New Volkswagen Passat (B8) for China leaked!

volkswagen-passat-b8-magotan-china-1

Chinese website autohome.com.cn has posted pics of what is allegedly the new-gen (B8) Volkswagen Passat for China. It’s FAW-Volkswagen’s Magotan, a nameplate that started life on the China-assembled European B6 Passat, before becoming a long-wheelbase B7. No, nothing to do with a hairy red fruit.

Refer to our European B8 Passat spyshots and you’ll see trapezoidal twin tailpipes that are integrated into the rear bumper – this MQB-based Magotan has them too. There are new angular headlamps, a sleek, CC-like side profile with Mk7 Golf-like body creases and new tail lamps (LEDs available).

The plush interior features double chrome trim across the dash (camouflaging and ‘hiding’ the air vents, by the looks of it!) and a healthy dose of wood trim. More than a few things are recognisable from the Mk7 Golf, including the driver-oriented fascia, flat-bottomed steering wheel, climate controls, switchgear and infotainment touch-screen.

The European B8 Volkswagen Passat is rumoured to be heading towards a Paris show premiere in October, while the new Chinese FAW-Volkswagen Magotan is expected to debut in the second half of 2015.

Chinese-market FAW-Volkswagen Magotan (B8)

Euro-market Volkswagen Passat (B8)

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• tawil on Apr 30, 2014 at 12:56 pm

Magotan or Rambutan?

• raja lawak on Apr 30, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Better buy Proton Accordana. Gerenti can catch Japanese amoi easily. If drive Vios only can get local amoi. Boring!

• Prefer Orang Utan

• AVH (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 1:45 pm

The B7 Passat is one of the oldest cars in its segment, the Camry, accord, sonata and optima nameplates have been used in at least two generation in the the same time as the Passat stuck in one , the B6/7. The B7 is only considered a ‘facelift’ (thou a substantial one) over the 2005 B6, almost like how the new recent 2015 Toyota USDM Camry is to the 2014.

Anyhow, I believe the B8 euro Passat will share much in common to the already launched USDM B8 Passat. Looks wise, it’s very safe like the new accord. There’s nothing to stand it out if the crowd yet there’s nothing to say its a terrible looking car, it’s that classy old guy you see in an Italian coffee house. I won’t say is dull as it is not but neither is it something else.

• Henry Ford the XII on Apr 30, 2014 at 4:41 pm

AVH, a padawan of Hafriz Shah you are :)

• W204 C63 AMG on Apr 30, 2014 at 10:53 pm

I believe the USDM Passat and Jetta are unique that market alone. The rest of the world get the European Passat and Jetta.

• Jky13 on Apr 30, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Look more like VW CC, rear A5 look a like… Honestly it’s have a better look

• In China, VW sharing same platform with Audi thus you can easily find the rear looks similar with Audi. An example: Grand Lavida looks like A3 from the back..btw Magotan or Rambutan selling below RM140k OTR in China….

• danedz on Apr 30, 2014 at 2:02 pm

shud be manggis instead…

• Jaybond on Apr 30, 2014 at 2:23 pm

It’s Mangosteen.Jokes aside, this new Passat definitely looks more classy than the current version of Passat. Hopefully the design theme will be passed down to the successor of the current Jetta (looks a bit dull especially the downgraded Malaysian version that we have) as well.

• thats one sexy steering, but not a fan of the interior color combination

• So the new Passat is called Paultan? lol

• nabill (Member) on Apr 30, 2014 at 2:59 pm

I somehow think the spyshots rlook abit diff frm da pic…maybe china version is diff to da rest of da world…if u sit in a passat,u wd definitely see the interior is longer than japanese cars,leg room is massive,bt at da same time it oso feels abit narrower…

• Sad VW OWNER on Apr 30, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Get away from this crap…. You have been warned….

• Heng Lee on May 01, 2014 at 1:35 am

The Chinese don’t give a f… about a Malaysian Toyota salesman.

• Dr zack on May 01, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Brought back my passat from germany 8 years ago… While doing my 2 year fellowship in Berlin… Since i lives in the east coast never actually brought it to authorised workshop.., however my passat is perfectly fine except a few rattles here and there….been wondering about all the fuss especially in KL… Nobody believe me when i told them that my Passat is trouble free… Maybe im lucky… As i always been in my life…

• pontiac on Jun 12, 2014 at 9:47 am

why i saw no changes in exterior.. same old boring design knnn..