ASEAN NCAP Phase III: Honda CR-V, Proton Preve, Toyota Corolla Altis, Chevrolet Colorado get five stars

ASEAN NCAP P-3 Proton Preve-2

The Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) has announced results for the third and final phase of the ASEAN New Car Assessment Programme (ASEAN NCAP) at the Philea Resort and Spa in Melaka. The announcement of Phase III results was also made at the 2014 Global NCAP Annual Forum today in Melbourne.

A total of 11 cars, with two models in both lowest and premium versions, were evaluated. As with the previous phases, test vehicles were subjected to an offset frontal collision test at a closing speed of 64 km/h.

New to this phase is a UN R95 side collision test with a mobile deformable barrier striking the car at 50 km/h, while child occupant protection results now feature a star rating system, rather than the previous percentage-based system. The results are as follows:

• Honda CR-V 2.0 V built 2013, MY 2014 – Adult: 5 stars (4 stars, no VSC), Child: 4 stars, Side: Pass, Airbags: 2
  • Proton Preve 1.6 IAFM+ built 2013, MY 2013 – Adult: 5 stars, Child: 3 stars, Side: Pass, Airbags: 6
  • Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0 V with Safety Package built 2013, MY 2014 – Adult: 5 stars, Child: 4 stars, Side: Pass, Airbags: 7
  • Chevrolet Colorado Crew Cab built 2014, MY 2014 – Adult: 5 stars (4 stars, no ESP), Child: 3 stars, Side: Pass, Airbags: 2
  • Volkswagen Polo Sedan 1.6 built 2013, MY 2013 – Adult: 4 stars, Child: 4 stars, Side: Pass, Airbags: 4
  • Toyota Corolla Altis 1.8 E built 2013, MY 2014 – Adult: 4 stars, Child: 4 stars, Side: Pass, Airbags: 2
  • Peugeot 208 1.6 VTi AT 5-door built 2013, MY 2013 – Adult: 4 stars, Child: 4 stars, Side: Pass, Airbags: 6
  • Kia Picanto 1.25 MT built 2013, MY 2013 – Adult: 4 stars, Child: 4 stars, Side: Pass, Airbags: 6
  • Chevrolet Sonic 1.4 built 2013, MY 2014 – Adult: 4 stars, Child: 4 stars, Side: Pass, Airbags: 2
  • Isuzu D-Max Crew Cab 4×4 MT built 2014, MY 2015 – Adult: 4 stars, Child: 4 stars, Side: Pass, Airbags: 2
  • Kia Picanto 1.25 MT (no airbags) built 2013, MY 2013 – Adult: 0 stars, Child: 1 stars, Side: Not tested, Airbags: 0

‘MY’ denotes the safety package introduction year

The Proton Preve extends its five-star adult rating to the Suprima S, while the Volkswagen Polo Sedan extends its four-star adult rating to the Polo hatch. For the Honda CR-V and Chevrolet Colorado, variants without ESC are rated four stars for adults.

The Honda CR-V tested was an LHD car built in Thailand for the Philippine market. The results for the Toyota Corolla Altis 2.0 (available only for the Malaysian market) was adopted from ANCAP’s test at JARI in Tsukuba, Japan. This particular variant is built in Thailand for Australia and Malaysia.

The Volkswagen Polo Sedan, Peugeot 208, six-airbag Kia Picanto and Proton Preve tested were built in Malaysia; all the others were built in Thailand. The three test locations were MIROS PC3 in Melaka, Malaysia, Japan Automobile Research Institute (JARI) in Tsukuba, Japan and KATRI in South Korea.

To be eligible for a five-star rating, a vehicle must have at least two airbags, electronic stability control and a seat belt reminder, or it will only qualify for a maximum of four stars.

Side impact testing is now a pre-requisite for a four-star rating and up, and will be incorporated into, and influence, the main (adult) rating by 2016.

On the road-map front, the conclusion of phase testing (the pilot stage was divided into three phases) means that the agency will now operate like other NCAP organisations, in which testing and the release of results are routinely carried out.

Phase I results were announced in February last year, and those of Phase II in August. Watch a side impact demo performed on a Honda Civic, and learn more about the test procedures, MIROS and ASEAN NCAP.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• heybadigol on May 05, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 145
    • CRV is SUV, preve is C-segment. What more you expected for preve? LOL~

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 18
      • Shame_loo on May 05, 2014 at 7:45 pm

I trust IIHS test more than the NCAP. Try the small overlap test, you will be surprise too see a lots of luxury car not performing well too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
        • Moores on May 05, 2014 at 9:39 pm

Yes. IIHS is what we should be looking at on small overlap where all these cars here failed miserably (proton not even tested) including many Conti cars. You will be shocked on how scary it can be when you have that kind of accident where even airbags are useless if the chassis can’t take the impact. Only few passed with good rating. Yes I am surprised Civic and Mazda3 actually have good rating and they beat the likes of BMW and Audi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
          • mooresliar on May 05, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Both Civic and Mazda3 failed to beat BMW and Audi. Liar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 33
          • Wonka on May 05, 2014 at 11:53 pm

Wow, preve scored 5 stars! Now all the preve owners will have a peace of mind when their CFE suddenly kaput and the whole car just stop in the fast lane when they’re tailgating someone.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 73
          • Same Loor on May 06, 2014 at 12:14 am

Yes, you are right. Small overlap test is the one most modern car didn’t do well. The most recent example is Karpal Singh accident. If the Alphard impact the lorry in full overlap, no one would have died. Small overlap impact slide the car body like a piece a cake, because the impact bypassed all impact absorption mechanisms.

Toyota didn’t really do well in small overlap test (especially for model 2013 and older). Proton… not even tested.

In crash test, the car are measured with the momentum of its own weight X 60km/h. Let’s say a 5 star rating City (1165kg) has a crash with a 5 start rating CRV (1715kg), of course City will be severely damaged. City is 5 star tested for 1165kg at 60km/h, not 1715kg at 60km/h.

In this case, if the impact speed is more than 60km/h, City will be even worse.

There is basic difference between segments. On same star rating, larger size of course the better one.

Toyota is good, but not perfect. Proton is good or not? No need emotional argument (or call people stupid), it is all fact based. We just wait until IIHS test the small overlap test for Proton and see.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
          • carazy on May 06, 2014 at 7:33 am

u are talking abt VW rite?? yes there are true story abt engine caput while speeding

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Hyundai De La Junk (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 9:08 am

This is all drama. In the 80s, there was a show “Drama Minggu Ini”. Well this is it.

If International community and most Malaysians already can suspect MAS editing the flight voice conversation, I can tell you one thing, Malaysia, everything can be altered to suit your needs!

In Malaysia, all organisations, MONEY talks. It is like Puspakom. Every single fiber of the organization is corrupted to the core. To get anything done there, you need to give under the table money to make magic work. Otherwise, your fail will “hilang”.

That is Malaysia for you. MIROS is the same. Some more the car companies sure very clever, besides money, they sure bring the MIROS guys for massage in our famous spas. Then they get the lebih package for the MIROS testers and examiners.

Once the MIROS guys get “lebih”, their judgement get clouded. Once you service the MIROS staff gear handle, they will favour that brand. No where in the world where a 2 airbag car can get 5 star lah! Please lah Malaysian, wake up. This is Malaysia we are talking about.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 31
          • shame_Loo on May 06, 2014 at 3:53 pm

Watch the video, you will see the the way of the dummy’s head hitting the interior of the vehicle instead of the air bag. The structure of the car just buckle and the steering wheel move or side way prior to air bag deploy, hence the airbag failed to function perfectly.

• Sam Loo (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 11:21 pm

Listen. Sam Loo the greatest would like to put forward a question. Why the hell do you want to trust insurance companies to give safety ratings to your car? IIHS, do you know who funded it? Don’t you think insurance companies will have their selfish interest in car test results?

Think again and don’t try to act smart with Sam Loo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
          • Other_Thinker on May 12, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Mmmhmm… Just how like you shouldn’t trust a toothpaste recommended by 9/10 dentists?

“The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) is an independent, nonprofit scientific and educational organization dedicated to reducing the losses — deaths, injuries and property damage — from crashes on the nation’s roads.

The Highway Loss Data Institute (HLDI) shares and supports this mission through scientific studies of insurance data representing the human and economic losses resulting from the ownership and operation of different types of vehicles and by publishing insurance loss results by vehicle make and model.” IIHS website.

The IIHS works closely with the “New Car Assessment Program” NCAP under the “National Highway Traffic Safety Administration” NHTSA to give comprehensive safety information on cars.

Think about it. Why would auto insurers fully support and give a good certification to cars which may later be involved in a deadly or seriously damaging crash, leading to expensive insurance payouts?

It would be detrimental to the insurer to insure a a “bad” car. The same way they would charge more for drivers more likely to make expensive or frequent claims.

You should really check out their website. they’ve tested and shown that many cars can have a “good” 5 star NCAP score but still perform badly in small overlap tests. It’s shocking to see many car brands only respond to safety flaws when it is shown to be unsafe rather than work proactively.

• maybe it take another 5 – 10 yrs only then the small overlap test will be conducted in boleh land.

• Danny C on May 06, 2014 at 8:26 am

C-seg or suv is just the classification of vehicle’s platform and size, it has nothing to do with the passive and active safety of a car, get it right. By ur logic, people who drives c-seg car is deserved to get less safety protection than an suv? What about the owners of smaller b-seg car? They deserve to even lesser safety protection, or even death?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • annoy_namous on May 06, 2014 at 11:37 am

Hmmm… Just wondering why the best selling car in Malaysia a.k.a Myvi don’t joint the test??? Already surpass the test???

• kemal on May 05, 2014 at 5:19 pm

it means that the airbag count doesn’t actually translate to better point in crash test. u can add 9 airbags in kancil, but does the whole chassis good enough to absorb the impact ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
      • heybadigol on May 05, 2014 at 8:54 pm

Correct! Airbag count alone doesnt determine a car’s safety. How the crumple zone works also plays an important role. Clearly shown by the test results of different cars. But for the same car, we can see airbag count playing an important role, as the crumple zone is the same.

• LOL (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 5:21 pm

CRV is SUB, Preve is C-segment. What more you expected from Preve? LOL~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 12
      • Someguyonthenet on May 05, 2014 at 9:52 pm

a hilux is a 4 star rating car, the Altis is a 5 star rating car. Care to explain?

Just because you are born stupid does not mean you can act stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 23
        • befair on May 05, 2014 at 11:10 pm

there is something called esp here. the altis 1.8 without the esp is rated 4star instead.
          read again and you will notice this sentence:
          “To be eligible for a five-star rating, a vehicle must have at least two airbags, electronic stability control and a seat belt reminder, or it will only qualify for a maximum of four stars”.
          It does not mean that the hilux is somehow softer than the altis. It is due to the fact that it is not eligible to get 5 star.

• xiper (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 5:28 pm

not only the airbag counters, the car chassis is playing the main part on absorbing impact. Btw the CR-V sold here are coming with minimum 4 airbags (2.0) and 6 airbags for 2.4

this could probably means that the CR-V chassis is more rigid than the Preve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Pontiac on May 05, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Worst comment ever. U compare rm150k vs rm70k? Wth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 23
    • brazbuz on May 05, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Star rating not solely based on no of airbags. If the car got 7 airbag but no esc,rating is still 4 star. To get 5 star,the vehicle should be equipped with min 2 airbags,esc n certain standard of crash. Look at 208, 6 airbags n esc but only managed to get 4 star. Keep reading before comment bro….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Picanto hopeless and preve ‘ Child: 3 stars ‘ fail!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 45
      • kzm (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 9:27 pm

those 0 star picanto actually for thai market n sell for cheap RM43k-50k

• Anonymous Coward on May 05, 2014 at 6:59 pm

I believe size of the car does affect performance on safety tests and real-world results. For example, a 5-star safety rated A-segment vs a 5-star rated C-segement would mean the A-segment is going to lose.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Airbags prevent your head/body from crashing into parts of the car that are hard and will leave quite some damage. If there is no impact due to distance to those parts, you don’t need an airbag. Seems like in the CRV you sit so far in the center that it’s not an issue… at least for what was tested (sadly there is a complete lack of data for side impacts in what was released so far). Usually having the airbags is a good thing though.

Chassis strength is another important thing of course. If you are squeezed to death in the car having a soft impact into the steering wheel doesn’t help. But a strong chassis isn’t all that is needed. You could die by hitting the steering wheel or B pillar/side window, even though the car suffered little damage.

• Proton Malaysia on May 05, 2014 at 7:34 pm

Haters everywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • Honestly for me the number of airbags is not the main point of safety issue. Airbag is inflated once a car experiences an impact from outside towards the body which means after collision.

For me, main safety consideration is what the car offers to avoid such impact like ESP, ABS et cetera.

What is the point of having massive number of airbag if the car cannot avoid an impact at the first place; not to mention airbag is not important, just preventive features is much crucial. Only Sam Loo doesn’t really care for safety features at first, RV is much important. Lol.

Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Loo (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 11:00 am

Speak for yourself usop and don’t quote my name unless i give you a written authorisation with a toyota logo king of RV. All my showroom car comes with top notch safety features no other can compete including the proton you are driving. My Altis already win 5 stars. My Camry another 5 stars. My Hilux don’t need any stars as it will roll over your tiny car.

Let me Sam Loo the greatest RV teach you a lesson or two. What you said ESP, ABS etc are called active safety. Airbags, strong chassis are passive safety. You need both to ensure you come out alive from your proton wreck. One without the other will do you no good. So don’t be a cock here and start talking cocktales to the great Sam Loo.

Btw, I won’t even want to take your junk ride as trade in. Once driven by you, the RV drop to 10%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
        • Hi Sam. We missed you a lot. Btw, I’m not driving any Proton at the moment but I still respect Proton’s owners especially after last year incident involving a lady Preve’s owner whose her car was badly damaged after crashing at LPT; she walked out of the car without any severe injury nor even a nosebleed. This is comparable to a “H” car that involved with our own fraternity which his car tilted over with most of the roof peeled off near Kemaman PMO on last year. Hence I always look up for the preventive features like ESP etc and aforementioned on my comment above, not neglecting the passive aspect as well. Just like the idiom “prevention is better than cure” right, avoid the collision first.

Just wonder if my 2013 A200 can be considered as junk. Nevertheless, AFAIC, your 2.0E Camry doesn’t has VSC (Toyota’s ESP).

Chill Sam.

Cheers

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 12:48 am

The adult occupant protection rating currently only takes into account frontal collisions, which places more importance on the front airbags as well as the strength of the structure itself and the load forces involved. The side impact test results will be rolled into the main rating by 2016, and that’s when the side and curtain airbags will really play a role.

• Vader on May 06, 2014 at 8:08 am

Not bad that Preve having 5 stars scored for adult.
      Just wonder why the child rating is only 3 stars??
      Look at others sedan, the adult and child score is almost the same..

• Vtec R Yakuza on May 06, 2014 at 9:46 am

Stupid statement from stupid moron.. Very good..

• Malaysian Support Proton on May 05, 2014 at 5:02 pm

I’m here to welcome the bashers.. if there is one. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 12
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 158
    • if u don’t believe, just don’t buy. simple

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
      • Yes Opi, I won’t but Proton, by the way, I’m sure you have a Proton! That’s simple!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
        • Vtec R Yakuza on May 06, 2014 at 9:52 am

What’s the problem if he had a Proton..? Dont talk like your shit laa.. Even your papa mama also use Proton.. Retarded..

• Hey bro, I’m just giving my opinion, don’t be emotional & personal attack! Your action show that you are childish!(although I don’t know how old are you)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
      • lso if you don’t like, please don’t comment.simple!

• jenjenjen on May 06, 2014 at 1:07 pm

ur also no different, u atack personaly takpa pulak, org lain do the same to u, u kata childish, double standard, fair sangat la konon.

• Ok jenjenjen, Proton is the best car in the world! You happy now child?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • well… haters gonna hate

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • anonymous on May 05, 2014 at 5:21 pm

No matter what proton achieved, haters gonna hate. Even if 100 years later proton surpass the Japanese or at least the Korean, those haters still has the same answer. These are ignorant people. The fact is already in front of our eyes, even the euro ancap has awarded the preve 5 start. And yet people will say ‘makan duit’. When a Toyota has 5 star, people won’t even question about it and agree with it. Seriously? Look for Toyota vios euro crash test. I’m not saying that proton is great, but don’t hate for no reason.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 20
      • Anonymous Coward on May 05, 2014 at 7:00 pm

Correction, I don’t think Preve has been Euro NCAP tested, has it? I think it’s been tested in Australasian NCAP (ANCAP), however, which gave it 5 stars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
        • Ignorant is gonna be always an ignorant. Just let them be. Life is cheap wat.

• Ananz on May 06, 2014 at 9:59 am

Honestly when you look into buying a C-segment sedan like Preve or other makes its because we have a family. Kudos to Preve for scoring high on the adult safety but they definitely have to improve on the child safety which is still not yet up to par.

• Limau on May 05, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Non-Lemon unit for crash test, Lemon units for car market? He he he he

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • blind on May 05, 2014 at 5:26 pm

do not believe what you see? what more do you want?

• Obviously (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 5:30 pm

The unhurt survivor of the Proton Preve crash last year would have something to say to you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • xtaunakkatapa on May 05, 2014 at 5:33 pm

when the thing is Malaysian (and its under Gov)..
      all cannot believe..huhu
      cmon laa..throw d negative out…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • azlan on May 05, 2014 at 5:33 pm

It is of the same quality, why so much denial?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 3
      • It’s a Preve ++ la. Just like how they cheat with Saga FLX+.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 62
      • How you know? You working in Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
        • theanswer on May 05, 2014 at 6:33 pm

U work in proton?

• KettaVreakdoWn on May 05, 2014 at 7:15 pm

he is a detective.. I followed him from the review “All new taxis to be brown Proton Exora from Nov ” by Jonathan Tan [1http://paultan.org/2014/05/02/proton-exora-taxi-nov/]..things like this he sure knows a lot ..”his great”.. I still wait for his report anyway

• RUGAL on May 05, 2014 at 5:33 pm

We are actually get the same preve as the Autralian and Thai markets. 6 airbags, ABS, EBD, ESC, BA and TC. We have these features.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 2
      • Rugal, you mentioned above are called ‘specification’, I’m talking about the ‘quality’.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 49
        • driver on May 05, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Proton does not have any other factory besides in Malaysia. And I don’t think they have a separate assembly line for many ‘version’ as per your claim. That’ll be counterproductive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
      • Albert Lee on May 05, 2014 at 6:03 pm

Preve have 6 airbags,and gets 5 star rating.Not to doubt.Fine.
        My question is “Why is Proton not selling too many Preves now?”
        Most of Proton’s sales come from the Saga and Persona SV now,correct me if I am wrong.
        Car sales actually encompass multiple factors e.g.Good Fuel efficiency,good resale values,excellent after sales service and good branding image. It is the COMPLETE PACKAGE that buyers are looking into.Not just good crash rating reports.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 39
        • peyno on May 05, 2014 at 6:49 pm

kinda old minded… now ppl for for safety features as their main concern

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
        • Anonymous Coward on May 05, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Easy answer: brand image, price and interior quality. If it was cheaper by about 5% or 10%…

However, the Preve/Suprima certainly made me seriously consider Protons for its safety features. It’s really hard to swallow its late-90s interior and overall lack of refinement, though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
        • iskhalifah on May 05, 2014 at 7:28 pm

I don’t think Preve is so bad in terms of FC. Go check fuelly.com. Smart people nowadays value safety, over FC. What’s the use having the ability to save petrol budget without able to save human life when bad situation comes. Side & curtain airbags wouldn’t totally protect occupants from any harm, but at least it reduces the risk of fatality from side impact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
          • Anonymous Coward on May 06, 2014 at 9:35 am

There is some truth to this. And you do save a bunch of money going in as the Preve is cheaper than most cars with equivalent safety features, so you have more money for petrol.

Proton’s real test to its commitment on safety however is its bread and butter cars: let’s see what the GSC and the Saga replacement has in store in terms of safety features, interior.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 7:35 pm

People in Malaysia don’t care so much for safety (see children walking around in the car, people not wearing seat belts…).

Also, people are not willing to spend 60k on a Proton. Heck, they don’t even buy the Inspira despite being identical to the Lancer, a car that can easily fetch 40k more. But just because it has the Proton badge it is worthless. Can put a Proton badge on a Merc S class and charge 150k for it. No one would buy it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
          • Sold my flx se after 14 month. Proton youre suck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
          • peyno on May 05, 2014 at 8:06 pm

totally agreed with u bro.. old minded malaysians dont care about safety unlike civilsed n urban ppl overseas.. they dont mind to die in good FC car

prrfthhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
        • ruffstuff on May 05, 2014 at 7:36 pm

‘Not just good crash ratings’ There you go. Safety is not priority. Safety should be on top of ANYTHING.

• peyno on May 06, 2014 at 5:35 am

in another word… i dont mind to die in my vios

• bujingyun on May 05, 2014 at 7:50 pm

because the SV version is for those whose cannot afford the higher price of the car sell..
          most of us did not possess good salary..ukur baju di badan sendiri je,nanti bankrup susah..

• flx+isSV on May 05, 2014 at 10:19 pm

Saga SV is FLX+ which is upgraded safety features from FLX. Saga SV (FLX+) scored 3 stars Asean NCAP.

Poor minded people always think expensive is safer, Proton just tries to offer best bang for buck. Duh.

• That’s means poor citizen’s life is not important? They don’t need safety protection?

• flx+isSV on May 06, 2014 at 2:45 pm

Aiya SV / flx+ is the cheapest variant of saga but safety is upgraded from one to 3 star. Still people cannot see?

• Yes, totally agree!

• brazbuz on May 05, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Wow proton must be a world class company bcoz they got different spec for different country. That’s old story bro, start from preve 2013 all market catered by single spec to improve economy of scale

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • haters gonna hate man, haters gonna hate ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Myb he cant accept the fact that this preve more safety than his vios at the same price level..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
      • Maybe you can’t accept ppl to comment about preve because you own one?

• jenjenjen on May 06, 2014 at 1:18 pm

again another personal attack. typical… takbleh balas elok2, serang peribadi, macam Be eNd…

• Hi jenjenjen, looks like you can’t accept ppl comment too, if you wanna argue, please give some supporting document and fact to prove me wrong!

• Hi Jenjenjen, i think this website is for comment and discussion, as you know, only looser can’t accept negative comment, is just like you……you…..

• casta on May 05, 2014 at 5:16 pm

If don’t believe..then don’t buy..simple

• Blaze on May 05, 2014 at 5:21 pm

What’s the point of having side impact test if the results as only in “pass” or “not tested”. Cars without side airbags can get same result as the one equiped with side bags.. “Pass”.. Waste of time..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Anonymous Coward on May 05, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Agreed, side impact is really brutal and the test should really indicate far more than just “Pass” or “Fail”.

• If proton dare enough, please test using euro ncap. Wonder how’s the result.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 40
    • Anonymous Coward on May 05, 2014 at 7:07 pm

What’s the main difference between Euro NCAP, ANCAP and ASEAN NCAP? I mean, I kind of distrust ASEAN NCAP but ANCAP’s reputation seems to be just as good (although they allocate points differently) as Euro NCAP’s.

Since the Preve and Suprima are earmarked for UK market introduction, I’m sure we’ll get the Euro NCAP test results soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • theanswer on May 06, 2014 at 8:51 am

why not? if they decide to sell preve in eu. anything wrong with ancap? even new honda accord use ancap and get 4 stars only.

• Good question!

• mim (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 4:24 pm

So? What’s the major difference between Australasian NCAP (ANCAP) and EuroNCAP? Virtually none.

Anyway, Range Rover Evoque gets 5 stars on EuroNCAP but only 4 stars at ANCAP. ANCAP is sometimes more strict.

• Sam Loo (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 5:29 pm

This is Sam Loo the greatest. As expected, the Toyota Altis trumps the group and beat the rest like there’s no tomorrow. With this results and its good looks plus best-of-the-best RV, people will come running into my showroom for the Altis. I may have to take down my Hilux wallpaper for a couple of months and put up the Altis one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
  • these tests were done when the car hit the barrier, compatibility test or real world test will show something else. for instant, a taller suv will have better chance of survival against a car eventhough both have 5 star rating.

• Obviously (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 5:31 pm

On a side note (no pun intended), why do all the tested cars pass their side impact tests, especially the 2 airbag only cars? Are we to believe they’re all that good or is there some test result wizardry going on here?

• holofanboi on May 06, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Really makes you wonder if there was any ‘dealings’ going on to obtain a ‘passing’ mark eh?

I myself am sceptical of the results.

• dahtaukanakkataapa on May 05, 2014 at 5:35 pm

like to know for
    -Honda City
    -Toyota Vios
    -Kia Forte

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • guan eng jr. on May 05, 2014 at 5:54 pm

vios driver are smart and skillful, they dun need safety rating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
      • normal_user on May 05, 2014 at 7:23 pm

Yup. Some Vios die hard fans even believe that with TRD kit will enhance their car safety rating by additional 1 star.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
        • oooovios on May 05, 2014 at 8:20 pm

the LED daylight “cap ayam ” will reduce front crash impact and brighten the ways..brighter than BMW laser..no need for crash test and the price can go high up as they want ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
          • vioser on May 05, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Vios has overdone bodykit lor. It looks like a turbocharged car but under hood only ancient engine with 4 speeder transmission.

*facepalm*

• Preve driver are careless? So they need ‘extra’ protection?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • jenjenjen on May 07, 2014 at 9:53 am

by your logic the same applies with drivers of other makes with the equivalent if not more air bags???

• Hi jenjenjen, I really can’t understand what you means? and you keep attacking my comments, I just comment that safety is important for everyone no matter you drive carefully or carelessly.

• drMpower on May 05, 2014 at 5:35 pm

i see this as look-at-me-i-am-quality advert tool. how on earth one NCAP result differs with another? one reason maybe the stringency factor. but if the other NCAP does not exclude one factor or another, then what makes it accept for the other NCAP to exclude that one or another factor?

here is the thing. i see this as a way to sell cars. vehicles. and this certification is somekind of ‘guarantee’ for the products. the best of them all must be the china NCAP.

• That Preve must be a 1.6 IAFM++ model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Hyundai De.La Junk on May 05, 2014 at 5:49 pm

KIA Picanto MT – Zero Star …wakakaka
    6 Airbags still 4 stars, typical korean junk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
    • Pororo on May 05, 2014 at 6:42 pm

hello Hyundai De.La Junk… do you blind or what mister? there is 2 type of picanto tested here, read carefully bro!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • Anonymous Coward on May 05, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Please re-read. There are two variants and the one that received a terrible score was the one WITHOUT airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
      • Anonymous Hero on May 05, 2014 at 8:31 pm

Can’t you read?

He wrote “6 Airbags still 4 stars, typical korean junk.”. Clearly he’s aware of the second variants.

• Anonymous Coward on May 06, 2014 at 9:37 am

Fair enough, however the car IS an A-segment and its safety features beat most B-segments out there. Pricing is also still pretty good.

• Toyota Corolla Altis V & E doing pretty well.

• AVH (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 5:54 pm

Its interesting that Honda CRV 2.0l in Malaysia gets 4-airbags but the one tested only has 2. And theres even a Picanto that has NO Airbags…..I’am confuse.

AND GOODNESS GRACIOUS, the glorious and ever mighty Proton Preve has a lower child protection than the sin-on-wheels that is the UMW Corolla Altis. THIS is Blesphemy I tell you*

It gets even more interesting that the VW Polo, the still bloddy good 6-airbags Picanto and Peugeout 208 getting only 4 stars while the 2-airbags CRV gets a generally better score. I do hope ASEAN NCAP comment on why they achieved this results. This only secures the general perception that small cars have lower safety protection than bigger cars.

*Do note thaat this is sarcasm so hope it dosen’t rustled your jimmies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • sudonano (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 7:02 pm

I completely second that, while I do understand the reason why the Picanto with no airbags was also tested to show how much airbags help, let’s not forget some salespeople are gonna take advantage of the non airbag’s abysmal results and say that the Picanto you buy in Malaysia is of 0 stars compared to the almighty Myvi.

Its a complete mess, this Asean NCAP. 3rd round of results, more discrepancies. That dear Altis, bent A pillar. How do you plan to open the door on that?

I must say, if at all, the 208 really looks like it stood the test well, for its petite size, it’s shell remains relatively intact.

Thing is, take ASEAN NCAP with a bag of salt. Considering many were the same cars, with same features (like in the case of the 208 and Picanto) as the European ones, the simple “Asean ones have less strengthening” is not gonna cut it too, since many times, the same parts made for the European models are also used in the Malaysian ones too.. I’d still trust EURO NCAP. Asean NCAP for me lost my trust in them after the 3 star Myvi-2 star i10 rating, and the “new” FLX+ Saga to “replace” the pathetic 1 star Saga.

• AVH (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 8:07 pm

From my view, it looks like all cars with the exception of the CRV and Preve has a little dent on the door. Anyways, The Altis(6-airbags) and Isuzu D-max are tested in JARI, Tsukuba, Japan while the Chevy Colorado in KATRI ,South Korea. The rest are done in Melaka. I’am rather shocked by the 208’s and Pianto’s results, this are in my mind, rather excelent small cars and they scored a test lower than expected.

And yes back to Proton, all they did was add one more airbags. and suddenly BANG! 2-more stars. IT dosen’t even get TRC/SC for goodness sake, HELL it dosen’t get ABS+EBD(Executive gets it not the base spec FLX). Same sins applies to the Myvi, how many stars is it again? It comes to a shock considering modern developing countries like S.Korea and Japan as well as the US of A and Europes gets VSC/ABS/EBD as standard, which I believe is the minimum requirement. HACK the westerners gets 9-airbags in something as small as the Yaris….AS STANDARD!(Japan gets it as a RM2k option on most cars)

I think MITI needs to ramp up its laws regarding safety on cars(you dont say), start with the Active ones and moving on to passive. when I looked for a car, Stability control as well as ABS/EBD are a must, because Malaysia’s poor standards, I will than look if the cars airbag count, more choice.

• KettaVreakdoWn on May 05, 2014 at 8:31 pm

juz wondering if too many airbags .. could u be drowning in it .. anyway it is important but how reliable it is 9 airbags compare to 6-7 airbags, they keep increasing by numbers 2 then 4 then 6, 7.. toyota airbags weren’t reliable anyway..massive recall..

• AVH (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 8:51 pm

I believe all round protection is good….so Front and Curtains are the most rudimentary number of airbags in any car should have….after that is just to say who is better.

• heybadigol on May 05, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Can’t drown in airbags. But young children & babies should stay away from front airbags as they are strong from being activated from a distance (dashboard). In this case, the airbags could also injure.

• Allen on May 07, 2014 at 1:43 am

It isn’t just with an additional of another airbags. There are other improvement.

[quote]The car is ASEAN NCAP three-star rated, and features a number of safety improvements. It now features two airbags, and both front and rear impact aspects have been upped – the front features a new bumper beam and additional reinforcement, while the rear bumper gets packed with foam.

Also on, a reinforcement “V” bar in the rear bulkhead that separates the boot from the cabin. The front door also features side impact reinforcement bars, while the centre pillar has also been strengthened. All these safety improvements have been implemented across the entire Saga FLX range, with some being quietly introduced some months back.[/quote]

http://paultan.org/2013/06/15/proton-saga-sv-2013-launched/

• Anonymous Coward on May 05, 2014 at 7:15 pm

I think the test indicates where each variant tested was produced and sold. The CR-V with 2 airbags was produced in Thailand for the Thai market. Same thing with the Kia Picanto with no airbags.

• Allen toyota subang on May 05, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Now from the PICANTO ….we now can say that KIA IS KILLED IN ACTION… KIA is a proper GUANCHAI ( coffin)… Guys next time you see any picanto just give that neck cutting sign to them ,,,… R.I.P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • kzm (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Say that to the thais since those without airbag is for them to keep price low..boleh variant auto or manual get almost max safety features

• tokmoh (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 9:31 am

Size doesn’t matter. The small Volvo V40 hatch is Euro NCAP’s top scorer until Qoros beat it recently.

Imagine that. V40 is safer than suv n mpv.

And i don’t get what 208 is missing here when it scores 5 star Euro NCAP

• AVH (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 3:35 pm

The V40 is a rather large car, in dimension itself is bigger than a Civic, and thats the normal variant(non-cross country). Its over a 100kg heavier.

When I meant small cars I meant those really small cars…Pfrom Polos, Yaris and Jazzs to the Picanto, i10, Aygo….something within or around Japanese Kei-Car specification.

• I Wonder on May 05, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Peugeot 208 received 5 stars from EURO NCAP, but only 4 stars from ASEAN NCAP. The specification and safety equipment of the car involved in both the tests are pretty much identical.

Which begs the question, which organization gives a more accurate assessment of the safety of a car?

• The Peugeot 208 tested in Euro NCAP scored 14.2 for frontal offset test whereas in ASEAN NCAP scored 13.13. In order to obtain 5-star in ASEAN NCAP, the points should be more than 14.

Are you really sure that the same car tested in Euro NCAP has the same specification in term of crashworthiness structure? Not to mention the variation of production here in ASEAN.

• thefact on May 05, 2014 at 6:52 pm

i wonder too..

http://www.euroncap.com/results/honda/cr_v/521.aspx

the CRV in EuroNcap need 6 airbags to get 5 Star…but here only 2 airbags to get 5 star…

• nccap on May 05, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Somehow, there are assumptions:
        1.Asean NCAP rating is not as strict as Australian / Euro counterparts

2.The test itself may vary in some ways.

• kzm (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 11:35 pm

U forget the fact that EuroNCAP is full test n ASEAN NCAP oni frontal test

• 4G63T DSM on May 05, 2014 at 5:59 pm

This is really odd.

ENCAP has proper points ratings for side impact.

Whats the point of “PASS” if there is no difference between no side/curtain airbags than having them?

What are these guys on about????

I’m a big advocate of side airbags and have seen what they could do (or more accurately, the lack of them would do)

• brazbuz on May 05, 2014 at 6:57 pm

They test side impact based on UR 95 standard. This means strengthened door side. Just a wasted bcoz it only describe the structure impact rather than passenger impact with or w/ot side n curtain airbag. that’s why stated pass rather than some calculation.Keep improving MIROS….

• nabill (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Honestly,proud of preve…bt y thy tested da iafm n nt da cfe??? Good job all round

• Sorchai (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 6:21 pm

It is essentially the same car. Whether the IAFM+ or CFE. Crashing the IAFM is cheaper than the CFE. That is probably why.

I do have a question.

How come no one anywhere around the world test a car when it is slammed from the back? What is the effect on the occupants in the car that was hit? Does anyone know if there is such a thing?

For me, I would also like to know that if some moron hits me from behind, I can hopefully walk away.

• sudonano (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Actually, in the USA, IIHS does do test like those to see how much it would cost to repair the rear, that’s how they work out the insurance cost of a car…

• nccap on May 05, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Airbags are designed to keep passengers and driver safe from frontal and side impact, not from rear.

So there is no point to test it. IIHS may differ from NCAP.

• Ananz on May 06, 2014 at 10:32 am

If you look at Honda G-Con technology they do test rear hit impacts at 50km/h on their cars.

• There is a test by Euro NCAP.

http://www.euroncap.com/whiplash.aspx

• Kia Picanto no airbags = 0star.
    Kia Picanto 6 airbags VSC TCS = 4star.

Mitsu Mirage Full Feature = 5Star, No ESC = 4star.

Korean Kia Picanto must be a Milo Tin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • kzm (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 11:42 pm

The previous phase does not include ESC as requirement to get 5 star

• Germany VW Polo get only 4stars.

Not Very tough as we thought too.

• Murderer on May 05, 2014 at 6:21 pm

ASEAN NCAP clearly shows us Malaysia same par with India and Indonesian. Brunei and Singapore already way ahead of us. Looking at ASEAN NCAP makes my country look poor. Not that ASEAN NCAP is bad or anything in fact it’s good.

I can only blame CB BN! Those who click dislike means you are totally loving BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
    • ‘it needs stages, if the test is carried out on par with Euro / Australian NCAP, nobody will buy tin milo Vios! LOLOLOL

• Good job proton…nice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Jayakumar on May 05, 2014 at 6:51 pm

I am really impressed Proton!! Well done. Now if only you proved to all Malaysians without your protection and stand on your own.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 7:03 pm

beribu ribu tahniah. proton berjaya. bn berjaya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • peyno on May 05, 2014 at 8:10 pm

proton=BN??? kinda old minded.. since honda n audi oso under DRB
      buy audi= BN berjaya

prrfthhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • peyno on May 05, 2014 at 7:06 pm

proton preve already got 5 stars ANCAP australia which is more credible than asean

• peyno on May 05, 2014 at 7:17 pm

some ppl do t mind if his beloved family die in unsafe n poor safety features car as long his car got good image brand , good FC

hahah wat a old minded

• iskhalifah on May 05, 2014 at 7:21 pm

Good to hear that its an offset front collision test at 64kmh, but the standard is still not as rigid as the American IIHS and european NCAP which conducted small overlap frontal crash. Hope to see the top view of crash results.

Reference:
    http://www.iihs.org/iihs/ratings/ratings-info/frontal-crash-tests

• AVH (Member) on May 05, 2014 at 11:30 pm

small overlap frontal crash are not conducted by EURO NCAP. small overlap frontal crash amd roof safety(the one they drop some serious weight on the roof) are IIHS exclusive.

• Allen toyota subang on May 05, 2014 at 7:23 pm

No wonder la… My old 1999 CRV… Just dropped its bumper during head on collision with a FORD RANGER… Just mentioning that the ford driver succumbed to severe head injury…after thar my CRV was crushed by an old pajero…now i drives HILUX MA… With added bar at front… Been terrorizing kimchis all around since then…

• Steve Kok on May 05, 2014 at 7:32 pm

Hope the Gommen make it compulsory for all new car sold on 2015 to have at least 4 to 6 airbags.

That will help save some lives during accident occurs.

• The tagline for Asean Ncap is “Now Every Car Get 5 Star”

• seen in the picture above, corrolla altis body structure not as sturdy as preve or polo, the damage intrusion in frontal collision is more severe up until the roofline. soft bodyshell, i imagine vios could fare worse.

• LOLJUJU on May 05, 2014 at 8:07 pm

WHERE IS THE GOD-LIKED VIOS?

• The only vehicle safety rating that i trust is EuroNCAP and NHTSA. Though in this region, the Australian NCAP seems to be better of the lot.

• Try the small overlap crash test, it’s being tested here in the US now by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS). YOU WILL SEE A BIG DIFFERENCE!

So many cars failed this test! Check out the youtube videos of it.

• just like that on May 06, 2014 at 1:55 am

the Peugeot 208 is the same quality in Europe and yet ANCAP and EURO NCAP results are so different for the same car. I still check EURO NCAP before I buy a car as they are more experienced and IIHS do not test cars that outside of USA, so cars like Peugeot do not have IIHS ratings.

• My proton wira 21 years old have no star and no air bag but I drive it like 10 star of careful driving and never break down on the highway because of good maintainance. Even u have 5 star don’t take things for granted with your life on the road just drive like 5 star and u be ok

• unforgiven on May 06, 2014 at 8:13 am

Are you still driving Proton? Saga, etc with no airbags? Due to high car prices in Malaysia? Vote wisely for your next generation please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • unforgiven on May 06, 2014 at 10:36 am

We will make sure your next gen is driving cars without airbags, if and only if you are one of them who enjoy and received free money in the pocket system (cronies)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • starkah on May 06, 2014 at 3:05 pm

the mentality that saying the “other” side will do better the the “current” one is not necessarily true. it just provide an alternative, but that alternative is not always mean better.

• unforgiven on May 06, 2014 at 5:36 pm

We know what is right or wrong, the current one is definitely Wrong, and too wrong for too many years, until the cronies are getting too much.

• Eyesore on May 07, 2014 at 6:01 am

As if the alternative is doing the right thing… can’t even take care of their own parties election, wanna take care the country… dreamer…

• This is just a marketing test. You knock the car against a wall. How about knocking 2 cars each other?

Since many cars score 5 stars for this test, it becomes meaningless!

• 4G63T DSM on May 06, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Everyone knows that as a controlled test, it doesn;t replicate all possible real world accidents.

It does provide a standard yardstick to inform buyers on which car is safe and which isn’t. This is also why the “Pass” rating for side impact is meaningless.

Side/curtain airbags are very important. Given you have 4-5 feet of crumple zone and 2 airbags ahead of you, it a relatively given you are better protected. If you hit or something hits you at the side, you have all of 6″ of crumple zone. It is highly likely your head will strike the A/B or C pillar of the car causing severe injuries. I have seen it first hand where I T boned a much larger vehicle that ran the red light, and the passenger had serious head injuries from hitting the B pillar of the car. In that accident, the front airbags didn’t even deploy on that car. I was uninjured in the crash (which is almost identical to the offset crash employed here, at lightly higher speed of 80kmh) despite my car not having any airbags and only had the regular seatbelt securing me (1989 Mitsubishi Galant).

Side airbags also help tremendously if there are any secondary impacts that follow the primary impact. During the primary impact, the passanger will be thrown off position and there is nothing to protect him/her on the secondary impact.

• mim (Member) on May 07, 2014 at 11:49 am

I guess all cars with have higher safety rating then? Because crumple zone in both cars are utilized? More energy absorption and less force to passengers?

• 4G63T DSM on May 07, 2014 at 2:21 pm

In the test, the offset deformable structure the cars hit, mimic an impact with another car (with its own crumple zone).

However in a head on, we are normally looking at a higher crash speed.

if both cars are going at 64km/h, the impact velocity will be 128km/h. Or twice what the test required. The force experienced will be roughly be 2x as well.

This is also why the new tests are now switching to the small overlap test, which more closely mimic actual head-on crashes.

• Kepongite on May 06, 2014 at 9:19 am

It’s strange to note that the ANCAP gave the Kia Picanto a 5 star rating with the 6 airbag specs and ESP. So is the ASeAN NCAP more stringent than the AUstralian NCAP? they should also test the Toyota Corolla Altis with 2 airbags option as I believe most Malaysians will buy that model due to huge price difference.

• befair on May 06, 2014 at 12:32 pm

it is already here. read properly.
      the 1.8E altis with 2 airbag is 4 star

• Still no Perodua Viva for crash test?

• Bugati on May 06, 2014 at 12:09 pm

ASEAN ANCAP – Making cars safer in ASEAN region

???? – Making cars expensive crap in ASEAN region

Who is that ???

• Good job proton.i will support you and dun gv up.i have buy 1 suprima s and after 1 week 3 of my jiran have bought white solid suprima s.they said that when they see me parked my car they like it and I also gv them test drive my car last week before they buy it.dun worry hater will hate and critique but you should look what they critique about and keep hard to be better.dun worry they are many proton supporter outside there and we want you to become better and better.just keep in mind what they critique and try to solve it.they said about fit and finish issue then you should solve it.keep improving.go proton goo

• mim (Member) on May 06, 2014 at 4:29 pm

MITI must make ABS, EBD, ESP, TCS, min 4 airbags and ISOFIX as compulsary in all new cars! Give tax rebate for 5 star cars! 3-star and below must taxed heavily! This way Toyota and Perodua cannot sell overpriced cars anymore!

• Murderer on May 06, 2014 at 8:08 pm

Wow so many BN supporters here!!

• Ng thong chew on Sep 19, 2016 at 8:42 am

3rd generation Toyota Vios 2014 NCap result please!!’