All new taxis to be brown Proton Exora from Nov 1

DSC_0136b

All budget and executive taxi operators with permits expiring October 31 this year must change their cars to a brown Proton Exora, according to a report by The Star.

The move, part of a taxi migration scheme by the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD), will see 2,604 drivers in Malaysia using the brown Exora by the end of the year, and is expected to affect over 42,000 taxi drivers across Peninsular Malaysia.

However, those with permits expiring between May 1 and October 31 would be allowed to carry on with whatever car they had until November, The Star quoted SPAD chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar as saying.

“As of May 1, those who have to change are given six months to migrate to the new taxi… we’ll give an extension. We hope they will (change their taxis),” he said.

DSC_0134b

The Proton Exora Teksi 1Malaysia was launched in April 2013. The price of the taxi was revealed at the time to be in the region of RM64,000, before a RM5,000 government grant disbursed by the 1Malaysia Development Board.

The Star reports that as of mid-April, there were 539 drivers of the brown Exora taxi. Given that taxi permits last 10 years, the last taxi that isn’t an Exora is expected to disappear from the roads by end-2024.

Drivers, particularly in the Klang Valley, have been known to use nearly a dozen taxi colours and half as many car models, which SPAD said was confusing to passengers.

Syed Hamid told the English-language daily that in five years, nearly half of all those driving a budget or executive taxi today would change their cars to the brown Exora.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• salambangi on May 02, 2014 at 10:14 am

A good move. Very spacious and probably quite a distinct character. Hopefully will be like London taxi or the NY cab. The colour is a little dull though and the decal is meaningless. Please get rid of it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 63
    • travis on May 02, 2014 at 11:12 am

Why forcing cabbies to buy Exora? What, no other better cheaper MPV kah?

Mana tau Nissan NV200 far cheaper price for use as taxi??

Proton now is private firm just like other carmakers. New York council will force their cabbies to buy Ford Transit as new taxi but nope, they choose Nissan NV200 in open competitive taxi proposals.

Wonder how is Tan Sri Syed’s Suprima S going now? So far no problem kah?? Jangan marah tanya saja. :-)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 78
      • NV200 is better? Try 120km/h on highway Exora ride quality is far better than Nissan’s even big sampan ride Estima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 54
        • SafetyFirstMalaysian on May 02, 2014 at 4:15 pm

120km is over the speed limit

(Drive safely, not only for yourself, for peoples father/mother/son/daugher/father-tobe/mother-tobe/your relatives/in-laws/ in-laws to be/….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 18
          • FarizY (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 4:45 pm

I do agree, but when it comes to safety, speed is not the only factor.

Malaysians aren’t fast drivers, just, unfortunately reckless and seems to have absolutely no common sense.

Those who drive fast, loves to brake late and tailgate.
            Those who drive extremely slow, when overtaking, does not know how to use rear view mirrors, turn signal and seem to take their sweet time to overtake despite miles of traffic piling up.behind.
            On two lanes roads, simply overtake despite blind corner approaching, etc, etc.

As a comparison, Germany has no speed limit on most parts of their highway yet they ara a lot safer.
            Satistically, in Germany, 4 deaths per 100k citizens as a result of traffic collision…now, Malaysia, 25 deaths per 100k citizens with a lot less cars on the road.

Must be the driving school over there and how they enforce their laws and road quality etc.
            Here, if I remember correctly, 8 hours sudah lulus, there, it takes much longer and most certainly much more strict and cost a lot more money, why not, if it saves lives.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
          • No need to speed up to 120km/h, 90km/h also those sampan fails, no, I don’t mean Exora. Go figure

• LOL…have u driven a Exora before?
          I bet you dont, because it is suck! You can even hear the Wind Noise from your side mirror while traveling in high speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 42
        • pingTheLier on May 02, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Lire Ping, have u driven estima or Alpharetta before? Obviously no. So jangan cakap bodoh macam Sam Loo budak kecil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 12
          • It rides like sampan, to the left, to the right on highway, in other words this is big sampan moving on road while exora never feels like that. Exora is much cheaper but its ride quality is expensive and luxurious like in contis.

Oh don’t compare the cabin size, all people know Estima and Alphratte are bigger.

If you dun believe, please try it all. LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
        • ah zhou on May 02, 2014 at 7:16 pm

But exora under power leh= =

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
        • Ping Jio on May 02, 2014 at 11:47 pm

Ping. R u talking??? Exora quality ride?? High speed?? Think u r comparing to those 20 yrs vans!!!

• Aiya Japs car is never known for its quality ride. I think you never been in those cars before. Pity you.

• Wow…that is awesome, do they equip the third row seat? if yes then it can fir 6 passengers now, and the fares can be divided by 6 which are cheap.

• dude, new york council also approves ford transit connect as the new nyc taxi alongside nissan nv200, and as for your information, ford’s proposal during the open proposal for new nyc taxi were from the older generation, not the latest generation.
        P.S: the americans doesn’t like the new nv200 taxi as it is ugly

• annoy_namous on May 05, 2014 at 12:29 pm

See, even new york council support their own brand such as ford coz they want to help their local brand. Us??? Let me think first…. P.S : Kero, i agree with u, nv200 is ugly as taxi, coz why? it mean to be a van , not taxi.

• dude, new york council also approves ford transit connect alongside the nissan nv200 taxi

http://www.autoblog.com/2011/07/21/ford-transit-connect-taxi-approved-for-nyc-cab-duty/

P.S: americans doesn’t like the nv200 as it is ugly

• what is so wrong with Exora?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
        • IniSalahItuSalah on May 02, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Exora taxi = proton sales = proton live = gov protect = high tax = expensive toyota = cannot buy Toyota even J vios

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 6
      • Syed Hamid Albar Tan Sri on May 02, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Xdak problem

• Thong Aik on May 16, 2014 at 10:50 am

Nissan NV2000????… haahhahaaaa… wahlau uncomparable, that’s the van for pasar malam seller, if u want bring sayur, durian, yong tau foo, steamboat to sell in pasar malam, Nissan NV2000 is a good choice

• Vader on May 02, 2014 at 11:57 am

So this is an example that direct support from the Malaysian to potong. Don’t blame again people not support potong!!!
      Do your part to improve the car quality and design is a right way.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 10
      • darth on May 02, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Most taxi drivers i met all talk thrash about BN all the way from airport to hotel

Now if they forced to buy Proton a product from BN, oh hell how mad crazy they gonna be!!!

Feel pity for them, bash BN but drive Proton everyday! HEHEHEHE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 40
        • KettaVreakdoWn on May 02, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Most cab driver i met are “Lalang”..not all. they talk bad about BN/UMNO with opposite supporter and react differently with BN/UMNO supporter

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 1
        • hopefully they are not headbanging while “thrashing”

• fast5 on May 02, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Now mostly taxis driver start to find new jobs…
        Force taxis driver to use protong… Y G ppl never use protong own produce “oops I didn’t mean accordana(still a honda produce)”
        Totally rap…. by G (Malaysia automotive cultures???) to protect protong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • Same Loor on May 02, 2014 at 12:50 pm

See, smart move from Proton!

The people don’t buy our car, never mind! We force the taxi drivers to buy. When the taxi drivers end up suffering endless sudden repair due to Proton awesome J class build quality, we keep earning money.

For Proton to be rich, everyone must die poor!

And Proton fanboys… forget about them! They always shout here shout there about smoke others, CPS engine, VSC, airbags bla bla bla… They could only buy their next Proton 15 years from now (2029).

Why? They spend the rest of money in garage for the J class. The money they spent could buy another Proton. And due to the awesome Proton’s RV, they really can’t buy anything other than Proton for their next car.

However, it doesn’t matter, as long as Proton earn money.

Proton earn money, the cronies keep changing the latest Bentley.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 32
      • wish to see u changing new bentley once proton gone for good, toyota sales sky high especially vios awesome J class

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
        • KettaVreakdoWn on May 02, 2014 at 4:13 pm

same loor isn’t gonna drive toyota ? why ? airbag aren’t enough? anyway Bentley suit u better than cronies

• Same Loor on May 02, 2014 at 4:38 pm

We all can drive Bentley if Proton gone for good!

I can buy you one also if you have spent too much repairing your Proton.

Yes, Toyota sales sky high, but not J class. J class won’t become world biggest car maker. See Proton the perfect example, not even can sell to Thailand/Singapore. This is the true meaning of J = JUNK!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
          • KettaVreakdoWn on May 02, 2014 at 5:21 pm

1 bentley for each rakyat..thats the scenario when proton gone and for me i will get ONE Bentley free from same loor..thank you.., no need for Toyota now 1RAKYAT 1BENTLEY and for same loor, he’ll have more Bentley since sales sky high except in Malaysia

• J = JUNK .. wonder what is the “J” spec vios meaning.. I can think of 1 word only.. “JAHA6” ,pardon my short of knowledge maybe u can enlighten me..maybe the J derived from japan word..

• bisakeris (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 2:23 pm

no more Teksi, now Teks1m!! hahaha LOL!

• Clear Stock! Clear Stock! Poor Sales Poor Sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Wow…that is awesome, do they equip the third row seat? if yes then it can fir 6 passengers now, and the fares can be divided by 6 which are cheap.

• Black Dog on May 05, 2014 at 1:34 pm

It’s a good move to have MPV as taxis (Exora or other models is a different matter).

But I’m sceptical will there be another change again in a few years before all the taxi permits expire (in 10 years)?

• Roger Tan on May 02, 2014 at 10:16 am

I see their intent there. But I’m sure screams if conspiracy will be abound…

The reason for colorful taxis were mooted by our gomen last time wasn’t it? So that people can distinguish the companies and choose to take the ‘better’ ones. Sort of to empower the people against unscrupulous ones. That didn’t work to well since all were poor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • kangkong on May 02, 2014 at 12:57 pm

This group of people in the government always eat their own shit but telling rakyat that is other people’s shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • SAUTEDkangkong on May 02, 2014 at 7:08 pm

what is the shit meaning of ur shit “that is other people shit”

• Cost+ on May 02, 2014 at 10:37 am

RM65k is a very significant increase in capital cost & loan repayment amount from the current RM30k Saga. So we can expect Exora taxi to be more expensive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • besi buruk on May 02, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Lots of Exora unsold stocks at yard. Proton must clear it up. Thanks to cab drivers for your kind (or forced) support. Ha, ha.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Since Proton can’t boost up the sales, this is the desperate method/tactics for the Proton & cronies to clear their stocks & sales.
    Seems that taxis driver have to “SUCK IT UP” at this point.
    What a sorry life for our taxi driver, that they have to be Proton slave for their whole life.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 14
  • Not gonna happen. Taxi operators and drivers will stage protest say no money to buy the exoras, want govt to sponsor/subsidise

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • Enough protection Dr M? Why no open tender to all suppliers to see who give best value then only set standard?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 10
  • squall_shinoda on May 02, 2014 at 10:53 am

A good move. Previously, passengers cannot bring big items or a lot of items thanks to the space-robbing NGV tanks. By making those Exoras as five-seaters, people can bring along more items. However, the color should be set to the familiar red-and-white with attractive decals. But one bad thing is that most taxi drivers in KL are among the lower-income group so we cannot expect this move to work well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • Proton CRD supervisor just brief their staff on how to comment in this blog using the words “A good move …”.

Discusslah among yourself on how to post unique message so that secret don’t pecah. Discuss also lazy .. no wonder proton at this stage.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 19
      • Typical proton basher, everything regarding Proton is bad. It only shows yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
        • Then tell us what is good about Proton. Probably your pathetic sales will increase after that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
          • KettaVreakdoWn on May 02, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Since u’re the detective why don’t u write/summarize the bad about proton..all of them not leaving any, it’ll be an easy job since proton do not have such good.. really need the report and statistics

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • See …you don’t even bother to find out what’s the problem with your company instead blaming the public for not buying your product.

Btw, why did the uncle creating a big havoc in Mutiara branch ha?

• KettaVreakdoWn on May 03, 2014 at 12:51 pm

I do not work with proton or any car company la.. Mr detective.., I’ve no idea how proton management.. since u’re the investigator and familiar how proton works..so please enlighten us with ur report and statistic so we wont be fooled by proton/cronies or gov

• lambo on May 03, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Only one uncle? Toyota is much worse with massive recalls all over the world! Where got quality?

• Toyota la, bmw la. By mentioning the names here wont make u on par with them. Just close this parasite. Ada hati mintak 3 bil from gov.

• 0%tax on May 04, 2014 at 8:43 am

The biggest parasite will be the one who asking for tax reduction ..wanted to own an import car..but cant afford the tax.. juz own ur vios J ..its on par with beemerz..since u mention their name on the same par..

• KettaVreakdoWn on May 02, 2014 at 2:50 pm

not only salesmen here.. now we got a detective surfing here.. will wait for the pie chart of every salesmen from every car maker browsing in paultan.org in the near future

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
        • You will be the first salesman here.

• KettaVreakdoWn on May 03, 2014 at 6:21 pm

Now detective ioma..u got this 1 nkb dude u hv to investigate.. either he is pure proton basher or car salesman..? U guess .. he doesn’t use the “good move” statement or not yet

• bisakeris (Member) on May 03, 2014 at 8:59 pm

>ya la amoi @ ioma, really a good move by proton hahahehe..

• ajo haterzs on May 03, 2014 at 1:32 am

wait a minute… no 3rd seat row? are you sure customer can put big luggage there? where to put the NGV tanks? BIG QUESTION : Can our taxi driver survive daily driving without the usage of NGV? Can SPAD guarantee the consumer that there will no price hike in taxi fare? (of course when all the taxi use petrol)

• heybadigol on May 02, 2014 at 10:56 am

Its about time. With all the different colours, someone new to KL (or a tourist) can’t differentiate between a legit taxi & teksi sapu. The current “old gen” Saga has tight boot space with the gas tank there. So going to/from airports can be quite problematic for those with large luggage.

Got a ride in one of the Exora taxis recently. Its so much more comfortable than the Saga, and with more boot space. Tyre roar was quite noisy though, but still better than Saga. This is good move for customers, though one can sense that current Saga taxi owners may not be too happy about being forced to buy new Exoras. Proton should be happy too with the extra sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • randomdude on May 02, 2014 at 10:58 am

Wow,
    Nice move proton. Forcing taxi companies to buy exoras to improve your poor sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 8
  • Sunny on May 02, 2014 at 10:58 am

A move to save Proton again. Haih…
    At least better then a freaking Saga tho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • taxis should run on NGV to save cost..and campro engine is not meant for NGV..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • Cab driver on May 02, 2014 at 11:00 am

Ingat senang ka nk buat loan beli teksi baru..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Low Budget on May 02, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Kalau untuk membeli Proton untuk Taxi, mungkin senang siket.

• Cab Driver on May 03, 2014 at 5:05 am

Loan utk beli teksi proton pun x senang mana… Saya baru je beli persona teksi utk ayah saya tp loan nama ayah saya sebab permit nama ayah…Macam2 bank mintak.. Ramai jugak driver teksi x lepas loan terpaksa ambik dgn syarikat credit…

• AVH (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 11:04 am

Not that I’am against it, but To put it in a positive away, I’am predicting this will result in ,in year’s end, proton releasing a nicely written statement about how this year they manage to increase their car sales. So if the public won’t support their car, well, there are other means to keeping the company alive, by law if necessary. Than again, there is not much car that can fit the taxi replacement candidate.

The other thing is a matter of my personal taste. Why brown? The first thing that come to mind when someone says taxi is a red colored iswara, so honestly, who downplayed the decision of taxis remaining red. The red iswara taxi is an icon to KL streets like London’s black cab and new Yorks yellow checkered Crown Victoria is to theirs. The Exora is personally makes a good taxi, I’ve say in one, spacious and rather comfortable with a well insulated cabin. Downside was the increase fuel consumption over the old iswara or so I’am told.

• youngmen on May 02, 2014 at 11:05 am

You should colour it in Gold, just like Youngman did for Gen-2/Persona to distinguish from all other taxi’s & cars. Day or night… or even 1km away you can notice a Taxi… no confusing to the passenger.

• HaIrI on May 02, 2014 at 11:08 am

Why don’t they stick to bright color, I’m find it difficult for passenger to detect incoming taxi with this color scheme. Should be in Red, Yellow, or Orange as long as bright color. But it just me, anyhow good move to standardize the taxi type.

• david on May 02, 2014 at 11:13 am

fully agree!
    the existing taxi can hardly fit a single samsonite bag with the gas tank.

• tendo on May 02, 2014 at 11:17 am

Its a nice way to move out old exora stocks especially those intended to be sold in foreign land. What ive heard that they will only allow cars that age less than 7 years to be operated as taxi in near future. (forever in debt). The taxi company are now force to buy protons and using BSN as its bank.

• bootupjoe on May 02, 2014 at 11:21 am

This brainless SPAD people, like people said..”Got hair who want to be bold” ,you think driving a taxi earn a lot money daily ,on the other hand just finish instalment now start again.

• kangkong on May 02, 2014 at 1:00 pm

When the corrupted government put too much $ into their own pocket. They have to find ways to cover holes, this is the way. And many more excitement will come soon. Hidup 1 Malaysia!

• pearjai on May 02, 2014 at 11:27 am

In these land we have king ap and also king taxi permit….etc iswara/month rm210.00….i wish our gov reward me 1000 permit only so i could rm210,0000/month ! So i can park my ferrari side by side with our son of minister club ! Wish my luck k !
    Kengkadang kesian kat pemilik teksi nih….dah bawa teksi bertahun2 tapi masih “terpaksa” sewa permit…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Low Budget on May 02, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Your wish is only a dream that will not come true.

• BoTaK on May 03, 2014 at 8:41 am

Permit teksi sendiri? Kalu ada geng dgn spesis2 kroni… mungkin laaa boleh dapat. Kalu individu biasa… jangan harap laaa. Tokey permit nak makan apa? Nak bagi geng kroni apa kalu permit individu. Most taxi driver are anti BN

• Aku pengguna exora ..mmg terbaik la exora nie .. selesa …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 25
  • good move,,, but why such color?? i think taxis should have bright color where public easily to spot them..

• Good move, next please enforce all new government ambulance to take Exora as well!

• bomoh kelapa on May 02, 2014 at 1:06 pm

Not suitable. If halfway turbo rosak or power window kaput, how? Time is precious!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • ajo haterzs on May 03, 2014 at 1:36 am

ya lorrr not suitable for ambulance, but for kereta mayat is suitable. turbo kaput still can drive slowly to cemetary

• Anthony on May 02, 2014 at 11:43 am

Currently, Exora Bold Manual with sportsrim, DVD, airbag, ABS, which is a better spec than the taxi is price at RM67k+ and with RM5k deduction, only RM62K+. Why taxis more expensive at RM64k+?

• mel8488 on May 02, 2014 at 11:43 am

i think the colour is too dull… need to change to a very striking colour…. easy to spot on…

• Flat Black on May 02, 2014 at 11:51 am

Excellent move to ensure Ezora sales. Maybe next step is to ask BR1M receiver to buy Saga as their first car to boost up Saga sales as well.

• pearjai on May 02, 2014 at 11:53 am

Some type taxi can hit rm58/day just for permit only…..better vanish these permit fee so our taxi owner can save their budget ! Huhuhu… rm58/day = 1508.00….with extra rm500 they(taxi owner) they can use hyundai starex with 5 year waranty unlimited mileage ! Do these our exora come with these nice warranty ?Do our own product make people “didahulukan”?

• mmaker on May 02, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Proton don’t know how to make exora sales anymore, now forcing poor taxi driver! this plan definitely will increase charges at least to RM0.15 per 100meter

• I like see an open tender for new taxis. That will shows openness and trasparency. Made it known to public since these taxis are for the people. I wonder if P2 wants to join in with their Alza.

• Low Budget on May 02, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Alza is too small-lah. In Sarawak, many taxi drivers use Toyota Innova, lagi best!

• ajo haterzs on May 03, 2014 at 1:41 am

P2 will not downgrade their brand image for taxi, let the sales slow, but taxi, sorry la

• Proton people… trying to divert the real issue by making colour as a subject.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 20
    • KettaVreakdoWn on May 02, 2014 at 5:08 pm

u got my1LIKE for bringing up the real issue..really a detective

• Detective or not, you sales figure tells everything.

• KettaVreakdoWn on May 03, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Calm down mr detective.. I do not sell car but I juz love to know how a detective work.. I’ve no idea it would be so secretive..however thanks to u “the sales figure” is the real issue.. I see

• yea…using MPV should be a better option especially when picking up passenger with big / more luggage…at least those iswara/persona no need to temporary close the rear bonnet with rubber string..
    But why only exora and not other MPV model like avanza or even NV200…i believe NV200 would be better option for long term operation(cost and maintenance) since NY and London do go for it..

• If budget and executive taxis are forced to use Exora, then what is the difference between budget and executive taxis? Executive taxis will be allowed to charge more with the same car just because of the word “executive”? Why they are not allowed to use better cars since they are charging more? Stupid move.It shows that SPAD is not thinking for the benefit of the people and the taxi drivers before implementing any new regulations. As long as it will benefit Proton, just go ahead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • KettaVreakdoWn on May 02, 2014 at 1:02 pm

I wonder if they (SPAD) really didn’t have any discussion with ‘persatuan teksi’.. and if they really wanted to save proton they will go for inspira for executive cab meawhile preve or persona for budget cab.. more profit will gain by proton using this move ..why exora? spacious? comfort ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Azhari H on May 02, 2014 at 12:55 pm

firstly , why vey odd color scheme. 2ndly the price …3rdly the move was too obvious

• harian metroll on May 02, 2014 at 1:26 pm

4th, now is zaman internet. Rakyat sudah bijak lah tahu mana satu kaca atau permata palsu. Budak felda pun BN susah nak tipu sekarang tau.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
  • So, can I assume the proton gonna build this exora model for another 10 years?

FYI, the 1st gen proton saga (including Iswara and LMST) lasted for 23 years.

• 4G63T DSM on May 02, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Why is it 64K with 5000 rebate?

Shouldn’t commercial cars come with lower duties?

Wasn’t there a base model Exora with a MT at 57K?

While on the surface all looks good, the Exora will be a much sorely needed upgrade to the old decrepit iswaras. Not fancy the colour. What is wrong with red? (maybe its proton, they don’t have red for thier exora’s paint line??)

Now, i’m just waiting for the taxi kings to announce a rate hike due to this.

Why not an open tender? I’m sure the NV200 is a far better taxi base. The low floor of the NV200 means you can have 2 large NGV tanks and still have lots of room for luggage.

• inderaloka on May 02, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Just be honest, G. Macamlah kita tak tahu jualan Proton merudum tahun demi tahun.

• shawal on May 02, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Abolish the excise tax for taxi operators..

Some of the drivers are really old fellas trying to make ends meet..

Their more reliable japanese and wira cars are still serving them well…

I recently sat in a wira taxi and the quality compare to protona.current crop is miles apart..
    Soft touch aplenty, hushed and fast…

Exora is underpowered and guzzles fuel, its a burden to taxi operators..

• exoraaa on May 02, 2014 at 1:59 pm

the exora is huge. when taxi drivers spend most of their time on the roads, is this going to allow them to easily maneuver, park and drive in tight parking spots. I think an upgrade from a B segment (current taxis) to C segment cars should just be nice. The extra space in the exora is wasted. and what’s the fuel consumption of this vehicle ?

• cendol (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 2:01 pm

100 million to purchase the Exoras.
    500 million for maintenance and servicing of these Exoras only at certain workshops and locations.
    U happy I happy

• cendol (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 2:02 pm

So what is going to happen to current Iswara/ Saga/ Perdana cabs????
    Drive into Sungai Klang?

• jwrx (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 2:09 pm

1.) that picture with luggage shows a Exora that has not yet fitted NGV, after they install the tank, the space is no better then wira/saga
    2.) Why was Proton given the contract? Both NY and London chose the NV200 via open tenders.
    3.) Teks1m? sounds ridiculous, now all tourist will think the malaysian word for taxi is teksim

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • KettaVreakdoWn on May 02, 2014 at 11:20 pm

1.better boot space than current saga/others fitted with NGV.I think no argument here..
      2.Again London and NY..why not tokyo/seoul or other cities..open tender ? still ford / NV200 ?
      3.Most of the tourist do not understand the word teksi anyway since it written in malay..teks1m, eventhough i feel it akwarward..I see all this as part of branding 1Malaysia..

• bisakeris (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 2:20 pm

should hv like open tender or something.. maybe other mpv makers can give better deal..

• katana on May 02, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Open tender bukan budaya BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • cendol (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 4:12 pm

cannot open tender . later certain communities will lose out due to open competition. we must protect their rights you know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • bisakeris (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 2:27 pm

another thing is, the color!!! who the hell chose that color???

• Most taxi drivers will stick to their trusty Saga.

• anotherrandomdude on May 02, 2014 at 2:37 pm

This is pure dictatorship by any standard. Forcing taxi drivers to buy exoras in order to increase yearly sales is just not right. What next? All malaysians earning below RMXX MUST BUY SAGA as their first car?

• 4G63T DSM on May 02, 2014 at 4:36 pm

The irony is that some government thinktank will come with some government loan that only applies to proton cars…..Proton want to sell more cars? easy mah, since bank tighten their belts, government go in and fund it with our tax money.

• Good news, for those taxi driver who vote BN, congratulation to you, You chose for it.

• victor tan on May 02, 2014 at 2:59 pm

I don’t have to be genius to figure out this scheme will burden most of the taxi drivers. And that brown color, aren’t taxis are supposed to have more bright color? Or else ppl can’t recognize taxis from far instantly.

Whoever plan this shit has no considerations for the poor drivers or maybe, rich fellows that doesn’t know what it means to be a hard earning and living.

• Koko Lee on May 02, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Brown colour maybe easier to attract sticker advertisements from Milo or Vico drinks. But i like to drink ali cafe. How about you? Mocha drinks??

• victor tan on May 02, 2014 at 4:49 pm

You serious? That doesn’t make sense for me since the official color for Vico is yellow, and Milo is green.

• Low Budget on May 02, 2014 at 4:03 pm

They will increase the Taxi fares so that the burden will shift to passengers.

• victor tan on May 02, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Shifting the cost to the consumer will be another issue, and ppl might avoid taxi and choosing other options as well if they can’t justify the increment.

So, the driver might have to take quite some time to absorb the cost… How they are going to cope with that?

• AngryDriver on May 02, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Its expensive to take a taxi even in the city. Would rather walk

• cendol (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 4:10 pm

Newspaper will report Potong’s sales has increased for year 2014 due to GREAT INTEREST in their Potong Esoklah. What they will not write there is the sales are increased by forcing taxi drivers to buy their Esoklah.

• cendol (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 4:13 pm

Teks1m should be renamed to KekS1m ( heart pain)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
  • Syameer (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 4:14 pm

For consumers, there are mixed feelings of whether or not it is a wise move. The Exora maybe better in term of size -larger and more convenient since it can transport more passengers or more luggages when the back seats are folded.

But since the price of te car is more expensive than our national icon, the cheap and reliable Saga, expect a hike in taxi fares. The color scheme is a big no-no. Which brainy maniacs think that dull color make a good taxi? This is not London. The ever iconic red taxi should be preserved as it is easier to spot from far.

• SafetyFirstMalaysian on May 02, 2014 at 4:22 pm

What will happen to those Toyota Prius and other hybrids?

• FarizY (Member) on May 02, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Paint it yellow, like NYC cab, easier to spot.

• SAUTEDkangkong on May 02, 2014 at 7:18 pm

agree.. easy to differentiate with the rest of brown exora since no yellow exora yet..why dont make it exclusively yellow for cab

• thebugbud on May 02, 2014 at 5:03 pm

I’m not a big fan of proton (since I own proton cars). The move is very crony style. It should be open tender and the best will be awarded to supply the cab instead. After all Proton is a fully privately owned. Lots of fish smell here.

On the other hand, Exora is the least problematic car from Proton but hey, a close decision like this will restrict the opportunity to pick a better and value car for the cabbie instead.

End of the day, there’s so much effort with rakyat money to save “a man” ego.

• just like that on May 02, 2014 at 5:58 pm

Malaysia flag got brown colour nowdays? Make it a striking colour or Malaysian colour’s or Harimau Malaysia (Malaya) colour!!!

• Angry on May 02, 2014 at 6:16 pm

SPAD should ban all those run down taxi proton saga! They are a nuisance on the road. Hogging and bangging people everyday! too many taxi drivers otr la. Who agree?

• matsoul on May 02, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Just imagine full load with full pax, how this campro engine mau panjat bukit manyak penak wou minyak manyak makan rugi looo

• You didn’t read ? It’s NGV who cares about panjat bukit or bad trafic jams.

• Jonny Tan on May 02, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Mahatir said Proton Needs To Be Protected! please buy more from us! Pleaseeeeeeee…………..

• guan eng jr. on May 02, 2014 at 7:22 pm

taxi scenario is sadistic in malaysia, more permits to the companies but less to individuals who actually run a taxi. Those companies earn above rm20k blindly for each rented out taxis after the tenure. My example is for saga taxi.

• Edmund on May 02, 2014 at 7:32 pm

“…the last taxi that isn’t an Exora is expected to disappear from the roads by end-2024”

Like seriously, the first few batch of Exora taxis would already have been recycled into sardine cans for the 100th cycle. And don’t even get me started on the color. Brown. seriously?

• paparadzi on May 02, 2014 at 7:34 pm

This is better than those Saga and Iswara 1.5 that they use as taxi now. At least the Exora are of proper size as taxi.

• retard on May 02, 2014 at 8:19 pm

just exchange free of charge, if not the govt is oppressing all the taxi operators. just like forcing people to makan daging sapi.

• pearjai on May 02, 2014 at 8:33 pm

Let the 2.5 d4d intercooler turbo (toyota commuter) illegal for our market ! Not just joylong,era(copycat)….with 343nm tork n 20cent/km ( same hilux engine) n can carry 18 people or 1 ton load that speed in the fast line at 180km….can customised for vip suits !….u can see these big van in thailand …or at seremban hospital… as ambulance or u can see joylong commuter/era commuter….our hiace (hight roof)actually not a stable casis ! Prone
    to “terbalik” lor !

• Teck Sim on May 02, 2014 at 8:51 pm

Yes, scrap the saga, waja, wiras because luggage for 3 pax cant fit in the boot. Instead of ngv, why cant a diesel engine be fitted into the exora? It has more torque n more economical than the 1.6 campro engine. Why must all change to brown? Wasnt blue meant for the executive taxis that can charge more? Wasnt red meant for the normal, cheaper ones? It was easy to differentiate them. Now in brown, i can jump into a normal taxi n be charged executive prices. Stupid move. Not thought out properly. It will fail when implemented.

• Proton shame on you with this dirty trick.

• firdaus on May 02, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Yeah what a shame

• firdaus on May 02, 2014 at 9:08 pm

tak reti tulis perkataan malu la proton nie

• Albert Lee on May 02, 2014 at 9:47 pm

Forcing taxi operators to change to Exora is DICTATORIAL.
    In Indonesia,I can see plenty of Toyota Vios.
    Minus the taxes,Toyota Vios would only cost around 60K plus in Malaysia.
    Wouldn’t it brighten up our tourist spots with the Vios running around?
    Or even the Preve sedan is not bad,after throwing out taxes,should be around 50-55K.
    Why Exora only? Is it cos of low sales/exhorbitant stocks or someone is guaranteed something?

• Lolol on May 02, 2014 at 11:24 pm

Ahahahaa… thts the only way proton can increase their sales volume…. force people to buy it…

• old dog on May 02, 2014 at 11:42 pm

please talk to the taxi driver, and see how they suffered and pay high maintenance to support this Protong. They have no choice even though they want to use other car, and they even have no choice but to take finance for the car even they can cash. go check out how much they need to pay for the maintenance.
    this is malaysia boleh business.

• James on May 03, 2014 at 12:13 am

Heard that Exora engine is not suitable to run on GAS.The taxi driver have to spend extra $$$ for maintenance due to this.

• Motorola_RAZR on May 03, 2014 at 12:17 am

Lousy car!

• joanna on May 03, 2014 at 1:33 am

So, Proton will keep producing this Exora till 2024? OMG!

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 03, 2014 at 4:33 am

beribu ribu tahniah proton berjaya

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on May 03, 2014 at 9:42 am

Dunno is me or what but got uncle driving this Exora taxi and engine is definately more refine than the private one..One of his colleague also share the same thought.Probably Proton male it more refine due to its Taxi usage?Acceleration is not that great but once the MPV hit 2500rpm the momentum keep on flowing and engine also less noise..

• Should be diesel or hybrid, the fuel consumption will kill the taxi drivers and then cost will go up. Costs will pass to customers, all infation, due to Potong again.
    Go and die Proton, better for all.

• Problems on May 03, 2014 at 2:07 pm

Sorry i colour blind. Cant see brown properly. Later people think i sohai stop normal citizen car how? Why brown why?

• Question on May 03, 2014 at 2:19 pm

I wonder if it would be against competition act to imposed that only Exora can be use as taxi?
    Logically it is a violation.
    By fixing the color and general specification of vehicle should be sufficient to standardized the taxi group. But why specify only a brand to be use as taxi?

• Allen toyota subang on May 03, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Now you can insult any EXORA owner… By asking… Are you taking passenger after office hour…

• Of course you can ask the same to Vios drivers in Thai and Indonesia, Merc drivers in Germany, Alphard drivers in Japan and the list goes on.

• Daily Exora User on May 04, 2014 at 12:06 am

I’ve been in an Exora several times, seating at front passenger, seating at rear. I don’t see anything bad apart from cheap plastics. I mean, I heard people said about the noise, but I can sleep peacefully no problems at all, the wind noise in my mom’s Jeep Grand Cherokee is so bad, that everyone in the car thought a door or a window is not properly shut. The handling is good and I don’t have any issues with ride quality. Not so sure about any problems mentioned here. If its underpowered, go for the Turbo CFE lah. Or tune the CPS or put a Proreka supercharger kit. I don’t see any problems with an Exora and I’m happy with it.

• taxi driver on May 05, 2014 at 2:31 am

the issue is not proton exora, the issue is, why do u need to force everybody to change their taxis, when the cars can still be used, and do you know how much a taxi cost? 60k can be cost of the exora, but do u know how much it is to pay daily rental to taxi companies that supplies the taxis? next time u are in a taxi, ask them how much they pay to the taxi companies, guess who holds all the taxi licenses.

• Anonymous on May 05, 2014 at 9:03 am

Maybe government should give provide incentive for all taxi drivers and owners … if their taxi is still in a good condition (usually private owners), why not change only the color to brown … but for those who drive taxis (usually owned by companies) and they look like to fall apart, then they should change to Exora with the same amount of daily rental … By doing that all taxis driver are being burden and we have all tourists are happy coming to Malaysia and they can bring a lot of bags … Benefits to Malaysia? Bring up our image among tourist and bring more income to the nation although government may have to spend a bit as part of the incentive :)

• Anonymous on May 05, 2014 at 9:04 am

Maybe government should give provide incentive for all taxi drivers and owners … if their taxi is still in a good condition (usually private owners), why not change only the color to brown … but for those who drive taxis (usually owned by companies) and they look like to fall apart, then they should change to Exora with the same amount of daily rental … By doing that all taxis driver are NOT being burden and we have all tourists are happy coming to Malaysia and they can bring a lot of bags too… Benefits to Malaysia? Bring up our image among tourist and bring more income to the nation although government may have to spend a bit as part of the incentive :)

• bn4life on May 05, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Stop bising regarding brown color, the decision was made after cronies roundtable meeting to avoid their Ferrari, lambo, maseratti same color with cabby.

• boardingpass on May 06, 2014 at 12:08 am

Seriously. Since when has brown been one of Malaysia’s national colour? Why must it be brown instead of red and white? Cmiiw but hey, red-white Exora cabs do roam the KL streets right?

Could be a good choice to replace the critically run down Renault Enviros (anymore of these out there??) but speaking abt the car, maybe if Grand Livinas or Avanzas are added to the fleet, it won’t hurt that bad.

Just my 2 cents :)

• Flat Black on May 06, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Teks1m… Rosak Bahasa Malaysia yang tercinta.

“Drivers, particularly in the Klang Valley, have been known to use nearly a dozen taxi colours and half as many car models, which SPAD said was confusing to passengers.”
    Siapa yang luluskan semua warna Teksi tersebut? Warna perang tidak mengelirukan?

Satu lagi contoh keputusan pengurusan yang adil dan saksama. (Tidak perlu tender terbuka)

p/s: Sila terima sahaja semua keputusan pihak berkuasa. Angguk2… geleng2…tunduk2…ikut telunjuk…iya2…saya2…kiri kanan… ikut sahaja.

• Lee Jin Song on May 10, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Taxi fare will definitely increase. Another avenue to reap the rakyat’s money

• MUHAMMAD FAIRUZ BIN. ABDULLAH SANI on Nov 25, 2015 at 11:34 pm

gov support individu loun be easy.me last 10year only rent want to be own car after finesh company agreement .today submit ready TEKS1M at gelenmarie proton by public bank loun im not sure pass or not cause almost want to be 1year not working no modal than give bisnes partner now im want new car for my family TEKS1M