SPYSHOTS: Nissan Teana (L33) at Kota Damansara

nissan-teana-j33-msia-spotted-3

Our fourth set of local spyshots of the yet-to-be-launched L33 Nissan Teana comes from reader Wan Rafiuddin, who spotted the sleek D-segment sedan in Kota Damansara, casually parked in the open.

Like the covered car sighted in Melaka a full year ago, this one’s wearing 215/55 R17 alloys. The cars we saw in Rawang and near Sungai Choh both had 215/60 R16 five-twin spoke alloys. Looks like there’ll be two variants for us.

Tan Chong has confirmed five new Nissan models for this year, and the Teana is set to be one of them. You should be able to choose between a 136 hp/190 Nm 2.0 litre MR20DE and a 173 hp/234 Nm 2.5 litre QR25DE – both four-cylinder engines are mated to a CVT. Yup, no more V6.

While we await its launch with bated breath, see the Thai-market car, and read our brief driving impressions of the Teana 2.5 from the Nissan 360 event in California.

Nissan Teana (J33) at the 2014 Bangkok Motor Show

Nissan Teana (J33) sighted around Malaysia

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Jules on May 02, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Nissan’s looks getting better…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 2
    • Not the price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • Hyundai De.La Junk on May 02, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Wall better than Junk Sonata & K5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 39
    • better than Honda Accord.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 36
    • david lim on May 03, 2014 at 11:06 pm

Honestly, once you sit inside a Teana (any Teana) and drive , you wont want to drive an Accord or Camry anymore. The feeling is so much better than other Japanese cars. Its feels European even.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
    • Hmm Looks like Japanese car is better looking than the new korean car now… new optima and sonata are looks terrible!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • fast5 on May 02, 2014 at 3:57 pm

Faster launch it !!!
    This can really kill UMW camry X

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 3
    • its already dead even before its launch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 26
      • Nissan Lover on May 02, 2014 at 5:29 pm

If 6 airbags and VSA is standard across the range and price properly by Tan Chong,yes the Camry will dead,even Honda Accord sales will effected.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
  • nice look!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • Acura on May 02, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Proton Accordana is better lah. Even Obama also thought it’s our own developed original car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 38
  • lembap on May 02, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Still sloooowwwwwwww, Honda already sell their latest Accord since last year and Toyota already sell their latest Camry 2 years ago.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
    • Raymond on May 05, 2014 at 10:34 am

The new Teana was seen in Malaysia since last year… Maybe the compatibility of the car in Malaysia conditions was tested first?

I don’t know, but it’s nice to see how TC have been moving around with this car for a year long before they finally decide to sell it here…

• Jonny Tan on May 02, 2014 at 4:02 pm

OMG! my V6? anyway i still love my Teana V6!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Xerox on May 02, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Looking really sleek, aggressive front grill, neat interior. Price it right, you’ll burn a hole in UMW’s pocket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • sincerely hope vdc with tc, 6 airbags are equipped all across the range…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Nissan Lover on May 02, 2014 at 5:33 pm

New Sylphy already have VSA and 6 airbags,so lets hope that Tan Chong will do so at this new Teana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • nice design…the nicest one so far. for those who had booked for a camry better cancel it now. obviously this teana will better equipped and have better design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • sudonano (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Hopes are now high for this model, especially after the Sylphy. This i’d say is something we should look forward too, better that whatever junk UMW is selling with their XYZ Camry.

Looks pretty good looking too, compared to the current Teana. If Nissan wants to blow the competition out of the ager, throw in the Safety Shield which has Lane Departure Warning, BLIS, and Around View too…

• I seriously hope TC price it right with the right equipment inside – both safety and entertainment.

• A locally assembled car – to be, priced this much?
    I think I have much better choices out there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • simon on May 02, 2014 at 5:33 pm

3 spec la.

2.0 basic, 2.0 luxury and 2.5.

all have 6 airbag,vsc. same as sylphy.

2.0 luxury and 2.5 got more goodies la.

2.5 got SUNROOF!

price my friend mention lebih kurang sikit la.

• Albert Lee on May 02, 2014 at 6:52 pm

The front looks like the Sylphy.Is this Sylphy Senior?
    Anyway,Teana buyers beware,the issue of RESALE VALUE.If the car is stolen or totally wrecked by the 3rd year,the insurance payout will not be sufficient to cover the outstanding loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
    • now the Sylphy looks like a Cheap Teana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
    • If one is concerned about resale value, the he or she shd buy a very old car, or better still use public transport. One shd buy a car for the comfort, driving experience n safety it provides within ones budget.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
      • Albert lee on May 03, 2014 at 8:35 pm

AJ,you don’t get the point.If nothing happens,fine.You pay 84 or 108 instalments.THe fact is when something terrible happens,THE POOR BUYER has to face facts.The insurance payout is not sufficient.The poor buyer still hutang the bank.This is a fact the buyer must face.If he is not ready to face it,then,like you say,buy an old junk.
        Better resale values always have its advantages.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
    • Contender on May 03, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Albert Lee, you may have a point there in terms of resale value, so what are you trying to say here ? Passat or Golf TSI is also in the same situation if taking 7-9 years loan. Saw on oto.com 2012 Passat asking RM115,000

You see, car loan max tenure should be 5 years – problem is people buy with 7 – 9 years loan. If one cannot pay within 5 years means you cannot really afford it, period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • 4G63T DSM on May 04, 2014 at 7:50 pm

ehm…

Doesn’t that apply to ALL cars if you take a 7-9 year loan?? :p

5 years max, if you are prudent.

• Accord on May 02, 2014 at 7:38 pm

I think Honda Accord can smoke this on drivetrain, specs and design (interior & exterior), not to mentioned RV too!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 27
    • Tham S on May 03, 2014 at 11:09 pm

Accord is crap, mad even crappier now that your car is officially a Proton Perdana after 4 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Accord on May 04, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Have you read the news correctly? Proton will spend this 4 years to launch a brand new Perdana (exterior and interior) but will based on the old Accord chassis. There is nothing to do with the new gen Accord and it will not even look like to old gen.

• Alitstar on May 02, 2014 at 7:47 pm

THANK GOD they finally decided to change the ugly headlamps and follow the crowed.

• fortezen on May 02, 2014 at 9:55 pm

rumuored that this model will be available for booking on christmas day year 2017, can be getting the car before cny 2018 i think

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
    • adrian low on May 03, 2014 at 11:17 am

Wow!! Where u got ur news? Star trek network? Why dont you n I sit down n talk about this when they launch it later tjis year? Wat an idiot to talk about things you dont know. You’d be better off driving your forte. Japanese n conti brands deserve better drivers than you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Citizen Kan on May 05, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Actually on Christmas day 2017, your mother will be available, not this car!

• guan eng jr. on May 02, 2014 at 11:34 pm

Beautiful..beautiful, like it inside and outside. Mix of jap and european style.

• most probably start to book this June .
    interior design looks outdated .
    exterior is slyphy bro.
    RV always poor compare with accord and camry .
    Still much better than Korean and French brand.
    Skip this personaly.
    Decided accord 2.4
    Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • How can you possibly consider a car which would eventually become a Perdana and lose its second hand value by half?

• No more v6.. No fun..

• chrisyee on May 04, 2014 at 12:40 pm

wow wow wow…no more nissan teana for me pls ! I’ve enough trouble with my current 2.5 v6 . Almost 3 years now, ETCM can never solved the problem that my teana is having….engine knocking, noisy brakes, rear suspension noise when cornering, smelly air con, strange noise during pick up, rear power window winding down by itself even without pressing any button, 7″ lcd screen still on even when you turn off the engine….I AM NOT ANY SALES PERSONNEL FROM ANY CAR COMPANY, I AM A GENUINE TEANA OWNER IN EAST MALAYSIA !!! If ETCM dont improve their after sales service, they will lost many potential customers, at least i am one of them !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
  • Teana Club Member on May 04, 2014 at 4:12 pm

Honestly, your problem is one of a kind. Never heard any Teana driver complaining about the problem you mentioned. I’ve heard of rear suspension noise in Camry’s and engine knocking in Accord’s, but seriously I think you are one of the unlucky ones to accidentally get a reject car from the assembly plant. There is no other explanation for your problem, even the air cond unit for all Teana’s have air microbial filter and air purifier as standard that is from Nissan Japan and it has a warranty. As a result, Teana’s have the best air quality and smell among D segment cars in Malaysia.

Sincerely, Ive never heard of a problem like this before in any Teana in Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Allen toyota subang on May 04, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Only uncle on VIAGRA uses teana… Sedated, slow moving… Almost in dream like state….definitely NISSAN… No LENGLUI WILL RIDE THIS OR THAT…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
    • 4G63T DSM on May 04, 2014 at 7:53 pm

LOL. I thought that applies solely to the Camry.

I know girls that have been plenty impressed by the OLD Altima this was to replace.

• so, u think lenglui will ride on ur uncle look camry arr, stupid

• So Allen, you are on Viagra also la, since u drive Uncle Camry.

• Allen Toyota Subang Mother on May 04, 2014 at 8:25 pm

No woman ever want to be seen in a Toyota. Its like funeral car. Its a car you buy if you want to die. Whether Camry, Alphard, any Toyota is the same. 2 airbags and a death sentence for you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Allen Toyota SubangDickHead on May 06, 2014 at 4:27 pm

I know you are driving Myvi, work hard ah boy so you can earn a better car. Dont talk coxk sing song here.

• Even now, Teana outsells Camry two to one. Even women driving Teana. What happened to Camry? Died already hor?

• totti on May 05, 2014 at 10:19 am

This new Teana look better than the existing one.
    But again, If they price it like accord or camry, they will be digging their own grave yard for this new Teana despite having more safety feature like 6 airbag.

Sylphy is a failure in the making when they price it on par with Civic and Altis. You can expect rm 15K discount after 4 months. The latio 1.8 is not selling well despite pricing it below RM 95K. If you look at the resale value of sylphy (2011) below RM 60K as compared to Civic& altis (2011)RM 85K. You should know which one to buy.

Nissan always below the 2 japanese giant in Malaysia. The reason why 2012 Almera can captured the 1.5 market is because the price is lower by 10% with new model as compared to previous old city & vios .

Nissan , don’t make another mistake for your teana in pricing. To sell well, you must lower than the accord plus more safety feature.

Your 2 years old (2012) 2.5 Teana 2nd hand trade trade-in value is below RM 90K and 2.0 is RM 70K.

Pricing will decide your new Teana Sale.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
  • No Toyota Salesmen Please on May 05, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Hello Totti,,
    First of all almost everything you said in the first, second, third and fourth paragraph is nonsense, only something that YOU believe in, not the market.

Next, resale value – A 2 year old Nissan Teana 2.0 XE Luxury’s second hand values is about RM124K, while a 2.5XV’s value is about RM140K. This is the standard market value as well as the price you can get from second hand dealers when you plan to sell your car, this month.

So enough bullshit okay? Thank you.

• totti on May 05, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Hello. No Toyota,

Are you blind? or can not read?

Please go and check at the mudah.com before give your comment rather than said blindly non in the market.

Most of the dealer asking price (before discount) for 2.5 teana at RM 104K and 2.0 at RM 85K respectively. So what is the margin they are looking at? Any Car dealer without 15% profit margin will ask you to fly kite.

Nissan resale value is suck especially where the old existing model giving RM 15K discount for the old “Kura=Kura” sylphy and Teana.

Only stupid guy will get a new nissan Teana if their price is on par with the Accord or camry.

Let see the new sylphy sale as compared to the Civic & Altis before justify your non in the market.

Anyway, I owned Nissan car for the last 9 years till now and never buy a new nissan before unless you are able to take the depreciation cost like the conti car.

The new nissan car is famous for giving discount and make your second hand value drop like hell.

If you are mute and blind then I advice you to ask someone help to know the market price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • No Toyota Salesmen Please on May 05, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Excuse me, mr stupid totti, I own a Teana and have asked used car dealers about my cars value, because i plan to upgrade to the new Teana. I have asked more than 5 second hand dealers. So if you still believe your mudah.com – go ahead and show your stupidity to the world.

Smart Alec!

• the only thing you can come up with is resale value?? which car value doesn’t depreciate? . if you want to rate a car based on it’s RV… then .. god bless you . lol.

• totti on May 06, 2014 at 9:05 am

Excuse me, mr stupid totti, I own a Teana and have asked used car dealers about my cars value, because i plan to upgrade to the new Teana. I have asked more than 5 second hand dealers. So if you still believe your mudah.com – go ahead and show your stupidity to the world.
    Smart Alec!

————————

No toyota,

I take your challenge and tell me which dealer accepting your 2 years old 2.5 teana at RM 140K and 2.0 Teana at RM124K.

My relative (work for car dealer) has many trade-in teana in hand now and can sell it to your dealer and give you a 5% recommendation fee.

Can I have your dealer contact number or email to me? take my challenge if you dare instead of talking cork?

• totti on May 06, 2014 at 9:19 am

the only thing you can come up with is resale value?? which car value doesn’t depreciate? . if you want to rate a car based on it’s RV… then .. god bless you . lol.
    —————————-

Why so sensitive if someone talk about poor resale value as compared to H & T? Sylphy Vs Civic Vs Altis.

Is it a fact or fault? If this is a fact then accept it and move on to buy the poor resale value car.