Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost launched – RM93,888

Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost MY 22

The Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost has been officially introduced in Malaysia – the range-topping model of the facelifted B299 Fiesta range arrives seven months after the 1.5 Sport hatch and Titanium sedan made their local debut and completes the local Fiesta lineup.

The Thai-made EcoBoost variant only comes in hatchback form, and officially has a Sport+ designation, though the badging still denotes it as an S version, with an EcoBoost emblem on top of it to identify the car.

It’s of course powered by the award-winning 998 cc EcoBoost three-cylinder turbo GDI mill, in its higher 125 PS at 6,000 rpm and 170 Nm at 1,400 to 4,500 rpm output tune (there’s a 100 PS version in overseas markets). The engine, which comes from Ford’s Romanian engine plant in Craiova, is paired to a PowerShift six-speed dual-clutch transmission, namely the Getrag 6DCT250. No manual option, unfortunately, unlike in Australia.

Aside from being equipped with the two-time International Engine of The Year winner (in 2012 and then again last year), the Fiesta Sport+ is virtually identical in terms of features and kit to the 1.5 litre variants, save a few bits.

These items are a full bodykit with splitter-mounted daytime running lights below the foglamps and a Safety Pack with its full complement of seven airbags (front driver and passenger, side, curtain and driver’s knee) to the 1.5 litre Sport and Titanium’s two. EcoBoost decals on the bonnet and sides of the car round off the differences.

That’s from the outside – the interior, meanwhile, is indistinguishable from the 1.5 unless you’re eagle-eyed and spot the extra airbag markers on the trim. Everything, from the black gloss trim down to the shade of the partial leather/fabric seats, is identical to that on the 1.5. No change to the plastics either, which means there’s no soft touch dash or upper door card areas.

In terms of equipment, all that’s found on the 1.5 is here, and that includes ESP, hill launch assist, smart keyless entry and push-start ignition, auto headlamps/rain-sensing wipers, Ford SYNC and a six-speaker audio system as well as a single-zone, fully-automatic EATC climate control unit.

Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost MY 9

In terms of exterior shades, the 1.0 litre EcoBoost Fiesta is available in three colours, Arctic White, Panther Black and True Red. The black is unique to the EcoBoost model in facelift form (conversely, the 1.5 Sport has Chilli Orange, Metropolitan Gray and Celestial Blue in its colour palette).

As for pricing, the car goes for RM93,888 on-the-road without insurance, and comes with a five-year or 200,000 km warranty as well as Ford’s Extended Service Plan (ESP), a three-year or 60,000 km maintenance programme that covers parts and labour free of charge.

If you’re interested in test driving the Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost, you can do so this weekend at SDAC Petaling Jaya. The venue kicks off the eight-week long Fiesta 1.0L Urban Playground experiential tour, which is set to visit nine locations across the Peninsular. The car will be available in Sabah and Sarawak in June.

Read our Thai test drive review of the Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• victor tan on May 02, 2014 at 5:28 pm

I’m sincerely hope there are CKDs for Fiesta model in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 9
    • Wonka on May 02, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Proton fanboys gonna hate this car cause this 1.0 engine can smoke preve and suprima with a tiny little tip on the paddle.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 222 Thumb down 85
      • why must hate, alot of car also can smoke preve and suprima wat?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 303 Thumb down 33
        • Anti Crazy Car Tax on May 03, 2014 at 11:30 am

This is how MITI promote fuel efficiency but punish fuel guzzling car:

Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost = 1% car excise duty

Proton Suprima S = 1,000% car excise duty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
          • 3 MONTHS Wait! on May 06, 2014 at 9:36 am

I had a 2013 Ford Focus before. I can tell you one thing, my dual clutch stalled and broke down a few times. And when it stalls, it locks the gear and tires. You are just stuck. I kena in the middle of Federal Highway peak hours. Everybody curse me. Cannot even push the car to emergency lane.

Another big problem about Ford, every single part is a 3 month wait. My front bumper got bang, AutoConnexion took 3 months to replace it. they said must order from Singapore.

For 3 whole months they held my car. For 3 months I had to take bus to work. I got no idea why. Singapore is so close to Malaysia. But Ford Malaysia make it seem like it is in Zimbabwe.

Yes, the car is nice to drive and got real Continental feel. As good as Mercedes. But Buyer Beware lah. You will cry in pain when you line up in the bus stand waiting for the Metrobus.

My advice, stay away from Ford in Malaysia. Very good car but marred by super bodoh staff in the service centre.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 15
        • Same Loor on May 05, 2014 at 5:02 pm

The fact is: A lot of cars can easily smoke Preve and Suprima S, but they don’t do it often due to public safety.

The Proton fanboys knew their car are J class. In order to balance their mindset, they keep on talking of smoke this and that…

Empty-talk-kock and able-to-do-it are two different things.

Well done Ford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
          • so many proton cybertroopers here….suprima S is da best car in the world hahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • koochai on May 02, 2014 at 5:58 pm

actually done that few times with my fiesta 1.6 :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 65
        • chocobo on May 03, 2014 at 12:28 am

Sorry to burst ur bubble. The 1.6 fiesta was the first car ever smoked when I got my inspira 1.8 manual. And it was by miles, the driver’s facial expression was priceless when I looked at him at the next traffic light stop.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 40
          • Realistic guy on May 03, 2014 at 1:19 am

You don’t even need an inspira to smoke a 1.6 fiesta. I’ve done it too many times with my neo cps. and it’s automatic. =)

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 30
          • koochai on May 03, 2014 at 2:29 am

in ur wet dream la…that must be the 1.4 manual fiesta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 35
          • shame_Loo on May 03, 2014 at 6:21 am

Guys, grow up la pls….smoke this car, smoke that car….for what? You happy, other get upset, if both run into accident, if you die that is your own problem, but don’t give trouble to other people.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 461 Thumb down 6
        • Happy on May 04, 2014 at 10:20 pm

No need cps… Kosong campro also can smoke 1.6 fiesta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 14
      • Hyundai De.La Junk on May 02, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Not sure about the car but the price definately smoke Preve & Suprima, crazy 93.8K for a 1 liter B segemnt H/B… day light robbery.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 224 Thumb down 30
        • Chris (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 9:24 pm

I find it amusing how people measure displacement of forced induction engine as if it’s NA. Never really driven any modern turbo that’s not a diesel, but even if there’s lag, this engine easily pass off as a 1.7-1.8L engine as far as the torque is concerned, no?

1.5L Fiesta 80k+, “1.8L” Fiesta 90k+. Not really a bargain, but not exactly a rip off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
      • If this can smoke preve and suprima,then how about vios, city, almera?even cant seen?

pity Vios fans

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 150 Thumb down 7
      • But preve 5star NCAP and much bigger in space.
        Put a race chip in preve and you can smoke teana 2.5.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 35
        • NananaBatman on May 03, 2014 at 12:08 am

The fiesta also scored 5 stars, and the 1.0 ecoboost model comes with 7 airbags, if you compare the average fuel consumption of the fiesta and preve, you will find that in a longer term the fiesta may be more worth it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 6
          • http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=Gp9ujLpnXpo
            Nowadays people see IIHS and small overlap crash, not normal front crash. Almost 84% of accidents are small overlap.
            Well, preve didn’t participate in this test and small overlap, but fiesta is not so safe that I can say.

• 5Stars? on May 03, 2014 at 7:24 pm

Sorry but Fiesta is 5 Stars Euro NCAP, Preve is only 5 Stars Asean NCAP and and barely gets 5 stars ANCAP. A 3 stars Euro NCAP car can easily get 5 stars Asean NCAP while a 4 stars Euro NCAP car is better than 5 stars ANCAP cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 31
          • ruffstuff on May 04, 2014 at 9:09 am

Sorry bro 5stars?. You clearly have no idea what is NCAP. Preve was never tested in ASEAN NCAP. Preve was tested for Australasian NCAP which is in sync with Euro NCAP standard. There was no such thing as barely 5 star NCAP preve. The overall score for Preve is better than some other cars who get 5 star AU NCAP.

And you should know that there are cases where AU NCAP give 4 star but EU NCAP give 5 star. You can google that. Am i gonna say AU ncap is stricter than EU NCAP?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 13
          • ncapau on May 04, 2014 at 11:43 am

Preve / Suprima got 5 star Australian NCAP. Get your facts right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • 5Stars? on May 04, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Ruffstuff, sorry but I was on the “inside” when they tested the Prevé for the first time in the ANCAP. First crash test, they failed to get 5 stars and they needed to make some changes before crash test again. I also know for a fact from internal documentation that the best they can get in EuroNCAP is just 4 stars.

• 5Stars? on May 04, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Another thing on why some models get 5 Stars in Euro NCAP but only 4 Stars in ANCAP. The reason behind this is the cars which are produced in Europe have different specs and body strength compared to the same model produced in the Asean for Australian market. However Ford is adopting the One Ford strategy which all the cars from the same model are more or less the same regardless where they are produced.

• david star on May 03, 2014 at 10:26 am

I drive a Teana 2.5. I don’t even need to put pressure to smoke any chipped or not chipped Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 17
          • Teana is uncle car, need to push down far to gain power, turbocharged car is much better, slight push on pedal gives you much powahhhh

LOLOLOLOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 41
          • Teana Driver on May 03, 2014 at 10:59 pm

Actually David Star is correct. Teana is very powerful even if you dont push hard. Sorry, vnt, you are wrong of you havent driven one. Those who do, no matter what you call them are truly happy with their car. Notice Teana drivers always calm, cause the car is perfect balance of power and economy and almost silent inside.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 7
          • Put racechip inside Preve or Suprima got century sprint around 7 secs. Teana cannot see smoke lor. Oh chick also hates Teana, it’s for oldies. /yuck

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 38
          • teanaprob on May 04, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Teana problem : .engine knocking, noisy brakes, rear suspension noise when cornering, smelly air con, strange noise during pick up, rear power window winding down by itself even without pressing any button, 7″ lcd screen still on even when you turn off the engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
          • Toyota and Nissan Driver on May 04, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Teana driver always get the elegant high society women. Proton drivers only get minah rempit . Ha, ha, what a joke these Proton drivers are. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
        • ruffstuff on May 05, 2014 at 8:47 am

Wow. Someone from internal claim that Preve is only 4 star ANCAP. Very reliable source this one.

• Johnny on May 02, 2014 at 7:15 pm

All you wanna be racers are the reason why I get my friggin Sunday stroll on the highway ruined because suddenly I am being tailgated by a Vios/City/Almera (especially the Impul ones cuz they think they got Turbo).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 165 Thumb down 4
        • BlueFin on May 02, 2014 at 9:45 pm

especially when tailgated by vios TRD .. with the “cap ayam LED daylight”.. in my mind ” what the h*** “

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 3
          • Brother, do you know TRD is same ‘standard’ as F1 racing. haha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
        • unfortunately those ‘racer’ only know how to go straight line ^^ corner masuk longkang for sure

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 3
        • QG16DE on May 03, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Maybe you should be driving on the left lane on the highway since you’re only doing a relax Sunday stroll on the highway. SLOWER CAR MOVE TO THE LEFT, NOT THE MIDDLE FREAKING LANE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
      • kctan on May 05, 2014 at 6:51 am

preve can go more than 210km/h

this 190km/h . also about 9sec too to 100kmh

this is using dual clutch , danger , no?

• supriman on May 02, 2014 at 9:23 pm

the only ckd car with a top notch performance is suprima s turbo. Why pay more?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 54
      • victor tan on May 02, 2014 at 10:39 pm

1) Because it has old engine that is not efficient(looking forward to Campro+DI though).
        2) Wrong gearbox, the CVT kill most of the fun, and doesn’t provide the comfort like those AT/CVT with torque converter.
        3) The QC perception, always have to pray that yours isn’t the defect unit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Hee on May 03, 2014 at 10:24 am

Way too expensive. Please boycott this car so Sime Darby brings the price down

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • _xXx_ on Jun 13, 2014 at 6:21 pm

hey, autocon do u sell unit WITHOUT bodykit and stickers? ugly la

• kadajawi (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 5:31 pm

That is less unreasonable than expected…

Still the 1.5 should be around 75k max, and the 1.0 should be 87k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
    • u r rite. thou d engine output of 1.0eco boost similar to a 1.8l engine, but d pricing is far beyond wat v expect as compare to other models. mayb they r not targeting mass marketing but on niche market like rich female driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • victor tan on May 02, 2014 at 6:49 pm

don’t worry, not much ppl will buy it, so next year it will discount RM7k above, just like the fiesta 2013 model.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 2
  • lalala on May 02, 2014 at 5:31 pm

buy preve turbo or suprima better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 92
    • victor tan on May 02, 2014 at 5:46 pm

I like Preve/Suprima too, but I definitely sure it’s not as good as Fiesta Ecoboost because of the gearbox.

If only the Campro is fitted with a decent gearbox and direct injection tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 11
    • byknya dislike, nanti Tan Sri Khamil lihat, sure org tua tu mengamuk gila gila

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
      • driver on May 03, 2014 at 1:09 am

Khamil sendiri pn tak pakai proton, nak marah-marah orang plak.. lepas tu “I don’t understand.. why??”

• Both can do less than 10 secs in century sprint. Bigger space summore. Apa lagi lu mau? lol

• spongewai on May 02, 2014 at 5:32 pm

good car, good engine but the door when u slam not like Honda City or Toyota Vios door

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 71
    • koochai on May 02, 2014 at 5:59 pm

door slam sound…really?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
      • slamthedoor on May 02, 2014 at 10:12 pm

before and after u test drive it..slam the door and wait for the sound to heard..unlikely city/vios ? juz wonder is it the same as proton door

• Preve/Suprima got 5 star Australian NCAP , why compare it with Vios which got only 4 star Asean NCAP? That’s out of mind

• door slammer on May 03, 2014 at 7:30 am

if you want a beautiful sound of a slam door. buy a merc/bmw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • konniciwa on May 03, 2014 at 8:56 am

this is not a good way to test the qc. what a bunch of moron here.

• 93k?!! that is absurd

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 7
  • Nice! When is ST going to be launch?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Does the 6 spd DCT have any problems? Anthony, what about the fiesta sedan ecoboost?

• frustrated on May 02, 2014 at 9:19 pm

does it have any problems?
      does it have any problems??

please put your ears to the ground and check with the those who have bought a fiesta or focus and they’ll tell you that the gearbox failure rate + lousy attitude of autoconnexxion = your car in their “service” centre for 3-6 months every year.

hows that for problems? buy a car, pay 12 months installment, use half of the year only cos they have no parts to fix the constantly failing gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
      • fiesta owner on May 03, 2014 at 9:15 pm

no such thing.. i agree that the gearbox have problem.. i replaced the clutch once (ACTUALLY I THINK THE GEARBOX HAVE NO PROBLEM THE PROBLEM IS THE CLUTCH).. it only took 3 days..waiting time around 1 month. during that one month you still can use your car just the comfort of shifting is not there ( juddering when going uphill).. apart from that the fiesta have no problem at all.. regarding service centre, i believe every car make have one or two lousy centre. for me who constantly go SDAC PJ, so far so good. (maybe my demand is not that high)for a car to be at service centre for 3-6 month i thing is waiting for insurance claim..

• finecut on May 02, 2014 at 5:41 pm

@spongewai
    fiesta is meant to be a sporty and light hot hatch.
    do people still look for a car based on the door slamming?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 7
  • man in black (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 5:45 pm

damn pricey …

• Hello on May 02, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Is the dash still hard plastic or soft touch?

• truly malaysian..
    Still complaining…

price … unreasonable than expected…
    now branded car … preve turbo or suprima better .. pulak
    door pulak …good car, good engine but the door when u slam not like Honda City or Toyota Vios door.
    so more say … ST going to be launch?

what malaysian want?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 35
    • v just wan proton to close down (so tat it wont waste tax payer money contributing to them) and v want excise duty to b abolished. so simple

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 60
      • Henry on May 03, 2014 at 8:26 am

Get over it. Even if Proton closes down there won’t be any tax/duty reduction on cars. The Gomen need the money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
        • true. no matter a proton or no proton, they will get the money they NEED.

• Sama-sama on May 05, 2014 at 2:29 pm

True, But V tipu also. for almost ALL who do businesses, Income tax tipu taruh rugi but driving Merc and stay in Bungalow. So car tax will be remained forever. Kita sama sama tipu. Kita sama-sama Rasuah.

• zeek (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Dear ford malaysia, please get rid of the ridiculous skirting and decals and put a lower price tag on it. or at least give a variant for those who want a sensible fiesta without the boy racer looks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
  • Maseratits on May 02, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Why did they have to put so many Ecoboost stickers all over the car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • Well, the max torque comes rather late unlike most turbo engines…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • Well, Anthony, i guess, thanks for correcting the torque figure.

• Wilson Lim on May 02, 2014 at 5:56 pm

looks greats, specs is good, driving dynamics is fun, but for that price people tend to think twice. but still quite a decent car in my opinion. But why la no Manual gearbox?!?!?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • lonelyobserve on May 02, 2014 at 9:30 pm

I agree with you. Conventional manual transmission should be offered together with Powershift transmission on this EcoBoost Fiesta. Fiesta ST’s pricing is quite expensive for manual transmission lovers to own.

• ahmadjohnson97 on May 03, 2014 at 8:20 am

Agree with both of you. For fiesta st, probably Malaysia going to get the two doors version so is going to be less practical compare to non st.

• Wilson Lim on May 03, 2014 at 4:14 pm

indeed, hot hatches should have Manual Transmission as an option, technically it is cheaper to own as well. yes we do have traffic jam from time to time, but still it isn’t a good reason not to have Manual gearbox in Malaysia.

• with that price i rather go for honda city V spec or kia cerato 1.6

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 15
    • BlueFin on May 02, 2014 at 9:52 pm

if u’re a woman/single.. i think it’ll definitely suits u..cheaper roadtax and save fuel.. better buy than city V or cerato

• the Fiesta was set up to be a driver’s car (such as it’s bigger brother, the Focus) which is why it is well known the world over for it’s driving dynamics.

If spaciousness, features and all the bells & whistles is what you’re looking for then definitely a Cerato or a City would fair in that dept. (let’s not forget those are sedans which don’t offer quite the same driving experience as a hatch).

Malaysians need to get it right when they compare between a car made for driving dynamics or one made for value.

Lotus drives fantastic but it comes with a tiny engine (for a ‘sports car’), virtually no features, but it was designed to drive, not Wow you with features.

• cowabanga on May 04, 2014 at 1:48 pm

there’s a lot of talk about the Preve/Suprima and Fiesta and who’s smoking who, this is why there are so many douchebags on the road causing danger to others because they all THINK they’re driving a serious performance car.

As impartial as i can be, i must say the Fiesta was not designed to be a straight-line car. Show it some corners and you’ll see where it shines, and the Preve doesn’t quite make the cut.

If you’re a young chap with no plans for a family and you’re looking for a hatch,this is a serious contender (or the Swift Sport :p).

The Preve was designed for the Malaysian masses. Perhaps one who’s starting a family and still wants a little fun, there you have the spaciousness, the decent power, but you wouldn’t diving in and out of corners with your 3-year-old in your back seat would you? The Preve wasn’t designed for that.

All cars were designed with a purpose in mind, so if you’re gonna compare at least make a direct comparison and not just out of “resale value” or “spaciousness” or “who’s smoking who” or whether it has a boot which can fit a cow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Nice but too expensive, better buy City or Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 23
  • Guan Yin Maa on May 02, 2014 at 5:58 pm

I supposed there’s a typo error. The torque is 170Nm from 1400rpm to 4500rpm.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 7:26 pm

Ah yes, was bashing things to get the story out pronto earlier, and missed that. It has been added. Thanks for spotting!

• sudonano (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 6:00 pm

I had already lost hope with the price at first cause the estimations were like 99k

Looks like this will become like the XTR Fiesta we got for a while, also the same bits and bobs just that now you get the 1.0 EcoBoost in it too…

I’d gladly take this without the stickers (which look very horrid) and that cheap looking bodykit. At least the XTR edition looked decent, this looks so-… errr just no. From that, easily can knock of 5k off the price! If they do that, 87k, that’s smack in the Vios/City/jazz Hybrid range (in fact undercutting all three of them while offering more toys).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • AVH (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 8:16 pm

I do agree that it undercut in price buy toys? Well we take the Vios away for its dismal safety specs and the jazz hybrid for its age. But the city V comes with navigation(okay mirror link from a phone) 8 speakers and rear seat ventilation. Personally it’s an all round better family can than the ecoboost.

Both cars are targeting towards different set of buyers. The young and single, the fiesta. The matured with a small family, the city. I’m still bitter at the lack of manual gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • sudonano (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 10:37 pm

true that. I guess yea the City is pretty good value, but maybe if you don’t really need a sedan, this is a pretty good option too…

Not necessarily the young and single buy the Fiesta, even the young at heart too! Plus, it should be pretty easy to zip around KL in a Fiesta than a City though…. As you said, depends on the priorities.

Oh yea, lack of manual in this…. Well. If it did come, this would be a lot of fun!

• rickyll (Member) on May 03, 2014 at 6:46 am

I do agree that it’s really unnecessary for those decals, they do make the car looks cheap. It reminds me of how Proton forced it on Waja buyers umpteen years ago. Over all, Fiesta Ecoboost is a nice car with great specs but the price….. with 55% NCB, it’s crossed the 95K mark.

• i wan this engine into my viva.. T.T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
  • sepul on May 02, 2014 at 6:05 pm

I guess this is nice. Sadly no Sony audio head unit and the colour screen. No cruise control too. Aussie spec has them.

Might consider, road tax is very cheap :D

• Bring in Focus with TDCI engine or 1.6 ecoboost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • ah chai on May 02, 2014 at 6:13 pm

I like Ford. And I love fiesta
    But the price of this fiesta is too high, I believe we need to learn to accept that we don’t buy any segment b cars above rm 70k. (Even rm70k /usd 23k is an absolute crazy price for a segment b in most of the countries )

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • nabill (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 6:14 pm

If u dig deep into some local ford forums…the fiesta is not exactly a trouble free car…that dual clutch has lots of issues….thing is,in europ is has a very good reliability score,bt bcos most are sold with manuals rather than the powershift

That body kit is hideous.. Definatly an after thought…maybe without it price can go below 90k

• lonelyobserve on May 02, 2014 at 9:38 pm

If really to put the blame on Fiesta really not fair for reliability (this country). Part of the blaming should be put on other areas, like SDA and NAP.

Many people point fingers to SDA for obvious reasons like rip off and poor car services provided. There are some reasons need to be pointed out. One of them is the forcing people to accept one or two variants of the vehicles provided. For Fiesta only, the car is nearly full-spec with lots of advanced gadgets, which not all the car owners will use all of them.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Impressive power for 1L.. Unfortunately. . Parts availability for Ford still very poor.. check out it’s simple parts.. as simple as it’s wiper..

• holofanboi on May 02, 2014 at 6:53 pm

I encourage all young Malaysians who can afford this car to grab it as soon as possible.

Use it for 5 years, and prove me wrong on my irrational fear on the reliability of turbocharged small engines.

I have no idea why I fear turbos. (I like sitting in it though!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • You can buy a turbo car. But keep a Japanese normal aspirated car as a second car. In case your turbo car kaput and being kept too long in service centre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • Heng Lee on May 02, 2014 at 11:00 pm

Japanese turbo cars tend to be very unreliable. That’s usually not the case with cars from other parts of the world.

• AVH (Member) on May 03, 2014 at 12:41 am

A rather discriminatory statement and I beg to differ. The winning point on all Japanese cars is their reliaility and I’am talking about 4G93, RB26DETT and 2JZ are their ability to take in HUGE amount of horsepower without breaking a sweat. The Imprezas are still known for their toughness and ease of maintenence, the Supras and RB26DETTs GTR run 200mph daily on Wangans and RB25DETT rarely need much maintaining.

Unless you are talking about the VR38DETT than I have no idea on that. There is still no problems regarding Mitsubishi’s 4B11T and EJ-series engine. No matter what, Turbo car will always have lower reliability than NAs, the blocks takes more stress and complication of enginne to overcome Turbo-lag dosen’t solve much.

thou I’ll make an exceptiion for the 13B rotary.

• Heng Lee on May 03, 2014 at 5:58 am

50% of all cars sold in Europe are TURBO diesel, 27% of all cars sold in Europe are TURBO petrol.

Do you really want to tell me that all Europeans like to drive unreliable cars? :D

• AVH (Member) on May 03, 2014 at 12:58 am

BTW I’d like too correct my statement that no Japanese Turbo engine are not bulletproof and in certain sense not as reliable as any NA engine, Supra’s engine can blow a gaskett and Mitsu’s GTO/2000GTO have an even higher risk of blowing the engine.

But the Europeans dosen’t fare better, the 90s S4 is known to give up after 60K-km. Euro cars are generally more maintenence intensive than others, give high-quality oil and once in a while an engine rebuilt, and your 996 Turbo will run like a gem, dont do it and look at the cash flowing towards repair.

So far, Subaru’s have been scoring top scores for reliability and its a Turbo flat-4, Porsche is not far behind. Nissna is also doing well with the DIG-T and VR38DETT. But the Ecoboost range of cars are faring badly lately, same goes for VW’s TSI Golf (which is weird coz Audi are doing fine with reliability), Other than that is Hyundai’s Turbo 1.6 GDI’s and (old)Mini’s 1.6 Turbo in the Cooper S.

• 4G63T DSM on May 04, 2014 at 7:36 pm

They are reliable.

Just have to factor in that they have a few extra parts that can go wrong with age, mostly boost leaks and oil leaks from the turbo seals. Minor repair items.

Besides, most “unreliable japanese turbo cars” you have heard about have been rojak’ed till high heaven. And you wonder….

My 4G63T powered Eclipse ran perfectly for 212,000 MILES on the stock engine/turbo before I decided I needed more power with a new built up engine.

• ahmadjohnson97 on May 03, 2014 at 8:47 am

Actually I’m more fear the reliability of dual clutch transmission compare to turbo.

• shawal on May 02, 2014 at 6:57 pm

Road tax maybe cheap but insurance still costs a serious moolah..

Good engine, horrendous bodykit

93k for 170nm of torque… 0.1sec faster to 60pmh than d suprima s at 9.8 seconds..

Its up to the public to decide what they want..

During a new 9 year loan tenure you’ll never know when new commitments may arise..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • zamer on May 02, 2014 at 7:49 pm

agreed..that 170nm is nothing to shout about..that is just on paper..

93k for 1 litre car..ford is not being considerate..they are spoiling the market..

wait for mazda 3 ckd and you will be so much happier than this old junk trying to be new.

remember, our voice were heard when vios come out with 2 airbags and the rest improve with 4-6 airbags..voice more, they will realise how greedy they are

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Mazda3? Duh, it has no turbo. Boring.

• zamer on May 04, 2014 at 2:23 am

yeah..no turbo but a proper car indeed..

93k for a 3 cylinder engine? u think about it..and i’m sure some who buys it will think its comparable to polo gti..because it is not a cheap car.

but in reality, preve is 205nm which far more performer than this tiny car. dont talk about polo then

• 125ps ecoboost 1.0 should come with an overboost function, it boost its torque to 200nm. Google it. It was in overseas review, not sure why it’s not in this one. Probably didn’t have it for auto. (Overseas auto ecoboost fiesta has 100ps only and no overboost)

• tiadaid (Member) on May 03, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Put things in perspective la. 1L engine but has the power of a 1.6L – a Vios TRD Sportivo costs the same but has less of everything!

Even in the UK an Ecoboost Fiesta costs RM 95K when converted into RM.

• LooneyTunes on May 04, 2014 at 7:41 pm

Nothing to shout about? Just on paper? What are you on about? Are you telling me it’s different somewhere else? Can you name any car about the same price give more or less the power per liter as this car?

For 1.0l engine, 170nm is a lot. One of the engines with highest power density and also still quite efficient. There must be some reasons this engine awarded engine of the year award, not TSI or any other engines.

This “93k for a 3 cylinder engine” attitude is getting old now. It’s all about getting as much power from as little fuel as possible (Brake specific fuel consumption).

• about 10Seconds acceleration.

is it something to shout? average acceleration only.

the fun of this ecoboost engine is not on flat road. in stead, it’s begin when u climb Genting Highland for the low RPM high torque.

• Was expecting a manual transmission variant but it seems that it did not make it here…

• lonelyobserve on May 02, 2014 at 9:41 pm

If this request to be thrown at SDA, those goons will say requirement is too few, not feasible to bring it in, Powershift can have smoother gear change, blah blah excuses.

• Nevertheless, manual transmission gives you more feel and control over the car especially during spirited driving. Although it may not be able to shift gears as fast as double clutch gearbox does, the feeling of driving a stick shift cannot be replicated by clicking paddle shifters. Some things are more about feeling rather than figures or technical specs. Besides, maintenance for manual transmission gearbox is way cheaper than double clutch gearbox.

• crabstick on May 02, 2014 at 7:08 pm

at least give full spec lor.. then can consider this price.. crab.. stick..

• Albert Lee on May 02, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Why is Ford selling less than 20,000 cars annually for so many years in Malaysia Boleh land,even with Sime Darby as the anchor?
    Look at Honda,Tan Chong and UMW?Each selling 60K to 100K vehicles annually.The combined sales of these 3 outstrip Proton and matches Perodua’s volume.
    I think it is steep PRICING and POOR AVAILABILITY of spare parts that deter certain buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • KettaVreakdoWn on May 02, 2014 at 10:01 pm

maybe the marketing team isn’t very affective.. furthermore malaysian are very sensitive with what they are call RV

• b sensible on May 03, 2014 at 10:10 pm

american cars tend to have low popularity among malaysians. to build up the brand takes months or even years of promotion & awareness programme. i see no reason why american can’t be successful as the japanese or korean. i like the american to start-off through fleet sales. that’s volume sales to corporate or local gov, airport operators, car rental or even learning institutions. by fleet sales, they can get a large group of people driving the cars, thus give them the feel of the cars which they’re not going to get as they’re quite used to japanese/korean made. besides, this indirectly allow public publicity on the car, so any feedback from the public is noted to improve on future sales. by doing that, that’s will be breakthrough one day!

• Bak Kut Teh on May 06, 2014 at 3:08 pm

malaysians are very sensitive abt the RV, go buy a house la not a car.

• can anyone confirm if we are able to buy this car without the stickers and bodykits?…I just want the car, not the stupid stuffs

• Wheelbase only 2489mm.

it’s very small. Cramped interior.
    not comfortable.

• AVH (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 7:31 pm

I tried it out in Mid valley yesterday and came out…..less than impress.

Okay it has power, it has the go and it has that bragging rights ;’hey my car has an engine that can fit on an A4 paper’ that sort of thing that makes a party topic. But the interior thou futuristic, is in complete disaray, the buttons, dials and infotainment is Tiny! I may even go as far to say its the worst place to be amongst the 80-100k price range car.

At its price, I am hesistant to say it justifies its price. For a family car the Honda City V takes the cake for offering a better spec and larger room in compensation for the much lower go. For Style theres the little pug 208 offers it all and is still better spec and cheaper. The Ecoboost looses out being a drivers car for the lack of Manual transmission. The 6-speed Dual-clutch works best in highways, but thats not where ‘drivers’ takes their warm hatch too, and playing with the gears meant pressing to pethatically small buttons on the side of the lever. The Aston grill isn’t helping matters either for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • nabill (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 9:59 pm

Agree that powershift is almost terrible in traffic jam situation,the way it shifts gears specially 1-2-3 it feels like it snaps sting in da proccess…gives u a feeling that it wont last long,its fast changing in highway conditions bt low speed i hate it…impossible to b smooth n moderate throttle for smooth take off….it has alot of potential,bt manual makes sence…
      If u like those type of cats,honestly get a manual satria cps for alot less,take it to r3 for some add ons n u stil save almost 25k…n its ALOT more fun,cheap to fix…

• sudonano (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 10:39 pm

How’s the quality? the 1.5 has abysmal quality in my books. For the price, the 208 did feel like a class above.

Thing is, the Fiesta ST I sat in out of Malaysia feels really well made though. Or it could be the ST badge, 6 speed manual and 1.6 EcoBoost :P

• AVH (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 11:02 pm

Quality? its rather well put together, but still the usual hard plastic all round which you usually get in a car of this price. I didn’t sense any difference from the normal Fiesta, nor is there any notable difference from any of the usual City, Vios or Rio.

Personally, I think it is a matter of personal taste, but the ergonomics is terrible, buttons hard to differenciate, dials and that puny screen is hard to read. Is it worth RM92k…..the 208 feels more European, more premium and is where your money should go if you want a chic, small hetch (that 4-speed thou). Unless you are convice of that 1.0l Ecoboost, I’am not really digging it, I dont feel as if that little engine will make up living in that interior. But thats just me.

• lolpanda on Nov 23, 2015 at 11:23 am

the Fiesta ST get’s soft touch material on the dash board but the door panels are hard plastics as well.

still, we are talking about what is essentially a ~RM80k car (without our lovely import taxes)…if the ST was assembled in ASEAN region that would bring the price down further due to tax reliefs.

so considering it’s ‘supposed price’ when Ford built it..i’d say the build quality is quite sorted.

• Nice car, good engine but price like crazy!! No matter ecoboost or watever but only people are afordable to buy it.. For sure ford can not achieve their target sale..

• peter on May 02, 2014 at 7:46 pm

Everything is nice about this new model except the insane pricing

• Anthony, Getrag 6DCT250 uses dry clutch or wet clutch?

• bujingyun on May 02, 2014 at 8:14 pm

WOW!!why the price sooo cheap!!(sarcastic)!!

• Aero (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Imagine a conversation between a 20-something year old Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost owner and an 40-something year old uncle (Toyota Camry/ Honda Accord/ Toyota Vios/ Nissan Almera etc. owner).

Uncle : ”Eh boy/girl, your car how many CC ah ?”
    Kid : ”Err…. 1.0 only uncle, but got turbo inside !”
    Uncle : ”Hahahaha ! So your car is like Viva bajet lah ? 1.0 not powderful enough lah ! ”
    Kid : ”Come uncle, I show you !”

– Traffic light turns green and the kid totally smokes the uncle ! –

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 14
    • AVH (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 11:14 pm

NOPE! this is Malaysia, once the light goes green, there are at least 5-8 motorcycle to block any form of drag race and once the bikers finally process enough data in their poor excuse of a brain to move to the side, both cars would either encounter pothole, more traffic or some incompetent bastard overtaking another car at 1.2kph faster.

But since one is a Prideful middle-aged jerk and one is a rich-ol twat who bought the car with his parents money, judging by the fact they are so ignorent of their safety to race on the street, if the opportunity were to present itself, the Uncle would have spun out in the Vios/Almera/Camry, leaving the TRC equipped Ecoboost Fiesta ahaed, which will then experiece gearbox problem, sputtering to the side of the street.

Take this as a public safety reminder, not to streetrace.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
      • Aero (Member) on May 03, 2014 at 10:34 am

LOL chill man AVH, just a joke, of course (I’m a hit or miss with jokes to be honest). I didn’t mean to give the impression of street racing, my point was to highlight the differences in peoples’ perception towards power.

Old perception is ‘bigger engine = more power’.
        And new would be ‘efficient engine = more power’

A Camry/ Accord/ Vios/ Almera owner would most probably fit in the ‘old school’ category. Whereas those who are knowledgeable (not necessarily young people only) will appreciate the perks of a modern, light-pressure turbocharged engine.

I have never street raced in my life, and I don’t plan to. It’s not worth it. Sorry for the misunderstanding.

• array on May 03, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Light pressure turbo will give you relaxing drive. You don’t have to push pedal as hard as n/a engine to get the speed you want. Smoking others and unnecessary street racing shouldn’t come in mind. It is faster but doesn’t mean the driver has to tarpau others to prove it. Again, relaxing drive.

• Joker on May 05, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Lol bro… the obvious example would be the current F1 engine unit…
          1.6L Turbo Hybrid.. it’s absolutely faster than the 2.4 v8 of last year…
          so yeah it’s about technology not displacement..

• victor tan on May 02, 2014 at 11:22 pm

hahaha… You are right. There are still a lot of ppl including the young doesn’t believe the potential of small cc turbocharged engines.

• AVH (Member) on May 03, 2014 at 12:32 am

I dont know, back when I was playing NFS: Underground/Most Wanted, Me and others like me already know the potency of small-displacement turbocharged engine. Initial D, Wangan Midnight, Fast and Fuious, the NFS game series all promoted charged engine more than any more culture. Primary school all we had to say is ‘once I add turbo I can smoke u’.

Generally speaking, most young 90s kids should know the potency of Turbo. We are already brainwash by than car culture with Nissan Skylines GTR, Evos and RX-7 that Turbo = Faster.

• Kid switches cars with Uncle…

Lights turn green…

Kid still smokes Uncle…

Point is, uncle old mah. Give hime Ferarri, he still drive like an uncle…

• rickyll (Member) on May 03, 2014 at 7:19 am

I like the way young people think about uncle’s driving style. Being an uncle doesn’t mean that he drives slowly. An uncle myself, I do drive fast but safely depending on the situation and road conditions. One thing for sure, I never stay on the outer lane and I have never overtook from the inner lane except a really slow coach was obstructing the traffic.

• I respect old man fast style driving.

It’s safe on the road. the youngsters are just mat rempit.

• holofanboi on May 04, 2014 at 1:07 pm

High five ricky, I myself drive like an uncle and loving it. People my age are too concerned with a ‘fun’ drive forgetting about the passengers.

If you want to drive all racecar wannabe like, go spend money on the sepang track. Probably one of my best experiences in life so far.

• mmaker on May 02, 2014 at 8:23 pm

which car is the best for me? fiesta 1.0 or suzuki swift sport 1.6? Both almost same price

• KettaVreakdoWn on May 02, 2014 at 10:04 pm

both compact but this fiesta ..less fuel and cheaper roadtax..u decide

• ahmadjohnson97 on May 03, 2014 at 8:38 am

If you don’t mind the looks of swift and also don’t mind running the recommended fuel of ron 97, get swift sport. It’s faster, got all disk brakes front and rear and a manual transmission as an option. For fiesta i prefer the look on the outside of it as swift is kind of ugly. Not so sure about after sales service for suzuki though.

• Henry on May 02, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Very pricey. You still have to add insurance.

• Vw.. how r u gonna sell ur Polo Tsi Sport macam ni…

Kudos Ford for the good pricing..

• Asernal on May 02, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Its same dual dry clutch like vw dsg……all supply from same gearbox supplier. The failure rate was high on Asia market.

• lolpanda on Nov 23, 2015 at 11:28 am

actually VW’s DSG is developed by VW Group itself and Ford’s Powershift is from Getrag.

• therealmaserati on May 02, 2014 at 8:39 pm

Awful pricing for such a tiny car. This car is tinier than a Polo TSI and the Polo TSI interior quality is top notch .

Ford int quality is bullocks. All cheapo kinda plastics here n thr.

OTR around 96k for this tiny Ford is definately not worth it.

• palan on May 02, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Very expensive for such a small car…small engine…empty button on 1 side of the steering wheel just makes the car looks low spec..This is Malaysia where the masses put practicality over drivability…I bet it wont sell well…pricey…small car…bad aftersales service…what else can we expect?

• Enthu on May 02, 2014 at 8:45 pm

This car is for boy racer wannabe who thinks he is driving a sports car with that puny 1 litre engine inside.

• 4G63T DSM on May 04, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Oh how he would be disappointed.

He wont be going very fast.

Even an old Satria GTI would run rings around this.

• Bak Kut Teh on May 06, 2014 at 3:01 pm

even Merc A45 can drive as fast as a horse even just using from 2.0 litre. Period.
        buat apa CC besar2? Kalau turbocharged CC kecik bole keluarkan power output mcm N/A cc besar?

• pearjai on May 02, 2014 at 9:09 pm

At these price better go for =
    1=honda city
    2=hilux
    3=dmax
    4=triton
    5=ancient vios
    6=navara…
    3 piston turbo engine does’t make sense lor ! In 1987 daihatsu have realese 1.0 cb70/cb80 monster that internal forgetpd that can rise the boost up to 2.0 bar

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
    • Unfortunately none of the above are considered a hot hatch and some of the above has very bad fuel efficiency. Please read more about Ecoboost technology before making a fool of yourself by giving silly comments or remarks. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ecoboost

• getrag on May 02, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Buy this and get free Endless gearbox problem

• ford after sales service is as bad as vw maybe even worst

• Steve Kok on May 02, 2014 at 9:30 pm

6 Speed DCT, think twice before u buy.
    Manual would be a good option.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • lonelyobserve on May 02, 2014 at 9:45 pm

Remember, the manual transmission for Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost (outside this country) is only 5-speed.

• Steve Kok on May 02, 2014 at 11:59 pm

I have a 2010 1.6 Fiesta with 6 Speed DCT.
        Clutch changed 3 times under warranty at 15K, 25K and 52K due to fly wheel oilseal leaking.
        Fiesta is a nice little car to drive, great handling for it’s price.
        I was told by the Service Center that the DTC Clutch kit replacement will cost about RM6K after warranty is over.
        That’s why I would prefer manual for this car, even 5 speed will do ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Cloud1704 on May 02, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Remove the body kit, add in MyFordTouch and replace the dash with soft touch as in Europe spec.

• for a ford 1.0 ecoboost priced @ 94k ? is way way over price seriously.

• turbo on May 02, 2014 at 10:20 pm

turbo torque like 1.8l engine but with a drum rear brake.. think twice.

• Allen toyota subang on May 02, 2014 at 10:42 pm

Yet those barnacle, athritic inducing, braille styled central console still there…definitely got headache after riding this car… And those shaking and rattle at low speed….GYMKHANA really SUCKS…

• Sean Cheah on May 02, 2014 at 11:46 pm

FORD, SDAC make sure u settle your after sales service quality and efficiency first!!!!!! when are the spareparts that fixing my new Fiesta are ready? It is being dragging me for 2~3 months for the Silly Steering Knocking sounds…

• getrag on May 03, 2014 at 12:06 am

Be prepared to have endless gearbox problems and suffer the same fate as the existing fiesta and focus owners. Honda city better choice.

• tiadaid (Member) on May 03, 2014 at 8:27 pm

My colleague has been using a Fiesta for almost 3 years now & so far he’s free from transmission issues.

Personally I think the whole gearbox issue is exaggerated too much.

• i hate bodykit like this. sepak trus tercabut.

• bisakeris (Member) on May 03, 2014 at 12:57 am

the price is too much..

• I find it amusing to read the comments. Preve is C segment bigger car with more power and of course more fuel needed. Why it’s to be compared with B segment fiesta? Lol. I dun see preve drivers tailgating other cars crazily like vios or myvi. It has turbo and fast so what? Do we need to prove that it’s fast? It IS fast.

Segment aside 20k is quite a big sum. Can serve the fuel for years!

• KangKungMan on May 03, 2014 at 10:31 am

Aiyo! Mahal sangat .. Small car so expensive … gear box stories … 9+K consider get City 2014 or Elantra … EcoSport I think also around RM120K … Kecil Chili Padi … Mahal … Mahal… Mahal…

• Andre Kua on May 03, 2014 at 12:42 pm

What gearbox stories?

I think I read a lot about the jerkiness, but I actually did not find it that bad. In fact, I love the feeling of readiness to pounce with the transmission, and when coupled with the torque from EcoBoost, didnt find it that unacceptable.

• Its a warm hatch! its for driving enthusiast …not something as boring as a honda city which is just a family car

• Racerboy-pretending-to-be ppl like u r the ones causing so much problems on the road. Even i dont pretend to b one in my mk6 gti. Dont relate fast driving=fun, safe driving=boring. Wanna show, do it in the track, not public roads. Grow up!

• Andre Kua on May 03, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Test drove it and I think a lot of people are going to be disappointed with the price than the ride itself.

It’s a fun car to drive, with acceleration burst that you never felt from 1.5l B-segment cars. While you can still live with the compactness of the car, I doubt you can accept the price, despite the RM6K discount, for it being manufactured in 2013.

I wonder if I’m wrong to say I feel creepy when driving it fast. Yes, it launches well, which really exceed my expectation from a 3-cylinder turbocharged engine, but the braking is really a bit unsatisfactory. Perhaps SDAC really need to consider taking a margin cut and change the rear drum brakes to disc brakes. Then maybe the RM90K (After discount) may still be acceptable. Just maybe.

• LooneyTunes on May 04, 2014 at 7:45 pm

Drum brakes is a let down and I thin the braking issue probably comse from the fact this engine got only three cylinder which means less engine braking thus the brakes have to work harder.

• cheap ppl around me on May 03, 2014 at 2:22 pm

Hello…can buy..buy lah!! Cannot buy shut da f up…cheap skate

• Skycrew on May 03, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Just came back from the new fiesta roadshow. Sime darby will give cash back around 5k for the new ecoboost. They said the car already in Malaysia last year but only launch this year. No booking fee and its ready stock.

• Andre Kua on May 03, 2014 at 7:23 pm

I think I was told RM6K discount, due to it being manufactured in 2013.

• tiadaid (Member) on May 03, 2014 at 8:26 pm

I don’t get why people are saying this is expensive – even in the UK, a closely specced Fiesta Ecoboost will set you back £17,345 with VAT (RM 95K) – and you’re not getting many things offered in the Fiesta sold here (100 Pounds for a spare tyre, seriously?)

• Guevara on May 04, 2014 at 6:43 pm

While an average joe in uk earns 3000pound per month, which is equivalent about rm16.5k per month

His malaysian counterpart has only rm3000 per month.

See the difference?

• tiadaid (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 11:06 am

Actually the average UK salary is only 26000 pounds annually, which meant it’s only 2000 pounds a month.

And value wise, they see money differently -go watch Top Gear and see how they value a 500 pounds difference between cars, it’s as if it’s a big difference. Here in Malaysia, we hardly blink if the difference is RM 500.

• Boy Racer (Member) on May 03, 2014 at 9:45 pm

Almost 100k for a Fiesta? No thanks.

• tonyee on May 03, 2014 at 10:23 pm

test drive the car, nice handling and acceleration, feel sporty but too bad is rear drum brake. with all the power & torque available for a small hatchback equivalent to 1.8 , the brake is on the soft side. Is a big mistake, I doubt they upgrade it from the 1.5 spec, feels like the hp, torque & braking ratio is not well balance. no point to have as many 7 airbags if you don’t have sufficient braking force. In this case I rather have 4 airbags with rear disc brake.

• Fedagent on May 23, 2016 at 8:53 am

This is the comment which is i want.. Test drive n giv feedback.. Im really agree why rear brake is drum.. Aiyooo…

• bisakeris (Member) on May 04, 2014 at 1:54 am

$ mahal gila

• trdturbo on May 04, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Mahal ape plak Vios cikai je takde VSC, tu lagi mahal pe. Orang beli gak

• Sejak dulu aku beli kereta tak ada VSC ESP apa semua ni, elok je tak ada pun accident

• Dah accident baru nak ada VSC ESP tak guna jugak

• Bak Kut Teh on May 06, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Vios? hahaha! yg boleh terbang tu? suke tailgating others in fact they are slow car.
            http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-353BZrieplU/UA5QnuMS5hI/AAAAAAAAfTs/zxR7zXXEjXI/s1600/Vios+Terbang+2.jpg

• Mahal!!………1.0 car yg mahal, kecil….kena himpit tak kira la enjin turbo ke tak turbo ke..still kena respect if 4×4, SUV, MPV or sedan ….by the way..car prices in Malaysia is going nuts!last time said car prices based on enjin displacement or cc….but nowadays even 1.6 car can go beyond rm120k and 1.4 can exactly rm130k…..

• hahaha on May 04, 2014 at 1:08 pm

hah == rather get a ford ranger 2.2 XLT auto by topping up 9k more.. spacious cabin, tall and rigid. although airbag number only 2, it has ESP at least. i dun mean this fiesta no ESP btw ==

• tiong Yan on May 04, 2014 at 5:41 pm

I think the car is over price

• Albert lee on May 04, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Funny ,isn’t it?There will be buyers even our dear readers have voiced constant problems getting spare parts(2-3 months,is no joke,its insanity).
    Another big car crony is NAZA.Watch out.A simple air con mpv component takes 2 months to arrive.
    I think Nissan,Honda and Toyota are more reliable alto parts won’t be cheap.

• whats the price/tax structure like on this car?

• kctan on May 05, 2014 at 6:54 am

when i check out youtube , car walkaround have 5 speed manual for 1.0 ecoboost , same like thailand and usa or europe .

that is the only reason for it to consider it ,
    dual clutch expensive ,

who cares , suprima s with 6 speed manual is coming very soon ,

source in funtastico website

• Car_fan on May 05, 2014 at 11:46 am

With insurance it’s almost rm96k, I’m not sure who is going to pay that kind of money for an aging small hatchback…very few i reckon.

• Denaihati on May 05, 2014 at 11:51 am

very sporty small car. can’t compare ti vios and honda city and other, it have great performance for it segmen, also have very nice dashboard. i think if CKD price might be 10k less, better price.

• Joker on May 05, 2014 at 12:26 pm

I’m starting to think NAZA is one of the best automobile dealer here as they bring the Pug 208 GTi with 6 speed manuals with quite a reasonable price…
    SDAC don’t seems to be interested at all to bring a manual tranny… and the spec that NAZA brings is not bad at all.. the only downside for Pug 208 let’s say da normal 1.6 is the 4 speeder… IMHO 208 is better than Fiesta…

• buyered on May 05, 2014 at 6:53 pm

hmm,, i think tomorrow i’ll book Jazz hybrid,.. proton no-no

• Proton on May 06, 2014 at 1:27 am

Proton Suprima S > Ford Fiesta

Tell me one thing ford fiesta win against Proton Suprima S

Because i do not see any

• Bak Kut Teh on May 06, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Ford has won two-time International Engine of The Year winner (in 2012 and then again last year, 2013) , Proton has won what?
      Fuel consumption ford is better than any other proton cars inlcuding Plotong Suprima Ass.

• Bataman on May 12, 2014 at 10:14 am

Actually there’s two areas:
      1) FC – its a given.
      2) Design. Fiesta looks better.

Everything else Suprima wins.
      This a given too.

• matthew on Jun 07, 2014 at 10:27 am

1. driving dynamics (proton’s claims of lotus ride and handling are more of a gimmick than anything else..they really don’t drive that well at all unless you’re comparing to a myvi)
      2. design (have you seen the interior of a proton car? it’s fugly as heck, no imagination or design cues at all)
      3. technology
      4. refinement (proton has literally none of this)
      5. reliability (the transmission problems are a thing of a past..like when the very first batch came out)

the list is endless…don’t know why some people are so defensive of proton when it’s a crappy car no doubt. i will admit Preve and Suprima are a major milestone for Proton but on the global front, it’s still miles and miles behind.

call a spade a spade, the Preve/Suprima are good Proton cars. but are nowhere near comparable on a global front

• hooooooo on May 06, 2014 at 1:31 am

Haizz all tok kok
    No money than dont buy go to get stupid proton saga sv

Dunno anything pls shut up …

• So pity with a few malaysian perspective which really really bother n concerned about “my car can tapau, my car can asap this car etc” please be grown up
    Let’s talk about safety,comfortable, realiable etc.

• damn la why so pricey one ._.

• damn la why so expensive one ._.

• Redder on May 07, 2014 at 1:11 am

Gomen purposely make big gap so that you stick to crap proton forever…

• CashCars on May 07, 2014 at 2:38 am

Just a great read dude.

• Bataman on May 12, 2014 at 10:02 am

Unbelievable. RM100K for Kancil. I don’t care what it smoke. Of course it can smoke…small car with turbo charger vs bigger car.

Who cares.

RM100K, i can buy so many other bigger cars.
    And it still use the same problematic DSG gears? No thanks.

• Bernard on May 12, 2014 at 1:15 pm

Why so expensive??

Only the rich can afford this car in Malaysia!!!

• INEEDALOWFCCAR on May 15, 2014 at 9:12 am

Nowdays FC is the main player on the automotive field.

indeed 1.0L ford fiesta ecoboost is the best choice. but how about the monthly commmitment. lol. cant afford that.
    still, VIVA Elite is my final choice lol.

• INEEDALOWFCCAR on May 15, 2014 at 9:14 am

currently i own a preve cfe.
    but indeed no more proton for me.
    i will stick to viva elite or the new perodua viva replacement later.

FC is high. cant afford monthly commitment. plese malaysia why so cruel.

• M/T Enthusiastic on May 20, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Even a 1.5 Myvi manual can achieve a century sprint in just under 10 seconds..

For a 100k price tag, u can get a 1.6 Suzuki Swift Sport with 134hp powertrain mated to a 6-speed manual gearbox..

This ‘beast’ will smoke those neords/preverts/suprimans that is out there..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • fiesta208 on May 25, 2014 at 12:06 am

why ford malaysia still have 2013 stock today ??????
    any problem cause no one to buy fiesta 1.0T ???

• uslhwzero on May 25, 2014 at 7:29 pm

malaysian dont buy ford because of needs , 1) Spacious: car in the segment have more spacious like C,V,almer. 2) Price: the major problem because of family matter, many malaysian hv to decide and ask themself, why i need a SMALL CAR? i hv 3 children and wife.. why? and price is same like Vioz! huh!
    3) 2nd car: usually malaysian who just start career willbuy myvi or blm.. but after a few years, they got married and try to find another more better car, is it worth it they buy fiesta? of course the answer is “NO”. because sgt kecik! even interior myvi is more spacious.

“THAT WHY MOST OF MALAYSIAN dont buy this beautiful fiesta 1.6/1.5/1.o0 ecooboost!!”

but for me, as fiesta owner, i already choose fiesta because of small(easy to manuver), sharp handling(compare to others), design(interior & exterior),full of technologies(voice control really help me), sound (same like other, im a music lover), feeling of drive(140km-150km feeling same as drive myvi on 110-130km speed, i owned myvi too)

• uslhwzero on May 25, 2014 at 7:38 pm

i swear, if malaysian can afford & wanna have small car(for daily urban ride) & mpv(for family ride) with the budget under rm2000/mth, of couse the best small car is fiesta & mpv is grand livina or etc