word in his post is DSG mentioned. He merely said that he cant afford it, at the same time praising it.

• haha. at first i couldnt be bothered but i just had to comment..
        ‘give a lesson to camry’??
        come go against my 991 TS..
        and im not even joking, gimme ur no, whatsapp u videos of me in my car. u send me urs, we meet up 1 day just for the fun of it

• Can’t appreciate the look…all WV look alike..Polo, Golf new or old look alike..

• Same Loor on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:01 am

You really eat too full and nothing else to do??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • kemal on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:06 am

really the jpj boys are having a ball with this.. yesterday i was the same car at putrajaya, but heading the other way.. seriously fast driving…

• Bob_B78 on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:09 am

To all those VW bashers out there, your guys fall into the following category:
    1. Sour grapes
    2. Kiasu/kiasi
    3. Take things for granted – VW selling more cars faster they can setup new SC.

They are less than 10 years in Malaysia, so they are still at the learning curve on the so called DSG issue. You guys seem to forget that it took about 20 yrs for Japanese/Korean to get the quality they are now today

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
    • VTEC in car (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 5:47 pm

So you mean VW still need 10 yrs for improvement?

• tokmoh (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 7:20 pm

Sounds like a Proton type of excuse, right?

Da butthurt tu cakap je la… Buy VW thinking people impressed “waaa, so succesful drive German”, but reality same shitty quality like Proton junk hahahaha.

Meanwhile, Germans in VW Msia popping champagnes celebrating job conning dumbarses.

• So you means VW only start producing cars 10 year ago?

• Bob_Kelentong on May 02, 2014 at 10:08 am

Bob – save your kelentong laa.. (BS)- go to pkfz- you can see lots and lots of unsold polo, polo GTI and golf there (from year 2012, 2013..)
      So much for ‘VW selling more cars faster then they can setup new SC’ konon..
      The truth is – save your money to those who want to splurge on el-cheapo VW stranded at PKFZ.. they gonna sell it by lot to used car dealer..
      wait for vw lelong near your area!
      GO buylah if you got so much money to waste..

Note : how laa to sell more car, to claim warranty for parts also need to wait 2-3 months for single part.

• Clown Bertanduk on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:16 am

The Golf series should’ve replaced the C-segment sedan Jetta because the segment is much primary. So that they could rival the Lexus and Infinity C-segment cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • imagine if proton made such good cars…sigh

• BlitzAce on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:45 am

We’re getting 280PS, there’s already some leaflets from VW dealers going around.

• macromedia on Apr 30, 2014 at 11:57 am

I Am blue GOLF hor.. FASSSSSTER than othr coloured GTI GOLF lo ok please. Play far far, not so near lest Cho-boh cant tell the difference and say mine is GOLF TSI *gulp

Very nice car. Will always remain a dream as too expensive to buy. But aint an expensive car to maintain I think.

• Datuk on Apr 30, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Datuk Towing Enterprise
    24hours towing service, 7 days a week, 365 days a year.
    Call 010-7251364 non stop.
    *special discount for VW Owners.
    *terms & condition apply

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
    • passion33 on Apr 30, 2014 at 3:01 pm

How many tow trucks you have? 24hours towing service, 7 days a week, 365 days a year still cant make you rich.

Come buy fleet of tow trucks from me since you happily waiting for VWs to breakdown.

• Zahid Razak on Apr 30, 2014 at 12:40 pm

I’m the one who drives this beast. Smoked all cars on the roads wherever i have driven through. Yahoo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
  • TheDean on Apr 30, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Aiyah….. I told SA not to have my new car publicized. Now everyone knows my R VW…..

• Random Dato on Apr 30, 2014 at 2:58 pm

“Whoever’s driving it must have a big grin on their face.” not so fast.. my Audi R8 will smoked this golf R bye bye. haha lets see whether the driver will have a big grin on their face or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • dutak on May 01, 2014 at 1:13 pm

my veyron smokes your R8 any day any night, i will see you still have big grin on your face or not

happy playing with your small scale R8 toy

• my M3 V8 414bhp easily can eat the R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • Anti BMW on May 01, 2014 at 10:46 am

But the BMW M3 is a 7 speed dual clutch gearbox, it will breakdown before you can even start the race!

• How you know..have you own it? :) dont simply put unreliable comment

• no wonder..it’s from Anti BMW’s comment hehehehe..be realistic next time bro :)

• and and FYI, Bimmer’s gear box is more robust compare to VW..you know that right?..hehehehe..pls admit :)

• Kelvin on Apr 30, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Will Malaysia be getting the 2 door version?

• boring VW . only idiot will buy this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • Sad VW OWNER on Apr 30, 2014 at 4:41 pm

My DSG JUST QUIT ON ME…. Why…. Tomorrow i will go to wearners…. Watchout VGM executive…..better take MC…..will post video on YOUTUBE…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • VTEC in car (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 6:09 pm

Sorry abt that. My friend use to work in VW as SA but he quit too… he himself can’t stand the bad service they provide as well.

• great car, too bad not everyone can afford them :(

• VTEC in car (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 6:07 pm

Those who think they are fast in the Golf R, I think u guys really need to come out from your own cave. Smoke all cars on the road??? U mean when the GTR stuck at traffic jam, M135 parking at road side and the A45 is reloading Touch & Go?

• as I said earlier, my M3 V8 414bhp easily can eat the R

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
      • Ferrari F12 on Apr 30, 2014 at 9:53 pm

And my F12 Berlinetta with 750bhp can smoke your puny M3 before you can even blink. Why la compare sports cars against a hot hatch? No other competitor to bully meh? Childish.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • F12? oh really? so rich and where you buy the spare part hehehehe? be realistic to put a comment bro :)

• F12? did you know that car is not good in cornering..M3 can easily eat F12 :)

• and and after you have experienced the M3 eat your F12..immediately you will sell your car (if really your owned it lah) :) what a waste! :)

• at least this video is dedicated for you Ferrari F12..this is your sibling that has been smoked by M3 :)..ok have a sweat dream a head :)

• with attachment link :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3REvLPG05wM

• The legendary wiralution with evo3 specs can smoke this.

• On Malaysian road….

• VW fans on May 02, 2014 at 12:31 am

rubbish car

• twinclutch nightmare on May 02, 2014 at 7:51 am

msian market will get different specs of golf R compared to the European market

-280 bhp TSI engine (not the 300 bhp)
    -6-speed dual-clutch automatic gearbox (DSG)
    -4MOTION permanent four-wheel drive
    -Cadiz” alloy wheels 7.5 J x 18, tyres 225/40 R18 (not the 235/35 R19)

• initial d on May 02, 2014 at 10:33 pm

this car is not the fastest car against seat leon cupra which is also cheaper for european market.

• ProtonEnough on May 09, 2014 at 10:50 am

this car is just like suprima s, national turbo hatchback

• ProtonEnough on May 09, 2014 at 10:56 am

and both are low cost car…don’t get fooled by taxes and thought u bought a good quality with higher prices

• TypeR on Dec 15, 2014 at 9:12 am

I would really like to see what this hot hatch can do against Honda’s upcoming Civic Type-R VtecTurbo in terms of performance and everyday drivability. The numbers are very similar on paper. The DSG would probably shift faster but the Type-R’s super slick 6 speed manual is bomb proof and serious business.